Maybank eGIA-i 3.45% p.a., Rojak of SA + FD + MMF

ninjawin
post Feb 12 2017, 09:22 AM

139 posts

QUOTE(1tanmee @ Feb 11 2017, 07:27 PM)
A valid concern, though. because the nature of most companies/organisations in Malaysia, they can implement changes without considering the clients.
What if... maybank decided to enforce the term, and the customers are stuck with money that they couldn't uplift.
that sounds like something that will happen in YLSM... not maybank
HoNgZ
post Feb 12 2017, 03:09 PM

355 posts

hi, i had a few k of fund that saved from angpau money since small and i never used these money instead saving it. Been putting the money in fd for 3 years. Recently came across this eGia and wondering should I move this fund in the eGia. My concern are:

1) I will definitely not using these money. But eGia is mean for flexible
2) eGia just ~0.4% higher (as for now) than the FD rate, but slightly riskier (unstable rate + no PIDM covered) than FD

Sifus, please advise notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by HoNgZ: Feb 12 2017, 03:17 PM
Ramjade
post Feb 12 2017, 03:47 PM

24,369 posts

QUOTE(HoNgZ @ Feb 12 2017, 03:09 PM)
hi, i had a few k of fund that saved from angpau money since small and i never used these money instead saving it. Been putting the money in fd for 3 years. Recently came across this eGia and wondering should I move this fund in the eGia. My concern are:

2) eGia just ~0.4% higher (as for now) than the FD rate, but slightly riskier (unstable rate + no PIDM covered) than FD

Sifus, please advise  notworthy.gif
Why not go for promo FDs? Definitely can get higher than eGIA-i since you won't be using the money. If you are going to use it then eGIA-i is useful.
fruitie
post Feb 12 2017, 03:48 PM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(HoNgZ @ Feb 12 2017, 03:09 PM)

Sifus, please advise  notworthy.gif
For the risk, I don't see much issue since it's Maybank.
HoNgZ
post Feb 12 2017, 04:02 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 12 2017, 03:47 PM)
Why not go for promo FDs? Definitely can get higher than eGIA-i since you won't be using the money. If you are going to use it then eGIA-i is useful.
currently only osbc running promotions in the market given 3.90%. Others still lower than eGia. Are the any other fd promotions going on that i didn't notice?

HoNgZ
post Feb 12 2017, 04:04 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Feb 12 2017, 03:48 PM)
For the risk, I don't see much issue since it's Maybank.
haha, yea, you got it right, maybe i worry too much doh.gif
Ramjade
post Feb 12 2017, 04:17 PM

24,369 posts

QUOTE(HoNgZ @ Feb 12 2017, 04:02 PM)
currently only osbc running promotions in the market given 3.90%. Others still lower than eGia. Are the any other fd promotions going on that i didn't notice?
Read this thread https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4154481It have the latest information compare to other Malaysian website. tongue.gif biggrin.gif thumbup.gif
fruitie
post Feb 12 2017, 04:17 PM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(HoNgZ @ Feb 12 2017, 04:04 PM)
haha, yea, you got it right, maybe i worry too much  doh.gif
After all, you can uplift it at anytime (minimum one day).
I have helped my foreign colleague to put in 6-digit placement, she's aware of the risk but knowing it's Maybank, she has no worry.
y3ivan
post Feb 12 2017, 04:49 PM

502 posts

check out HLB CNY FD promo.. but you need to do placement online and have a savings account with them

https://www.hlb.com.my/main/promotion/20170109-001-efd
cybpsych
post Feb 12 2017, 05:42 PM

---------------------
65,313 posts

QUOTE(y3ivan @ Feb 12 2017, 04:49 PM)
check out HLB CNY FD promo.. but you need to do placement online and have a savings account with them

https://www.hlb.com.my/main/promotion/20170109-001-efd
Nothing new. it's been heavily discussed in FD topic.

proceed there to read.
1tanmee
post Feb 12 2017, 10:37 PM

~noMNom~
970 posts

QUOTE(ninjawin @ Feb 12 2017, 09:22 AM)
that sounds like something that will happen in YLSM... not maybank
Sorry, but what's YLSM?
ninjawin
post Feb 13 2017, 09:08 AM

139 posts

QUOTE(1tanmee @ Feb 12 2017, 10:37 PM)
Sorry, but what's YLSM?
there u go

Attached image(s)
filage
post Feb 13 2017, 11:53 AM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Feb 11 2017, 07:35 PM)
what term are you referring to?

The upliftment is just likfe efd, efd also operate from 6am to 10pm, no difference :)
They should get this time limit off. I don't see reason why must offline 10-6.
At most they off at 12 midnight along with their daily housekeeping then okay enough.
Other banks eFD can operate almost 24 hours too.
This Maybank is really like using some old system, same thing like Public Bank.
Even the ASB topup online also cannot show the status whether success or not, while other bank can easily do that.

1tanmee
post Feb 13 2017, 07:50 PM

~noMNom~
970 posts

QUOTE(1tanmee @ Feb 12 2017, 10:37 PM)
Sorry, but what's YLSM?
QUOTE(ninjawin @ Feb 13 2017, 09:08 AM)
there u go
Ahahahhahaha!!!!!! rclxub.gif
1tanmee
post Feb 16 2017, 09:38 PM

~noMNom~
970 posts

So what's the current interest rate like?
cybpsych
post Feb 16 2017, 09:44 PM

---------------------
65,313 posts

QUOTE(1tanmee @ Feb 16 2017, 09:38 PM)
So what's the current interest rate like?
check your placement in m2u app. the rate is there.
drbone
post Feb 16 2017, 10:43 PM

1,757 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Feb 16 2017, 09:44 PM)
check your placement in m2u app. the rate is there.
Yeah, it's clearly written however I find it weird that they do not show it clearly in m2u, only when one clicks on the information icon.
cybpsych
post Feb 17 2017, 06:19 AM

---------------------
65,313 posts

QUOTE(drbone @ Feb 16 2017, 10:43 PM)
Yeah, it's clearly written however I find it weird that they do not show it clearly in m2u, only when one clicks on the information icon.
because it takes long time to update the site.

they can't simply update it. remember this is a bank's website, there are SOP to follow.

m2u app extract the rate directly from system. their app developer didn't hide/mask it, as what m2u web does.

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Feb 17 2017, 06:20 AM
fruitie
post Feb 17 2017, 11:54 AM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(drbone @ Feb 16 2017, 10:43 PM)
hmm.gif I checked through M2U app and M2U desktop page but can't see the interest rate? unsure.gif Where should I check? notworthy.gif
duckaton
post Feb 17 2017, 02:18 PM

Progress is Imminent
1,216 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Feb 17 2017, 11:54 AM)
hmm.gif I checked through M2U app and M2U desktop page but can't see the interest rate? unsure.gif Where should I check? notworthy.gif
I also simply place only. (on desktop)
cannot see the rates any where?

88 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0207sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 10:10 AM