153 Pages « < 108 109 110 111 112 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v16 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

drew86
post Dec 6 2016, 03:33 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Dec 6 2016, 03:24 PM)
Which are the performing funds in your port ?
RHB AIF and TA GTF. Got quite a significant portion affected by the bond fiasco as I was in the midst of switching funds and utilizing the credit system. Got caught off guard there, never thought bond funda could be that badly affected by Trump!
Avangelice
post Dec 6 2016, 04:13 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(drew86 @ Dec 6 2016, 03:33 PM)
RHB AIF and TA GTF.  Got quite a significant portion affected by the bond fiasco as I was in the midst of switching funds and utilizing the credit system. Got caught off guard there, never thought bond funda could be that badly affected by Trump!
lol. one of vanguard's ninja apprentice eh?
drew86
post Dec 6 2016, 04:27 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 6 2016, 04:13 PM)
lol. one of vanguard's ninja apprentice eh?
Heck 2percent sales charge is a significant savings bro! Lol.. anyways lesson learnt: ninja tricks should only be performed during quiet periods with no upcoming earth shattering events!
wodenus
post Dec 6 2016, 04:31 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

RHB AIF and TA GTF.  Got quite a significant portion affected by the bond fiasco as I was in the midst of switching funds and utilizing the credit system. Got caught off guard there, never thought bond funda could be that badly affected by Trump!
Got caught too. Kind of meh but luckily exposure was low smile.gif
xuzen
post Dec 6 2016, 05:43 PM

4,436 posts

RHB AIF & TA GTF eh?

If you are in this for the past six months; you would have made a gain of 6.1% (RHB AIF) and 9% (TA GTF). What is a little lost in the Fixed Income? Worse case scenario is 1.5%.

Am I right?

Xuzen
Avangelice
post Dec 6 2016, 06:00 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Dec 6 2016, 05:43 PM)
RHB AIF & TA GTF eh?

If you are in this for the past six months; you would have made a gain of 6.1% (RHB AIF) and 9% (TA GTF). What is a little lost in the Fixed Income? Worse case scenario is 1.5%.

Am I right?

Xuzen
unless he did multiple switches and through out that time no returns were made,
kl_123
post Dec 6 2016, 06:19 PM

56 posts

FSM : Key Investment Themes And 2017 Outlook

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...17-Outlook-7780

Favour Asia ex-Japan equities & China, overweight equities, underweight bond...
Avangelice
post Dec 6 2016, 07:24 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(kl_123 @ Dec 6 2016, 06:19 PM)
FSM : Key Investment Themes And 2017 Outlook

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...17-Outlook-7780

Favour Asia ex-Japan equities & China, overweight equities, underweight bond...
very nice.

active management and looking to the East for the next year and adopting a low risk bond fund to stabilize the portfolio while underweighting develop and us funds.

Hope that puts the nail on the coffin when someone says passive management is the way to go.
drew86
post Dec 6 2016, 08:03 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Dec 6 2016, 05:43 PM)
RHB AIF & TA GTF eh?

Am I right?

Xuzen
Spot on. However i was on ponzi 2.0 and titties prior and was in fact iñ the midst of switching over to AIF and GTF, so it's a bit complicated. Overall portfolio still green thanks to asia pac n dev. Lost quite a bit since a portion was, and is still in transition in bond funds though.

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 6 2016, 06:00 PM)
unless he did multiple switches and through out that time no returns were made,
Switches were into and out of bond funds and buying into AIF and GTF was done by DCA, lump sum would've been perfect(on hindsight). However, we never know what lies ahead of us. Hence I decided to DCA and suffered from entering bonds. Let bygones be bygones. Look ahead smile.gif
_azam13
post Dec 6 2016, 08:13 PM

200 posts

Anyone with net positive NAV change for the last few trading days? What kept your portfolio afloat?
SUSMNet
post Dec 6 2016, 08:39 PM

11,954 posts

QUOTE(_azam13 @ Dec 6 2016, 08:13 PM)
Anyone with net positive NAV change for the last few trading days? What kept your portfolio afloat?
I average down
Avangelice
post Dec 6 2016, 08:54 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(_azam13 @ Dec 6 2016, 08:13 PM)
India and rhb AIF. these two is propping up my portfolio whilst my libra and AmAsia REIT along with kapchai (still in switch buy process) pulled me down.

Dragon, Ponzi 2 and EM still in red becsuse I just purchased them not long ago so those cannot be counted in.

really upset that our Malaysian economy and funds are so fickle.
shankar_dass93
post Dec 6 2016, 10:42 PM

2,955 posts

Greetings Guys,

So i just created a FSM account a few weeks back and have decided to invest in a few funds as a means of diversifying my investments. Was browsing thru this thread and would sincerely appreciate some guidance/help from yourself.

I've set an investment horizon of roughly around 3 to 5 years time in which I may have to cash out the given investment.

Tried shortlisting 2 equity funds, namely: TA's Global Technology Fund and Manulife's India Equity Fund and I've decided to split my investment amount equally within both funds.

Any advice if I'm too late in jumping into the ship ?

Thanks!
Avangelice
post Dec 6 2016, 11:01 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Dec 6 2016, 10:42 PM)
Greetings Guys,

So i just created a FSM account a few weeks back and have decided to invest in a few funds as a means of diversifying my investments. Was browsing thru this thread and would sincerely appreciate some guidance/help from yourself.

I've set an investment horizon of roughly around 3 to 5 years time in which I may have to cash out the given investment.

Tried shortlisting 2 equity funds, namely: TA's Global Technology Fund and Manulife's India Equity Fund and I've decided to split my investment amount equally within both funds.

Any advice if I'm too late in jumping into the ship ?
Thanks!
it's never too late and it's good that your eyes have finally been opened that you can be your own investor.

Anyways you will need some questions answered.

1)how much bullets do you have to build your portfolio?
2)what is your risk appetite? do you want. a low to high risk? low risk generally have returns around 4% to 7% where as high risk portfolio brings in 8 to 10 (or more)
3)have you read about the portfolio approach when investing?
4) India is a very volatile fund to have and same goes with TA Global and do you know where these funds are investing and the companies/industry involved? eg TA Global invests in Facebook, Microsoft, and Apple.
5)do you know that each region are given star ratings? if so Asian ex Pac or emerging market funds are the way to go in 2017.

Regards.

adele123
post Dec 7 2016, 09:03 AM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Dec 6 2016, 10:42 PM)
Greetings Guys,

Out of curiousity, what made you decide on these 2 funds and no other funds?

Personally, i feel these 2 funds are way too risky and most people won't pick these 2 funds out so many funds since neither of these 2 are recommended funds by FSM.

EDIT: btw, i notice some of these recommended funds (all non-malaysian funds) are having 1% Sales Charge. New promo today before the article is out?

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...tormaincode=All

This post has been edited by adele123: Dec 7 2016, 09:10 AM
Avangelice
post Dec 7 2016, 09:20 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Dec 7 2016, 09:03 AM)

Personally, i feel these 2 funds are way too risky and most people won't pick these 2 funds out so many funds since neither of these 2 are recommended funds by FSM.

EDIT: btw, i notice some of these recommended funds (all non-malaysian funds) are having 1% Sales Charge. New promo today before the article is out?

fml I just topped up yesterday. oh well what's 0.75% anyways.
wodenus
post Dec 7 2016, 09:25 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Dec 7 2016, 09:03 AM)

Many people don't really follow the advice of analysts. Manulife India is FSM's fund of the month. It's cheap, GDP is 7.5% and governments don't go bankrupt. Global Tech is a bit of a gamble, but if the fund manager is good and can identify the next big thing, the profits are usually insane smile.gif
Avangelice
post Dec 7 2016, 09:31 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Dec 7 2016, 09:25 AM)
Many people don't really follow the advice of analysts. Manulife India is FSM's fund of the month. It's cheap, GDP is 7.5% and governments don't go bankrupt. Global Tech is a bit of a gamble, but if the fund manager is good and can identify the next big thing, the profits are usually insane smile.gif
but remember to place it in a small allocation within your portfolio.
wodenus
post Dec 7 2016, 09:34 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 7 2016, 09:20 AM)
fml I just topped up yesterday. oh well what's 0.75% anyways.
Yea what is 1% of Rm100.. Rm0.50 lol smile.gif

Avangelice
post Dec 7 2016, 10:08 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Dec 7 2016, 09:34 AM)
Yea what is 1% of Rm100.. Rm0.50 lol smile.gif
not unless you did a big placement. Myr 10 out of myr 1000. that shit can buy you a meal. hahahaha.

btw anyone still holding kapchai. it's not having a period, it's a stab wound

This post has been edited by Avangelice: Dec 7 2016, 10:14 AM

153 Pages « < 108 109 110 111 112 > » Top

0.0301sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:02 PM