AV Receivers/ Speakers/ Subwoofers, Discussion & Opinion

shinchan99
post Apr 7 2021, 01:35 PM

619 posts

hi guys
Any recommendations for av and speakers as a set with budget around $2500?

Using it to play videos directly from pc.. is there any Av receiver that allows connection to wireless headset? Planning to use wireless headset sometimes when playing movie at late night
ktek
post Apr 7 2021, 07:40 PM

小喇叭
13,196 posts

afaik. bluetooth input, not output.
better use bt dongle from cpu straight
ktek
post Apr 7 2021, 07:41 PM

小喇叭
13,196 posts

u put table top or living hall. big small how
got what other device than a cpu
shinchan99
post Apr 7 2021, 11:44 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Apr 7 2021, 07:41 PM)
u put table top or living hall. big small how
got what other device than a cpu
it's a small area... connecting only cpu nothing else
gobiomani
post Apr 8 2021, 10:57 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(shinchan99 @ Apr 7 2021, 01:35 PM)
hi guys

Using it to play videos directly from pc.. is there any Av receiver that allows connection to wireless headset? Planning to use wireless headset sometimes when playing movie at late night
AV Receivers with bluetooth transmitters are a relatively new thing and thus are not cheap since you can't just get an older or used model.
A better alternative is to buy a bluetooth receiver & transmitter dongle and plug it into one of the AVRs inputs or to your PC. The PC dongle and amplifier dongles are usually not the same thing due to different connection options.

Anyway, what do you mean by speaker set? How many speakers do you want? Subwoofer included?

To be honest, your budget is barely enough for a new AVR and will leave very little money for speakers. I don't intend to discourage you or ask you to increase your budget, but my advice will be to look for used AVRs / stereo integrated amplifiers and a pair of decent used book shelf speakers. This will get you started on your audio journey and give you more satisfaction in terms of audio quality not to mention keep you within your budget for now. The alternative is to buy one of those packaged home theater sets which may look more appealing on the surface but is usually very mediocre compared to what I am suggesting.
kevinlim001
post Apr 8 2021, 11:33 AM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

https://denon.custhelp.com/app/answers/deta...ooth-headphones

and all the shifus are correct, Bluetooth from PC or AVR doesnt make differences unless there's a differences in the codec transmission. For example if your AVR support for LDAC/APTX HD and your computer doesnt then it makes differences.. provided your headset supports those high res format.

Having said if the codec is the same it doesnt make the differences if ur bluetooth is coming from PC or AVR the audio quality doesn't change

ktek
post Apr 8 2021, 11:49 AM

小喇叭
13,196 posts

2500 table top set
best to buy acoustic energy aego serie, audio engine serie.

dont go separate component unless u have other dedicated equipments to connect, other than cpu
lucaswjk
post Apr 8 2021, 11:50 AM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

using headset for movie... don't!
unless u can find aptX LL,
need it on both side of transmitter and receiver...
which is almost impossible

well, unless u don't mind and didn't watch action movie
ktek
post Apr 8 2021, 11:50 AM

小喇叭
13,196 posts

u might be spending a lot functions that are duplicate with cpu
ktek
post Apr 8 2021, 11:51 AM

小喇叭
13,196 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Apr 8 2021, 11:50 AM)
using headset for movie... don't!
unless u can find aptX LL,
need it on both side of transmitter and receiver...
which is almost impossible

well, unless u don't mind and didn't watch action movie
sbc codec so weak ㅠㅠ
shinchan99
post Apr 8 2021, 12:13 PM

619 posts

hi guys,
thanks for all the feedbacks..

i am actually looking for something like this

Or is it advisable to go for 2 floor stand speakers only pair with av receiver?

My main interest is actually to play movies, not too much on audiophiles music.. Yes i do watch a lot of action movies, but preferably if no choice i have to use headphones at times for late night watching (while children is sleeping biggrin.gif)

gobiomani
post Apr 8 2021, 12:34 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(gobiomani @ Apr 8 2021, 10:57 AM)
AV Receivers with bluetooth transmitters are a relatively new thing and thus are not cheap since you can't just get an older or used model.
A better alternative is to buy a bluetooth receiver & transmitter dongle and plug it into one of the AVRs inputs or to your PC. The PC dongle and amplifier dongles are usually not the same thing due to different connection options.

Anyway, what do you mean by speaker set? How many speakers do you want? Subwoofer included?

To be honest, your budget is barely enough for a new AVR and will leave very little money for speakers. I don't intend to discourage you or ask you to increase your budget, but my advice will be to look for used AVRs / stereo integrated amplifiers and a pair of decent used book shelf speakers. This will get you started on your audio journey and give you more satisfaction in terms of audio quality not to mention keep you within your budget for now. The alternative is to buy one of those packaged home theater sets which may look more appealing on the surface but is usually very mediocre compared to what I am suggesting.
QUOTE(shinchan99 @ Apr 8 2021, 12:13 PM)
hi guys,

My main interest is actually to play movies, not too much on audiophiles music.. Yes i do watch a lot of action movies, but preferably if no choice i have to use headphones at times for late night watching (while children is sleeping biggrin.gif)
This is what I meant with the bolded part in my earlier reply. If you prefer more speakers and bad sound then can go for this choice.
Otherwise, go with the 2 floor stand / book shelf speakers and AVR. The active speaker choice suggested by KTEK is also a good and simple option for newbies.

kevinlim001
post Apr 8 2021, 12:56 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(shinchan99 @ Apr 8 2021, 12:13 PM)
hi guys,

what is ur plan? are you going to expand your set to 5.1/atmos in future? If yes then you can start with AVR + front speaker (bookshelf if you are on budget). Then next you can buy floor stander + center and demote ur bookshelf to rear satellite. No wastage.
Kevin K
post Apr 8 2021, 02:28 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(shinchan99 @ Apr 7 2021, 01:35 PM)
hi guys

Bro, all the suggestions from sifus here are good. U should hav an aim, to achieve 5.1/7.1 n slowly plan from there if budget constraint. Myself took 8 years to fully realise my target, now 7.2 Dolby Atmos. I play around with mix n match speakers, bought cheap or gave by relatives to fully understand the proper setup. Then bought item by item what l want. Check here often for all the invaluable advice n sifus experience before commit an item. My two cents, lol
shinchan99
post Apr 8 2021, 02:50 PM

619 posts

Yes i appreciate all the inputs given here by everyone ..

On a sidenote, do you guys recommend me buying AVR + speaker setup or straight buy PC speaker setup since i am using my PC to play movies..
Topet
post Apr 8 2021, 03:39 PM

schadenfreude
994 posts

QUOTE(shinchan99 @ Apr 8 2021, 02:50 PM)
Yes i appreciate all the inputs given here by everyone ..

On a sidenote, do you guys recommend me buying AVR + speaker setup or straight buy PC speaker setup since i am using my PC to play movies..
I'm using pc too to play movies connected to avr via hdmi, if you buy pc speakers in a long run you will regret. Just start with decent avr and a pair of bookshelf then centre channel and then sub and then surround and the list go on and on and on... My first setup just sony avr with wharfedale diamond 9.1 and 9cs. Be patience, you will get there in time.
ktek
post Apr 8 2021, 03:48 PM

小喇叭
13,196 posts

the movie u play have regular dolby 5.1 & dts 5.1
or new dolby truehd + dts mastee

new one worth to use avr. the processing is totally winning
ktek
post Apr 8 2021, 03:50 PM

小喇叭
13,196 posts

if regular dolby/ dts i find a wide stereo (move two speaker far apart) able match closely to entry lvl surround set
shinchan99
post Apr 10 2021, 09:40 PM

619 posts

hi guys,
Which one should I choose?

voscar
post Apr 11 2021, 11:11 AM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(shinchan99 @ Apr 10 2021, 09:40 PM)
hi guys,
Which one should I choose?

No to mission VX3, it's just a 2-way single 130mm bass driver with passive radiator.
Meanwhile Stylelaser got sell Wharfedale Crystal 4.3, a proper 3 way speaker, but audition yourself before decide ya, someone here bought that, can't remember who...

119 Pages « < 95 96 97 98 99 > » Top

0.0247sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:15 AM