AV Receivers/ Speakers/ Subwoofers, Discussion & Opinion

gobiomani
post Nov 6 2019, 05:17 PM

702 posts

QUOTE(jovigrunge @ Nov 5 2019, 05:48 PM)
11/11 sales around the corner. Anyone taking advantage of getting new speakers, subwoofers or av receivers? 🤔
QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Nov 5 2019, 08:04 PM)
doubt there will be any discount.
unfortunately, AV gears are deemed like luxury gears in malaysia  rclxub.gif  , while 11.11 is meant for poorfags who's looking for good deals  cry.gif .
the only time things are slightly cheaper is during the KLIAV show, but that also on common gears.
11/11 saw Stylelaser, CMY have some planned sale on Shopee & Lazada. Not much discount though.
I plan to get some new speakers from the UK or US for Black Friday. I hope there are some good discounts, if not then I'll just wait for stock clearance. Not in a hurry.

Managed to get a second PSB Subseries 300 used unit for a good price. Having 2 x 12" subs is amazing I must say rclxm9.gif
So for subs on a budget (as opposed to a budget sub), going used is a good idea.
gobiomani
post Nov 6 2019, 06:46 PM

702 posts

QUOTE(kskoay @ Nov 6 2019, 06:08 PM)
Buy speaker from us or uk? No worry on item damage during shipment?
Depends on where I find the best deals.
In life cannot worry too much, need to take some risks smile.gif
gobiomani
post Nov 6 2019, 10:38 PM

702 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 6 2019, 09:57 PM)
My Ascend Acoustic Sierras imported directly from US. Over RM20k+ not including tax yet.

You just gotta take the jump for what you want. Worrying is pointless.
Did they just charge you 10‰ sales tax on importation?
I notice that there is no import duties on loudspeakers, just the sales tax.
gobiomani
post Nov 7 2019, 12:12 PM

702 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 7 2019, 01:10 AM)
I bought during GST time. 10% + 6%.
Oh I see. So previously they had import duty of 10%. Based on the current rates from Customs, there are no import duties, only Sales Tax of 10%. So its now slightly cheaper to import speakers.
gobiomani
post Nov 8 2019, 01:51 PM

702 posts

QUOTE(kskoay @ Nov 8 2019, 07:45 AM)
hm....perhaps i should try to purchase my surround speaker on this coming "black friday". hope to see a huge discount from there  smile.gif
Happy bargain hunting thumbsup.gif
gobiomani
post Nov 14 2019, 10:53 AM

702 posts

QUOTE(neil73 @ Nov 10 2019, 12:50 AM)
May I check where to buy tv cabinet that can fit an amp? Been looking around and most are max 40cm depth.
What amp are you using?
Even the depth of Marantz MM8077 and Anthem MRX 1120 are below 40cm and these are quite beefy but the bulk makes them taller not deeper. Do you have one of those narrow but very deep stereo amps?
If you are in KL, you can visit the many furniture shops around Jln Kuching (near the Taman Wahyu area), you should be able to find a cabinet that is slightly deeper 45-50cm. If you need around 60cm, I think you have no choice but to get it customised.
gobiomani
post Apr 8 2021, 10:57 AM

702 posts

QUOTE(shinchan99 @ Apr 7 2021, 01:35 PM)
hi guys
Any recommendations for av and speakers as a set with budget around $2500?

Using it to play videos directly from pc.. is there any Av receiver that allows connection to wireless headset? Planning to use wireless headset sometimes when playing movie at late night
AV Receivers with bluetooth transmitters are a relatively new thing and thus are not cheap since you can't just get an older or used model.
A better alternative is to buy a bluetooth receiver & transmitter dongle and plug it into one of the AVRs inputs or to your PC. The PC dongle and amplifier dongles are usually not the same thing due to different connection options.

Anyway, what do you mean by speaker set? How many speakers do you want? Subwoofer included?

To be honest, your budget is barely enough for a new AVR and will leave very little money for speakers. I don't intend to discourage you or ask you to increase your budget, but my advice will be to look for used AVRs / stereo integrated amplifiers and a pair of decent used book shelf speakers. This will get you started on your audio journey and give you more satisfaction in terms of audio quality not to mention keep you within your budget for now. The alternative is to buy one of those packaged home theater sets which may look more appealing on the surface but is usually very mediocre compared to what I am suggesting.
gobiomani
post Apr 8 2021, 12:34 PM

702 posts

QUOTE(gobiomani @ Apr 8 2021, 10:57 AM)
AV Receivers with bluetooth transmitters are a relatively new thing and thus are not cheap since you can't just get an older or used model.
A better alternative is to buy a bluetooth receiver & transmitter dongle and plug it into one of the AVRs inputs or to your PC. The PC dongle and amplifier dongles are usually not the same thing due to different connection options.

Anyway, what do you mean by speaker set? How many speakers do you want? Subwoofer included?

To be honest, your budget is barely enough for a new AVR and will leave very little money for speakers. I don't intend to discourage you or ask you to increase your budget, but my advice will be to look for used AVRs / stereo integrated amplifiers and a pair of decent used book shelf speakers. This will get you started on your audio journey and give you more satisfaction in terms of audio quality not to mention keep you within your budget for now. The alternative is to buy one of those packaged home theater sets which may look more appealing on the surface but is usually very mediocre compared to what I am suggesting.
QUOTE(shinchan99 @ Apr 8 2021, 12:13 PM)
hi guys,
thanks for all the feedbacks..

i am actually looking for something like this

Or is it advisable to go for 2 floor stand speakers only pair with av receiver?

My main interest is actually to play movies, not too much on audiophiles music.. Yes i do watch a lot of action movies, but preferably if no choice i have to use headphones at times for late night watching (while children is sleeping biggrin.gif)
This is what I meant with the bolded part in my earlier reply. If you prefer more speakers and bad sound then can go for this choice.
Otherwise, go with the 2 floor stand / book shelf speakers and AVR. The active speaker choice suggested by KTEK is also a good and simple option for newbies.

gobiomani
post Apr 13 2021, 10:47 AM

702 posts

QUOTE(shinchan99 @ Apr 10 2021, 09:40 PM)
hi guys,
Which one should I choose?

Wharfedale Crystal if you want to buy without hearing first. I think its a safer bet.

gobiomani
post Apr 13 2021, 10:53 AM

702 posts

QUOTE(Jase @ Apr 12 2021, 10:14 AM)
Hi all,

Anyone using wireless speaker kit for your surround speakers? Looking to change to 5.1 system but not able to run wires to the surround speakers.
Do you have active surround speakers? If yes, you will need to have cables & power point for them at the place you are going to place them (in addition to the wireless kit).
If they are passive speakers, how are you going to send power via wireless?

We have all (most) been through the process of thinking that we can't run wires for surround speakers but now most of us do. The bottom line is once you know how good your system can sound, you will find a way biggrin.gif
gobiomani
post Apr 13 2021, 11:23 AM

702 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Apr 13 2021, 10:58 AM)
Wire is the best way to go
Agree thumbsup.gif
By the way what speaker cables do you use?
gobiomani
post Apr 13 2021, 04:57 PM

702 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Apr 13 2021, 12:17 PM)
Depend on my speaker. For surround speakers is Oxygen cable. For center is DH Labs T-14. For front speaker is Vermouth Black Pearl
You have some nice cables there, especially the Vermouth thumbup.gif
I have been using Oxygen cables for a while now and only realized how good they are after trying some other mainstream cables (Transparent and QED) which are more expensive but are considered entry level for those brands.
Will probably keep them running-in for awhile and see how it goes. But right now I am liking my cheap Oxygen cables a lot more and I understand why it was recommended in this forum a few years back.

gobiomani
post Apr 13 2021, 05:19 PM

702 posts

QUOTE(Jase @ Apr 13 2021, 02:00 PM)
It is passive speakers....I was searching around and found Dynasty Proaudio WSA-5RP  (with built-in in amp). Unfortunately, don't think it is officially sold in MY.

https://dynastyproaudio.com/products/wsa-5r...lifier-built-in
You can always buy from overseas if you want. But my advice will be to stick to wired surrounds. Wireless speakers commonly have latency issues and the fact that the device needs to convert digital source from the transmitter using its internal DAC which will be different from your receiver and use a different amplifier (from your main receiver). Its unnecessarily complicated and expensive and might still give you results which are not as good as simple wired surrounds.

Running wires is easier compared to going through all the loops above. When there's a will there's a way biggrin.gif
gobiomani
post May 5 2021, 06:15 PM

702 posts

QUOTE(ironcrowz @ May 5 2021, 11:06 AM)
Hi all sifus... I wish to get some advice from the experienced owners here..

I initially went to Stylelazer looking for a 5.1.2 atmos package with a budget of RM5k, what they recommended was this

https://www.stylelaser.com.my/product/denon...heatre-package/

After demo, i don't think the combo sounded good at all, particularly the highs are too "strong/piercing".

A friend told me it may due to no calibration b4 the demo... Now I hesitates to spend RM6.5k gambling on it'll sound good after calibration...

Also is my budget of RM5k too little for a 5.1.2 Atmos package? Will it sound much much better if i spend the same budget on a branded 2.1 instead?
Yes, your budget is too little for a decent 5.1.2 Atmos system and yes, you can do better if you decide to spend the same amount on a 2.1 system. You can do even better if you are willing to go used.
Cheap Atmos setup is too over-rated. Nowadays everyone is looking for atmos in soundbars, headphones, handphones, etc. In my experience, a good 2.1 system is always better than a cheap atmos system especially at the same price point (this is probably true until you get to a budget >20k). You can even start with 2.0 first and add the sub later. As kevinlim001 said, a good sub starts at >3k, so if RM6.5k is all you can spend now, can leave the sub for later. But if you go used, probably can get an AVR, front speakers and a sub within RM6.5k.
gobiomani
post May 6 2021, 03:47 PM

702 posts

QUOTE(ironcrowz @ May 6 2021, 11:07 AM)
Yesterday I found this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F4rSdFeAQwc (sorry chinese speaking only, haven't found any english speaking reviewer going as technical as this guy)
He seems to know a lot about audio and he also sells them in package here (maybe Taiwan only) https://shop.ningselect.com/cat/n/ningstereo/

For newbies, he suggested LA Audio https://shopee.com.my/LA-Audio-M2-Hybrid-in...9332.7905674132 + Castle Knight 1 speakers https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r....bucket=5#detail, total around RM4k, have anyone heard good things about these 2 brands? Or do u have any other recommendation?

For new speakers I would recommend Wharfedale Evo 4.2 Shopee
These are very good speakers for their price. Must also budget RM500-1,000 for good stands for them. Take note that these speakers will need some experimentation with positioning and toe-in, but once placed right, they are quite awesome.

For amplifier, I don't really have a preferred unit within your budget range but these Yamaha WXA-50 Shopee are pretty good for their low price. It comes with music streaming capabilities, has optical input as well as sub-woofer out. They have about 50 watts per channel at 8 Ohms (class-D Icepower modules) so quite decent.

The above recommendation assumes you want to stick with 2.0 or 2.1 and not aspiring to add centre, surround and height speakers later on. If you want to add more speakers later on, then should get an AV Receiver.

This post has been edited by gobiomani: May 6 2021, 03:51 PM
gobiomani
post Oct 5 2021, 10:38 AM

702 posts

QUOTE(Ghosthunter @ Oct 5 2021, 05:07 AM)
Having a Amplifier with 2 book-shelf speakers and a Sub-woofer will somehow take up some space if you are short on that ..hehe
Why dont you have a look at the Soundbar with Dolby Atmos 2.0 or 2.1 Channel.
Soundbar with Dolby Atmos will save space, give you great sound as compared to Amps or soundbars without Dolby Atmos.

https://www.whathifi.com/best-buys/best-dol...mos-tv-speakers

Have a read and you can perhaps find one that fits your budget . Personally test these Soundbars 2.0 and 2.1 which have Dolby Atmos, perhaps you can find one .

Some of them have higher price for the ones with high budget, but one can also get something good for a small budget..

Hope this helps..take your time and test at the shop that allows you ..after all its your money that should be well spent..cheers
Referring to the bolded part, that is some lofty claim you made there. Can you give some details of what you have tried and compared against what amp system to come to your conclusion?
Really interested to know as I always thought that soundbars are rubbish and cannot compete with amps + passive speakers of similar value. If soundbars have indeed improved so much I would also be keen to give them a try.
Thanks in advance.
gobiomani
post Oct 5 2021, 05:44 PM

702 posts

QUOTE(Ghosthunter @ Oct 5 2021, 02:13 PM)
I am not an expert on these matters , I merely made a suggestion , nothing lofty .
I was talking about space and merely replying to the members question .
Yes, the amp plus sub-woofer with some speakers will do a better job , if one wants to go this way .
It’s still the members choice at the end of the day .
Ok, so you are just a newbie who have just discovered atmos and are now preaching about its goodness. Saw your post in another thread where you posted the same link. Welcome to the audio world!
I agree about space, many people like soundbars for their form factor and this is fine, but to claim that they sound great compared to separate amps & speakers is misleading.
For "great" sound, I will choose a pair of passive speakers with an amplifier over any "Atmos" soundbar (of comparable value) every single time.
gobiomani
post Jan 31 2025, 03:58 PM

702 posts

QUOTE(nateberuk @ Jan 26 2025, 08:49 PM)
Can anyone recommend me good bookshelf speaker or soundbar, mainly use for watching movie. Budget is rm1500 but can fork up till rm2000. I live in apartment with kinda small/medium size living room. Thanks
You want active bookshelf speakers or passive ones? Passive ones will need a separate amplifier and maybe a DAC and streamer depending on your source. Do you plan to use it for your TV only?

0.0856sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:24 PM