All About Harddisk Thread V5

moiskyrie
post Aug 11 2020, 07:41 PM

3,212 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Aug 11 2020, 07:33 PM)
buy online lah, wd an shitgate is third rate hdd now, unless you buy them for RAID or want to discard after warranty ends,
better get something else.
As mention, my place only got wd and sg,
Other non existing..
For her I don't want online as later arrive all back sector....
Just like my wd red, less that 1 year...70% bad sector...
1024kbps
post Aug 11 2020, 07:59 PM

李素裳
6,010 posts

QUOTE(moiskyrie @ Aug 11 2020, 07:41 PM)
As mention, my place only got wd and sg,
Other non existing..
For her I don't want online as later arrive all back sector....
Just like my wd red, less that 1 year...70% bad sector...
i had wd red too, less than one year bad sector, then disk access slow like turtle, i rma and sold it afterward lol.
i bought it in brick and mortar store so it does not really make a difference,

you can always ask seller how they pack their hdd and stamp a fragile logo on it.
dont accept the package if it has visible dent unless it's thoroughly protected
Maxieos
post Aug 12 2020, 06:11 AM

3,752 posts

buy online lah, wd an shitgate is third rate hdd now, unless you buy them for RAID or want to discard after warranty ends,
Some online seller even on mall sell HD price as expensive as rm400 for 2TB.Better make sure the current price first https://shopee.com.my/Toshiba-P300-Internal...0031.1470450634 . I wonder , why they sell so expensive for a hard disk ?
DesRed
post Aug 26 2020, 05:24 PM

Delta Echo Sierra Eight Five
2,867 posts

I've had 2 1TB WD Blue HDDs in my PC and so far they're still okay. 1st one was bought in 2014 and the 2nd one 3 months back. Not using them as my main drive, tho. Mostly just to back up my personal files.
illyaillya
post Sep 20 2020, 08:39 PM

48 posts

are the WD ultrastars worth it? not looking for RAID/NAS, just a simple storage/ solution
xxboxx
post Sep 21 2020, 12:28 AM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,258 posts

QUOTE(illyaillya @ Sep 20 2020, 08:39 PM)
are the WD ultrastars worth it? not looking for RAID/NAS, just a simple storage/ solution
Better than other normal/NAS HDD at more premium price.
But worth it? 2 normal HDD that configured to be RAID-1 or one as storage and another as backup will be more worth it as if 1 HDD dead you still have another copy whereas if 1 HDD only, even if it's Ultrastar, if dead then all your data is gone.
illyaillya
post Sep 21 2020, 09:21 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Sep 21 2020, 12:28 AM)
Better than other normal/NAS HDD at more premium price.
But worth it? 2 normal HDD that configured to be RAID-1 or one as storage and another as backup will be more worth it as if 1 HDD dead you still have another copy whereas if 1 HDD only, even if it's Ultrastar, if dead then all your data is gone.
yeah im considering that
not storing any critical data though, but i do love my movies
whats the consensus on shucking in malaysia? we no longer have the wd elements so im not sure if its worth it
xxboxx
post Sep 21 2020, 11:44 AM

5,258 posts

QUOTE(illyaillya @ Sep 21 2020, 09:21 AM)
yeah im considering that
whats the consensus on shucking in malaysia? we no longer have the wd elements so im not sure if its worth it
If not critical data then doesn't need to be expensive HDD icon_idea.gif
I see for shucking mostly people will buy from US as it is cheaper.
weissPC
post Sep 21 2020, 11:52 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(illyaillya @ Sep 21 2020, 09:21 AM)
yeah im considering that
There's a reason why WD External HDDs are cheaper, other than WD control the whole supply chain. Duty cycle and it's a dumping ground for some not so good drives.
illyaillya
post Sep 21 2020, 12:02 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Sep 21 2020, 11:44 AM)
If not critical data then doesn't need to be expensive HDD icon_idea.gif
I see for shucking mostly people will buy from US as it is cheaper.
the shipping cost would nullify the incentive for me though

QUOTE(weissPC @ Sep 21 2020, 11:52 AM)
There's a reason why WD External HDDs are cheaper, other than WD control the whole supply chain. Duty cycle and it's a dumping ground for some not so good drives.
yeah this is given. shucking has always been about luck
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Oct 14 2020, 02:56 PM

4,451 posts

after the WD scandal making those wd red nas actually SMRs, i wouldn't trust that those random drives in the external :/
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Oct 14 2020, 03:01 PM

4,451 posts

what is alternative?

seagate ironwolf?

toshiba n300?

then that wd gate puke.gif

hgst got bought out by wd sad.gif
1024kbps
post Oct 15 2020, 10:27 PM

李素裳
6,010 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Oct 14 2020, 03:01 PM)
what is alternative?

seagate ironwolf?

toshiba n300?

then that wd gate  puke.gif
hgst got bought out by wd  sad.gif
Toshiba actually cheaper but with 7200rpm, no gimmick and longer warranty i think.
I have 5 toshiba drive, 2x 4TB is new drive, 1 external and another one 3TB still alive. one was dead.

WD drive need to be careful with their spec, some are only 5400 RPM, and yeah SMR drive, what a way to stain your established brand name lol.

For me Toshiba are still my choice.
nasiayam
post Nov 2 2020, 04:11 PM

668 posts

hello, i just bought a Toshiba n300 hdd online, where can i register/check the warranty? am asking the seller for receipt in the mean time.

thanks!
TSskylinelover
post Nov 2 2020, 06:12 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,241 posts

RiP WESTERN DIGITAL? hmm.gif icon_idea.gif
weissPC
post Nov 3 2020, 03:20 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Nov 2 2020, 06:12 PM)
RiP WESTERN DIGITAL? hmm.gif icon_idea.gif
Context?
perfect10
post Jan 6 2021, 03:59 AM

416 posts

wondering if anyone knows the load count for a 4TB my passport portable hdd?

trying to compare if a 3.5" would last longer than a 2.5" external hdd.
xxboxx
post Jan 6 2021, 12:57 PM

5,258 posts

QUOTE(perfect10 @ Jan 6 2021, 03:59 AM)
wondering if anyone knows the load count for a 4TB my passport portable hdd?

trying to compare if a 3.5" would last longer than a 2.5" external hdd.
HDD keep being revised every few years. By the time that HDD model reach end of life, HDD being sold already replaced with other model. So difficult to say whether which would last longer.

Take care shock and vibration are more important if for portable use. Should consider using SSD instead.
TSskylinelover
post Jan 6 2021, 08:08 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,241 posts

Haha yeah mang

SSD is the future eapecially M2 in laptop

laugh.gif rclxms.gif
TristanX
post Jan 7 2021, 03:06 PM

Where is my stars?
24,331 posts

Just bought Seagate Ironwolf Pro 8TB. Very fast.

Tested with Primocache too.

17 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0190sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:11 AM