ahmeduk88
post Dec 28 2011, 04:05 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(noprob @ Dec 28 2011, 03:43 PM)
any mtb wheel are interchangeable ?
QUOTE(malleus @ Dec 28 2011, 03:48 PM)
tires, not the wheels, if that's what you mean.

I use 1.5' slicks for road, and 2.2' knobby for off road. just make sure that they're both the same diameter size.
basically, i use 1.5 slicks. easily changeable to to knobby 2.2s. no alteration on the rims needed. tp if 29ers i dunno if ada road slicks.

Added on December 28, 2011, 4:08 pm
QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Dec 28 2011, 03:53 PM)
I wanted to use bike to commute to work occasionally too, it starts at Kajang Silk High way turn into Lekas and ends at Pajam Toll, if I do that everyday I would be a strong cycling in no time haha..

But thinking of cycling 40x2km everyday makes me sick
that sounds like a mighty commute man. Try slowly first. And never give up. 4 years back, my daily commute is a mammoth. i was unfit and my commute is uphill all the way. now its a breeze. the more you cycle, the faster you will get. and the more bang for buck u will have for your bike. now i dont drive if im going around shah alam. i only drive if ime balik kampung. you'll have a good feeling too. save money + environment.

make sure ur office has a locker or somewhere u can dry urself. so u can be comfy. i wish you good luck!

This post has been edited by ahmeduk88: Dec 28 2011, 04:08 PM
noprob
post Dec 28 2011, 04:13 PM

1,982 posts

Ic .. so it must be mtb type to able do so .. ?
ahmeduk88
post Dec 28 2011, 04:26 PM

162 posts

mtb type??? i'm sorry. can u explain?
hianboy
post Dec 28 2011, 05:06 PM

364 posts

i was on MTB as well after that change to slick... then bought a road bike coz got special offer and the main reason is... my only bike kaki is roadie...

Added on December 28, 2011, 5:11 pmma bike b4 became hybrid...

then with 1.5 slick and SPD...changed some UNO stuff & teflon cabling...

This post has been edited by hianboy: Dec 28 2011, 05:11 PM
Eokboy
post Dec 28 2011, 05:15 PM

BRIX!
1,599 posts

QUOTE(ahmeduk88 @ Dec 28 2011, 02:26 PM)
Well being honest. To enjoy biking is not to have the most expensive bike or the fastest bike. Its about enjoying the most efficient machine in the world. I only ride a sub500 GTA mountain bike that is swapped with road tires. I ride it to work everyday. Its not a long commute, about 10km perday but i also ride in the rain. And i enjoy it everyday. My schedule hasnt allowed me to participate in any races or jamborees. my bike isnt fast. its not light. but i enjoy every moment when i am on it. and in Shah Alam, i think im the only commuter. And i am sure im having fun for every turn of the peddle.  just my two cents.

Just ride with what we have, you'll get stronger. And once u saved up for that bike you dream for, u'll be super fast!!!
Have you tried a road bike though? In the narrowed sense of riding on the road, there is a big difference between an MTB and a road bike, but not as much difference between a RM2000 road bike and a RM4000 road bike. I was talking about the law of diminishing returns you usually see when buying expensive high end stuff.

Added on December 28, 2011, 5:26 pm
QUOTE(dinraxxx @ Dec 27 2011, 03:31 PM)
yup, I even started by buying cheap bikes.But since he's not looking for upgrading, it is suggested to get a 4k start.At least he has the motivation to cycle.And cycling in groups is the best way to compete healthy and compare performance amongst others.
It's just that when I was a beginner, it was difficult for me to justify spending RM1500+ on a bicycle. One year and a couple thousand km later, I was thinking of getting RM6000 bikes. I think starting with a cheap bike can give you a better idea of what to look for in a higher end bike when it's time to upgrade. This is however my experience as a poor student though. Can't say I wouldn't buy a RM4000 bike as a beginner if I had the money.

This post has been edited by Eokboy: Dec 28 2011, 05:26 PM
ahmeduk88
post Dec 28 2011, 05:32 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(Eokboy @ Dec 28 2011, 05:15 PM)
Have you tried a road bike though? In the narrowed sense of riding on the road, there is a big difference between an MTB and a road bike, but not as much difference between a RM2000 road bike and a RM4000 road bike. I was talking about the law of diminishing returns you usually see when buying expensive high end stuff.
yes i have. cant forget the feeling. i love it. a lot. the posture, looks freakishly awesome and the speed you can get from it is astronomical. but i cant afford it. the best i can have is an alloy mtb, costs a lil less than rm500, weighs a tonne but that gets me to work, rain or shine and allows me to get my groceries. I think in a way, i get more bang per buck. im not trying to be rude or anything. but if someone wants to start cycling (and stick to it) its best to start from the ground. get a bike that is decent. start to love the sport and the machine. I envy those who can afford to ride very expensive bianchis but only ride it on weekends. If only i can afford it. but i cant......yet. unfortunately. So for now, i will stick to my low end, murah bike and give it the love it deserves.

Added on December 28, 2011, 5:34 pm
QUOTE(hianboy @ Dec 28 2011, 05:06 PM)
i was on MTB as well after that change to slick... then bought a road bike coz got special offer and the main reason is... my only bike kaki is roadie...

Added on December 28, 2011, 5:11 pmma bike b4 became hybrid...

then with 1.5 slick and SPD...changed some UNO stuff & teflon cabling...
that loooks sick!!! do u have a meter??? how fast can u go??? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ahmeduk88: Dec 28 2011, 05:34 PM
hianboy
post Dec 28 2011, 05:52 PM

364 posts

arh...meter got... er...never try to achieve fastest speed but over 60kmh i think ...when going down the steep at Carrefour wangsa maju...

ahmeduk88
post Dec 28 2011, 08:27 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(hianboy @ Dec 28 2011, 05:52 PM)
arh...meter got... er...never try to achieve fastest speed but over 60kmh i think ...when going down the steep at Carrefour wangsa maju...
hohoho. on a bike, that feels lightspeed!!!
malleus
post Dec 28 2011, 08:37 PM

2,096 posts

Wow, 60 is real fast on a MTB. Fastest I've managed is about 52kmh on a steep downhill tarmac. But my pedals will already spin out at around 43-44kmh or so, and the rest of the speed gain is from momentum from the downhill.

Added on December 28, 2011, 8:43 pm
QUOTE(ahmeduk88 @ Dec 28 2011, 04:05 PM)
basically, i use 1.5 slicks. easily changeable to to knobby 2.2s. no alteration on the rims needed. tp if 29ers i dunno if ada road slicks.
Just need to watch out for the valve type that the tube uses when switching between knobby and slicks.

For the 29ers, you should be able to use the 700c tires for road slicks. But you won't be able to use the slimmer ones though.

This post has been edited by malleus: Dec 28 2011, 08:43 PM
H2D
post Dec 28 2011, 10:52 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Dec 27 2011, 04:37 PM)
I am interested to get a bike at 2k budget because I still don't know what to get next. 4k is a steep price to pay for a person which knows nothing in the biking world. Sometimes is easy to say you cant go wrong with this and that but sometimes it's just really not for you.

Can anyone listed down a shop or two for good bike?
Google search brings me to

KSHbike, bikepro.
those 2 shops are more upmarket....
if u r looking for budget bike sub 2k or 1k,
go to the lerun website, they have a list of bike shops all over malaysia. biggrin.gif

Added on December 28, 2011, 10:58 pm
QUOTE(Double_Ace @ Dec 27 2011, 01:56 PM)
Hi there, thanks for replying. So minimum to spend on this sport to start is rm 4k? rclxub.gif  Ya i don't think i be upgrading the bike bcs of budget.. No most of the ppl we know don't believe in outdoor activities. The rather spend the money on those fancy gyms... Would like to know can join cycling group? Bcs i sometimes see group of boys & girls cycling around with their own uniforms are these groups of are they just friends??? Any bro or sis here part of any cycling group???
for beginner, if u don't mind traveling to putrajaya,
u can try the putrajaya interpark ride, it is like a community ride, for everyone,
just need a helmet, light for night riding... cukup,,,

This post has been edited by H2D: Dec 28 2011, 10:58 PM
noprob
post Dec 29 2011, 12:13 AM

1,982 posts

This post has been edited by noprob: Dec 31 2011, 12:05 AM
Sky.Live
post Dec 29 2011, 01:06 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Dec 28 2011, 10:52 PM)
those 2 shops are more upmarket....
if u r looking for budget bike sub 2k or 1k,
go to the lerun website, they have a list of bike shops all over malaysia.  biggrin.gif

Added on December 28, 2011, 10:58 pm

for beginner, if u don't mind traveling to putrajaya,
u can try the putrajaya interpark ride, it is like a community ride, for everyone,
just need a helmet, light for night riding... cukup,,,

I shud be expecting price around 2k right? if I were to aim Polygon 200 / 300.. actually those spec means nothing to me haha.. cannot translate them into meaningful data in my brain
H2D
post Dec 29 2011, 04:18 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Dec 29 2011, 01:06 AM)
I shud be expecting price around 2k right? if I were to aim Polygon 200 / 300.. actually those spec means nothing to me haha.. cannot translate them into meaningful data in my brain
around 2k can hv a few choices, the built quality n parts will be different of course, u can see it with your eyes,
just walk into a bike shop and compare.
the shifters will be different, when u ride u can feel the difference when it works. biggrin.gif
dinraxxx
post Dec 29 2011, 05:05 AM

Ex-Intern Editor for Lowyat.NET.
1,836 posts

QUOTE(elgato @ Nov 15 2011, 04:15 PM)
guys know any shop in kl selling polar cx500?

Added on November 15, 2011, 4:15 pmsorry....cs500
dude, 2 cents advice.. Garmin Edge 500.All in one package same as CS500.Only with added gps and touchscreen biggrin.gif
Sky.Live
post Dec 29 2011, 02:10 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Dec 29 2011, 04:18 AM)
around 2k can hv a few choices, the built quality n parts will be different of course, u can see it with your eyes,
just walk into a bike shop and compare.
the shifters will be different, when u ride u can feel the difference when it works.  biggrin.gif
I din travelled to PJ, i just realised there's handful of bicycle shop near my area, never realise they are there.

Polygon Helios 300 is out of stock everywhere, I got a quote RM2050 which is quite good I think.
Lerun will not be able to stock until after CNY which is damn freaking far.. Walked into a shop which sell Merida Bikes the shopkeeper try to ask me buy mtb instead lol

headache now.. do i really have to wait that long? the Helios 300 seems to be the best option at that price range, the shop people also recommend another bike with immediate stock available, Chronos, with Shimano Sora but only RM50 cheaper, it's a China Brand
H2D
post Dec 29 2011, 03:16 PM

598 posts

i think there are merida,giant, trek bikes tht's below 2k?
n also xds, hasa, exitway.

Added on December 29, 2011, 3:25 pm
QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Dec 29 2011, 02:10 PM)

Polygon Helios 300 is out of stock everywhere,
there is a helios 300 in mudah, but size 48.

This post has been edited by H2D: Dec 29 2011, 03:25 PM
kyasee
post Dec 29 2011, 03:32 PM

Bicycle items for sale. I'm clearing my store. Everything Must Go!

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2135792&hl=
Sky.Live
post Dec 29 2011, 09:27 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

Saw 1 Helious 300 Model 2011, shop quote me RM2000.
Pass by KSH today by accident coming out from Tropicana City Mall but no parking, just drove back.

I wonder worth to get the 2011 Model?
Differences:
ALX 6XXX HYDROFORMED -> (Alloy) RACING
and the gear got 1 more suffix behind the model number not sure..
hianboy
post Dec 29 2011, 09:38 PM

364 posts

check this review out~

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7g_EeXG_I-k

at first im suppose go for Helios 300 coz budget... then i get an offer for 500...

Added on December 29, 2011, 9:49 pmu can compare here~
http://id.polygoncycle.com/index.php?pgid=compare

Added on December 29, 2011, 9:50 pmseems like 2012 model offered alil better wheelset...

This post has been edited by hianboy: Dec 29 2011, 09:50 PM
Sky.Live
post Dec 29 2011, 10:05 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(hianboy @ Dec 29 2011, 09:38 PM)
check this review out~

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7g_EeXG_I-k

at first im suppose go for Helios 300 coz budget... then i get an offer for 500...

Added on December 29, 2011, 9:49 pmu can compare here~
http://id.polygoncycle.com/index.php?pgid=compare

Added on December 29, 2011, 9:50 pmseems like 2012 model offered alil better wheelset...
coz of the shimano 105? many ppl actually recommended it

126 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0175sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 07:32 AM