1) may i know what is the size of my speaker? 5" 5.5" or 6"?
2) and what glue should i buy?
3) is this speaker foam okay?
5" >> https://shopee.com.my/5''-Inch-Ster...11160.484220862
6" >> https://shopee.com.my/6''-Inch-Ster...11160.484220903
AV Receivers/ Speakers/ Subwoofers, Discussion & Opinion
May 28 2018, 03:23 PM
3,817 posts Joined: May 2008 From: The other side... |
i recently i found out few of my speaker broken, and i planned to repair it myself...
1) may i know what is the size of my speaker? 5" 5.5" or 6"? 2) and what glue should i buy? 3) is this speaker foam okay? 5" >> https://shopee.com.my/5''-Inch-Ster...11160.484220862 6" >> https://shopee.com.my/6''-Inch-Ster...11160.484220903 |
May 28 2018, 03:34 PM
One of my tweeter started to leak sound too
as u see from the pix, my speaker is a full range speaker, a 3-way 4-speaker system. it have the following spec Impedance: 6 OHMS Frequence Respondse: 32 Hz - 20 kHz Sensitivity: ±89 2dB/W/M Recommended Amplifires: 20 - 250 Watts the prob is... i do not know which tweeter to choose... the mix and match is not for forte... and i only use the system for movie... not music --- ps: if i notice some frequency is missing on one speaker... does it mean my crossover is faulty also? This post has been edited by lucaswjk: May 28 2018, 03:51 PM |
May 28 2018, 06:10 PM
QUOTE(jdgobio @ May 28 2018, 05:57 PM) Choose the same type as your existing ones or experiment with horn or aluminium tweeters? i dont hv other tweeter and i havent open up to look at it... yetIf those are branded speakers, you might be able to find their original drivers on ebay. i think the original company folded... my initial idea is to buy the same frequency range or higher... is this sufficient? afterall i dont planned to go highend quality |
May 28 2018, 06:31 PM
QUOTE(jdgobio @ May 28 2018, 06:13 PM) I meant the same type as the one you want to replace i.e. dome / aluminium / etc. For tweeter frequency should be better to go higher but I think quality should always come first before frequency. ok... actually never play around with tweeter b4and i do not know my tweeter is dome/aluminium type noted: higher frequency better speaking of higher frequency, it is normal for tweeter to include part of human voice? or it should be cover by mid range? |
May 31 2018, 08:38 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(sonerin @ May 31 2018, 08:23 PM) seriously my LR speaker is still very good.only one of the tweeter started to leak sound. --- btw why nobody know the size of my center speaker? This post has been edited by lucaswjk: May 31 2018, 08:39 PM |
Jun 1 2018, 03:49 PM
QUOTE(VeeJay @ Jun 1 2018, 12:06 AM) ok i will remeasure it...QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jun 1 2018, 03:36 PM) if 5.25" then very hard to buy online.coz i try to search 5.5" oso cannot get... only found 5" and 6" |
Jun 1 2018, 04:24 PM
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jun 1 2018, 04:12 PM) 5.25" means rubber surround to rubber surround measurement. So cone size itself is only 5". But there are exceptions because some drivers are true 5.25" for its cone size. ic... but is the foam size is compatible is buy ±0.25 different onlyHere are examples of 5" drivers - link |
Jun 1 2018, 06:19 PM
QUOTE(HornyAngMoh @ Jun 1 2018, 05:49 PM) My living room ceiling is cremate so not 'hole' to cut. do u hv budget to get serious?read more here [WTA] Atmos DTS-X 4K DR Passthrough Soundbar or HT, UPDATE: Proceed w/ 5.1.2 Atmos HT System |
Jul 19 2018, 06:48 PM
Jul 31 2018, 12:52 PM
Jul 31 2018, 03:36 PM
QUOTE(Wenny K @ Jul 31 2018, 03:04 PM) oh well, tat's pretty good but yeah in tis case u will need to hv with the forwarder in s'pore also right? if u hv frenz / relative in sg, u can ask them to ship it when they go back msia... for free plus u can ask them to test it first too... although the avr is cheaper, there is some cons also - avr tax in sg - no warranty - u need transformer to step down the voltage... 240v to 110v my personal comment... well if u can get 50% off, mean u can get 2units of avr... no warranty no prob... and many ppl can repair it here... totally worth it... oh the avr is newer by 1generation too --- ps the above comment is based on my little research, i might gv wrong info... pls correct it if u found the info is off... anyway take care |
Aug 15 2018, 07:17 PM
QUOTE(akchang @ Aug 15 2018, 03:26 PM) Hi Guys, 1. make sure ur avr support passive sub (mine didnt)i got a AV receiver Pioneer - but my Subwoofer (passive) is not working now in dilemma not sure if my AV receiver issue or my subwoofer...but i can hear low freq sound coming frm my sub if i switch it on 2. enable subwoofer at ur OSD Menu 3. goto youtube search for atmos test playback |
Aug 30 2018, 11:12 PM
QUOTE(gkl83 @ Aug 30 2018, 10:15 PM) Confirmed that these kind of speakers cannot work with other brand of receiver? It is 8 ohm speakers between 120-150watt with active sub. So thought that this HTS range can be mix like Onkyo + Jamo. why cannot match?![]() I do understand that normal HTS like Pioneer HTZ-322BD cannot match with other brand of AV receiver and speaker. fyi nowadays, some avr come with smart tuner. place a mic in the center of the room, it will tune itself. |
Oct 3 2018, 06:17 PM
QUOTE(yikyeou @ Oct 3 2018, 05:37 PM) Hihi, I am so new to HT and moving in into a new home. Budget is about 3.5-4k, is it too low to have a decent home theater system? did u include renovation for speaker setup? hehe 😈actually HT is black hole for ur pocket there is never enuf money 💷 for it my recommend just go according to ur pocket some guy jus use bookshelf speaker while other use soundbar. not everyone need full range. if u need dolby/dts, u need to invest at least 5.1avr and 2.1 speaker system. or slightly better 3.1 speaker. this is minimum. This post has been edited by lucaswjk: Oct 3 2018, 06:18 PM |
Oct 4 2018, 04:00 PM
QUOTE(Reix @ Oct 4 2018, 12:09 PM) It is all depends on your own preference (Movie/music/gaming?) and the size of the room. better don't build ur own speaker setup.The budget is more than enough for HiTB, I think it also hit the bare minimum if you go for AVR + speakers route. If you want a decent one, then invest slowly. You can start with AVR + 2 bookshelf speakers + sub Later invest a decent tower and center speaker, move the bookshelf as surround. Got money later, can upgrade the sub or add another pair of speakers in the ceiling for atmos. repeat the process again even professional hv hard time to mix and match the setup. someone told me always buy in set, even the cheapest set will sound better than ur own build. |
Oct 5 2018, 04:04 PM
QUOTE(yikyeou @ Oct 5 2018, 02:01 PM) Thats very interesting. I would want to start with basic, i just have rear cable ready from the wall so might need a complete set first. Only future upgrade to atmos as i have trunking in wall for cable too. for atmos u need 12.2.2 mean ur TV wall, ceiling and rear... all need to hv speaker ready mount.More of a mix movie and music. HITB, any recommendations? Ill prefer all bookshelf as apartment is small and tv area no place for tower speaker. Hehe. Whats a recommended set should i look for? No idea where to look for this. I go HT shop all they ask me mix and match but the budget come up quite high don't trust the salesman and try to mix n match it urself, even u get the speaker watt, ohm, frequency range, diameter size and cable right... it is still not sound the same. |
Jun 24 2020, 12:21 PM
anyone wan to sell their used AVR,
planning to replace my ancient unit... my requirements is very low, my current setup is only 3.0 or 3.1 2x full range LR speaker + 1x mid-high center speaker This post has been edited by lucaswjk: Jun 24 2020, 12:25 PM |
Dec 29 2020, 12:16 PM
QUOTE(zzzhhhzzz @ Dec 28 2020, 09:14 PM) https://s.lazada.com.my/s.c6fBS ur floor standing looked nice, but no subHi Sifus... What do u all think about the above system ? Is it a decent system for movies ? I'm not an audophile... |
Dec 29 2020, 12:25 PM
QUOTE(StevenL @ Dec 29 2020, 12:27 AM) https://s.lazada.com.my/s.c6k5g I'm wondering if we r not using blu-ray do we still need dolby visionAbove should be slightly better as it comes with sub and dolby vision atmos etc (from smart TV user) Netflix HDR¹⁰ is using what tech? and in fact do we still need dts/dolby atmos, if we r using hdmi earc? the audio bandwidth is sufficient to delivering raw audio, no need compressions |
Dec 29 2020, 04:08 PM
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Dec 29 2020, 03:10 PM) If 5.1 is your ultimate goal and you do not intend to go beyond that, then the Yamaha RX-V4A is currently the best price-performance bang for buck you can get in Msia currently (Denon and Marantz is in a bad spot currently due to price hike). But it does mean that if you want to go higher than 7.1 (the max channels supported by the V4A) then you'll have to buy a new receiver in the future. correct me if I'm wrong...For a 2.0, I don't know why you'd want a tower speaker though when bookshelfs + sub offers better bang for buck as well as giving you the ability to place your sub in better spots of your room. I don't know what's your budget for speakers so I can't recommend any until you have one. the speaker better buy in set, rather than add-on in the future. the tuning will be nightmare. but few year ago Yamaha amp include auto tuning using mobile apps. anyone try this before? how accurate the tuning? |
| Change to: | 0.0613sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:23 AM |