127 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.12, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

ZeaXG
post Feb 26 2016, 05:07 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(pearl_white @ Feb 26 2016, 04:10 PM)
It is correct, the withdrawal can be made after midnite, ie. 1201am, Feb 23rd.

If you went there on due date, then it shud be in the SA or ready to cash out at counter.

Which bank is this?  Employees there deserved to be flogged.

And correction- FD depositors are not customers.  They are suppliers (suppliers of capital).  Banks pay you interest!

Customers are those who are debt ridden and with tagline in-debted to bank for life.
Actually, depositors are their customers as well. Without deposits, banks cannot give out loans and thus cannot earn income. To grow their loan book, they need to either get more deposits or raise capital from shareholders.

Actually, I also want to ask this question.

In the case of 1 month eFD, if make a placement on 01/01/2016, I can make upliftment on 01/02/2016 straightaway online. But, if over the counter FD, I can only uplift on 02/02/2016?

This post has been edited by ZeaXG: Feb 26 2016, 05:07 PM
WhitE LighteR
post Feb 26 2016, 05:09 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(ZeaXG @ Feb 26 2016, 05:07 PM)
Actually, depositors are their customers as well. Without deposits, banks cannot give out loans and thus cannot earn income. To grow their loan book, they need to either get more deposits or raise capital from shareholders.

In the case of 1 month eFD, if make a placement on 01/01/2016, I can make upliftment on 01/02/2016 straightaway online. But, if over the counter FD, I can only uplift on 02/02/2016?
Last time cimb efd only can uplift next day. Only recently they allow to uplift same day
aeiou228
post Feb 26 2016, 05:20 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(pearl_white @ Feb 26 2016, 04:10 PM)
It is correct, the withdrawal can be made after midnite, ie. 1201am, Feb 23rd.

If you went there on due date, then it shud be in the SA or ready to cash out at counter.

Which bank is this?  Employees there deserved to be flogged.

And correction- FD depositors are not customers.  They are suppliers (suppliers of capital).  Banks pay you interest!

Customers are those who are debt ridden and with tagline in-debted to bank for life.
It was mentioned that the teller did try to perform the withdrawal (probably with full interest matured withdrawal and not the prematured withdrawal) but the system doesn't permit that.
It was also mentioned that there is a new directive.
So better watch out and find out which local bank is this.
So far, I have not come across any local bank asking me to come back one day after FD maturity due date.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Feb 26 2016, 05:34 PM
aeiou228
post Feb 26 2016, 05:28 PM

5,867 posts

For the sake of discussion, If you shorten the FD tenure to 1 day, then we can see things more clearly.
Say today 26th you make a 1 day FD placement, then the maturity date shall be on 27th. Therefore by hook or by crook, on 27th you can withdraw the FD with 1 day interest.

Note:Assuming 27th is a banking day.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Feb 26 2016, 05:30 PM
cherroy
post Feb 26 2016, 05:48 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Feb 26 2016, 03:41 PM)
http://www.thestar.com.my/opinion/letters/...-is-ridiculous/
Friday, 26 February 2016
Midnight withdrawal ruling is ridiculous

I HAD two fixed deposit certificates with a local bank, bearing the due date of Feb 23.

On the due date, I went to the bank in the morning to withdraw my money.

The teller struggled for a while unable to execute the withdrawal.

Then an officer said there is a new directive from headquarters.

Withdrawals can only be executed at midnight on the due date.

I just experienced similar incident few weeks ago, and I insisted to see the officer, manager regarding (come back tomorrow due to system didn't allow to withdraw, did not know what was the reason as stated by the cashier).

After a few round of complaint, the officer was in and out few round the office and refer to their manager may be and may overwriting the computer earmarked situation, (exact reason, they did not want to explain) and let me to withdraw later on, and they just explained due to system glitch.

I told the officer, if they do not allow to withdraw the FD at maturity day let say 1st of the month, then they should print the maturity on next day aka 2nd, instead of 1st.
It makes no sense for customer to withdraw money on the maturity date.
pearl_white
post Feb 26 2016, 05:53 PM

232 posts

So which part of the balance sheet will it appear? Assets or Liabilities?

Eagerly anticipating answer. sweat.gif

aeiou228
post Feb 26 2016, 06:25 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Feb 26 2016, 05:48 PM)
I just experienced similar incident few weeks ago, and I insisted to see the officer, manager regarding (come back tomorrow due to system didn't allow to withdraw, did not know what was the reason as stated by the cashier).

After a few round of complaint, the officer was in and out few round the office and refer to their manager may be and may overwriting the computer earmarked situation, (exact reason, they did not want to explain) and let me to withdraw later on, and they just explained due to system glitch.

I told the officer, if they do not allow to withdraw the FD at maturity day let say 1st of the month, then they should print the maturity on next day aka 2nd, instead of 1st. 
It makes no sense for customer to withdraw money on the maturity date.
Which bank ?
Human Nature
post Feb 26 2016, 06:32 PM

- student of human nature -
26,524 posts

Yup, interested to know which bank too so that can be extra cautious. I will demand a compensation if I need to come the next day.
Gen-X
post Feb 26 2016, 06:37 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Talking about maturity date - if it is conventional FD, one can withdraw on the actual date. However for some Islamic so called "Fixed Deposit" or Term Deposit-i, I think it was mentioned before that one can only withdraw it the next day after so called maturity date printed on the receipt/cert.
nbi
post Feb 26 2016, 06:44 PM

258 posts

my hsbc fd experience (dec/15), could not redeem the fd on the maturity date. had to go next day again.

affin, hlb, pb, ocbc, uob - can redeem on the maturity date.

however, I didn't reconfirm those interest amounts paid. should be no 1day interest short gua.
cklimm
post Feb 26 2016, 07:27 PM

2,337 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Feb 26 2016, 03:41 PM)
http://www.thestar.com.my/opinion/letters/...-is-ridiculous/
Friday, 26 February 2016
Midnight withdrawal ruling is ridiculous

And the bank got to keep my money for free for one day!

I am just a small time senior citizen with my few thousand ringgit in fixed deposit.

one day interest for a few thousand, lets say 5k is around +-50 sen,
I am utterly sorry for her lost.
Human Nature
post Feb 26 2016, 07:32 PM

- student of human nature -
26,524 posts

As for me, it is more of a hassle because I normally take annual leave based on my FD maturity dates even though I am on flexi working hours. So if new system said next day, they better print it clearly on the cert.
blogomatic
post Feb 26 2016, 07:37 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Feb 26 2016, 07:27 PM)
one day interest for a few thousand, lets say 5k is around +-50 sen,
I am utterly sorry for her lost.
lol while her lost is minimal, it does impact your RM1 mil FD if you happened to deposit at that particular bank.
bbgoat
post Feb 26 2016, 08:28 PM

6,614 posts

So far for Islamic FD, TD-i, I did not encounter this issue from BR, HL, KFH, MBB etc. Still same maturity day/date to withdraw FD. biggrin.gif

Only problem is with CIMB eFD which can only terminate one day after maturity date. But someone mentioned that this was rectified recently.

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Feb 26 2016, 08:29 PM
cherroy
post Feb 26 2016, 09:40 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Feb 26 2016, 06:37 PM)
Talking about maturity date - if it is conventional FD, one can withdraw on the actual date. However for some Islamic so called "Fixed Deposit" or Term Deposit-i, I think it was mentioned before that one can only withdraw it the next day after so called maturity date printed on the receipt/cert.
My experience was with conventional FD promo one.
It is a popular and one of largest local bank.

Have several similar FD with them, only the particular FD cert experience this, while others no issue at all.

The FD interest was credited in CASA account already in the early morning of the maturity date.
Interest already given, yet principal was held. It doesn't make sense, either the cashier or officer was not competent or system glitch, this I cannot guess already.

TOMEI-R
post Feb 26 2016, 09:51 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Feb 26 2016, 01:52 PM)
Yikes... it irks me out when seeing people going high and low trying to save anything lower than rm 1..

Really tak boleh tahan.

Focusing to save from an operation cost of rm 100k will be more feasible to spend your time on than spending time cracking head on how to save rm1 and lesser, wad more to say, rm 0.25 (your fd case) or rm 0.11 (your ibg case)

Maybe you are still a student for now, got many time... haha.

It will come a time when u realize these are really wasting time.. haha..

Sorry if i oT.. but i really tak boleh tahan..
QUOTE(yygo @ Feb 26 2016, 02:01 PM)
some pipu need to learn time is money. use time to make more money but not cents. laugh.gif
Wiseman say.. "Penny wise, pound foolish". laugh.gif

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Feb 26 2016, 09:52 PM
aeiou228
post Feb 26 2016, 10:00 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Feb 26 2016, 09:40 PM)
My experience was with conventional FD promo one.
It is a popular and one of largest local bank.
The clue shorten the list to Maybank, Pbb, CIMB.
Let's guess, CIMB ? smile.gif
wil-i-am
post Feb 26 2016, 10:54 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(pearl_white @ Feb 26 2016, 05:53 PM)
So which part of the balance sheet will it appear?  Assets or Liabilities?

Eagerly anticipating answer. sweat.gif
Customer deposits sit in Liabilities
adele123
post Feb 27 2016, 08:20 AM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(langstrasse @ Feb 26 2016, 02:55 PM)
Folks I asked at KLCC maybank today and apparently the 2 month FD promo is no longer available.

Only the 12 month 4.22 that's been previously informed.

EDIT:
I asked at maybank ampang park and they still have the 2 month promo but only for Islamic FD. Gaah always trust but verify !
Did you manage to get a deadlin on both promo? When I was there, was too rush to ask about it.

Yes, coincidentally I went to mbb ap on Thursday, was told 2 promos available. Looks like best promo right now is 4.45% 12 months rhb.
yygo
post Feb 27 2016, 10:00 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Feb 26 2016, 09:51 PM)
Wiseman say.. "Penny wise, pound foolish". laugh.gif
rite on ................ tongue.gif

QUOTE(adele123 @ Feb 27 2016, 08:20 AM)
Did you manage to get a deadlin on both promo? When I was there, was too rush to ask about it.

Yes, coincidentally I went to mbb ap on Thursday, was told 2 promos available. Looks like best promo right now is 4.45% 12 months rhb.
bsn 4.5% if u dun mind the time spent. br for 4.55% 2 yrs if u dun care about pidm.

oh ya, epf self contribution.

This post has been edited by yygo: Feb 27 2016, 10:03 AM

127 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0294sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:05 AM