Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V28, Free Upgrade In 2017

SUSSirmacai
post Dec 14 2016, 11:36 AM

229 posts

QUOTE(Jjuggler @ Dec 13 2016, 06:13 PM)
My speedtest shows 21Mbps dl and 10Mbps ul. When I download a movie, it only uses 21 - 50 KB/s from 3.2 MB/s download. Currently using google dns. Do any sifu's experienced this situation?

P/s: I only connect single device to the router.
is the seed ok? u need a good seed to torrent.
Icehart
post Dec 14 2016, 12:31 PM

14,899 posts

Speedtest 50Mbps

JohnLai
post Dec 14 2016, 01:18 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Dec 14 2016, 12:31 PM)
Speedtest 50Mbps

Welcome to the club. laugh.gif

I guess it either TM doesn't take protocol overhead into the capping or TM intentionally limit it.......I am leaning towards the latter.
TSsHawTY
post Dec 14 2016, 01:21 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(GamaX320 @ Dec 13 2016, 08:49 PM)
can someone let me know Unifi support torrent download ?
Yes
I'm a UniFi Advance 30 user and I'm getting 3.7MB/s in torrent
mensa
post Dec 14 2016, 02:34 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(kokmengng @ Dec 14 2016, 09:00 AM)
Really? Not bad what. I got my upgrade too via phone call from VIP5 to VIP10 full package for rm169.

If they call to offer rm149/159 for ADV30 i think i will accept the offer. Lol 😆
later if tm call me back to offer this..i'll try nego with them..if they can offer adv30 with 168 with gst, no contract and ELIGIBLE for next year free upgrade..i may consider whistling.gif

This post has been edited by mensa: Dec 14 2016, 02:39 PM
kokmengng
post Dec 14 2016, 02:53 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(mensa @ Dec 14 2016, 02:34 PM)
later if tm call me back to offer this..i'll try nego with them..if they can offer adv30 with 168 with gst, no contract and ELIGIBLE for next year free upgrade..i may consider  whistling.gif
Hahaha. This sounds better but quite impossible loh.

lyc1982
post Dec 14 2016, 02:54 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(mensa @ Dec 14 2016, 02:34 PM)
later if tm call me back to offer this..i'll try nego with them..if they can offer adv30 with 168 with gst, no contract and ELIGIBLE for next year free upgrade..i may consider  whistling.gif
can slow slow wait
nuke13
post Dec 14 2016, 03:01 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(cskean @ Dec 13 2016, 07:14 PM)
Guys, I'm on VIP10 with RM149 per month(exclude GST). Not bound to any contract.

Do I entitle for the FOC speed upgrade? If so, do I need to call TM or walk into their branch to register?
How u get 10mbps for RM149? Is it offered by TM when u want to terminate?

I'm thinking of trying to terminate my unifi to get the this offer but also wondered like u if I can get the free upgrade next year.
nuke13
post Dec 14 2016, 03:04 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(dannychen @ Dec 13 2016, 08:10 PM)
What are the new MaxisONE Home plans?

There are 5 new MaxisONE Home plans:
MaxisONE Home 10Mbps – RM139
MaxisONE Home Lite 30Mbps – RM179
MaxisONE Home 30Mbps (with unlimited voice) – RM189
MaxisONE Home 50Mbps – RM219
MaxisONE Home 100Mbps – RM299
How does one sign up for these plans?

These plans will be made available to new subscribers/customers as well as existing fibre customers who will need to opt-in by either walking in to our Maxis centres or calling our Customer Care line.

source: Frequently Asked Question
I'm thinking of changing from unifi vip10 to maxisone 10mbps. I'm paying rm179 currently for vip10. Will be nice if can get 10mbps but pay only rm139. Will TM counter offer me to stay with unifi? Is this like their SOP or just plain luck?
duabijitelur
post Dec 14 2016, 03:16 PM

iPhone 6 :D
1,951 posts

Today i received a call from TM saying that they offering 30MB for RM159
is it legit ?

Currently im using VIP10 RM149 (free upgrade from VIP5 at june)
cucubud
post Dec 14 2016, 03:31 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(duabijitelur @ Dec 14 2016, 03:16 PM)
is it legit ?

Inclusive of free local calls?
mensa
post Dec 14 2016, 03:32 PM

487 posts

is it legit ?

Yes..i can confirm that..i also received the same call from TM yesterday.
naturalfool
post Dec 14 2016, 03:48 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(GamaX320 @ Dec 13 2016, 08:49 PM)
Streamyx user here as I know streamyx cant download torrent at all and plan to upgrade to Unifi but can someone let me know Unifi support torrent download ?
Even when I was on streamyx 1Mbps I was downloading using torrent but only when I sleep. When I need to surf, will close the torrent manager. Took ages to download but still it works smile.gif

Have been on unifi 30Mbps since Jan 2016 and still downloading torrents all the time. Difference is I can let torrent manager run at the same time I am using the computer and watching youtube videos now.
naturalfool
post Dec 14 2016, 03:56 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(dannielshazmeer @ Dec 13 2016, 04:16 PM)
Based on the advertisement in TM website regarding free upgrade, as Malaysia’s Convergence Champion, TM is answering the Government’s call towards making broadband more accessible and affordable for all Malaysians. This will also enhance the nation’s average broadband speed.

Hence, Malaysians will now enjoy faster broadband speeds thus enabling them to do so much more. As a nation builder, TM plays a role to provide higher speeds broadband at affordable price to improve the nation’s competitiveness towards becoming a high income nation by 2020.

Customers have to be registered for the qualifying services before 31st December 2016. However, the following will criteria are also applicable:

1) The customer must not have been given a free upgrade prior to the Budget 2017 announcement (those upgraded between May – September 2016)

2) Technical and service availability.

3) Customers under UniFi Smart Partnership Package are also not eligible because they are bonded with the current developer’s contract.

Apart from that, customers do not need to register or visit any TMPoint outlet. Customer need to give consent via e-mail or SMS. Once the consent is given, the upgrade will be done automatically in phases. There will be cases where the upgrading process will be done through TM Telemarketing Centre. Customers will be enjoying the speed upgrade in phases, starting from 1st January 2017. Customers will be informed via E-mail, SMS or telephone prior to implementing the upgrade at their areas.

However, you also may refer following link for further assistance: https://www.tm.com.my/speedupgrade/Pages/index.html

For any further assistance or feedback, kindly e-mail us at help@tm.com.my. Alternatively, you may also contact TM at 100 (charges for calls from mobile services apply according to Telco providers).
When I signed up in Jan 2016, it was for 30Mbps download with 5Mbps upload. But TM silently upgrade to 10Mbps upload later...is this considered an upgrade already and I won't be eligible for upgrade in 2017?

Also, how do I find out if I am on VDSL2?
duabijitelur
post Dec 14 2016, 04:11 PM

iPhone 6 :D
1,951 posts

QUOTE(cucubud @ Dec 14 2016, 03:31 PM)
Inclusive of free local calls?
oh that one i din ask much details

QUOTE(mensa @ Dec 14 2016, 03:32 PM)
Yes..i can confirm that..i also received the same call from TM yesterday.
is it possible that later free upgrade? cos last time they called its 179 then now become 159
LOL
edr1c
post Dec 14 2016, 04:13 PM

228 posts

Hi guys, I subscribed to vip5 few years back when I'm studying at university, that time my hostel doesn't have a TV so I didn't activate the hypptv box. Now I moved the line back to my house they say I can't use the box anymore. Any solution to this/similar encounter/experience? Any advice would be great
fruitie
post Dec 14 2016, 04:24 PM

Rise and Shine
72,772 posts

is it legit ?

RM 159 is a good offer. thumbup.gif
brandon68
post Dec 14 2016, 04:46 PM

33 posts

Hi guys, I'm still a Screamyx user. Planning to upgrade Unifi. Usually they will install near your TV bcos of HyppTV. If I dun want the HyppTV....can I ask them to install at a specific place that I want? Thx for any comments
ncys1
post Dec 14 2016, 04:53 PM

296 posts

HyppTV just connects to a specific port on your router. I don't think it should be a problem.
syncomp
post Dec 14 2016, 07:12 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(cyclone2 @ Dec 13 2016, 11:12 AM)
Currently I'm using 30Mbps package.

Wondering if upgrade to 50Mbps now, any free upgrade to 100Mbps next year? Does anyone know?
Yes. As long as it is not a free upgrade you are eligible to get ones. But of course its depend on hardware and technical cause. If you are on FTTH, you are on the higher chance to get free upgrade.

QUOTE(Icehart @ Dec 14 2016, 12:31 PM)
Speedtest 50Mbps

Steady download speed/solid 46 Mbps or slowly increasing download speed?

126 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0322sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:16 PM