Mrjgx,
I live fairly near Sri petaling, pekan sg besi actually. Pm me fir my contact details.
U can also join the kesas ride every wednesday starts at 8.30pm near pedalsport.
Cycling, Any cyclist here??
Feb 13 2012, 10:58 PM
14 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
Mrjgx,
I live fairly near Sri petaling, pekan sg besi actually. Pm me fir my contact details. U can also join the kesas ride every wednesday starts at 8.30pm near pedalsport. |
Feb 13 2012, 11:06 PM
593 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Highland, Texas |
QUOTE(mrjgx @ Feb 13 2012, 07:33 PM) any riders around cheras area? sri petaling, bkt jalil or sri permaisuri? the age ol question of shedding weight... in as simplest as possible explanation.. shedding weight on the wheels have a more immediate effect than just figures on the scale as you are shedding rotational weight that you have to spin up when accelerating...i hv a saddle sore after the long ride...hence I bought prologo scratch ti 1.4 (titanium railing not carbon as the latter is way too expensive) saddle after reading so many reviews about it.. hopefully that will fit my butt the best. but I know I will always buy a saddle until I found the right one..huhu.. now im thinking and thinking of making my bike lighter..already remove my saddle bag..all the kits will just go into my jersey back pocket next time..will be eyeing for a carbon handlebar and stem..any recommendation? budget 1.2k n below edited: yea of course lighter rims will shed more grams...silly question.. that being said... shedding weight from wheels are costly as the dollar per gram saved gets steeper as you get lighter wheels... not to mention the reliability and durability of light wheels especially if you are a heavy rider... with handlebars... you have practically 2 routes for weight savings... integrated handlebars or normal lightweight carbon bars... for integrated you have the Deda Alanera...never seen in Malaysia http://www.dedaelementi.com/index.php?page...mid=152&lang=en the probike gear stealth evo... http://www.pro-bikegear.com/publish/conten...e-PRHASTEV.html for the split stem and handle combos Deda OS 35 series... i know this costs in xccess of RM1.4k... http://www.dedaelementi.com/index.php?page...mid=162&lang=en http://www.dedaelementi.com/index.php?page...emid=90&lang=en or the Easton EC90 series http://www.eastoncycling.com/en-us/road/pr...ace/ec90-sl-400 http://www.eastoncycling.com/en-us/road/pr...e/ec90-slx3-304 integrated ones are generally lighter and i think also stiffer since there no joint interface between handle and stem.. but you have to know your exact specs that you need or any mess up means junking the entire set of integrated bars... Added on February 13, 2012, 11:08 pm QUOTE(kindredd @ Feb 13 2012, 10:58 PM) Mrjgx, or if he lives nearer to pj area... he can also ride with the ss2 shop bunch... same time but from sunway area to sri petaling and then back...I live fairly near Sri petaling, pekan sg besi actually. Pm me fir my contact details. U can also join the kesas ride every wednesday starts at 8.30pm near pedalsport. This post has been edited by butthead: Feb 13 2012, 11:13 PM |
Feb 13 2012, 11:25 PM
59 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 13 2012, 11:06 PM) the age ol question of shedding weight... in as simplest as possible explanation.. shedding weight on the wheels have a more immediate effect than just figures on the scale as you are shedding rotational weight that you have to spin up when accelerating... thanks butthead..that pretty much answering my question. I guess I will go with the handlebar route first..I think I saw that deda 35 at pedalspot..not sure about the price though. BTW, that 1.4k price is not inclusive of the stem am I right? that being said... shedding weight from wheels are costly as the dollar per gram saved gets steeper as you get lighter wheels... not to mention the reliability and durability of light wheels especially if you are a heavy rider... with handlebars... you have practically 2 routes for weight savings... integrated handlebars or normal lightweight carbon bars... for integrated you have the Deda Alanera...never seen in Malaysia http://www.dedaelementi.com/index.php?page...mid=152&lang=en the probike gear stealth evo... http://www.pro-bikegear.com/publish/conten...e-PRHASTEV.html for the split stem and handle combos Deda OS 35 series... i know this costs in xccess of RM1.4k... http://www.dedaelementi.com/index.php?page...mid=162&lang=en http://www.dedaelementi.com/index.php?page...emid=90&lang=en or the Easton EC90 series http://www.eastoncycling.com/en-us/road/pr...ace/ec90-sl-400 http://www.eastoncycling.com/en-us/road/pr...e/ec90-slx3-304 integrated ones are generally lighter and i think also stiffer since there no joint interface between handle and stem.. but you have to know your exact specs that you need or any mess up means junking the entire set of integrated bars... Added on February 13, 2012, 11:08 pm or if he lives nearer to pj area... he can also ride with the ss2 shop bunch... same time but from sunway area to sri petaling and then back... lighter wheels will be the last thing I want to upgrade..but those bars or whatever if it can be converted into carbon then it would be nice..when comes to Malaysia merida bikes seems to have been downgraded in terms of their parts. I kinda dissatisfied hence want to replace those parts with a better one..slowly throughout the year (my 2012 project). I am 65-67kg and it fluctuates..i guess shedding my own kilos is the best + cost saving, but that will be done parallel with shedding the weight of the bike |
Feb 13 2012, 11:32 PM
the bars are close to RM1k and the stems are 400 or 500 or maybe more... or it's the other way round... can't remember exactly...
the theory behind it is that.. larger diameter makes it stiffer hence less material used... and there is a problem with the OS35... bar tape... usually i see the OS35 users don't have bar tape wrapped all the way... not long enough... |
Feb 13 2012, 11:55 PM
1,074 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Verdun |
My helmet was written off after the crash. The side was cracked as my head hit the ground (cant remb much but based on the wound on my head and helmet) The force was very great i guessed. O.o
Feb 14 2012, 12:03 AM
124 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 13 2012, 10:45 PM) for RM1.5k... you won't be able to get much of the best MTB possible... Thank you.if possible, try to go for brands like giant, jamis, KHS, Fuji or Merida.. although not as big brand wise as Trek, specialized, Yeti and etc... but it is more reputable than many upcomming taiwan bike manufacturers... RM1.5k should still get you 9 speed with some fairly good components with mechanical discs and entry level fork... there is not point telling you which specific model to get since you might have personal preferences on how your bike is going to look.... try browsing the sites for the mentioned brands and see if you like any of their low end or entry level models...then try to find the shop that sells it to check out the price... Added on February 13, 2012, 10:48 pma new arrival... ![]() How about polygon xtrada 5.0 or jamis durango 2.0 and gt avalanche 3.0? |
Feb 14 2012, 12:27 AM
QUOTE(minizian @ Feb 13 2012, 11:55 PM) My helmet was written off after the crash. The side was cracked as my head hit the ground (cant remb much but based on the wound on my head and helmet) The force was very great i guessed. O.o in any case where the helmet took an impact.. it is better to have it swapped out... it could have already cracked without you noticing it externally...QUOTE(sLapshock @ Feb 14 2012, 12:03 AM) the durango 2.0 is a 2009 model.. i think there is no more 2.0 in the new one... the replacement i think is durango sport... comparable to a avalanche 3.0 and xtrada 5.0... all 3 are almost the same... it'll be a better bet that the polygon might be cheaper but the jamis looks to have a better frame... |
Feb 14 2012, 02:54 AM
0 posts Joined: Feb 2012 |
wow i'm in love with that BMC!
Feb 14 2012, 05:31 AM
124 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 14 2012, 12:27 AM) in any case where the helmet took an impact.. it is better to have it swapped out... it could have already cracked without you noticing it externally... as someone for my size getting a large 19" or m 18" is enough? How does grame affect your riding?the durango 2.0 is a 2009 model.. i think there is no more 2.0 in the new one... the replacement i think is durango sport... comparable to a avalanche 3.0 and xtrada 5.0... all 3 are almost the same... it'll be a better bet that the polygon might be cheaper but the jamis looks to have a better frame... |
Feb 14 2012, 09:13 AM
QUOTE(ivannater @ Feb 14 2012, 02:54 AM) you better be in love with $$$ too... it is going to cost a whopper...QUOTE(sLapshock @ Feb 14 2012, 05:31 AM) size doesn't determine frame size... for sizing they(bike shops) usually measure your inseam and then height...most importantly... ride a frame that you feel comfortable riding and not one that is based from measurements... if you feel too outstretched or too cramped up... you can reduce or increase the frame size or even swap stem length to compensate.... of course it is the best if you can be allowed to test ride the bike you want to buy or even better, test different sizes of your friends bike so you yourself have a preferences in mind for what size you are looking to get.... then only comes the geometry of the frame that you are purchasing as that affects some of the handling characteristics of your bike... Added on February 14, 2012, 10:07 am here is a rough guide for inseam measurements to bike frame sizes... Your Height Your Inseam Length Bike Frame Size 4'11" - 5'3" 25” - 27” 13 - 15 inches 5'3" - 5'7" 27" - 29" 15 to 17 inches 5'7" - 5'11" 29" - 31" 17 to 19 inches 5'11" - 6'2" 31" - 33" 19 to 21 inches 6'2" - 6'4" 33" - 35" 21 to 23 inches 6'4" and up 35" and up 23 inches and up This post has been edited by butthead: Feb 14 2012, 10:07 AM |
Feb 14 2012, 11:18 AM
10,912 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
QUOTE(henleong @ Feb 10 2012, 12:28 PM) 5K at Bike Tech Subang shop, at jln SS 15/4, a newly open Giant shop last year... QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 10 2012, 02:54 PM) you can always set your saddle further back with the rails... i know some1 riding the same bike!as for the lever reach.. for ST-5700 models.. there is reach adjustment availability, means that you can set your lever closer to the drop bar for easier reach... you might have to release your calipers a bit as it means pulling your brakes a bit... but as far as i understand... OEM shifters do not come provided with the reach adjustment wedge... you might have to source it online or through shimano dealers... http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Shimano-Ultegra-...=item3f113353b6]Shimano 105 Lever Adjusting Block an excerpt from shimano 105 page for the shifter. "fit can be customized through a series of shims creating reach adjustment. Two sizes of shims reduce reach by 5mm or 10mm for maximum comfort and control." best if you can test and compare between yours and other people's one.. so you don't spend money into where it might not help.. danger starts once you ride other people's bike... gives you things to think about... i trust golf is still more expensive than cycling... cycling is a one time investment thing if you don't gatal... golf... gatal or not, minimally you still have to buy balls.. and they don't come cheap when you want to get balls that can travel further and shit... wat for i cucuk u??? i am just gonna ask u go cucuk urself only... at least post something with a pro riding it long and hard la... like that only can sell the damn bike ma... makes us feel more like a manly man riding a manly machine... andreas kloden in the 2007 LTDF ![]() |
Feb 14 2012, 11:56 AM
2,950 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
Hi guys, I planned to take cyclist as one of my hobby and currently I am in a serious dilemma in choosing a starter bike.
Currently budget still fixed in between 1k~1.5k. So do you guys have any recommendation within that budget? (Please dont just poison me yet with all those carbon frames etc etc. BTW is this bike okay for its price? http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...4976&hl=bicycle |
Feb 14 2012, 12:36 PM
364 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Feb 14 2012, 12:36 PM
1,982 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
come across merida tfs 900D selling Rm4k+
double butted aluminium frame Deore XT RD SLX shifter SLX FD Fox Float Schwalbe Rocket Ron Tire |
Feb 14 2012, 12:48 PM
3,550 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Bdr Saujana Putra |
QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 13 2012, 12:27 PM) maybe mine was a paria one... there is this small little ear ring look a like thing and when turned slightly and loosen... it loses the index shifting and goes into the friction mode you mention... I left the team (& the sport) after 9 years (7 years in Selangor team, Sukom 98 & Gemilang 2001 team) becoz I no longer enjoy it & every training ride feels like it was being forced upon me. It all began with the Gemilang 2001 project. I couldn't stay with team in Bkt Jalil (I was in UKM at that time) & becoz of that I was given only RM100 as monthly allowance (I'd get RM700 if I stayed in Bkt Jalil). Money was never the reason I joined the team, but RM100 a month is just impossible. I've been supporting myself before that, feeding & training needs was all from my pocket. Everytime I train I'd spend at least RM5 for feeding. I used to take Cloud 9 chocolate bars as feeding, only 80 cents each.. hahah... everyone has their chances... why did you left the team anyways? To think about it now, maybe it was the best decision for me. It's always been so close yet so far for me. Lotsa 2nd & 3rd, never 1st. My last major result was 3rd in both sprint & kilo in the 1997 National Track Championships. In 1998 I missed riding in the World B track championships in Ipoh as I was down with a very bad fever just 3 days before the championships. That was supposed to be my platform to get back into the Sukom 98 project. I never really recovered from that. Missed out on 1999 Sea Games after performing very badly in the sprints (the trials was like 2 months after I recovered from my fever). |
Feb 14 2012, 12:53 PM
1 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
Anyone interested to get 2nd hand mid range MTB, Merida brand, used few times and been 'abandon' the ride for sometimes.
Please PM me to get full details |
Feb 14 2012, 01:41 PM
4,390 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: Cheras, Malaysia |
QUOTE(tenno @ Feb 14 2012, 12:48 PM) I left the team (& the sport) after 9 years (7 years in Selangor team, Sukom 98 & Gemilang 2001 team) becoz I no longer enjoy it & every training ride feels like it was being forced upon me. It all began with the Gemilang 2001 project. I couldn't stay with team in Bkt Jalil (I was in UKM at that time) & becoz of that I was given only RM100 as monthly allowance (I'd get RM700 if I stayed in Bkt Jalil). Money was never the reason I joined the team, but RM100 a month is just impossible. I've been supporting myself before that, feeding & training needs was all from my pocket. Everytime I train I'd spend at least RM5 for feeding. I used to take Cloud 9 chocolate bars as feeding, only 80 cents each.. Now we know in order to be in the glory, you need dedication, some wealth maybe, a lot of luck too...To think about it now, maybe it was the best decision for me. It's always been so close yet so far for me. Lotsa 2nd & 3rd, never 1st. My last major result was 3rd in both sprint & kilo in the 1997 National Track Championships. In 1998 I missed riding in the World B track championships in Ipoh as I was down with a very bad fever just 3 days before the championships. That was supposed to be my platform to get back into the Sukom 98 project. I never really recovered from that. Missed out on 1999 Sea Games after performing very badly in the sprints (the trials was like 2 months after I recovered from my fever). |
Feb 14 2012, 02:12 PM
3,550 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Bdr Saujana Putra |
QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Feb 14 2012, 01:41 PM) Now we know in order to be in the glory, you need dedication, some wealth maybe, a lot of luck too... Dedicated I was, some of my friends & teammates who received full backing & had some good results to show was gone earlier than me. & to think that the cost of the sport then was waaaay cheaper than it is now (but still expensive)... I didn't receive full backing becoz I was considered part time by my state, becoz I was more focused on studying. I only joined the team fulltime for SUKMA (94 & 96). After that I still train weekly at the velodrome & I do my own road & weight training. & I was in the top 3 of both sprints & kilo for quite sometime. I was drafted in the SUKMA 94 team to ride the team pursuit, but I didn't perform & switched to sprints & kilo. I first grabbed the attention of the national coaches when I beat Edwin Ng (Joo Ngan's son) in the 1994 Sportexcel Track champs & after that it was sprints & kilo all the way. |
Feb 14 2012, 02:21 PM
QUOTE(Forgotten06 @ Feb 14 2012, 11:56 AM) Hi guys, I planned to take cyclist as one of my hobby and currently I am in a serious dilemma in choosing a starter bike. i rather not for that price... for around RM1.5k i believe you can still get mechanical disc brakes... and it should still come with 27speed alivio or acera...Currently budget still fixed in between 1k~1.5k. So do you guys have any recommendation within that budget? (Please dont just poison me yet with all those carbon frames etc etc. BTW is this bike okay for its price? http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...4976&hl=bicycle this is not poisoning... but bike biz has been getting expensive in recent years unfortunately.. RM1k no longer gets you anything... i guess also hard to sell if you really buy an XDS... QUOTE(hianboy @ Feb 14 2012, 12:36 PM) He still going strong... a much fuller report...http://velonews.competitor.com/2012/02/new...comeback_206243 it was not reallly a full triathlon.. but 70.3 format... but he still placed 2nd... not bad for 39 years old.. QUOTE(tenno @ Feb 14 2012, 12:48 PM) I left the team (& the sport) after 9 years (7 years in Selangor team, Sukom 98 & Gemilang 2001 team) becoz I no longer enjoy it & every training ride feels like it was being forced upon me. It all began with the Gemilang 2001 project. I couldn't stay with team in Bkt Jalil (I was in UKM at that time) & becoz of that I was given only RM100 as monthly allowance (I'd get RM700 if I stayed in Bkt Jalil). Money was never the reason I joined the team, but RM100 a month is just impossible. I've been supporting myself before that, feeding & training needs was all from my pocket. Everytime I train I'd spend at least RM5 for feeding. I used to take Cloud 9 chocolate bars as feeding, only 80 cents each.. RM100 as allowance??? i heard about those municipal council members getting ridiculous allowances of RM500 and they have to spend their free time running around... RM100 is an all new low...To think about it now, maybe it was the best decision for me. It's always been so close yet so far for me. Lotsa 2nd & 3rd, never 1st. My last major result was 3rd in both sprint & kilo in the 1997 National Track Championships. In 1998 I missed riding in the World B track championships in Ipoh as I was down with a very bad fever just 3 days before the championships. That was supposed to be my platform to get back into the Sukom 98 project. I never really recovered from that. Missed out on 1999 Sea Games after performing very badly in the sprints (the trials was like 2 months after I recovered from my fever). but you can still opt for a desk job in the national sports council right as i heard some of the athletes do to get an income...i mean RM100 can't even last you for more than 1 week jus makan alone whether you are a sportsperson or not... i guess having the dream of becoming a sports person just isn't really feasible here... a dream is dream as they say... reality is what you have to face with.. and the career span of a sportsperson is so short that you have to make enough to ensure you have enough to last you once you are over the hill.. unlike most of us who will work until the age of 55 or even 60 nowadays... QUOTE(btohkh @ Feb 14 2012, 12:53 PM) Anyone interested to get 2nd hand mid range MTB, Merida brand, used few times and been 'abandon' the ride for sometimes. play matchmaker... why not you send what you have to Forgotten06... 4 post above.. does it fit his budget?Please PM me to get full details Added on February 14, 2012, 2:37 pm QUOTE(tenno @ Feb 14 2012, 02:12 PM) Dedicated I was, some of my friends & teammates who received full backing & had some good results to show was gone earlier than me. & to think that the cost of the sport then was waaaay cheaper than it is now (but still expensive)... I didn't receive full backing becoz I was considered part time by my state, becoz I was more focused on studying. I only joined the team fulltime for SUKMA (94 & 96). After that I still train weekly at the velodrome & I do my own road & weight training. & I was in the top 3 of both sprints & kilo for quite sometime. I was drafted in the SUKMA 94 team to ride the team pursuit, but I didn't perform & switched to sprints & kilo. I first grabbed the attention of the national coaches when I beat Edwin Ng (Joo Ngan's son) in the 1994 Sportexcel Track champs & after that it was sprints & kilo all the way. i would think even if you can maintain a long career.. there is always the worry that you can get a career ending injury... although track deaths are not very known... but a bad incident can lay you in hospital for months if not ending your career...i think edwin also stopped due to a big crash in genting highlands or something like that... even when i knew him when he was no longer a sportsmen in the late 90's early 2000's.. he still takes shit loads of risk riding road or mountain bikes... and the few unfortunate times that i saw him in a cast... i am curious... are you working a desk job nowadays after you left more than 10 years ago... This post has been edited by butthead: Feb 14 2012, 02:37 PM |
Feb 14 2012, 03:17 PM
4,390 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: Cheras, Malaysia |
Bought a new pump, and 2 matching colour cage bottle (well they looks really lousy quality tho, complain much for RM15 ea) RM170 gone |
| Change to: | 0.0630sec
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 08:10 PM |