Cycling, Any cyclist here??

tenno
post Mar 9 2007, 10:12 AM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

I left competitive cycling in 2000 after almost 9 years. Recently I surfed to KSH website & was shocked to find out how much a decent bike costs these days. If I'm not mistaken, the new Look 580 frame costs RM10,800 !! During my day, U could get a Look KG196 with at least Dura Ace componentry with that kind of money. But of course, technologically, a lot has improved.

My bike was a Giant CFR-1 (RM1280) with mixed components. Shifter was Shimano RX-100 STI, front derailleur was Dura Ace, Shimano Ultegra rear derailleur with 8 speed casette (12-23T), Selle Italia Flite Ti saddle, Look Carbo Pro pedals, Shimano 105 crankset (53-39T), Cinelli stem, Mavic deep drop handlebar, Deore XT headset, Mavic clincher wheelset. My helmet was Bell Razor Pro Pump, Briko Stinger glasses, Shimano R120 shoes. Clothing was provided by my team. It costs around RM4,000.00, I sold it for RM1K.

I saw some Lerun models but wasn't really impressed with the component offering. Perhaps U could buy the bike & upgrade the components later.
tenno
post Aug 24 2010, 03:48 PM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

U guys now need to practise using clipless ? Hahah... when I started riding, I had to practise using toe clips + straps.. used it for 4 years before finally upgraded to clipless... my first ever clipless was Look PP66 (or 156/166, can't remember) .. considered a relic nowadays...

Used downtube shifters for 6 years before upgrading to STI (RX100), used 7 speed for 6 years before upgrading to 8 speed... what else... used single pivot brakes for 6 years before upgrading to dual-pivot.. used steel frame for 5 years before upgrading to carbon fiber (Giant CFR-1)... heck.. I managed to work my way into the Sukom '98 project team using a steel bike... RM340 Colnago pirated version bought from Joo Ngan (who later became my coach for a while).. bike weight was 23 lbs.. unheard of nowadays right, even for a mountain bike ?

Didn't use hardshell helmet until finally I bought my Bell Razor Pump Pro in 1993. I've only ever used 3 helmets thruout my 9 years in cycling... after the Bell I had Specialized Sub-6 Pro (damaged when I crashed head first at Cheras Velodrome in 1995), & I bought another Bell Razor Pump Pro after my crash.. I still have the helmet today..

Had my first "original" sunglasses in 1996, just before I left for SUKMA Kuantan (my last Sukma), it was a Briko Zen. That was 5 years after I first got involved with cycling, 3 years after I started representing Selangor..

I rode my Sukom 98 road trials in 1993 using a steel bike with 28" rear wheel (with Schrader valves), 27" front wheel, 7-speed drivetrain with downtube shifters, toeclip pedal, steel crankset.. My dad bought me the bike for about RM300... I changed the fork to a standard fork (hence the 27" wheel), I had to set the brakepads vertically on the caliper becoz it was too long.. but I managed to get 8th place in the road race.. around the same placing for time trial..

Hahah... those were the days... just sharing my experience with U guys... biggrin.gif
tenno
post Oct 13 2010, 09:18 AM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(littlebeettle @ Sep 30 2010, 11:59 AM)
Wanna share some experience of mine yesterday when cycle kesas.

As usual, finish my route, went for a tea break near Seri Petaling.

Was blocked by JPJ....a major operation.
My car was kena beacuse of HID. No question on that.
The officer then start his conversation.
JPJ:wah pergi cycle huh..mana u cycle?
Me:kesas route.
JPJ: Owh...eh, salah tau basikal you letak dalam kereta. Passenger seat dah fold then you pulak letak basikal.
Me: Salah???Apasal Salah...basikal tak terkeluar pun
JPJ: Kalau nak bawa basikal dgn kereta...you kena apply dan pasang roof rack.
Me: Owh....kena apply lagi kat JPJ untuk kebenaran pasang roof rack tu?
JPJ: Ya.
Me: Sorry tuan...Saya tak tau la ada ini undang2. Takpe, Saya akan mohon ya.

My question is, private car cannot carry bike inside the car??
As far as i concern, as long as the object does not above the side window and rear windshield it is not wrong doing.

Is my understanding correct? Pls enlighten. Thx
I dun think U need a permit to use roof racks. Just check with JPJ la.. but I really dun think there's any requirement for a permit, or else we won't see so many roof racks on so many cars.

Added on October 13, 2010, 9:28 am
QUOTE(doublezul @ Oct 11 2010, 08:52 PM)
any track cyclist here?like our pocketrocketman?
Used to be. When I was racing the track program at SSBJ was just starting. That was like 12 years ago, so I dun think Azizulhasni was around at that time. My specialty was sprints & kilo.. I was a track sprinter. Ranked as high as 2nd national in 1996.

When I decided to quit, Josiah had just returned to Malaysia, met him a couple of times, never had the chance to race him though.

My former coach, Rosman Alwi is now coach at SSBJ (I think)..

Azizulhasni is indeed a special breed. & the whole national track team is now really world-class, with a world-class coach & managing to challenge at world level. During my time, U'd never heard of anybody clocking 10secs for flying 200m, the national record in 1997 was 10.98 by Rosman. Nowadays at least 4-5 guys in the track team is capable of clocking mid 10secs.

In the late 90s & early 2000s, our best kilo rider was Jamil Kadiron (I dunno where he is now). His best time (& national record) was around 1:08. Nowadays Rizal Tisin can do very low 1:02s... at ACC last year I think he won it with 1:01.. during my time, that kinda time was a world record...

So much has changed now in track cycling, better bikes, better training technique, better understanding of aerodynamics... all that contributes to phenomenal times. Wished I had stayed around longer...

This post has been edited by tenno: Oct 13 2010, 09:28 AM
tenno
post Oct 14 2010, 07:33 PM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(Juggerballz @ Oct 12 2010, 02:53 PM)
what's the price range for raleigh road bikes?
I'm not quite sure if Raleigh's road bikes are available in Msian market.. years ago Raleigh's got a couple of low-end models, the Rapide & Super Rapide.. those are easily found at any bike shops, even "uncle" ones... Maybe it's being sold under other brand names... like Lerun was a Raleigh model.. but those are for mountain bikes..

Added on October 14, 2010, 7:36 pm
QUOTE(doublezul @ Oct 13 2010, 07:46 PM)

Added on October 13, 2010, 7:47 pm
emm,how hard it is to be a good rider eh?is it all about the power of the leg?
If U just wanna be just-another-rider then all U need to do is train hard. But if U wanna be a champion & compete at the highest levels, U need to have the genetics first of all, then the heart of a champion (very rare, in Malaysia maybe only evident in Azizulhasni, Nicol David & LCW), then U need to have extremely high tolerance for pain & never, ever give up.

Of course, U need the legs also la. But then that can be developed. A champion material like Azizulhasni wasn't produced overnite.... (well, maybe he was "produced" at nite though... tongue.gif )

This post has been edited by tenno: Oct 14 2010, 07:36 PM
tenno
post Oct 19 2010, 10:01 AM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(Juggerballz @ Oct 16 2010, 09:11 PM)
isn't ZIPP a tyre and rim brand, not bike brand la
There was a Zipp bike, developed for TT & Triathlon, I dunno if they still produce it though. But Zipp is primarily a wheels & parts manufacturer though.
tenno
post Oct 21 2010, 02:50 PM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(Juggerballz @ Oct 14 2010, 09:35 PM)
So do you know the usj cycles shop in USJ 4? what type of road bikes are they selling?
This shop sells Raleigh bikes, MTB to be precise...

http://keentocycle.webs.com/

This post has been edited by tenno: Oct 21 2010, 02:50 PM
tenno
post Nov 7 2010, 09:28 PM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

MTB owners, if U're riding are done predominantly on the road, pls change to slick tires. Or better still, have 2 sets of wheels, one set knobby & 1 set slicks. U'd look really, really silly & inexperienced riding knobbies on the road. Change it to slicks at the time of buying, most shops will just change it for free. What do U get by riding slicks ? Better control, better grip, much, much lower rolling resistance, better speed, better cornering, everything better & less rookie factor.

This post has been edited by tenno: Nov 10 2010, 12:53 AM
tenno
post Nov 10 2010, 12:54 AM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

Also, a word of advice for newbies or rookie riders. It's absolutely crucial for U to get Ur position right on the bike. Any good shop or experienced rider can help U with positioning. First, U have to get Ur bike size correct (I'm talking about road bikes here). For normal, typical bike frames, a rider with 175cm height should choose bikes with 52-54cm seat tube (centre to centre). But with the advent of bikes with smaller main triangle nowadays, it's okay to go for shorter seat tubes, but Ur seatpost must be of correct height. I think U can Google this sizing chart up. A 6-footer might choose 56cm seat tube.

Bikes with smaller main triangle will be stiffer than those with big/normal ones. But a small main triangle could lead to other irregular parts. Example, U'll need a longer stem (sometimes with zero rise), longer seat post, longer crankarms, etc. Bikes with small main triangles was made popular by Chris Boardman, world champion pursuiter & world hour record holder.

Ur position on bike, with the order of importance is as follows :
1. Seat height (incorrect seat height could lead to knee problems)
2. Top tube length (incorrect top tube length could lead to back problems)
3. Stem length (same as #2)
4. Handlebar width (too wide & handling will be slow, too narrow will cause very nervous handling)

From my observation, nowadays most riders prefer to be quite stretched out when riding. But there's no point having extreme positions if U can't apply full power to the pedals. Get advice from experienced riders. I often can point out positioning mistakes/problems just by observing the way some riders ride. Also, when riding on the bar tops, relax Ur arms & bend slightly on the elbows, U'll experience less fatigue than if Ur arms are stiff & straight.
tenno
post Nov 13 2010, 12:47 AM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(fevercrash @ Nov 12 2010, 08:38 PM)
not agree.. whistling.gif
Good for U.
tenno
post Jan 30 2012, 12:03 PM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

I was in doing my LSD (running) in Putrajaya on Saturday, I saw the MSN guys there surveying the course. What happened was unfortunate, but having said that, I think the driver was also.. I dunno what she was thinking, becoz she was trying to get around a car which was already stopped by the marshals. I dunno the riders who got knocked down, but I know the coaches & Amrun was a personal friend.

I've ridden competitively before & I can tell that the way it is now is different during my time in the 90's & early 2000. More cars on the road now, more riders, faster cars, crazier drivers... there are some cyclist-hating drivers out there, so beware. But the fact that it happened in a race is very unfortunate. In training I can understand, sometimes the escorts are too far behind to stop the cars & normally riders, especially when riding in a pack, they dun stop for traffic lights. Just make Urself visible to traffic & be cautious when approaching traffic lights & junctions, to lose a fraction of a second to stop at traffic lights is better than to lose a limb.
tenno
post Feb 11 2012, 02:51 AM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 10 2012, 10:18 PM)
for rollers

the good
- can do intervals training
- i think can be good for concentrating on improving pedal strokes
- i think it can also let you improve your on bike balance
- practically do anything you want on the roller, consider it a static rolling road

the bad
- offer little resistance
- takes some use to balance and get onto the roller
I dunno about rollers nowadays, but I think there are rollers with magnetic resistance built in. I'm not sure if it's still being sold nowadays, but I had one Minoura roller with up to 7 levels of magnetic resistance that U can adjust by turning a dial on one of the rollers. I think I still have it, dunno where it is now... I took it with me when I left the national team back in 2000 ( I hope there's no MSN spy here tongue.gif )

Rollers can really help with Ur bike handling skills & definitely helps U develop a smooth pedal stroke. We used rollers all the time in training, even with track bikes. Some of the more daring riders would go out of the saddle on rollers. Another good drill to help Ur balance & smooth pedal stroke is one-legged pedalling on rollers. I've seen it being done... take one foot off the pedal, & pedal with the other leg, balance with Ur "hanging" leg. Did it a few times... but not for that long la...

Aaah... the good ol' days.... biggrin.gif
tenno
post Feb 11 2012, 10:14 PM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 11 2012, 04:12 PM)
i think the minoura roller still exists...never went to check if it does have magnetic resistance though...

you were with the national team? team telekom? Year 2000 i think still have the hongkie by the name of Wong and the indon tonton susanto and the local tsen seong hong right?

now i think all retired dah...
I was with the track team, I quit just as Josiah was starting to make a name in the national team. I was in the Sukom 98 project & also the Gemilang 2001 project team, 200m sprint & kilo.

I think U mean Wong Kam Po. I dunno where Seong is now, I met Joo Ngan 2 weeks ago. Haven't met him for quite sometime.
tenno
post Feb 13 2012, 09:37 AM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Feb 13 2012, 06:36 AM)
hi i have questions...let say if i put ultegra shifter..can it mix with the rest of my 105 groupset? better shifting? shorter stroke in gear change? or no difference at all? thx guys smile.gif
My drivetrain setup used to be like this : RX100 dual control STI, Ultegra FD, 105 RD, 8-speed cassete. That got me into Sukom 98 project team & also to helped my team to a gold medal in Sukma 96 scratch race.

But drivetrain nowadays.. I think butthead is right. It used to be that way as well for Shimano products. U can mix anything except for Dura Ace components. The problem shud be the dual-control shifter, becoz the shifting geometry is there (cable movement). To use different FD/RD shud be no prob. In Ur case, Ur setup shud be fine.

When 8-speed shifiting was introduced, I was still on downtube lever (I wonder how many of U know this thing, downtube shifter...). I had 8-speed cassette with 7 speed indexed downtube shifter. To get to the 8th cog, I had to pull the shifter to the end until it shifts... had to live with that for a few months, until I managed to but the RX100 STI....

Added on February 13, 2012, 9:45 am
QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 11 2012, 11:06 PM)
was josiah into the sport those years.. i think i heard about his name only somewhere around late 2004...

You are rite... wong kam po... i met seong through edwin at Joo Ngan's shop before back when his father was still the coach...
Josiah came back to Malaysia late in 1999, when we started the Gemilang 2001 project. He started riding for the country in the 2001 Sea Games where he won the sprints & the kilo I think. 2004 he was already in the Athens Olympic keirin final.

When he 1st came back, a lot of ppl (the seniors especially) didn't like him that much, maybe becoz having been raised in the US, he can be a bit brash.. but I used to talk to him a lot, proly becoz he din know much BM & my English was better than other cyclists. So we became friends but I lost contact with him after I quit the sport. I dunno if he still remembers me.

Quite funny when the newspaper write him off becoz he turned 31 this year. In sprints it's totally different, sprinters get better with age. A lot of world class sprinters had very long careers, well into their 30's & some into 40's. Michael Hubner, world champion at age 35 I think. Gary Neiwand, Jens Fiedler... all late 30's & still won World Cup races. Pavel Buran, a Czech, retired only at age 40+... our own Rosman Alwi, still wins Sea Games gold at 35-36 .. (used to train with him & his father, the late Pak Awi..)

This post has been edited by tenno: Feb 13 2012, 09:46 AM
tenno
post Feb 13 2012, 11:47 AM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 13 2012, 10:38 AM)
we don't even have the downtube shifter boss nowadays...haha...

the only way we get to approach one is through the current TT bar end shifters... they are essentially the same units except being given a additional bar end plug to mount the shifters...

those were the days before STI levers became common...the good thing with downtube shifters is that you can loosed the screws and you lose indexed shifting but you shift any amount of gears you need to... just by feel and not that precised...

we are too spoilt nowadays  blush.gif
We dun loosen the screw (on the downtube shifters), actually there's the friction option U can switch to, U have to turn a knob on the shifter boss, until it points to friction. Friction shifters, for the uninitiated, is the old form of shifting, before there was indexed shifting, before dual control STIs. U just pull the lever until it shifts to the next cog (up or down) & then trim it. Then in the late 1980s Shimano came up with the indexed shifting, with shifters that clicks into the next cog, eliminating the need to trim & also the guessing game (whether the chain's already on the desired cog).

i think partly Josiah was raised outside of malaysia and also partly his performance was intimidating other riders... in
the world of sports, no one likes to be outshone and 2nd rated... heard he nowadays live in australia for training purposes...  not strange that it is hard to meet up with him...

The whole elite track team is based in Australia. Australia's been the country of choice for overseas training since the days of the Sukom 98 team. I never had the chance to go though. sad.gif

i guess the main reason that track cyclist has a longer career is that track events don't require the same endurance levels as a road rider does... just my thinking.. trackies just need to worry about an all out effort for less than 10mins depending on their specialization while a road cyclist might have to put out considerably less wattage but deal with as long as 30-40mins of effort especially on mountain top finishes... something like 500 watts for 30 mins maintained.. while sprinters like Mark Cav who is also a trackie in his days puts out in excess of 1300 watts i heard during the final finish line sprints...

but if you look at the trend of road cyclist nowadays... it seems that their career peak has also change statistically... 10-15 years back.. you see back in the days of 1990s... indurain won his first tour at the age of 28 for five consecutive times.... Armstrong won at age 28 for 7 consecutive times...

in the 2000's you see the likes of Alberto Contador winning their first grand tour at the age of 24 or 25 and further examples like Andy Schleck who just turned 26 last year... he also won his 2010 TDF title at the age of 25 with the current exclusion of Contador for the clenbuterol incident... Ullrich is until now i believe by far the youngest tour winner at the age of 23 when he won in 97....

maybe it doesn't give a full picture from the statistics... but if you watch the careers of indurain and armstrong albeit different characteristics in terms of riding... they have both lasted many seasons before you see a change in their form...

when you watch Alberto or Ullrich reaching their peak so young... you see that their form either falls onto a plateau or starts dropping after a short couple of years... 2007 you can see Contador attacking Rasmussen on the climbs very aggresively... 2008 wasn't bad with what was no preparations for the Giro and back to back went for the Vuelta in a 3 month period (2 fitness peaks in 1 season)... in 2009 he was also very aggressive combating with Schleck and finally seeing a more mortal contador in 2010 with the first indication of getting dropped by Andy's acceleration on the Avoriaz ascent...Ullrich fared no better after his first win in 1997...

we can all argue that the competition is far more aggressive in the latter part of 2000 decade and Ullrich met with a relatively strong Pantani and arrival of Armstrong.. but the way the sport works where in recent GC contenders is no longer aiming for long breakaways... but rather hide in the peloton until the last climb of the day and then shoot off like a rocket to disintegrate their opponents... how races works nowadays is much more different with more complex strategies... having to concentrate on 1 big race rather than trying to win every damn thing like Merckx also changes the way the sport works...
Road sprinters are indeed a special breed. In one interview with Indurain, when asked who he admired most, Indurain said it was the sprinters. Why ? Becoz they suffer so much just to get to the finish line, & in the last 200-300m they're transformed into a different animal, with incredible speed. Road sprinters typically reach 60-70km/h, which is phenomenal if U consider before that they had to ride 150-200km of road stage.
tenno
post Feb 14 2012, 12:48 PM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 13 2012, 12:27 PM)
maybe mine was a paria one... there is this small little ear ring look a like thing and when turned slightly and loosen... it loses the index shifting and goes into the friction mode you mention...

hahah... everyone has their chances... why did you left the team anyways?
I left the team (& the sport) after 9 years (7 years in Selangor team, Sukom 98 & Gemilang 2001 team) becoz I no longer enjoy it & every training ride feels like it was being forced upon me. It all began with the Gemilang 2001 project. I couldn't stay with team in Bkt Jalil (I was in UKM at that time) & becoz of that I was given only RM100 as monthly allowance (I'd get RM700 if I stayed in Bkt Jalil). Money was never the reason I joined the team, but RM100 a month is just impossible. I've been supporting myself before that, feeding & training needs was all from my pocket. Everytime I train I'd spend at least RM5 for feeding. I used to take Cloud 9 chocolate bars as feeding, only 80 cents each.. tongue.gif My family had been supporting me & it's getting harder for me to burden my family with my cycling expenses. So I decided to pullout of the project team & the sport for good.

To think about it now, maybe it was the best decision for me. It's always been so close yet so far for me. Lotsa 2nd & 3rd, never 1st. My last major result was 3rd in both sprint & kilo in the 1997 National Track Championships. In 1998 I missed riding in the World B track championships in Ipoh as I was down with a very bad fever just 3 days before the championships. That was supposed to be my platform to get back into the Sukom 98 project. I never really recovered from that. Missed out on 1999 Sea Games after performing very badly in the sprints (the trials was like 2 months after I recovered from my fever).
tenno
post Feb 14 2012, 02:12 PM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Feb 14 2012, 01:41 PM)
Now we know in order to be in the glory, you need dedication, some wealth maybe, a lot of luck too...
Dedicated I was, some of my friends & teammates who received full backing & had some good results to show was gone earlier than me. & to think that the cost of the sport then was waaaay cheaper than it is now (but still expensive)... I didn't receive full backing becoz I was considered part time by my state, becoz I was more focused on studying. I only joined the team fulltime for SUKMA (94 & 96). After that I still train weekly at the velodrome & I do my own road & weight training. & I was in the top 3 of both sprints & kilo for quite sometime. I was drafted in the SUKMA 94 team to ride the team pursuit, but I didn't perform & switched to sprints & kilo. I first grabbed the attention of the national coaches when I beat Edwin Ng (Joo Ngan's son) in the 1994 Sportexcel Track champs & after that it was sprints & kilo all the way.
tenno
post Feb 14 2012, 04:09 PM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 14 2012, 02:21 PM)
RM100 as allowance??? i heard about those municipal council members getting ridiculous allowances of RM500 and they have to spend their free time running around... RM100 is an all new low...

but you can still opt for a desk job in the national sports council right as i heard some of the athletes do to get an income...i mean RM100 can't even last you for more than 1 week jus makan alone whether you are a sportsperson or not...

i guess having the dream of becoming a sports person just isn't really feasible here... a dream is dream as they say... reality is what you have to face with.. and the career span of a sportsperson is so short that you have to make enough to ensure you have enough to last you once you are over the hill.. unlike most of us who will work until the age of 55 or even 60 nowadays...
During my time, those who chose to ride fulltime will be given a deskjob with the municipal council that supports that sport. In Selangor those days, each Municipal/Town Council will be in charge of development for one sport, example MPKlang specializes in hockey, MPPJ in cycling & football. So us cyclists was put under MPPJ la. Allowance will vary according to Ur level, national cyclists will get RM1000, state level will get RM700. But U dun go to work everyday, maybe once, twice a month. Ur job is to train & win. I wasn't one of those for the reason I mentioned earlier, I chose not to go fulltime. Other than that, we were given a place to stay, equipment & clothing are being taken care of, travel also. If we go to races we'll get additional allowance. So in my case, I only get allowance when I go for centralized training or races. In 1997 I had to do part time at McDonalds to support myself. So I train in the morning, then go to work afterwards.

Added on February 14, 2012, 2:37 pm

i would think even if you can maintain a long career.. there is always the worry that you can get a career ending injury... although track deaths are not very known... but a bad incident can lay you in hospital for months if not ending your career...

i think edwin also stopped due to a big crash in genting highlands or something like that... even when i knew him when he was no longer a sportsmen in the late 90's early 2000's.. he still takes shit loads of risk riding road or mountain bikes... and the few unfortunate times that i saw him in a cast...

i am curious... are you working a desk job nowadays after you left more than 10 years ago...
I'm not sure why Edwin stopped. He worked as a model for a while I think. We became good friends after I beat him.

I was fortunate to have had only one serious accident thruout my track career. In the sprint finals of the Sportexcel in 1995, it was my last race as a junior, I crashed headfirst onto the velodrome right at the finish line. It knocked me out for a couple of minutes, when I came around, I was on my Dad's lap, blood all over. I was admitted into HTAR in Klang, had a scan, nothing was broken so I got out in the evening. 2 days later I was back racing in the 1st ever SUKSES. Didn't finish tho, my head was about to explode.. tongue.gif But that crash robbed me of my best chance to win as a junior. I'd already won the 1st heat, crashed in the 2nd. sad.gif

I'm working a deskjob nowadays, in Putrajaya. Nowadays I run half marathons. Seeing all those ppl riding in Putrajaya nowadays made me feel itchy to ride again... tongue.gif tongue.gif

I went to see the ACC ITT just now, met some old friends. The ITT course & also the road race course passes right in front of my office ... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by tenno: Feb 14 2012, 04:12 PM
tenno
post Feb 15 2012, 10:00 AM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Feb 14 2012, 08:51 PM)
wow..got people who really was an elite cyclist in this thread. that's great...although I've googled a lot for cycling tips, I still wanna hear from you guys here about climbing tips.

from what I know:

1) sitting on the saddle during a climb can save more energy than if you were to ride out of the saddle (which will put your whole weight onto your leg, thus not good in conserving energy)

2) sit more upright and hands on the hood as to allow your lung to become bigger than if you were to put your hands on the drop

3)....
4)....

anymore that i'm missing? care to share your climbing tips.....i'm going for a ride that gonna have lot of climbing sections in the coming next 2 weeks smile.gif thx guys
For long climbs, as butthead said, the best way is seated. But if possible, spin at high cadence when U're seated la, maybe between 80-90rpm .. once Ur slowing down or U encounter steeper gradients, upshift 1 cog or two, stand & accelerate for a few seconds, then get back on the saddle. When Ur on the saddle, keep Ur hands on the tops, or maybe the hood (brake hood), depending on how U set up Ur bike. Very seldom we see ppl climbing on the drops, even when accelerating, becoz on the drops U won't get as much leverage as the hoods. There's a reason why brake hoods (or dual control hoods) are shaped the way they are nowadays. To make it easier for U to grab them while climbing.

Despite being a pretty big guy & a sprinter, I like climbing a lot. The reward, of course, is the descent. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
tenno
post Feb 20 2012, 09:10 AM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Feb 19 2012, 07:31 PM)
I remember some rider complain about overheating with helmet on during the climbing on mount ventoux. Until someone died then UCI made it compulsory
Perhaps the most famous death in the Tour de France after a crash during a descent was Fabio Casartelli in 1995. He died from skull fracture after getting involved in a high speed crash with several others. The Tour doctor at that time said that even if he had a helmet on it wouldn't have saved him. If anybody here can Google up the picture, U can see the amount of blood on the road. He was the 1992 Olympic champion & teammate of Lance Armstrong at that time, riding for team Motorola. The next day the peloton rode together in his honor & the Motorola team was allowed to finish together at the front of the peloton.

Another famous death in the Tour was Tom Simpson, who died of heat stroke on Mont Ventoux in the 1960s. His famous last words were,"Put me back on my bike !"
tenno
post Feb 20 2012, 09:16 AM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(silvy @ Feb 19 2012, 11:33 PM)
Problems with cycling:-

1) TIME - work is frm 9am to 8pm monday to friday.... after 8pm it is called night cycling...it is dangerous as drivers tend to drive faster at night and u r not tat visible to them compared to day

2) SUN  - even if u opt to cycle on saturday and sunday..after 10am the sun comes out..and u will become african in no time if u keep cycling after 10am say till 11am

3) RAIN- it always rain in this country. you will nvr know when the ur nicely planned schedule will be interupted

4) COMMUNITY - it seems difficult for me to get in touch with a group of cyclist who are willing to cycle on a regular basis say 2 nights per week and once during the weekend.... i just don't know whr to find cyclists besides my usual group who rides frm 730am to 11.30am every sat or sun

5) SAFETY - i ride twice long distance before... most of the drivers pretty much won't slow down when they spot cyclists on the road.. well may 1 or 2 out of 10 will actually slow down for u....u have to be really careful when drivers are sleepy and they might ramp into u eventho it's perfectly due to no fault of yours...roads are pretty narrow too...there is no cycling lane..
I think the real issue is just the last one... maybe the 4th one as well. Considering the advent of internet these days, it's quite a surprise for me to find anybody finding getting in touch a problem.

I used to ride from 7am right up to 11 or 12, depending on the days' program. The longest ride I did solo was in 1995 I think, 160km from Skudai to Ayer Hitam & back, I got back to UTM campus at about 2pm. Tan lines was supposed to be a cyclists badge of honor. I dunno about nowadays la, we never used any sunblock or anything back in the day. Oh, & we rode rain or shine. The training must go on. But of course, finding time is up to one's creativity. With 9-5 work, 9-8 for some.... what U can do is make every ride count la.

0.0751sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:39 PM