Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.12, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

langstrasse
post Feb 27 2016, 11:42 AM

~ Have a Vice day ~
1,588 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Feb 27 2016, 08:20 AM)
Did you manage to get a deadlin on both promo? When I was there, was too rush to ask about it.

Yes, coincidentally I went to mbb ap on Thursday, was told 2 promos available. Looks like best promo right now is 4.45% 12 months rhb.
Sorry I don't have the deadline for the promos.
ytan053
post Feb 27 2016, 10:58 PM

565 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 25 2016, 04:53 PM)
Btw, can we select 2 months and still get 4% or we need to select 12 months?
Yes. Select 2 mths,d 4% is paid mthly, so it feels like 1mth fd

BboyDora
post Feb 28 2016, 12:53 PM

2,361 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Feb 26 2016, 10:00 PM)
The clue shorten the list to Maybank, Pbb, CIMB.
Let's guess, CIMB ? smile.gif
Maybe rhb?

Cz I had bad exp v rhb for their way
yygo
post Feb 29 2016, 10:08 AM

895 posts

any news on march fd promo? now looks best one bsn 1 yr 4.5%, br 2yrs 4.55% then rhb 1 yr 4.45%.
Patt_Hup
post Feb 29 2016, 10:46 AM

151 posts

Hi I'm new to FD. Since BSN/AFFIN/PBB are offering 4.5% p.a. Any difference i need to take note while choosing between them? Eg: open savings account is mandatory?
WhitE LighteR
post Feb 29 2016, 01:31 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(poor man @ Feb 26 2016, 10:23 AM)
today go to hl bank 3 mth 4.2% and 6 mth 4.5% all fd promo is not availble ...
I manage to place 3 month FD with HLB. I was told the 6 month is still available as well.

So is it specific to the branch you tried only that no longer available? Which branch is this?
HarpArtist
post Feb 29 2016, 01:40 PM

3,838 posts

QUOTE(Patt_Hup @ Feb 29 2016, 10:46 AM)
Hi I'm new to FD. Since BSN/AFFIN/PBB are offering 4.5% p.a. Any difference i need to take note while choosing between them? Eg: open savings account is mandatory?
take the one convenient to you.
Patt_Hup
post Feb 29 2016, 02:00 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(HarpArtist @ Feb 29 2016, 01:40 PM)
take the one convenient  to you.
Thanks~! So all this promotion FD rate are only applicable at the bank branch right? For online E-FD still using the standard 3.3 p.a ?
iamWill
post Feb 29 2016, 03:51 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(Patt_Hup @ Feb 29 2016, 02:00 PM)
Thanks~! So all this promotion FD rate are only applicable at the bank branch right? For online E-FD still using the standard 3.3 p.a ?
Yes. efd ranges from 3.1-3.3
kochin
post Feb 29 2016, 04:27 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

fyi.
cimb rates. (need to ask for promo rates).
1 mth 3.7%.
3 mth 4.2%.
Ramjade
post Feb 29 2016, 05:02 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(Patt_Hup @ Feb 29 2016, 02:00 PM)
Yes. That's true. However there are banks which offer promo rates efd like alliance, and usually cimb. Not sure if Mach 4.5% still got or not.

One forumer posted that he put into maybank GIA-i FD and get 4%. Haven't test it yet.

On to your question which bank to choose,

Depends on waiting time, easy to find parking and how much parking fees. Take bsn for eg, be prepare to wait min 1 hour to open a FD account. Waiting period in BSN is insane.

I used to go for affin as the bank have no customer (very fast) and they always have the highest promo rates (now, it seems that other bank managed to beat their promo)

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Feb 29 2016, 05:03 PM
nbi
post Feb 29 2016, 06:02 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Feb 20 2016, 10:05 PM)
sorry info from 1980 till 2009 only
http://financialfreedomhereigo.blogspot.my...posit-rate.html

after 2009, u needed to search  icon_rolleyes.gif
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

galaxynote259
post Feb 29 2016, 08:05 PM

412 posts

just deposited for HLB 4.5% for 6 months FD, they just give me a paper after i deposited, can i withdraw the money at any branch after maturity?

the counter girl told me it will be renewed automatically? therefore i must withdraw on maturity date? if not it will be renewed and i cannt withdraw?

the interest payment method i choose add on to principal, but on the FD paper the selling price = my principal * 0.045 * 6 / 12, it does nt seem to increase the interest i can earn??

bearbear
post Feb 29 2016, 08:11 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

QUOTE(galaxynote259 @ Feb 29 2016, 08:05 PM)
just deposited for HLB 4.5% for 6 months FD, they just give me a paper after i deposited, can i withdraw the money at any branch after maturity?

the counter girl told me it will be renewed automatically? therefore i must withdraw on maturity date? if not it will be renewed and i cannt withdraw?

the interest payment method i choose add on to principal, but on the FD paper the selling price = my principal * 0.045 * 6 / 12, it does nt seem to increase the interest i can earn??
Most bank also auto renew, Just withdraw lo the rate of auto renew usually based on board rate. Late one or two days burn the interest
cwhong
post Feb 29 2016, 08:41 PM

Growth company seeker ..... :)
4,342 posts

wait for march FD promo..... huhu :z
adele123
post Feb 29 2016, 10:50 PM

4,724 posts

i want to ask about the interest rate calculation... is there any difference due to the leap year?

i can't seem to calculate and get the right interest based on the FDs i have... somehow just slightly off...

Kaka23
post Feb 29 2016, 11:00 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Feb 29 2016, 10:50 PM)
i want to ask about the interest rate calculation... is there any difference due to the leap year?

i can't seem to calculate and get the right interest based on the FDs i have... somehow just slightly off...
Hehe.. Must be big amount lor
cj7lee
post Mar 1 2016, 04:12 AM

66 posts

For leap year, you have 366 days, so the interest calculation is: (no. of days) X (p.a. interest rate)/366
gilabola
post Mar 1 2016, 05:44 AM

669 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Feb 29 2016, 01:31 PM)
I manage to place 3 month FD with HLB. I was told the 6 month is still available as well.

So is it specific to the branch you tried only that no longer available? Which branch is this?
I went on 29 Feb to HLB branch and was told 4.5% 6 months promo no longer available.
cybpsych
post Mar 1 2016, 07:04 AM

---------------------
65,274 posts

QUOTE(Nom-el @ Jan 8 2016, 10:06 AM)
The interest calculation for FD placed last year and maturing this year should be

Total Interest = (No. of days in 2015)/365 x Rate p.a. + (No. of days in 2016)/366 x Rate p.a.

This applies to monthly interest & half-yearly interest calculation as well.

as above.

i'm lazy to recalculate the interest for 2015's placement which matures in 2016 laugh.gif

for any placement in 2016, i'd just use 366 days instead.

127 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0298sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:52 PM