Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.12, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

TOMEI-R
post Feb 26 2016, 11:54 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

Looks like interest rates offered by banks for FD are slowly falling. Could be a positive sign that the economy is improving or because Bank Negara lowered the statutory reserve requirement.
TOMEI-R
post Feb 26 2016, 09:51 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Feb 26 2016, 01:52 PM)
Yikes... it irks me out when seeing people going high and low trying to save anything lower than rm 1..

Really tak boleh tahan.

Focusing to save from an operation cost of rm 100k will be more feasible to spend your time on than spending time cracking head on how to save rm1 and lesser, wad more to say, rm 0.25 (your fd case) or rm 0.11 (your ibg case)

Maybe you are still a student for now, got many time... haha.

It will come a time when u realize these are really wasting time.. haha..

Sorry if i oT.. but i really tak boleh tahan..
QUOTE(yygo @ Feb 26 2016, 02:01 PM)
some pipu need to learn time is money. use time to make more money but not cents. laugh.gif
Wiseman say.. "Penny wise, pound foolish". laugh.gif

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Feb 26 2016, 09:52 PM
TOMEI-R
post Mar 4 2016, 10:39 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Mar 3 2016, 10:54 PM)
that  important point needs highlight.
Small FD eg  RM1000, rate difference not important, 3.45% or 4.5%
nothing much to lose..

However i was quite annoyed by those who pretend to speak your mind earlier,
saying if you already have tens of millions in FD, you wont bother be it FD rate 3.45% or 4.55%

That is kind of silly.
An additional RM10,000 in interest return in a year is nothing?

The more millions they have in FD the more they must pay attention to the rate.
3.45% or 4.5% can give additional RM100,000 a year!

if people have the attitude already have millions , wont bother value of  RM10,000 
i doubt they have reached there, by  own effort.

Its good that you didn t come out sounding like what they have said ..
Well... there are all type of forummers here. Some speak irresponsibly without thinking. I doubt that said guy would have millions in his bank account either.
TOMEI-R
post Mar 8 2016, 10:52 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Mar 8 2016, 01:59 PM)
Latest from CIMB, 100k for FD 4.68%, another 100k in CIMB preferred current acc, free 24k fish and 1 year cimb preferred membership
read T/C http://www.cimbbank.com.my/content/dam/cim...mb-fd-final.pdf
Wow.. highest interest rates offered so far is by CIMB. rclxms.gif
TOMEI-R
post Mar 9 2016, 09:05 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Mar 8 2016, 11:30 PM)
but the effective rate gonna me measly
QUOTE(yygo @ Mar 9 2016, 08:44 AM)
bro, read the t & c. devil.gif
serious? flex.gif  hmm.gif
Have to give and take. But we are only interested in pure fds no?
TOMEI-R
post Mar 9 2016, 09:07 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Mar 9 2016, 07:27 AM)
Nazir Razak
I wouldn't be surprised.
TOMEI-R
post Mar 9 2016, 10:29 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Mar 9 2016, 09:48 AM)
tat one not pure fd. rclxs0.gif

ut bundled can give high rates. we are interested on eff rate. so tat one by cimb 4.68% not the highest yet. some even saying 8,9, 10%. devil.gif
Correct Correct Correct! laugh.gif
TOMEI-R
post Mar 9 2016, 11:08 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(ninjawin @ Mar 9 2016, 09:58 PM)
Just pumped 10k into it.. really lots of t&c..  maybank cannot guarantee the returns right?
QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Mar 9 2016, 10:13 PM)
on paper, you are half right. principal and returns not guaranteed.
Better put it into a normal fd then.
TOMEI-R
post Mar 10 2016, 09:12 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(ninjawin @ Mar 9 2016, 11:30 PM)
More risk.. more return.. of course Maybank dont put the conditions for nothing...depends on your risk tolerance.
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 10 2016, 05:55 AM)

And lose out 0.85%/0.75% interest (maybank normal efd is 3.15% and Islamic efd is 3.25%)?

Still prefer my mach hlbb 4.5% fds. thumbup.gif
TOMEI-R
post Mar 10 2016, 11:13 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(kopifan @ Mar 10 2016, 09:33 AM)
HLB now 3m@4.2%?!?! 4.5% offer over end of Feb i think
Yes, the offer has ended since February.
TOMEI-R
post Mar 12 2016, 01:02 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(voc888 @ Mar 11 2016, 12:26 PM)
Went to BSN to make placement for the FD Promotion Rate @ 4.5%. No basic bank account needed, just open a FD account with interest payable on maturity. I guess I was lucky 'cos the whole process only took me 30 minutes.

Payment was done by personal cheque, effective date of the FD is 3 days later ie 14/03/2016. Checked this with the bank officer, this is 'cos FD will become effective only after cheque clearance, it this normal for those who has make same placement with BSN ?

Btw, was told by the bank officer that today is the last day for promotion rate 4.5%, new promotion rate 4.3% applicable from next week.
Means... no more 4.5% rates for now for all banks.

If you gave them a cheque, its is normal procedure for the interest to start after cheque clears which will take 2 working days. I have tried with a banker's cheque and HLBB gave me the same day interest.
TOMEI-R
post Mar 12 2016, 10:39 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Mar 12 2016, 07:41 PM)
bro, br still has 2 yrs 4.55%, min 50k.

also most banks (almost all!!) give start date same as date of cheque (personal or banker's cheque). only bsn seems to have start date 2 or 3 days later!!
2 years is a bit too long sweat.gif ...but that is just me.
TOMEI-R
post Mar 15 2016, 06:51 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(Pinnacle1295 @ Mar 15 2016, 09:43 AM)
The FREE trolley bag is subjected to a minimum placement of RM70,000, right?
Offer still open?

QUOTE(yygo @ Mar 15 2016, 06:00 PM)
sign that whatever 1 year >4.3% FD deal over. sweat.gif  left 4.3% as highest for 1 year fd rate.
Seems so... looks like no more 4.5% anymore.
TOMEI-R
post Mar 16 2016, 08:32 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(joeman814 @ Mar 15 2016, 11:25 PM)
Hi all, a newbie here to ask question...

After reading the thread, was wondering if we using a banker's check for FD, what is the payee name to write on the banker's check if you don't have a account for the new bank?

Thanks in advance!
Your own name of course. I dont mind if you want to put my name though. Let me know. laugh.gif
TOMEI-R
post Mar 17 2016, 01:18 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 16 2016, 11:45 PM)
typical service in BSN. that's why I really dislike doing any banking transaction there  ranting.gif
Their attitude are like government departments. Thats why I dont bother with these kinda banks.
TOMEI-R
post Mar 17 2016, 01:59 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(HarpArtist @ Mar 17 2016, 09:13 AM)
many govt departments are better ... than this
That's why we must avoid at all costs.
TOMEI-R
post Apr 4 2016, 12:28 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 3 2016, 11:03 AM)
What was the answer at that time:
"5 minutes later got an answer"

You can ask for multiple gifts. The Cross pens seems to be a premium gift. Ask for other gifts that I stated earlier. The Parker used to have 2 types, one cheapo and another one more expensive but I think the Cross pen is better quality.  biggrin.gif They may not give unless the deposit amount is higher. Hard to say, just ask !  biggrin.gif
QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Apr 4 2016, 09:58 AM)
Affin Bank FD Promo, valid until August 2016

(1) 3 months: 3.85%
(2) 6 months: 3.95%
(3) 9 months: 4.00%
(4) 12 months: 4.2%
(5) 13 months: 4.3%

Minimum FD deposit RM 10K

Each FD promo needs to put additional RM 5K to saving account and earmark
to follow FD tenure.  sweat.gif

Will get a gift, something like Micro Fiber Mop
How come you guys gets all the free gifts. I never get any from them. Angpau packets got lar...during CNY. doh.gif
TOMEI-R
post Apr 4 2016, 12:38 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(ZeroKunz @ Mar 14 2016, 10:36 PM)
I always heard people saying that... no matter is motorcycle bang car or car bang motorcycle. the fault will be always on the car and not on the motorcycle.. is it true??
QUOTE(ivanlim @ Mar 30 2016, 11:23 AM)
Just happened to me recently (like Tuesday) and now I suspect he wants to sue. Anyone got more experience on the suing nonsense? Can claim against insurance or not?
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 4 2016, 12:29 PM)
Work on it, the time will come, soon !  thumbup.gif
QUOTE(gchowyh @ Apr 4 2016, 12:34 PM)
So far I observed at least 3 branches got that carpet.
I have just sent in my application but they asked me what rate I want so I put 4.5% then.
I am not much better, I just asked BR Uptown branch for free gifts & they only mentioned got towel & sun shade.
Will try another branch tongue.gif
I dont really like pestering people either. But the conclusion is, the banks all damn kiamsiap. Because only those aunties and uncles that keep pestering them gets the free gifts. laugh.gif
TOMEI-R
post Apr 16 2016, 06:30 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Apr 16 2016, 03:53 PM)
We need to spread money in few banks, so it will be "fresh" funds when the FD matures. That's why I only will see 6 months promo FDs, easier for me to swap over.
Economy won't be anytime better, at least for the next few years. So FD rate will remain higher than normal.
Not as high as 2/3 months ago. With the Ringgit strengtening a bit, hope that all is good from here. sweat.gif
TOMEI-R
post Apr 16 2016, 11:17 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(aromachong @ Apr 16 2016, 07:03 PM)
yes 4.5% for 6 or 3 months hard to see.. only 4.2% from hlb i see from their site..

well anything banks offer more than 4.2% for 3-6 months?

guess next month will drop again?
I would say so.. banks are not taking unnecessary risks by simply giving out loans.

0.0495sec    0.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:03 AM