QUOTE(kerolzarmyfanboy @ Feb 10 2017, 07:49 PM)
Forced one method of grip only?
Military Thread V23
Feb 10 2017, 08:21 PM
4,254 posts Joined: Nov 2011 |
Feb 10 2017, 09:36 PM
1,302 posts Joined: Oct 2010 From: Over your shoulder |
Feb 10 2017, 10:53 PM
4 posts Joined: Jan 2012 |
QUOTE Budget constraint a 'blessing in disguise', says navy chief BY ADRIAN DAVID - 9 FEBRUARY 2017 @ 12:37 TERENGGANU: Instead of grumbling about budget constraints, the Royal Malaysian Navy (RMN) is taking a proactive step by challenging itself to improve, using all available resources. This, RMN chief Admiral Tan Sri Ahmad Kamarulzaman Ahmad Badaruddin said is being done by minimising wastage, prioritising its missions and tightening procurement procedures. He said some of these efforts have resulted in considerable savings and will enable the navy to move forward. “Often, the lack of financial allocation is being used as an excuse to not develop our capability. “Rather, we use this opportunity to challenge ourselves in a holistic way. “We overcome this situation by tightening our belt, improving procurement exercises and operational management.” he said in an interview. Kamarulzaman said RMN focuses on ‘fit-for-purpose’ requirements when developing its programmes, by way of "doing more with less". “We plan to ensure our requirements are based on priorities and actual needs, rather than perceived ones, to avoid wastage and frills which we can no longer afford,” he said. One such effort, he added, was collaboration with the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission to mitigate and reduce the risks of corruption and ill practices, which can result in huge savings. “These accrued savings in operatinal expenditure are able to fund new procurement programmes to continue modernising the navy. “Therefore, we see these budget constraints as a blessing in disguise altogether. As a military outfit, we are still able to move forward when the going gets tough,” he said. Read more: http://www.nst.com.my/news/2017/02/210832/...says-navy-chief |
Feb 10 2017, 11:03 PM
40 posts Joined: Sep 2009 From: under the moonlight |
on unrelated note, russia is going to replace their Su-25 with a new attack plane based on Yak-130
Feb 10 2017, 11:25 PM
551 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
QUOTE(ayanami_tard @ Feb 10 2017, 11:03 PM) do you have a source? seems really odd to replace such a dedicated CAS aircraft with an advanced trainer-derived substitute. reminds me of the F-35 being considered as the A-10 replacement..unless it's for a more supplementary, low intensity conflict/coin role like what the super tucanos are for This post has been edited by pziv2: Feb 10 2017, 11:26 PM |
Feb 10 2017, 11:25 PM
189 posts Joined: Aug 2015 From: Cherasboy |
Feb 10 2017, 11:42 PM
1,157 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: Petaling Jaya |
QUOTE(pziv2 @ Feb 10 2017, 11:25 PM) do you have a source? seems really odd to replace such a dedicated CAS aircraft with an advanced trainer-derived substitute. reminds me of the F-35 being considered as the A-10 replacement.. The f35 decision to replace a10 were overrule last year.unless it's for a more supplementary, low intensity conflict/coin role like what the super tucanos are for The airforce will have to search for new aircraft to replace a10 till then a10 will be remain in service. |
Feb 10 2017, 11:51 PM
921 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Cheras |
QUOTE(yinchet @ Feb 10 2017, 11:42 PM) The f35 decision to replace a10 were overrule last year. Can't they just upgrade existing A10 instead of find replacement.The airforce will have to search for new aircraft to replace a10 till then a10 will be remain in service. It look badass Aand it work like a badass |
Feb 11 2017, 12:00 AM
Feb 11 2017, 12:35 AM
QUOTE(yinchet @ Feb 10 2017, 11:42 PM) The f35 decision to replace a10 were overrule last year. I'm aware of said decision, but the fact remains that such a proposal existed despite the practically of said proposal being seemingly obvious.. thus the comparison with the alleged Su-25 (a dedicated CAS aircraft) replacement by a trainer. The airforce will have to search for new aircraft to replace a10 till then a10 will be remain in service. there's definitely some factor/intel/politics that as the public we're not privy to, but besides the increased prevalence of COIN/LIC operations I can't fathom their rationale. EDIT: found a related article from 2012. In it, the planned Yak-130 derived light attack plane never materialized. a SU-25 replacement is in the works but it's implied that it's a new design and not be from a Yak-130 https://www.flightglobal.com/news/articles/...acement-372103/ This post has been edited by pziv2: Feb 11 2017, 12:40 AM |
Feb 11 2017, 01:56 AM
40 posts Joined: Sep 2009 From: under the moonlight |
QUOTE(pziv2 @ Feb 11 2017, 12:25 AM) do you have a source? seems really odd to replace such a dedicated CAS aircraft with an advanced trainer-derived substitute. reminds me of the F-35 being considered as the A-10 replacement.. http://defence-blog.com/news/russia-stops-...k-aircraft.htmlunless it's for a more supplementary, low intensity conflict/coin role like what the super tucanos are for it's nothing concrete right now but considering that most of the toolings for the aircraft is in georgia (and ulan ude is doing mainly overhaul), it's understandable that they wanna find newer attack aircraft oso, while the design is from yak-130, they may gonna do plenty of changes. it's not really a far fetch idea tho, since sepecat jaguar was also designed as a trainer. besides, i think while this new aircraft gon replace the frogfoot, it may not exactly gonna be the "brrrrt lite" of su-25. instead, it gonna rely on its FLIR and targetting pods to find, target and destroy enemy defences |
Feb 11 2017, 07:52 AM
T-90MS MBT Testing In Kuwait.
Feb 11 2017, 09:07 AM
1,157 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: Petaling Jaya |
Feb 11 2017, 09:19 AM
867 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
QUOTE(pziv2 @ Feb 11 2017, 12:35 AM) I'm aware of said decision, but the fact remains that such a proposal existed despite the practically of said proposal being seemingly obvious.. thus the comparison with the alleged Su-25 (a dedicated CAS aircraft) replacement by a trainer. its been done before.... dassault/dornier alpha jet,saab 105,korean t50/ta50/fa50 and even malaysia have hawk 200 series(combat variant of the aircraft)there's definitely some factor/intel/politics that as the public we're not privy to, but besides the increased prevalence of COIN/LIC operations I can't fathom their rationale. EDIT: found a related article from 2012. In it, the planned Yak-130 derived light attack plane never materialized. a SU-25 replacement is in the works but it's implied that it's a new design and not be from a Yak-130 https://www.flightglobal.com/news/articles/...acement-372103/ |
Feb 11 2017, 10:53 AM
41 posts Joined: Sep 2013 |
QUOTE(KLboy92 @ Feb 10 2017, 11:25 PM) People waiting to see how it performs in more operations first I think. For one thing, it has a rather small ammo magazine. Based on its design, I think Caesar shouldn't be seen as a conventional SPH. Better to see it as a highly mobile towed artillery; but instead of being towed the gun is mounted on the truck. Performance records in Mali and Northern Iraq recently are acceptable.What's the status on those M109s coming to us BTW? |
Feb 11 2017, 12:08 PM
137 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
QUOTE(Fat & Fluffy @ Feb 10 2017, 06:17 PM) our 8x8 AV8 project more costly than buying ST Terrex. if buy directly will we possibly can get around 500 unit ST Terrex compare to 257 unit AV8 or remain 257 terrex + 100+ unit SPH ... This post has been edited by waja2000: Feb 11 2017, 12:10 PM |
Feb 11 2017, 12:31 PM
137 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
QUOTE(KLboy92 @ Feb 10 2017, 11:25 PM) People waiting to see how it performs in more operations first I think. For one thing, it has a rather small ammo magazine. it just launching in 2016, need take some time to get customer ...What's the status on those M109s coming to us BTW? our Army M109 no news on it, our army decide on early 2016, it will take 3 year++ to overhaul, retrofit, modernization, if project still go on, i guest we only able to receive around 2019, if lucky is 2018. |
Feb 11 2017, 01:14 PM
QUOTE(waja2000 @ Feb 11 2017, 12:08 PM) our 8x8 AV8 project more costly than buying ST Terrex. Exactly.if buy directly will we possibly can get around 500 unit ST Terrex compare to 257 unit AV8 or remain 257 terrex + 100+ unit SPH ... Well probably not STK Terrex since our neighbours probably won't like it |
Feb 11 2017, 02:11 PM
From RMN LCS Project Twitter.
![]() |
Feb 11 2017, 02:44 PM
QUOTE(patt_sue @ Feb 11 2017, 09:19 AM) its been done before.... dassault/dornier alpha jet,saab 105,korean t50/ta50/fa50 and even malaysia have hawk 200 series(combat variant of the aircraft) but none of them are of the same calibre or even of the same role as the SU-25! these examples are certainly light multirole aircraft that just happen to be able to be equipped as an attack plane. the SU-25 on the other hand is a dedicated CAS aircraft, and no matter how you cut it, any trainer derived attack aircraft will not have the endurance, armour or payload of a dedicated design.. |
| Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic |
| Change to: | 0.0295sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:13 PM |