Working in Singapore V19, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

Mackiddo
post Jun 14 2016, 08:06 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

Newbies who are interested in joining our Whatsapp group and future gathering or makan/yumcha session, pm one the following;
Lester1987 argiope mackiddo washabushi. Please ensure you have a valid Whatsapp account.

Kindly include your name (with surname), phone number (Sg number only), age, gender, work location.
We do organize meetups from time to time.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jun 18 2016, 04:44 PM
Mackiddo
post Jun 16 2016, 06:59 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(babychai @ Jun 16 2016, 01:06 AM)
Hi guys,

May I know how many Resume you sent in before you get you first job in Singapore?

Just for sharing purpose.

TQ
sent 3, get 3, select 1
Mackiddo
post Jun 17 2016, 07:36 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(ldhong @ Jun 17 2016, 06:53 AM)
Do you all know where to get safety shoes in town?

Preferable shops that have a few varieties and not cut throat price. Best if they have Red Wing, Mr. Mark and etc...

Just arrived here for few days and got to go site already. I have not even receive my physical EP yet. Lol
Co never provide?
Mackiddo
post Jul 8 2016, 07:18 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Jul 6 2016, 08:29 PM)
Pr, cause now i do receive my salary in full cash, if i do not manually contribute to cpf (20%) , wat will happen worst case, in jail ?  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
QUOTE(orangbulu @ Jul 7 2016, 08:07 AM)
It's not possible.  Better check with hr.  Cpf will definitely know eventually and you will have to pay back everything
probably just have to pay back everything 'owed' to cpf with interest. your Co could be implicated too, since they are supposed to deduct from your salary and do the contribution for you.
Mackiddo
post Jul 24 2016, 02:46 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(jules6002 @ Jul 24 2016, 01:15 AM)
Anyone know where can i get shisha in sg? i know shisha is ban in sg but i heard that arab street still got ppl selling. is there any other place that you guys might know ?
Clarke Quay
Mackiddo
post Jul 30 2016, 05:51 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(playstan211 @ Jul 30 2016, 11:27 AM)
nope. but TS has passed the min requirement for EP. why is he getting non-ep
there is more criterias for EP, not only salary and the rest are pretty judgemental
Mackiddo
post Jul 30 2016, 08:45 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ Jul 30 2016, 08:14 PM)
WP holder is not eligible to apply for PR, although i have heard success story of married couple with 1 half holding WP get approved.
As long as the primary applicant meet the all the criterias, that is good enough. Secondary applicant (spouse) doesn't even have to hold a working pass. It is been like that all along.
Mackiddo
post Aug 4 2016, 09:05 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(LalaluSan @ Aug 4 2016, 03:51 PM)
I see.. My agent told me that he doesn't charge us agent fee, so basically it sounds good to me, but the weird thing is that he required my FIN number (which later he told me that he needed it to register for the address), and i passed it to him without thinking twice  sad.gif 
Am i dealing with some kind of scam here or something?  sad.gif
probably he just use your FIN number to borrow money from Ah Leong only.
Mackiddo
post Aug 6 2016, 08:47 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(ilikehandphones @ Aug 6 2016, 10:06 AM)
hi bros, recently a friend of mine ask me .. if resign from company..last day already, do we still need to immediately leave sg? or is there a time frame?
can we still come sg stay at relative house find work? i haben keep myself updated with latest news..so i cant really answer him haha
revert back to the social visit regulations
Mackiddo
post Aug 6 2016, 08:51 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(hehe86 @ Aug 5 2016, 08:11 PM)
Hi, is it possible to get a job in sg gov job banks?
yes.
Mackiddo
post Aug 9 2016, 04:49 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(akioen @ Aug 9 2016, 11:50 AM)
say S$10k?
S$10k is hardly a big sum, definitely less than a month salary for elites like deodorant. Just keep in pocket and walkover to jb do transfer.
Mackiddo
post Aug 11 2016, 03:49 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(kai91 @ Aug 11 2016, 02:45 PM)
Software engineer here as well~ also higher package here in sg
QUOTE(chickenessence @ Aug 11 2016, 02:48 PM)
Kuli engineer here too..
60k per annum i can laugh d.. T.T
all so power now. The rest of us, like myself can only dream of that figure. Maybe attainable in next 10 years. sad.gif
Mackiddo
post Aug 18 2016, 10:28 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Megatronika @ Aug 18 2016, 07:55 PM)
Hi all sifus here are my current profile:

Job Title : Senior Quality Engineer
Job Desciption : Handle product's quality
Years spent in company : 3 years
Company : MNC
Industry : Manufacturing
Tenure: Permanent
Employment Level : Executive
Experience before joining : 4 Years (Product Quality Engineer)
Total Experience: 7 years (all working in Malaysia)
Highest education background : Degree in Electrical Mechatronics
Current Salary : RM 4,700

My question, is it reasonable if I put my Salary expectation SGD 5,000? Is it too high? Initially I did not want to put any numbers, but it is mandatory column when registering at Jobstreet.sg.

Thanks!
i will give u s$3k tops if i'm the hiring manager
Mackiddo
post Aug 19 2016, 09:57 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Aug 19 2016, 09:32 AM)
Dun listen to them

Nvr low ball urself

If u r not in hurry just slowly find, it took me half year to get now this decent offer, and remember, if the company really appreciate you, they will pay for tat, not to mention they willing to spend, means their benefits wouldnt be tat bad too..... compare to u low ball urself and join and Cheapskate company and suffer even longer
yeah. everyone should listen to you. everyone should wait and wait till they get the salary they want.

Mackiddo
post Aug 22 2016, 09:04 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Grajindo @ Aug 22 2016, 08:20 PM)
Hi, I am just wondering in general, how much % of salary increase am I expecting after probation period of 3 months? Let's say the performance is kind of average.
for my Co, 0% after finishing probation period. What is the big deal of finishing a probation period that warrant a pay raise?
Mackiddo
post Aug 24 2016, 10:47 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(zephyrus9999 @ Aug 24 2016, 08:41 PM)
how can u guys take it renting in a room and living with the owner? no car to drive, no good 'street' foods to taste, lost all your msian friends and spontaneous trips, holding back spending? /heh

no choice. my room smaller than kandang kerbau, peak work hours smell multi-national arm pit breeze in mrt, daily eat gutter oil chap fan and the furthest holiday is Sentosa. just bite the bullet and spent s$2 on Toto each draw, hopefully to be the lucky one. sianz.
Mackiddo
post Aug 24 2016, 11:15 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(zephyrus9999 @ Aug 24 2016, 10:56 PM)
Forget toto lah. my fren sapu what system 7 system what shit almost 1/10 of his lowly pay also nothing. anyway, does EP holder entitle for the win lets say jackpot those kind
I've seen real life bangla strike 1st price before. There is hope for kuli like me.

Mackiddo
post Aug 24 2016, 11:22 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Aug 24 2016, 11:19 PM)
Lucky bastard :thumbsup:

What happen to that bangla now?
flew back already. he paid the site supervisor around s$20k I think, hired few fella to protect him for a few days until he collect money and fly back own country.
Mackiddo
post Aug 28 2016, 07:32 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(rookie93 @ Aug 28 2016, 05:38 PM)
hmmm i kinda fancy the go JB part... thinking of that has me reluctant to shop in S'pore though... especially for clothes and shoes....
certain clothes are cheaper in Sg. Shoes, i'm afraid of fakes if buying from JB.
Mackiddo
post Sep 2 2016, 09:43 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Sep 2 2016, 01:59 PM)
my vote goes to Goodwood Park H
now got discount 15% wif selected cc

0.0882sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled