Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.12, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

cherroy
post Feb 21 2016, 05:35 PM

25,802 posts

PB did extend its PB xtra campaign to 30 April for 12 month FD.
https://www.pbebank.com/Annoucements.aspx?qid=272#q272

6 months 4.1%
Next 6 months 4.5%.

Effective 4.3% for 12 months.
cherroy
post Feb 24 2016, 10:11 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Dixon93 @ Feb 24 2016, 10:04 PM)
Hi guys!
Got a small question, I got some extra funds parked at SG account. Thinking to put in Malaysia FD since it offers better rates, as I needed the money in next year perhaps.

How does the process of opening a FD account?
Do I need to carry let's say 30k cash to the bank? because I don't have an existing account for let's say RHB.

I'm thinking to put into PublicBank, since I had an account there. So the procedure is to transfer funds to my SA first, then I visit the branch to open a FD?

Thanks!
You can TT to the local bank saving/current account first, then proceed to place the FD.

It still will be deemed as fresh fund as long as one placed the FD within days of money credited into SA, whereby one can get promotion rate through fresh fund FD placement.
cherroy
post Feb 26 2016, 05:48 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Feb 26 2016, 03:41 PM)
http://www.thestar.com.my/opinion/letters/...-is-ridiculous/
Friday, 26 February 2016
Midnight withdrawal ruling is ridiculous

I HAD two fixed deposit certificates with a local bank, bearing the due date of Feb 23.

On the due date, I went to the bank in the morning to withdraw my money.

The teller struggled for a while unable to execute the withdrawal.

Then an officer said there is a new directive from headquarters.

Withdrawals can only be executed at midnight on the due date.

I just experienced similar incident few weeks ago, and I insisted to see the officer, manager regarding (come back tomorrow due to system didn't allow to withdraw, did not know what was the reason as stated by the cashier).

After a few round of complaint, the officer was in and out few round the office and refer to their manager may be and may overwriting the computer earmarked situation, (exact reason, they did not want to explain) and let me to withdraw later on, and they just explained due to system glitch.

I told the officer, if they do not allow to withdraw the FD at maturity day let say 1st of the month, then they should print the maturity on next day aka 2nd, instead of 1st.
It makes no sense for customer to withdraw money on the maturity date.
cherroy
post Feb 26 2016, 09:40 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Feb 26 2016, 06:37 PM)
Talking about maturity date - if it is conventional FD, one can withdraw on the actual date. However for some Islamic so called "Fixed Deposit" or Term Deposit-i, I think it was mentioned before that one can only withdraw it the next day after so called maturity date printed on the receipt/cert.
My experience was with conventional FD promo one.
It is a popular and one of largest local bank.

Have several similar FD with them, only the particular FD cert experience this, while others no issue at all.

The FD interest was credited in CASA account already in the early morning of the maturity date.
Interest already given, yet principal was held. It doesn't make sense, either the cashier or officer was not competent or system glitch, this I cannot guess already.

cherroy
post Mar 2 2016, 02:09 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(McFD2R @ Mar 2 2016, 12:11 PM)
For him, why would Mr. Lim put in @ 3.9% when he can get RM400k if he can place @ 4%. Is RM10,000 / 12 months = RM833 extra per month not worth it? Well, I can answer him on your behalf. It is because for Mr. Lim who has RM10 mil, RM833 p/m is not critical to his survival nor will it make him much richer.

Unfortunately, this is something that he will never comprehend. Because he isn't where Mr. Lim is yet.

It's the same why some won't understand why I would buy a car for cash instead of taking loan. They think the cash can be used to get >4% FD and pay off hire purchase interest at 2.x-3.x% and pocket the difference. They do not understand the feeling of being debt free from housing or car or any loan. It's like having wings every month without any commitments tying me down. The freedom and reduced stress for me is absolute, as you so put it. But all he would see is, the little gains he could get by trying to make the most of the money available.
Another factor is trust.
We tend to trust a bank more than another due to convenience, and service quality we experienced as well as how well it is being run.

Also, Mr Lim may not want to deposit in Bank A, even the bank gives him 4.5% if bank A had history run into losses during economy difficult time.

Rate alone is not absolute factor.
There are other consideration and individual preference as well.

Btw, 2.x% car loan, its EIR is more than 4%.
You never can win against Bank by loaning vs FD. tongue.gif

cherroy
post Mar 11 2016, 04:33 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Mar 11 2016, 04:03 PM)
*sorry off topic guys*

i see the charge is also RM5, same as bank cheque. any advantage of rentas over bank cheque? as far as i can see both need to be done over the counter.
Rentas - Money immediate appear in target transferred account, and the money is ready available, and earn interest (if the account carrying interest rate one).

Banker cheque - subjected to clearing of cheque which take 2 days. Money only available after clearance, and interest only starts to calculate once the cheque is cleared.

For money transfer issue, can post via IBG/IBFT thread.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1985221/+1200
cherroy
post Mar 15 2016, 09:49 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(hurtedheart @ Mar 15 2016, 07:51 PM)
You have to be in person at the counter or a call over the phone will do? Will they pay you on the spot?
Just got to know from LYN that one could request the interest for weekend to be paid if the maturity date falls on a weekend.. Well I wonder if I still can claim back the weekend interest for a FD which matured last year on a weekend which I have uplifted it last year..
You claim on the spot when the lifting the matured on next working day, not last year... doh.gif
cherroy
post Mar 22 2016, 10:53 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Mar 22 2016, 09:42 AM)
Well, I don't think other banks will follow suit with UOB. Note that UOB came out with this 4.5% only short while ago, until end of March. This was after ALL banks have ceased their 4.5% 1 year promo. So it could be UOB in need of funds ?

But the trend is not encouraging. BR is also ending their 2 years 4.55% by end of March.  biggrin.gif
Received call from BR. One year 4.5% with monthly interest approved.  rclxms.gif
May be too many depositors move elsewhere for their matured FD from the bank, as the bank's rate was lower than others...
So need to put up higher rate to attract/retain depositors back.

cherroy
post Mar 23 2016, 01:30 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(vergil88 @ Mar 23 2016, 12:54 PM)
it's confirmed. I went to Menara UOB just now.
FD 4.5% 12 months

the banker also say if put into bond 1:1 with FD, FD can get up to 4.9% pa
bond is 3 years with past record of 20++% return in 3 years.
Bond can be doing badly when interest rate environment is raising.
It is not guaranteed.

Bonds shine for the previous few years due to massive QE, it doesn't mean future will be the same again.
Mind that some low quality bond can be defaulted if economy situation going south time. whereby one can make a loss in investing bond.

So it is different preposition to be compared to FD.
cherroy
post Mar 23 2016, 03:37 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(vergil88 @ Mar 23 2016, 03:27 PM)
I'm just sayin, UOB offer up to 4.9% pa for FD, if you willing to put 1:1 amount on their bonds.

I'm not sure I want to put in bonds or not. haven't put my money in UOB yet because i didnt bring enough document.
The banker show me the bonds are mainly triple Bs from energy and real estate companies.
but bonds are the lowest risk securities right?
Triple B rating bonds is not something we called lowest risk securities... sweat.gif
Triple B rating is just a notch higher than junk bond rating, as below triple B, market classify them as junk bond already.

If said sovereign bonds then may be can justify, but it is impossible to get 20% return over 3 years, with high quality sovereign bonds.

Bonds = a loan to the company, aka you borrow money to the company.
If the company has financial difficulty to pay off the loan, then the bond defaulted, aka borrower won't able to get back their money.

Anyway, this is OT from this FD thread, can post via in another specific bond thread.

As usual, if don't know/understand fully, don't commit anything, don't just for the sake of extra 0.4% FD, then venture into some area one is not familiar with. smile.gif
cherroy
post Mar 24 2016, 09:58 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(McFD2R @ Mar 24 2016, 09:24 AM)
Not enough for PB ..  biggrin.gif

UOB only took me 3 mins from the point of me entering the bank till I walked out. Impressed it took that fast or unimpressed that they have so little customer. Depends on which side of the coin some like to look at.
Why you want a crowded bank?

Efficient - customer get their business done quickly, all already left, hence you see little people in the bank.
Isn't a good thing?

or
you want a crowded bank, that need to spend 30 min to 1 hour just to make a FD placement?

cherroy
post Mar 24 2016, 01:40 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(wjchay @ Mar 24 2016, 10:51 AM)
This brings me a point where I don't understand why banks are still insisting on counter fd while the technology is there for efd? This counter ransactions overhead is probably lose-lose for both parties.
Counter FD - the counter can ensure the money come from other banks, aka fresh fund.

e-FD - existing fund in the same banks, although one may argue the "fresh fund" status can be tracked back, but the online banking system is not coded to track for this purpose.

Mind that, the reason why bank want to do promo FD is to attract more or extra deposit into their bank, aka to increase their deposit base.

Shifting current/saving account to FD through online banking, the banks earn nothing in the process nor meet the intention of having promo FD.

cherroy
post Apr 20 2016, 09:22 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Apr 20 2016, 08:31 PM)
Question regarding ocbc 15month fd. It's not mentioned anywhere that I need a savings account. However I rmb reading in here that for fd above 12 months, i'm receiving interest every 6months. So, I do need a savings acct with them?
Yup, normally (may vay), FD more than 12 months typically like 15 months, banks do give the interest every 6 months, so an account is needed to credit the interest given.
cherroy
post May 1 2016, 09:50 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(sandkoh @ May 1 2016, 07:40 AM)
sirs, i think first 6 mth they cannot change it once started. by next 6 mth if opr change, before the start of the second 6 mth fd 4.5%, they could change it. that is the intention of that clause. do u agree?
"The promo rate is subjected to change if there is OPR change" clause is to protect the bank, as the promo period is run until July, means that if anything happens in the before July (OPR change), then the bank has the right to change the promo rate.This is the intention of the statement.

All step up rate generally are locked in once placed.

From the T&C.
https://www.pbebank.com/pdf/Promotions/tc-pbfdextra-02.aspx

2 Save and except for the promotional interest / profit rates stated in Clause
4.1 above which are fixed for the tenure of this Campaign,
cherroy
post May 3 2016, 10:16 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ May 3 2016, 07:22 PM)
Australia cut interest rate from2 to1.75

Malaysia will ? Cut or remain ?

Looks like my 5% is slim chance almost goner liao
Finally, your hope come true, 5% under saving account. biggrin.gif

https://www.pbebank.com/pdf/Promotions/tc-50thanisave.aspx
cherroy
post May 19 2016, 10:53 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 19 2016, 08:26 AM)
!
Some experts has been saying after Q2, so soon ?  biggrin.gif
With yesterday minutes of potential hike from Fed, there is no certainty on anything.

cherroy
post May 19 2016, 03:35 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 19 2016, 01:53 PM)
I am hoping at least OPR stay for a while, better still an increase in OPR !
Bad for me. Double blow, FD rate down and USD exchange rate UP !  biggrin.gif
Currently, only 2 option for OPR
1. Stay
2. Lower

Increase in OPR is out of question totally.

cherroy
post May 30 2016, 10:26 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ May 30 2016, 04:45 PM)
Wow.. suddenly see my name summon here.

Looks like my vision of 5% still got some practical chances of success in 2016.. hehehehe

If By June Fed raise rate, then my vision will be closer.
Fed will only raise max 0.25% by June, and possibly halt from that point, aka the Fed fund rate will be 0.5% (if there is a raise on June, which is high possibility), which is still light year away from the 5%. laugh.gif

In fact, 3months KLibor has soften from about 3.8x% to 3.6x%, which make FD promotion rate become "softer" across as well as compared to early in the year.

cherroy
post May 31 2016, 10:06 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ May 31 2016, 02:38 AM)
OPR is decided by BNM. The decision to raise or lower the OPR, domestically, it depends on the economy growth GDP, the inflation rate CPI, the exchange rate stability, globally it depends on FED policy on raising the interest rate or not. If US does increase the rate, there will be hot money flowing into US, Malaysia ringgit is going to depreciate further. BNM may need to raise the interest rate to counter the outflow. However, with slowing economic growth, projected to be 4 to 4.2%, raising the interest rate will further slowing down the economic growth. The new boss of BNM may look at things differently from Tan Sri Zeti.
A few of the members here are looking at the macro economic changes domestically and globally and monitor the interest rate. A few banks provide FD promotions are for their strategic and operations needs, has nothing much to do with the monetary policy
Yup, basically the good promotion rate is more about higher LDR than in normal day, aka banks lack of deposit to meet the loan given.

As in ordinary situation, FD rate is always too far away from 3 months KLibor rate.
cherroy
post Jun 1 2016, 02:57 PM

25,802 posts

FD promotion may still around for sometimes, as LDR inched up from 86.9% to 87.2%.

http://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...slips-in-april/

Deposit still slow.

0.0261sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:19 PM