THIS is how you use a hammer
2,032 posts

Klien blow engine on 1st lap out laugh.gif wat a short day
blah1134
post May 18 2007, 06:20 PM

563 posts

Green engines for 2011

Max Mosley has proposed a new engine rule for 2011 where Formula 1 would see their 2.4-litre V8 engines being exchanged for eco-friendly 2.2-litre turbocharged V6 engines running on biofuel. The engines could develop around 770 horsepower, which is about 100 horsepower less than F1's current engines.
Click here

If all goes as Mosley plans there will also be a restriction to the number of revs. The limit would be set at 10,000rpm, down from 19,000rpm, which would make Formula 1 must quieter than the current cars. The engines would have to last for five Grand Prix weekends, instead of the current two.
nooooooooooooooooooooooo............................ F1 cars are sounding more and more sissy year after year ...... cry.gif
Hornet
post May 18 2007, 06:24 PM

What?
4,251 posts

Someone needs to kick MadMax out of F1 fast before he brings the entire sports down

Why no race using bullock carts, even more environmentally friendly and quite.
BurgaFlippinMan
post May 18 2007, 06:51 PM

Wachaaa!
6,486 posts

I must admit its rather amusing to see ppl bicker over the first corner incident. Had either one of them backed off, the other driver would have been heaped with praise of 'bold, decisive action!' or 'big balls!' etc.
skylinegtr34rule4life
post May 18 2007, 10:20 PM

13k elite :P
13,340 posts

can sumone headshot this mad max?whenever he is still in charge,F1 is getting more sux 2 the max. doh.gif oh n the one engine 2 last 5 GP rule WTF is this bullshit? shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by skylinegtr34rule4life: May 18 2007, 10:22 PM
ericjeff
post May 18 2007, 10:32 PM

236 posts

why the F1 are going to reduce power and so on years after years. it's not the tradition of F1 already. HP has been lower, noise is lower, rpm is lower, wat else to be lower?

tickets?

F1 will going to be not exciting as before i think if it keep lower down everything
blah1134
post May 19 2007, 01:58 AM

563 posts

they do that to "reduce cost".... no i think only max mosley thinks that will reduce cost. because for some teams they have to spent more money in R&D.

i guess after 2010 there's no reason for us to go to sepang anymore eh ? 1st we don have a local driver to support, 2nd F1 sound wont shake the ground anymore. but i hope they keep it at 800+hp and at 19krpm, mosley himself said race cars must have at least 15krpm, now he proposed 10krpm... zzzzzz. 10krpm will sound more or less like a superbike engine which is way too inferior compared to what we hear now............................... sad.gif

for those who havent experience watching F1 in real life, better go in next 3 years. u might not have the chance to hear these kind of engine sound anymore. even your tuned 1000hp skyline wont sound as good as an F1 engine laugh.gif

Added on May 19, 2007, 6:08 amThe beautiful Paul Ricard High Tech Test Track smile.gif

http://www.wikimapia.org/#y=43250798&x=578...=15&l=0&m=a&v=2

This post has been edited by blah1134: May 19 2007, 06:14 AM
edison92133
post May 19 2007, 08:31 AM

Myvi SE - It's a passion
3,097 posts

i think some of the team might pull out & form their own race league, i dun think those big & high budget teams will bow to FIA unreasonable rules, michelin has already pull out, why cant others?

totally hate max mosley & the white air ah pek that control the FIA, both seems like want to bring F1 to the grave with them

by 2010 if those F1 cars really run on v6 enjine, even those mat rempit bikes or cars in our country might be even faster than those F1 cars

sepang can plan to bankrupt jor

sweat.gif
young_soul
post May 19 2007, 01:19 PM

2,032 posts

QUOTE(ericjeff @ May 18 2007, 10:32 PM)
why the F1 are going to reduce power and so on years after years. it's not the tradition of F1 already. HP has been lower, noise is lower, rpm is lower, wat else to be lower?

tickets?

F1 will going to be not exciting as before i think if it keep lower down everything
why you worry? These cars are just as quick anyways tongue.gif about 1 second slower than 2004 cars only...but that was compared to the F2004 rite? Which totally dominated the whole season and made things "uninteresting" rolleyes.gif

ah, I know...maybe its not interesting coz Michael isn't around anymore laugh.gif

This post has been edited by young_soul: May 19 2007, 01:20 PM
TSlinkinstreet
post May 19 2007, 04:51 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(young_soul @ May 19 2007, 01:19 PM)
why you worry? These cars are just as quick anyways tongue.gif about 1 second slower than 2004 cars only...but that was compared to the F2004 rite? Which totally dominated the whole season and made things "uninteresting" rolleyes.gif

ah, I know...maybe its not interesting coz Michael isn't around anymore laugh.gif
No, the cars are definately MUCH more slower. And the V6 + the 10,000RPM limit will slow that to a point where even US CART and INDY series will be faster. C'mon man, use your brain. 19,000rpm vs 10,000 rpm. Which will give out more power on low end torque? And the 10,000 will be hitting the redline midway down the straight!
No way jose.

And about Max and Bernie, they really need to get out, fast. Get out before fans alienate this series.
blah1134
post May 19 2007, 05:35 PM

563 posts

too bad ... no more paul stoddard .... no more party pembantahan laugh.gif i love those days where paul used to criticize max.

bernie is still ok IMO, i hate max, he always makes his own decision ....

you guys wanna know how slow ? watch a F1 race, then u watch A1.
young_soul
post May 19 2007, 05:59 PM

2,032 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ May 19 2007, 04:51 PM)
No, the cars are definately MUCH more slower. And the V6 + the 10,000RPM limit will slow that to a point where even US CART and INDY series will be faster. C'mon man, use your brain. 19,000rpm vs 10,000 rpm. Which will give out more power on low end torque? And the 10,000 will be hitting the redline midway down the straight!
No way jose.

And about Max and Bernie, they really need to get out, fast. Get out before fans alienate this series.
Wait a minute there brother. First off, you're saying as though these engines are already made, implemented and tested in current F1 cars. Well, I'm not sure about that because I only see words, but nowhere in my post I was referring to the speculated 2011 rule. I was actually referring to CURRENT (2007) cars compared to year 2004 cars. To prove my point...in Melbourne GP...the current F1 record is made by Michael with the F2004 and he did a 1.24.215. I think its the record during the race...not sure. Kimi this year got pole, fastest during race, and win in Melbourne but only with a fastest lap of 1:25.235 (on lap 41 of 58). Button apparently did a 1.25.229 for qualifying in 2006. So, that proves my point that "current F1 cars are only about 1 second slower than 2004 cars". smile.gif Precisely 1 second...and 200 of a second difference laugh.gif Sorry if my post confused you.

If you need more details on the 2011 "green engine" rule speculation...
QUOTE(Radical New Engine Rules Proposed For 2011)
If adopted, radical new engine regulations could be set to change the face of Formula 1 from 2011 according to a document outlining the FIA's proposals for the future of the sport which have been sent to all current F1 manufacturers, the latest issue of F1 Racing magazine (on sale from Tuesday) reveals.

As previously suggested by the FIA, the new rules, if adopted, would dramatically change the way the sport approaches engine technology and will rely heavily on renewable sources of energy to power F1.

The proposals outline potential regulations for 2011-2014 that have been designed with the FIA's president Max Mosley's stated long-term aims in mind - namely to reduce costs and make F1 more environmentally friendly and road relevant.

It was sent to the manufacturers by Mosley and former BMW CEO Burkhard Goschel, the chairman of the Formula One Manufacturers' Advisory Commission, and was drawn up by the governing body's technical consultants Tony Purnell and Peter Wright.

The proposals were sent to the manufacturers, and not the teams' management, directly as they mainly concern powertrain (engine) regulations.

And these proposals include a turbo-compounded 2.2-litre V6 engine formula, with the power units to run on bio-fuel rather than the current unleaded fuel.

The engines would produce around 770bhp (including a kinetic energy recovery system) with the maximum revs limited to 10,000rpm.

Engines would be required to last five grands prix, as opposed to the two currently, with the fuel savings thanks to the lower revs expected to be about 30 per cent.

Further mooted proposals include cars to be fitted with traction control, four-wheel drive and a 13-second-per-lap, driver controlled, power-boost function in a bid to aid overtaking.

The document also states that all development that cannot be classified as powertrain development - for example aerodynamics - should be "severely constrained".

In addition to all current F1 manufacturers, the document was sent to both Ford and Volkswagen-Audi, who may join the sport in the future.

Source
This post has been edited by young_soul: May 19 2007, 06:02 PM
blah1134
post May 19 2007, 06:55 PM

563 posts

because current engine performance is rather close to the V10 engine.... nowadays they still work at 800+ hp, at 19000RPM,
where as the V10 last time works at, 900+ hp, 20000+- rpm

So V8 - V10 difference, 1 second slower, but dont forget nowadays F1 cars go through corners a little faster, without that it might end up with more than 1 sec.

now try imagine 700+hp, with only 10000rpm. 2 or 3 secs more slower maybe ? i don like it. In racing, 1 second is considered slow already ! then what about the trademark engine howl ??? i bet most F1 fans love the way F1 engine sounds, those who dont probably do not have passion for cars or they're just nerds laugh.gif

This post has been edited by blah1134: May 19 2007, 06:59 PM
young_soul
post May 19 2007, 07:11 PM

2,032 posts

That's what I'm trying to say...even with the rules on engine limitation were "covered" by aerodynamics, suspension etc. It results in the same excitement as in previous seasons don't they? laugh.gif To be honest, if the rules stay...not much fun also. Just that this drastic move to limit F1 engine RPM by half is very...ya know. rolleyes.gif

1 second is considered slow you say? Means you dun like F1 already? Coz they ARE doing 1 second slower NOW laugh.gif I don't care what kind of speed they're posting up now really. As long as there is no domination in the sport and like you said "ta pau" the Championship mid season...
evoHahn
post May 19 2007, 07:14 PM

Mika !
1,711 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ May 19 2007, 04:51 PM)
No way jose.

They can still adjust the gear ratio can't they? maybe with a little engine , they car is more lighter and greater power to weight ratio.

Max mosley can be voted out from his FIA post, but to oust bernie is a bit harder. Bernie owns F1 thru FOM and FOA.

And these proposed steps are aimed at cutting costs as blah said, and it lets little teams to stay competetive in F1. Furthermore, it will attract other cars manufacturer to take part in F1.
young_soul
post May 20 2007, 02:48 AM

2,032 posts

Australia GP at stakes...
QUOTE(Night GP or no GP for Australia)
Organisers of the Australian Grand Prix have been told to stage a night race next year or forego a contract extension after the event in 2010.

The Adelaide newspaper Sunday Mail will on Sunday quote F1 supremo Bernie Ecclestone as warning that only a floodlit race held after 9pm at Albert Park next March may be enough to satisfy the sport's officialdom.

"Unless they (organisers) can come up with something that's going to satisfy us I'm pretty sure we wouldn't be able to continue there," he said, not long after inking a deal with Singapore for the first ever night race in 2008.

The news is just the latest instalment in the flagging fortunes of the Melbourne race, which has suffered growing losses and declining crowd numbers and local sponsorship in recent years.

Ecclestone said GP boss Ron Walker knows about his demands for a night race. 

"Ron is not stupid and he knows exactly what is at stake," the 76-year-old Briton said, although an insider at the Australian Grand Prix Corporation warned that it is unlikely to happen.

"To have Formula One cars hooning around Albert Park at 9pm won't go down well with the locals and it's a family event, so afternoon is obviously the ideal time," the unnamed insider said.

A Victorian government spokesman, however, insisted: "We will be seeking to keep the event in Melbourne."

TSlinkinstreet
post May 20 2007, 12:35 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

The thing is, i don't want slower or greener car. F1 are the pinnacle of motorsport, and they need to stay at that. Heck, if they wanted to have a series that attracts the small teams, abolish the concorde agreement. That what killed small teams like Minardi, Tyrell, Ligier, Larousse and Brabham in the first place.
young_soul
post May 20 2007, 01:59 PM

2,032 posts

yeah, agreed...really can't think of any possible way development on gearbox or aerodynamics can make up for the lack of power for 2011. That kinetic recovery system sounds interesting though rolleyes.gif
karhoe
post May 20 2007, 02:21 PM

6,238 posts

F1 is supposed to be the fastest of them all, the developments in this field is supposed to be emulated by other tournament such as A1. But, 10000k? That's just slightly higher than RX7, and this is F1 man !

Give us back our V10 engines, get rid of the speed limit, if manufacturer's are afraid of engine failure, then they should do something to make sure they can maintain high RPM and an engine that does not fail under high RPM !
htkaki
post May 20 2007, 06:52 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

What are they trying to do with F1. F1 is the mother of all motorsports. If they are to impose so mnay restrictions, then might as well scrap the whole event. What are they thinking?!

127 Pages « < 108 109 110 111 112 > » Top

0.0602sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:56 AM