165 Pages « < 156 157 158 159 160 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V19, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

hero617
post Feb 11 2017, 12:03 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(Flash90 @ Feb 11 2017, 01:01 AM)
Look for jobs that you are interested in Malaysia and Sg. But do remember to keep yourself to learning and improving your skills to the particular field.
The more skills you have common to the field, the better chances you are to get employed.
Keep trying and persevere. If you are not strong financially, just get a local job while looking for Sg jobs.
Make it a win win situation that the local job is a relevant exp to your next job in Sg biggrin.gif
Software engineering is hot in Sg now. A friend from Msia fresh grad entered US MNC in Sg as software engineer for 3k SGD biggrin.gif
I think Sg companies only want experienced workers.
Thanks. I will gain experience first in Malaysia if there is opportunity then i will move on.
veger_leong
post Feb 11 2017, 08:15 AM

86 posts

I just gotten offer from a Sg bank,HR adviced me to resign first and concurrently they will apply EP for me so that I can serve my notice period earlier. But Isn't it there is a chance if I resign from my current role but then the EP got rejected by Sg government ? 🤔

By the way, can tell the package is not very attractive, currently I'm getting above 5 figures in Malaysia but they can only offer me sgd8k+ and it is without epf, it is like more than 30% slashed but reading the posts seem like everyone can get one to one or some even get increment
Just wonder if anyone get slashed (dollar to dollar)when they move over to Sg ?
Wahoo
post Feb 11 2017, 12:04 PM

QUOTE(Flash90 @ Feb 11 2017, 12:01 AM)
Look for jobs that you are interested in Malaysia and Sg. But do remember to keep yourself to learning and improving your skills to the particular field.
The more skills you have common to the field, the better chances you are to get employed.
Keep trying and persevere. If you are not strong financially, just get a local job while looking for Sg jobs.
Make it a win win situation that the local job is a relevant exp to your next job in Sg biggrin.gif
Software engineering is hot in Sg now. A friend from Msia fresh grad entered US MNC in Sg as software engineer for 3k SGD biggrin.gif
I think Sg companies only want experienced workers.
Thanks flash90
Currently working in part-time but irrelevant to my field of study.
I live in east Msia and if I need to gain further experiences, I think I will have to get into bigger cities for that.
I have enough savings to stay oversea to look for jobs but still it's way too risky :c
deodorant
post Feb 11 2017, 01:14 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

veger_leong the 1:1 generalization is only really somewhat useable at the lower end of the payscale. Our old time member seantang posted some stats last time that as seniority rises, the myr salary rises more than the sgd one (example for illustration, a s$20k job might pay rm30k in kl; a s$30k job might pay rm40-50k in kl).
mat2020
post Feb 11 2017, 01:50 PM

70 posts

Hi guys, is there anyone works in inspection engineering field (non-destructive testing)? I plan to do an internship at SG. Perhaps MNC company.

Currently I'm taking UT CSWIP Level 2 (3.1 & 3.2) 3 month course at Kismec - TWI and will undergo 4 month internship on 14 March till 15 July.

Is there possible to me to do an internship in SG and stay at JB?

This post has been edited by mat2020: Feb 11 2017, 03:04 PM
SzeChenTan
post Feb 11 2017, 02:32 PM

Have been looking for a few months but still can't find a job there.
WallChecker
post Feb 11 2017, 05:14 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(veger_leong @ Feb 11 2017, 08:15 AM)
I just gotten offer from a Sg bank,HR adviced me to resign first and concurrently they will apply EP for me so that I can serve my notice period earlier. But Isn't it there is a chance if I resign from my current role but then the EP got rejected by Sg government ? 🤔

By the way, can tell the package is not very attractive, currently I'm getting above 5 figures in Malaysia but they can only offer me sgd8k+ and it is without epf, it is like more than 30% slashed but reading the posts seem like everyone can get one to one or some even get increment
QUOTE(deodorant @ Feb 11 2017, 01:14 PM)
veger_leong the 1:1 generalization is only really somewhat useable at the lower end of the payscale. Our old time member seantang posted some stats last time that as seniority rises, the myr salary rises more than the sgd one (example for illustration, a s$20k job might pay rm30k in kl; a s$30k job might pay rm40-50k in kl).
First, u should not resign before EP is approved and there is chance of it being rejected. Second, if they want u to start soon then they should pay out your notice period, or wait until u served your notice and join them.
Third, I agreed with deodorant's comment above that u cannot use 1:1 generalization. The example given is also correct. The stats of income bracket in MY and SG is totally different at high level of seniority. And as always mentioned before, u should benchmark based on your experience, skills, job scope and industry to SG market, it is not as simple as 1:1 rule. U can google those benchmark such as glassdoor etc.
veger_leong
post Feb 11 2017, 05:30 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Feb 11 2017, 01:14 PM)
QUOTE(WallChecker @ Feb 11 2017, 05:14 PM)
First, u should not resign before EP is approved and there is chance of it being rejected. Second, if they want u to start soon then they should pay out your notice period, or wait until u served your notice and join them.
Third, I agreed with deodorant's comment above that u cannot use 1:1 generalization. The example given is also correct. The stats of income bracket in MY and SG is totally different at high level of seniority. And as always mentioned before, u should benchmark based on your experience, skills, job scope and industry to SG market, it is not as simple as 1:1 rule. U can google those benchmark such as glassdoor etc.
Hi deodorant wallchecker thanks for the advices.
Ya even I checked with the headhunter she also said that there is like zero chance for Malaysian getting EP so has no worry on that but I still feel not comfortable cause the risk is still there

Just check the role it is like this range but then if taking into consideration of the living expense in sg, checked at lest like 1500+- for a studio unit so monetary wise it is not really a good move but more like getting international exposure for this move
Mackiddo
post Feb 11 2017, 07:59 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

above 5 figures . hmmm. means at least rm100k / month. why would u consider going for sgd8k+ if u can make so much in marehsia?
KilJim
post Feb 12 2017, 12:15 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(veger_leong @ Feb 11 2017, 05:30 PM)
Ya even I checked with the headhunter she also said that there is like zero chance for Malaysian getting EP so has no worry on that but I still feel not comfortable cause the risk is still there

Just check the role it is like this range but then  if taking into consideration of the living expense in sg, checked at lest like 1500+- for a studio unit so monetary wise it is not really a good move but more like getting international exposure for this move
Zero chance for Malaysians getting EP?!
Thats not a very good odds for you!
LalaBubbles
post Feb 12 2017, 02:18 AM

194 posts

Hi guys...anybody want to share a unit near tiong bahru mrt?
We are looking to rent a 2 bedroom unit with 2 bathroom around Jalan Membina.

We will take the master bedroom.
Looking for roommates for the common room.
Rental about $900 + utilities.

Couple is welcome. Drop me a PM if you want to discuss further.

yuen300
post Feb 12 2017, 10:37 AM

163 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Feb 10 2017, 11:18 PM)
I normally using DBS to remit online. At least DBS won't eat my money biggrin.gif Always send to Maybank so far never fail.
How about the rate? Good? The rate that it shows when we key in at the website accurate?
I can't understand "sia" and sometimes in msg my colleague always type "gg" which for gamers it stands for good game but they treat it as gotta go/gonna

I think other still ok biggrin.gif
Because DBS sometimes is lower by few cents from the real rates. So, if need transfer large money, a bit not worth.
Currently, tried Arcade Remittance, need to pay $10 for the service or need to exceed 10k for free remit, it will reach to ur Malaysia account in the next day.
yuen300
post Feb 12 2017, 10:40 AM

163 posts

QUOTE(Manada @ Feb 12 2017, 11:30 AM)
Hey guys I'm looking to intern in SG. Preferably in one of the BIG 4s accounting firm since I already got experience in EY Malaysia.

It's fairly straightforward right apply for working holiday pass (WHP). But just wondering how much they pay for intern and is it enough to survive for at least 2 mths.
around 800SGD?

yuen300
post Feb 12 2017, 11:22 AM

163 posts

QUOTE(Manada @ Feb 12 2017, 12:07 PM)
Thanks. 800SGD to 1000SGD there la right. Are you familar with the Work Holiday Pass? I have more questions tho on the work holiday pass.

How hard is it to get WHP? From the website it says 2,000 capacity at one time.

Also, if my internship commencement is in January 2018, when I should apply? How long it takes from the day I apply to the day I get approved?
Hmm, usually the HR will help u to do so?
For the application process, from MOM websites, take around 3 weeks.
WallChecker
post Feb 13 2017, 12:10 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(veger_leong @ Feb 11 2017, 05:30 PM)

Just check the role it is like this range but then  if taking into consideration of the living expense in sg, checked at lest like 1500+- for a studio unit so monetary wise it is not really a good move but more like getting international exposure for this move
I would assume u mean zero chance of Malaysian EP rejection - It is up to u, if u don't feel comfortable then wait until EP is approved. But no one can confirm EP application is 100% approved until it is approved by MOM, so tell that to your headhunter.
The second part is very personal, u have to read up many pages of this thread of previous versions to understand more. In KL, if u are single and earning RM10k plus, u can live comfortably owning a car and one decent condo (500k to 800k). And u still have some saving if u are good in managing expenses. U get to see your family, your partner (or wife) / kids, friends and so on. In SG, if u are single, earning SGD8k, u will be renting a place first (Whichever u like HDB or Studio/condo etc), but u will be far away from home. Traveling back home cost money and time. If this is not an issue that is fine. But people here mostly uses public transport to work (Yes, it is way much better than KL) even those earning 15k and above. Owning a car is expensive and eat up your gross income. A decent private condo usually priced around 800k to few mills (Expert here correct me if I am wrong), and prime location is easily 1.2 mill and above. U can read more yourself by Google on housing here.

Nevertheless, personally if I am in your shoe, I will take this offer up because in long-run working in SG is way valuable than in MY. I don't mean kopitiam "Woah this person work in SG etc etc.." but from personal profile to corporate perspective on u when u return to MY (If u return).

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Feb 11 2017, 07:59 PM)
above 5 figures . hmmm. means at least rm100k / month. why would u consider going for sgd8k+ if u can make so much in marehsia?
I am sure he wanted to say 10k and above per month.. I don't think anyone will take SGD8k vs. MYR100k per month biggrin.gif
deodorant
post Feb 13 2017, 07:23 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(Manada @ Feb 12 2017, 11:07 AM)
Thanks. 800SGD to 1000SGD there la right. Are you familar with the Work Holiday Pass? I have more questions tho on the work holiday pass.
Are you sure that WHP is available for Malaysians? A few months ago someone else came here asking about it too cos the website doesn't state applicable for Malaysians. But I don't recall he/she gave us any update after that.

Website: "You are eligible if ... you are an undergraduate or graduate of a university in Australia, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Japan, New Zealand, Switzerland, United Kingdom or United States."

Anyway can't help you cos not familiar with it. The companies I work in their interns are all on TEP (training employment pass) instead.

This post has been edited by deodorant: Feb 13 2017, 07:24 AM
Fiona Chin
post Feb 13 2017, 04:40 PM

1,172 posts

Salary and lifestyle wise confirm rugi already. Whether or not you can get what you want after few years that is depend on your effort and luck. rclxm9.gif
trade99
post Feb 13 2017, 05:46 PM

199 posts

im looking for a job in SG. BRO & SIS please guide and let me know if there is vacancy.
thank you so much ! icon_question.gif
Kelv
post Feb 13 2017, 05:51 PM

Be kind to animals
3,988 posts

QUOTE(trade99 @ Feb 13 2017, 05:46 PM)
im looking for a job in SG. BRO & SIS please guide and let me know if there is vacancy.
thank you so much !  icon_question.gif
Well, you have to let us know what job you are looking for at first place. doh.gif
QianYu
post Feb 15 2017, 05:39 PM

69 posts

Hello fellow msians who's out there in e lil red dot, I'm trying to look for a job soon in SG (hopefully to join u all soon), am just wondering if there's any "fee"/ deductions that we have to bear monthly/annually as an EP holder? Let's say at a gross pay of 3000, what would be the figure in our pay cheques?

Thanks people smile.gif

165 Pages « < 156 157 158 159 160 > » Top

0.0336sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:48 PM