Girlfriend's parents rushing and pushing, for a wedding and engagement

TSAvangelice
post Dec 27 2016, 10:00 PM, updated 5y ago

5,272 posts

Seriously in what age now a days people think that marrying young is good. I am just 28 years old and my girlfriend is 31 years old and we been only together for two years. I went to her house just now and my girlfriend told me her parents are saying why does it seem like he isn't planning for the future? we both had a huge argument and I drove off without saying good bye and she slammed the door.

what the fuck? with this shit economy its been years since I took a long vacation to go for travel from my clinic, I hardly go out these days and everything I can save I try to save. sometimes I need to think twice buying pizza for myself as I need to save up for my future. i have a fucking house ready and yet to them it seems like I am not seriously growing up.

who here is getting the same shit? sorry for the rude words. I'm just so angry.
TSAvangelice
post Dec 27 2016, 10:07 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(kharizmisg @ Dec 27 2016, 10:03 PM)
sama like my story lah ... this part **I went to her house just now and my girlfriend told me her parents are saying why does it seem like he isn't planning for the future?**
QUOTE(yongchin89 @ Dec 27 2016, 10:04 PM)
bro, you have to think on her side, a 31 yrs old girl parent normally will rush? no?
at the expense of us rushing to a marriage that none of us are ready? what we gonna feed the guest? sand?

I do not expect my parents to fork out money for my wedding and I see my peers going drinking every day and changing girlfriends like changing baju.

gila. nak cucu? sorry la Wei. having kids now so expensive for Chinese families and I seen the shit that happens to kids esp with birth defects. not going to be the factor in over population
TSAvangelice
post Dec 27 2016, 10:09 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(MakNok @ Dec 27 2016, 10:06 PM)
You doctor man.. Some more own a clinic... Sure lots of money..
If you say no good business... Then tutup clinic lo.
I am sure you can afford to get marry.
not about the money. it's about the personality. we just got to know each other (two years ain't enough bro) and you want me to jump straight into a marriage? habis when I want to expand cannot because I'm tied down.
TSAvangelice
post Dec 27 2016, 10:29 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(Saladz @ Dec 27 2016, 10:25 PM)
women or rather, girls, are insecure by nature.

they do not know that we men have our own planning ahead nor will they try to see what their men are trying to do for their future.

to them, if you don't do what they want now, it means you have no planning.

well to be fair to her, her biological clock is already ticking hard so it is no wonder that she's insecure.

but marriage shouldn't be rushed.

i am not sure why women think of marriages as a safe haven for them because divorces can always happen.

she should put some faith in you. sadly, she doesn't and that goes to show you guys are not prepared for marriage yet
and moreover i just found out throughout her ten years after coming out from high school she has ZERO savings and one of those I wanna work so I can travel type of girls. I had to chip in money to deal with her repair work and save her ass countless of times for not saving and spending every month.

pot calling kettle black kah. you expect me to buckle up when your finances are shit poor. sorry not looking for a broke ass wife as a liability until she fixes her shit.

TSAvangelice
post Dec 27 2016, 10:47 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(MakNok @ Dec 27 2016, 10:44 PM)
then dump her.
End of story.
If you want to help... Help willingly and not complaining.
Don't tell me it take 2 years to realise when she push you for marriage.
why is everyone so adamant about marriage these days when we can't even afford to care for ourselves? what more to say a kid.
TSAvangelice
post Dec 27 2016, 10:56 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(MakNok @ Dec 27 2016, 10:54 PM)
To her.. You a doctor and waterfish who can help her when she in need. I am sure she pay her dues to you in her own way.

If you still insist on keeping your house in order... Then don't get girlfriend lo..
Remember she is 31....and not young anymore. As she approach  40....it will be hard for biological clock.

You a doctor and I am sure you understand women.. Right???  No??
we aren't intending to have kids. I seen all the special needs children to know how awful a child with special abilities can be to a marriage. she agrees with me since she doesn't have the patience to have kids too.
TSAvangelice
post Dec 27 2016, 10:58 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(kiddokitt @ Dec 27 2016, 10:54 PM)
It seems like you have all the answers to your own question. You are still angry thus it's clear you aren't accepting any criticisms when your mind is clouded. You are not ready for marriage and also condemn her for not saving money. Critical of the costs of raising kids and maintaining a family, so much so you cry it's going to hold you back from expanding your clinic business. Complain 2 years is still not enough to get to know her better. Will 5 years be long enough for a doctor you? That means you keep her waiting till she's 36 to get married and have babies two years later at 38.

See the problem here? It's YOU. Not her, and certainly not her parents for doubting your preparedness. You are just a self-centered doctor who is in this relationship for yourself. Everything has to revolve around you.
oh really?

so this ring I am custom making is a sign I'm self centered aye? pfft . that's an aquamarine that she always wanted for her engagement ring. had to get my own jeweler to head to Singapore and Thailand to source for it. tell me to my face one more time I'm being self centered

This post has been edited by Avangelice: Dec 27 2016, 10:59 PM
TSAvangelice
post Dec 27 2016, 11:02 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(kiddokitt @ Dec 27 2016, 11:01 PM)
Oh, so showing off your fingers absolve you off everything that you have just brought up? And automatically it's back to her and her parents' fault?

Is this a game to you? If you love her, then stop talking bullshit here and man up.
not my fingers asshole. my jeweler's hands. that's hers.
TSAvangelice
post Dec 27 2016, 11:04 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(Awakensoul @ Dec 27 2016, 11:00 PM)
Dude u're in ur 2x while she's in her 3x. Her parents got every rights to get worried. If u can't afford her, let her go. She probably can find a richer man. People always say females in 3x are at their downturn years. U dragging her like this is unfair. Break up if u can't afford it. Don't act all macho just because u have a house. U're not guaranteeing her future. Remember, until u both gets married; ur hse is ur hse.
so what you are saying here is I should be pressured to get married not because I need to but not the question if we should get married. two years is still relatively a short relationship. didn't know cupid has turned into a cesspool of ktards looking for an argument rather than talking a brother into doing what's right.
TSAvangelice
post Dec 27 2016, 11:05 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Dec 27 2016, 11:04 PM)
"Clinic"?

Her parents obviously don't think that much of your "clinic".
opps I remembered why I placed you into my ignored list already. in you go. back into the ignored list little two inch troll.
TSAvangelice
post Dec 27 2016, 11:07 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(MakNok @ Dec 27 2016, 11:05 PM)
Since both of you agreed on kids subject.
Then get marry lo.
Why wait...
You also prepare the diamond customize ring already.
Just do it...
that's the plan. one more year of savings to get married it's the point that they see I'm not doing anything for my future that hurts.
TSAvangelice
post Dec 27 2016, 11:12 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(kiddokitt @ Dec 27 2016, 11:09 PM)
Like I said, just an immature mommy's boy indulging in pettiness.

Get lost from this man's world. Obviously from the way you treat women, you don't deserve to be called a man.
and its off to ignored list for you kiddo. if you got no input for the conversation just stfu and go back to kopitiam. they need more sad freaks like you there.

ciao mostro
TSAvangelice
post Dec 27 2016, 11:19 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Dec 27 2016, 11:16 PM)
dont do wedding ceremony. dont ever borrow money to punch face as if fat.

just go straight to honeymoon in langkawi
that's our plan but not in langkawi. that's for sure. it's just that I don't want to marry at this age

QUOTE(sokiahlee @ Dec 27 2016, 11:16 PM)
Why don't u choose a 18yo girlfriend instead of a 31yo girlfriend? When you are in long term relationship, I expect this kind of shit happens. Don't worry, there re more shits waiting for u.
can't choose love when Aphrodite decides to work her magic. not gonna hurt someone just because I am not able to stand the heat. just upset that they decided to say that when I'm already saving every penny for the future.
TSAvangelice
post Dec 28 2016, 08:45 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(Pete the great @ Dec 28 2016, 08:43 AM)
+1

Ts shld not waste her time if ts dun want to marry her.

Ts has to be reasonable...ts want to wait until 32 yo to marry her? By then she is 35 yo...wat guarantee she has to stay loyal to ts?  I know a guy whose gf stayed with him until she 36yo then he dumped her for younger girl. All ger heart ache to stay loyal for nothing.
Good morning. I do want to marry her but if you read my post right it's the act of saying I'm not doing anything to plan for the future when I'm already doing all the things I can to make it happen that is the crux of the problem.

TSAvangelice
post Dec 28 2016, 08:57 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(tbsalan @ Dec 28 2016, 08:54 AM)
you better leave her alone...you own a house does not mean you plan a future for a family life..you buy a house seriously just for your future..some couple marry even without owning a house mean they no plan for future?...
I don't want to make my own family cram themselves to live with her in laws. it makes for a disastrous concoction when arguments arises.

Anyways guys i value your thoughts and thank you for your time. looks like I need to have another conversation with her again regarding this. seriously this is like the third conversation we had and no idea why they wanna rush. what am I gonna feed my guest? sand?
TSAvangelice
post Dec 28 2016, 08:59 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(off_shore @ Dec 28 2016, 08:56 AM)
From all your replies, I can only see you're angry and hurt cuz your ego has been challenged "for not planning".

Communication is the key for every successful relationship. If you're already planning then why not discuss with her to see if she agrees to wait another year? By then she'd be 32 already... u must know the agreement for not having kids are only a decision between you two and maybe her parents have no idea about this thus they are pushing you guys into marriage thinking about fertility rate. In this part you have to understand her, she is being sandwiched between her parents and you .... as her man though ur frustrated being viewed as not capable or not serious, you have to put it aside and concentrate on how to reach an agreement..... don't harp on problems but find a solution...
thank you for the enlightenment. I have cooled of somewhat and am thinking more logically this morning. it's unfortunate that some factions decided to be hostile oh well. thank you again
TSAvangelice
post Dec 28 2016, 09:45 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(mhisyam6 @ Dec 28 2016, 09:40 AM)
ask her to save money too. see how much she can save for your future.

btw, how much you have save now?
Total savings is near 60k since I started four years ago. all of that now is in my unit trust portfolio.

would you suggest using your life savings to spend on a wedding? I don't want to burden my divorced parents esp my dad.
TSAvangelice
post Dec 28 2016, 02:08 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(Freedom15 @ Dec 28 2016, 02:08 PM)
So u are gonna dish out all the wedding expenditure urself?
looks like it since I don't have any help from any quarters.
TSAvangelice
post Feb 2 2017, 07:39 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(g r a p e k e y @ Feb 2 2017, 01:39 AM)
I know of a girl, her family pressure the bf to marry her after 3 years. less than one month, the guy cheated on her and said he was forced to marry her. said her family very money minded (which is true because we are in the same high school group and she used to invite me to her house) and he wanted a divorce as soon as she finds out he cheats.

generally, she's the type of girl very miang those type..don't know how to save money.. any rich guys also can. so I usually only agree to let her tag along when I need some characters like that in gatherings..

in uni days, she cheated on her only bf (that she looked for herself from her circle of lala friends). while all the rest of her bfs are from my different circle of friends that broke up with her.

she's the type of girl that as soon as she got a bf, she'll just go mia. (but I don't need her anyway)

although she doesn't have the face, she has the height. With fake eye lashes all those heavy make up girls. she's a branded freak so thats ok haha

anyway I despise guys that any girl also can those type of guys anywhere also got.

ts, is your gf's family like the girl in my write up above?
no buddy. that's not her current thing one. she's a very homely person and very sweet. i have to confess some of the posters here who have said that I need to grow up and not be selfish are true. maybe it is I who is not ready for a marriage.

no idea man. I'm still confused. I did not expect to be forced to marry at a young age. my original dream was to marry at the age of 32 but I didn't plan to be dating a girl who is three years older than me.

TSAvangelice
post Feb 2 2017, 08:41 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(kinozanata @ Feb 2 2017, 08:26 AM)
Think of it this way, if you were to break up with her, thats 2 years of her life down the drain.
yes I am well aware of the fact that I may be wasting her two years of her life and so on and so forth even if the feeling of love isn't as strong as it once was.

that's why I am not going to be a douche bag and break up the relationship because of my selfishness.

0.0810sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:58 AM