Working in Singapore V19, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

veger_leong
post Feb 11 2017, 08:15 AM

86 posts

I just gotten offer from a Sg bank,HR adviced me to resign first and concurrently they will apply EP for me so that I can serve my notice period earlier. But Isn't it there is a chance if I resign from my current role but then the EP got rejected by Sg government ? 🤔

By the way, can tell the package is not very attractive, currently I'm getting above 5 figures in Malaysia but they can only offer me sgd8k+ and it is without epf, it is like more than 30% slashed but reading the posts seem like everyone can get one to one or some even get increment
Just wonder if anyone get slashed (dollar to dollar)when they move over to Sg ?
veger_leong
post Feb 11 2017, 05:30 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Feb 11 2017, 01:14 PM)
veger_leong the 1:1 generalization is only really somewhat useable at the lower end of the payscale. Our old time member seantang posted some stats last time that as seniority rises, the myr salary rises more than the sgd one (example for illustration, a s$20k job might pay rm30k in kl; a s$30k job might pay rm40-50k in kl).
QUOTE(WallChecker @ Feb 11 2017, 05:14 PM)
First, u should not resign before EP is approved and there is chance of it being rejected. Second, if they want u to start soon then they should pay out your notice period, or wait until u served your notice and join them.
Third, I agreed with deodorant's comment above that u cannot use 1:1 generalization. The example given is also correct. The stats of income bracket in MY and SG is totally different at high level of seniority. And as always mentioned before, u should benchmark based on your experience, skills, job scope and industry to SG market, it is not as simple as 1:1 rule. U can google those benchmark such as glassdoor etc.
Hi deodorant wallchecker thanks for the advices.
Ya even I checked with the headhunter she also said that there is like zero chance for Malaysian getting EP so has no worry on that but I still feel not comfortable cause the risk is still there

Just check the role it is like this range but then if taking into consideration of the living expense in sg, checked at lest like 1500+- for a studio unit so monetary wise it is not really a good move but more like getting international exposure for this move
veger_leong
post Feb 18 2017, 07:19 AM

86 posts

QUOTE(WallChecker @ Feb 13 2017, 12:10 AM)
I would assume u mean zero chance of Malaysian EP rejection - It is up to u, if u don't feel comfortable then wait until EP is approved. But no one can confirm EP application is 100% approved until it is approved by MOM, so tell that to your headhunter.
The second part is very personal, u have to read up many pages of this thread of previous versions to understand more. In KL, if u are single and earning RM10k plus, u can live comfortably owning a car and one decent condo (500k to 800k). And u still have some saving if u are good in managing expenses. U get to see your family, your partner (or wife) / kids, friends and so on. In SG, if u are single, earning SGD8k, u will be renting a place first (Whichever u like HDB or Studio/condo etc), but u will be far away from home. Traveling back home cost money and time. If this is not an issue that is fine. But people here mostly uses public transport to work (Yes, it is way much better than KL) even those earning 15k and above. Owning a car is expensive and eat up your gross income. A decent private condo usually priced around 800k to few mills (Expert here correct me if I am wrong), and prime location is easily 1.2 mill and above. U can read more yourself by Google on housing here.

Nevertheless, personally if I am in your shoe, I will take this offer up because in long-run working in SG is way valuable than in MY. I don't mean kopitiam "Woah this person work in SG etc etc.." but from personal profile to corporate perspective on u when u return to MY (If u return).
I am sure he wanted to say 10k and above per month.. I don't think anyone will take SGD8k vs. MYR100k per month  biggrin.gif
👍Thanks for being advice man, appreciate that

0.0874sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:25 AM