126 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Bottom

Cycling, Any cyclist here??

hianboy
post Dec 29 2011, 10:39 PM

364 posts

er...yeap...fren said if dun wan to spend for future upgrade...go for 105...and also the wheelset that came with the bike...
Sky.Live
post Dec 29 2011, 11:02 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(hianboy @ Dec 29 2011, 10:39 PM)
er...yeap...fren said if dun wan to spend for future upgrade...go for 105...and also the wheelset that came with the bike...
what the price range for helios 500?

the boss actually say for my size (178cm), i can fit a size M and S, between them?

Kinda confuse with size..
some put in CM
some put in XS S M etc

This post has been edited by Sky.Live: Dec 29 2011, 11:19 PM
malleus
post Dec 30 2011, 01:04 AM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Dec 29 2011, 11:02 PM)

the boss actually say for my size (178cm), i can fit a size M and S, between them?

some put in CM
some put in XS S M etc
To avoid confusion between the XS, S, M sizes, look at the actual measurements itself. MTB measurement tends to be in inches, while road bikes tend to be in cm. Normally I'll say that a size S is either 15.5 inch MTB or 43cm for road bike.

I'm 165cm, and I use a size 15.5 MTB, which is a size S. If you're at 178cm, a size M is likely to be too small for you, let alone a size S. Your size should be more towards a L or sizes between 56, 57 or 58cm.

This is rather important, getting a bike that's the right sized. My first bike was a 16.5 inch (size M), and its too big for me. The result are aching shoulder and neck muscles, and the palms of my hands getting numb very often during longer rides, as I was leaning forward too far, placing too much weight on the palm of my hands, as well as having to raise my head higher up.

Another cycling buddy who's first bike was too small for him says that the problem he's had was pain in his upper arm muscles and mid back muscles during longer rides.

You can sort of use this here as a rough guide: http://www.evanscycles.com/help/bike-sizing

But at the end of the day, you'll still need to get yourself test fitted properly for the bike that you're looking at. You'll also need to get the seat position, handlebar position, brake level angles, distance between saddle and handlebars and so forth adjusted properly to fit you, in addition to the frame size.

The adjustments can be well, adjusted as you go along, but frame size cannot be. And nothing throws you off cycling more than spending money on a bike to find that the size is wrong for you. And this is not something that you'll notice right away, but you'll only experience the problems during longer rides.

This post has been edited by malleus: Dec 30 2011, 01:07 AM
Sky.Live
post Dec 30 2011, 09:01 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(malleus @ Dec 30 2011, 01:04 AM)
To avoid confusion between the XS, S, M sizes, look at the actual measurements itself. MTB measurement tends to be in inches, while road bikes tend to be in cm. Normally I'll say that a size S is either 15.5 inch MTB or 43cm for road bike.

I'm 165cm, and I use a size 15.5 MTB, which is a size S. If you're at 178cm, a size M is likely to be too small for you, let alone a size S. Your size should be more towards a L or sizes between 56, 57 or 58cm.

This is rather important, getting a bike that's the right sized. My first bike was a 16.5 inch (size M), and its too big for me. The result are aching shoulder and neck muscles, and the palms of my hands getting numb very often during longer rides, as I was leaning forward too far, placing too much weight on the palm of my hands, as well as having to raise my head higher up.

Another cycling buddy who's first bike was too small for him says that the problem he's had was pain in his upper arm muscles and mid back muscles during longer rides.

You can sort of use this here as a rough guide: http://www.evanscycles.com/help/bike-sizing

But at the end of the day, you'll still need to get yourself test fitted properly for the bike that you're looking at. You'll also need to get the seat position, handlebar position, brake level angles, distance between saddle and handlebars and so forth adjusted properly to fit you, in addition to the frame size.

The adjustments can be well, adjusted as you go along, but frame size cannot be. And nothing throws you off cycling more than spending money on a bike to find that the size is wrong for you. And this is not something that you'll notice right away, but you'll only experience the problems during longer rides.
I don't understand most shops doesn't really bother about my question regarding size, it seems that size doesn't really matter. I am curios too when I see on the chart I am suppose to ride at least 54CM frame but most shops try to say it's limited in Malaysia and you can't really get them easily.

They try to convince me that u should always get a smaller size and just adjust the saddle to a higher height.

I know myself being a person who doesn't really like frequent upgrade, I might set my mind on 105 component thinking of that, I still don't really like the idea of spending a fortune without knowing what I want although bonus just came out, not really good tho, not enuff for helios 500..

btw what is the differences between a good gear and a lower end one?

Also like to know which is better? dropbar/flatbar?

Really sorry for my question bombardment

This post has been edited by Sky.Live: Dec 30 2011, 09:10 AM
malleus
post Dec 30 2011, 10:29 AM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Dec 30 2011, 09:01 AM)
I don't understand most shops doesn't really bother about my question regarding size, it seems that size doesn't really matter. I am curios too when I see on the chart I am suppose to ride at least 54CM frame but most shops try to say it's limited in Malaysia and you can't really get them easily.

They try to convince me that u should always get a smaller size and just adjust the saddle to a higher height.

I know myself being a person who doesn't really like frequent upgrade, I might set my mind on 105 component thinking of that, I still don't really like the idea of spending a fortune without knowing what I want although bonus just came out, not really good tho, not enuff for helios 500..
Frame size is actually the most important thing to look at. Things like the group set, the weight of the bike and so forth, you can probably put up with. After all, even if the bike is heavy, you can still do long rides, as long as you train up your stamina.

But an incorrect frame size will actually effect your ability to do long rides badly, as its no longer just an issue of stamina but you'll need to put up with aching and strained muscles as well. And from my cycling buddy's experience, it would seem that a too small frame size is worse than the too big frame size that I had experienced. In a proper setup, the only thing that should get tired are your legs as that's what you use to pedal.

If the shop tries to convince you to get a frame size that's not suitable for you, then my advice is to head off to another shop. Most common sizes are the M sizes, and XS, S or L might be a bit more difficult to find. The bikes under RM1k tends to come only in a single size, which is M.

A rather rough difference is how it effects the overall weight of the bike, how smooth the shifting of the gears are, and how likely the chain is to jump off the crank or cassette when you shift too quickly (not sure if this last one effects road bikes much)

Dropbar vs flatbar, I can't really say though, as I use a MTB. But if its like the flat vs riser bars for MTBs, then its actually something that depends a lot on the individual's preferences.

hianboy
post Dec 30 2011, 10:39 AM

364 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Dec 29 2011, 11:02 PM)

some put in CM
some put in XS S M etc
im also (approx.) 178cm im riding 52cm frame...

erm...good groupo shifter mores smooth...precise...more rigid (material wise...like Ultegra brake caliper much stiffer then 105...increase breaking power and efficiency) and also lighter...
Kuwahara
post Dec 30 2011, 03:46 PM

hi all..im a cyclist....from ampang.....greetings pedal freaks......user posted image smile.gif

i also provide bike setups,tuning,servicing,BG fitting & also selling cycling apparels & bicycle parts..

look for me in BBS

http://www.bicyclebuysell.com/#username=Kuwahara

http://www.facebook.com/mahazam

Happy Riding!

Added on December 30, 2011, 3:52 pmhttp://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.1095102392581.13019.1677232619&type=3

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.1...77232619&type=1

This post has been edited by Kuwahara: Dec 30 2011, 03:52 PM
yuanyi
post Dec 30 2011, 04:47 PM

30 posts

any shops in KL that offers instalment plan for bicycle purchase?
H2D
post Dec 30 2011, 06:25 PM

598 posts

rodalink, over 2k oni.
Skinny01010
post Dec 30 2011, 11:26 PM

38 posts

what shop u'd recommend to buy a fixie from? around subang or klang.

but pls dont recommend me Grafa lol, too expensive for me. tak boleh tahan. sweat.gif
H2D
post Dec 31 2011, 03:24 AM

598 posts

there are fixie in almost any bike shops, just need to go search.
fixie - no gears, no brake caliper, no brake levers, no shifters, no cables...
why it has to be expensive... ?? biggrin.gif
malleus
post Dec 31 2011, 05:47 AM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Dec 31 2011, 03:24 AM)
there are fixie in almost any bike shops, just need to go search.
fixie - no gears, no brake caliper, no brake levers, no shifters, no cables...
why it has to be expensive... ?? biggrin.gif
cause its become a hype among yuppies? smile.gif
Skinny01010
post Dec 31 2011, 07:48 AM

38 posts

hahaha LOL. Grafa's fixies are terrible out of my reach, few k each. rclxub.gif

I intend to equip the bike with brake levers + interrupter brake levers lah, not a fan of brakeless bikes.

p.s. would a 52:18 gear ratio be too high? there arent any hills where i intend to ride.
plkvoon
post Dec 31 2011, 06:57 PM

358 posts

my 2nd hand wheelset for sales. anyone?

http://bicyclebuysell.com/view_item.php?id=144661
dinraxxx
post Jan 1 2012, 02:34 PM

Ex-Intern Editor for Lowyat.NET.
1,836 posts

that means they only know to sell!avoid these kinds of shops.you'll regret once buying

Added on January 1, 2012, 4:20 pmFinally, I've decided myself not to get another bike.Since Ultegra Di2 is coming.I'm saving for the Ultegra Di2 or maybe skip with the Dura Ace mechanical and get a Zip 404 Firecrest.Those wheels looks superhot.

And there's this event you guys have to join. 1000km in 10 days. from south to north

Trans1Malaysia

This post has been edited by dinraxxx: Jan 1 2012, 04:20 PM
KongJY
post Jan 2 2012, 06:51 PM

Anyone know is thr any giant bike shop in negeri sembilan or kl area
rjb123
post Jan 2 2012, 11:25 PM

1,820 posts

I've had my bike in Malaysia for 1.5 years now and only really used it once or twice, now staying in SS16 Subang Jaya and the traffic has been putting me off , not to mention staying in a condo isn't the most convenient for taking the bike out having to use the lift and everything.

Anyway, looking to get it started again soon as I just stopped smoking and want to improve my fitness, and lets face it cycling in a gym compared to outside = boring!

Does anyone else cycle around this area? I don't really know it well at all - can anyone recommend any routes which don't involve any highways?
rawjuck
post Jan 3 2012, 01:23 AM

Hi guys. A have a road bike but it does not have fork with suspension. Is it possible to upgrade the fork with suspension? Any suggestion where i can buy it? Thanks.
noprob
post Jan 3 2012, 09:05 AM

1,982 posts

hi guys

Currently on Kenda Small Block Eight, 26 x 2.1
Am planning to change to road tire ..
need suggestion on brand and estimated price
also proper size for beginner pls . tq
malleus
post Jan 3 2012, 10:10 AM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(noprob @ Jan 3 2012, 09:05 AM)
hi guys

Currently on Kenda Small Block Eight, 26 x 2.1
Am planning to change to road tire ..
need suggestion on brand and estimated price
also proper size for beginner pls . tq
I have 2 sets of tires for my MTB, the original Bontrager 26x2.2 which I use for off road, and Maxxis Detonator 26x1.5 for road use.

1.5 is pretty ok. You'll need to get both the tires and the tubes. I remembered paying around 150-170 (can't remember the exact amount) for mine (2x tires and tubes)

Check the valve too. You'll want to get the same valve type that your Kenda tube uses for your road tire tubes as well.

126 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0258sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:31 AM