Let me give you an answer (with the intention to solve your curiousity that will eventually kill you, if I did not intervene).
Why would some people rather earn less interest when you can earn higher elsewhere ? The answer can be found in genxgenygenz postings. To be precise, the words "chiak beh liao" would explain it all.
At 3.45% p.a., some people's FD would be earning more interest (in absolute terms) in a month than what you would earn in 1 year @ 4% .
For example,
MR. LIM puts in a RM10million FD at 3.9% p.a. He earns rm390k per annum, and the bank credits his SA rm32,500.00 every month.
MR. RANJIT SINGH put in a RM100k FD at 4.0% p.a. He earns rm4k per annum, and the bank credits his SA with rm333.33 everymonth.
For MR. LIM, he may be in a situation of "chiak beh liao" whereas MR. RANJIT SINGH is merely surviving day to day. Hence, psychologically, MR. RANJIT would be very sensitive to interest rate difference where as MR. LIM would not. Hence, also why, MR. RANJIT SINGH cannot pathom why MR. LIM do not go for the highest interest rates.
The law of absolutes and reaching the level of "chiak beh liao".
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 2 2016, 09:34 AM)
Thanks for the screenshot. Btw, isn't it better to put under maybank GIA-i for eFD seeing that they will give 4% instead of PB eFD which give only 3.45%?
This post has been edited by pearl_white: Mar 2 2016, 11:00 AM