119 Pages « < 97 98 99 100 101 > » Bottom

AV Receivers/ Speakers/ Subwoofers, Discussion & Opinion

SSJBen
post Apr 28 2021, 10:11 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(simmarjit @ Apr 28 2021, 09:32 PM)
I use my PS5 with Samsung G7, TV just with Apple TV, so 120fps isn’t a priority for me.
Then you're good to go with a 3700h.
VeeJay
post Apr 28 2021, 10:37 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Apr 28 2021, 04:13 PM)
Don't you have a PS5?

I think you should wait a little bit. All 2020 Denon and Marantz receivers has issues with HDMI 2.1 passthrough, 120fps will not work. They have announced a free adapter kit for passthrough, but doesn't seem like it's applied to SEA region at the moment.

If you don't care for 120hz and will only ever play on 60hz, then the Denon x3700h is the best receiver to get unless you absolutely want more than 11.2 channels of processing.
Thats correct, from May 15th onwards the product is available globally free but not sure in MY. Maybe owners need to contact their resellers to get one?

https://www.denon.com/en-gb/hdmiadapter

Nairdamil
post Apr 29 2021, 01:17 AM

378 posts

guys, just want to ask..if i put my speakers on console table, i feels its too low.. but there is not enough space beside the table for me to put stand..is there any way i can alleviate the speakers on my console table?
SSJBen
post Apr 29 2021, 02:46 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Nairdamil @ Apr 29 2021, 01:17 AM)
guys, just want to ask..if i put my speakers on console table, i feels its too low.. but there is not enough space beside the table for me to put stand..is there any way i can alleviate the speakers on my console table?
The cheap route = stack it on top of yoga blocks.

The expensive route = buy mini stands like the ISO acoustics.
kevinlim001
post Apr 30 2021, 08:57 AM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(Nairdamil @ Apr 29 2021, 01:17 AM)
another option is to toe the front to raise the angle.. put some books/magazine underneath the front of speaker to see if that will do the trick before you actually invest on the stand. if the front toe angle is acceptable for you then you can start looking for rubber feet to lift the front angle. That will also work for cheap solution. Of cos haven proper stand / isolation would be the best
kevinlim001
post Apr 30 2021, 09:00 AM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Apr 28 2021, 10:37 PM)
Thats correct, from May 15th onwards the product is available globally free but not sure in MY. Maybe owners need to contact their resellers to get one?

https://www.denon.com/en-gb/hdmiadapter

seriously that big? i tot is a small adapter like chrome cast when i read the news mega_shok.gif
If they r sincere they should have replace the HDMI board instead lol.. they can recollect back all old board for rma.. since their hdmi board are prone for prob after sometime..
ironcrowz
post May 5 2021, 11:06 AM

460 posts

Hi all sifus... I wish to get some advice from the experienced owners here..

I initially went to Stylelazer looking for a 5.1.2 atmos package with a budget of RM5k, what they recommended was this

https://www.stylelaser.com.my/product/denon...heatre-package/

After demo, i don't think the combo sounded good at all, particularly the highs are too "strong/piercing".

A friend told me it may due to no calibration b4 the demo... Now I hesitates to spend RM6.5k gambling on it'll sound good after calibration...

Also is my budget of RM5k too little for a 5.1.2 Atmos package? Will it sound much much better if i spend the same budget on a branded 2.1 instead?

This post has been edited by ironcrowz: May 5 2021, 11:08 AM
tharmaraj
post May 5 2021, 11:28 AM

312 posts

When I connect my NVIDIA Shield TV PRO to Yamaha AV-RX-V385 AVR the output it projects to my 4K TV is not HDR. When I connect directly, NVIDIA Shield TV to my 4K TV it detects HDR.
So is it correct to say that my AVR does not support HDR? Is there anyway to overcome this?
kevinlim001
post May 5 2021, 11:36 AM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(ironcrowz @ May 5 2021, 11:06 AM)

I initially went to Stylelazer looking for a 5.1.2 atmos package with a budget of RM5k, what they recommended was this

After demo, i don't think the combo sounded good at all, particularly the highs are too "strong/piercing".

A friend told me it may due to no calibration b4 the demo... Now I hesitates to spend RM6.5k gambling on it'll sound good after calibration...

Also is my budget of RM5k too little for a 5.1.2 Atmos package? Will it sound much much better if i spend the same budget on a branded 2.1 instead?
listening environment plays a big deal also. if your actual room is full of reflective wall or furniture most likely ur high and low will be tamed.
this is the challenge you are going to deal with. did you ask the shop why it sounded that way? was the speaker toe in?
For the calibration also, unless they just swap the speaker in else normally they will calibrate first before demo.

I dont own Jamo i cant comment much.. Jamo can be a good starting point as compare to those unbranded speakers. Style laser do carries other brand of speaker also maybe check with them and see if u can test other speaker under similar setup.

In Denon setup there's a Cinema EQ which you can enable it to soften the high for easier movie conversation listening.

Also is my budget of RM5k too little for a 5.1.2 Atmos package

yes.. a decent entry sub will cost >RM3k.. if u look for quality - start from minimum and build along ur way
SSJBen
post May 5 2021, 03:33 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(tharmaraj @ May 5 2021, 11:28 AM)
When I connect my NVIDIA Shield TV PRO to Yamaha AV-RX-V385 AVR the output it projects to my 4K TV is not HDR. When I connect directly, NVIDIA Shield TV to my 4K TV it detects HDR.
So is it correct to say that my AVR does not support HDR? Is there anyway to overcome this?
That's because your v385 is set in HDMI output mode 2. Set it to mode 1.

Don't ask how, it's in the manual.
voscar
post May 5 2021, 06:13 PM

1,524 posts

Few years back I went to audition a bookshelf speaker, playing songs for a good while, 1 hour? I ask the seller do you have floor stand speaker with +- of my bookshelf speaker budget range, then he switch to Jamo floor stand, can't remember model, but with side firing woofer. He connect back to the same amplifier, after 5 mins I already cannot tahan the sharp and loud treble, feel like ear bleeding, not my taste.

This post has been edited by voscar: May 5 2021, 06:13 PM
gobiomani
post May 5 2021, 06:15 PM

707 posts

Yes, your budget is too little for a decent 5.1.2 Atmos system and yes, you can do better if you decide to spend the same amount on a 2.1 system. You can do even better if you are willing to go used.
Cheap Atmos setup is too over-rated. Nowadays everyone is looking for atmos in soundbars, headphones, handphones, etc. In my experience, a good 2.1 system is always better than a cheap atmos system especially at the same price point (this is probably true until you get to a budget >20k). You can even start with 2.0 first and add the sub later. As kevinlim001 said, a good sub starts at >3k, so if RM6.5k is all you can spend now, can leave the sub for later. But if you go used, probably can get an AVR, front speakers and a sub within RM6.5k.
SSJBen
post May 5 2021, 07:49 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Here is my honest, no bullshit advice that no seller will dare to tell you; don't buy Atmos if you cannot do Atmos right.

What do I mean by that? Your room. Yes, your room is almost as important as the speakers (in fact, your room is ACTUALLY part of the system) and even more so for Atmos/DTSX/Auro3D.

If you do not have the means to place the height speakers in the correct locations, you're actually wasting money. If you do not want to use height speakers (in ceiling or high wall mounted), then you can use those trash Atmos modules to reflect the height effects. But in order for that to work, your ceiling has to be FLAT and it must also be quite low (no more than 10ft).

Auto EQ (calibration) helps, but they are very limited at the end of the day. It can NEVER fix your room if your room is not ideal to begin with.

So before you put all that money into Atmos, take a long hard look at your room first and see if you can actually do Atmos properly or not. If you cannot, there is nothing wrong with good ol' 5.1. If you ask me, I'd rather put money into a higher quality set for the front LCR speakers than stretch the budget thin just to have 5.1.2.
tharmaraj
post May 6 2021, 10:49 AM

312 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ May 5 2021, 03:33 PM)
That's because your v385 is set in HDMI output mode 2. Set it to mode 1.

Don't ask how, it's in the manual.
Thanks for your reply bud. It is already set to mode 1, this is the first thing I check when I was having this issue.
ironcrowz
post May 6 2021, 11:07 AM

460 posts

Wow thank u all for ur kind advice~ Very appreciate it~ notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ May 5 2021, 11:36 AM)
listening environment plays a big deal also. if your actual room is full of reflective wall or furniture most likely ur high and low will be tamed.
this is the challenge you are going to deal with. did you ask the shop why it sounded that way? was the speaker toe in?
For the calibration also, unless they just swap the speaker in else normally they will calibrate first before demo.

I dont own Jamo i cant comment much.. Jamo can be a good starting point as compare to those unbranded speakers. Style laser do carries other brand of speaker also maybe check with them and see if u can test other speaker under similar setup.

In Denon setup there's a Cinema EQ which you can enable it to soften the high for easier movie conversation listening.
yes.. a decent entry sub will cost >RM3k.. if u look for quality - start from minimum and build along ur way
The set will be in my living room, left side is curtain, right side is dining area, so i think reflection is not an issue

QUOTE(voscar @ May 5 2021, 06:13 PM)
Few years back I went to audition a bookshelf speaker, playing songs for a good while, 1 hour? I ask the seller do you have floor stand speaker with +- of my bookshelf speaker budget range, then he switch to Jamo floor stand, can't remember model, but with side firing woofer. He connect back to the same amplifier, after 5 mins I already cannot tahan the sharp and loud treble, feel like ear bleeding, not my taste.
I see, maybe Jamo sound are usually like this then. But according to the shop, the guy told me it's due to Denon amp, if use Marantz amp will sound better doh.gif

QUOTE(gobiomani @ May 5 2021, 06:15 PM)
Yes, your budget is too little for a decent 5.1.2 Atmos system and yes, you can do better if you decide to spend the same amount on a 2.1 system. You can do even better if you are willing to go used.
Cheap Atmos setup is too over-rated. Nowadays everyone is looking for atmos in soundbars, headphones, handphones, etc. In my experience, a good 2.1 system is always better than a cheap atmos system especially at the same price point (this is probably true until you get to a budget >20k). You can even start with 2.0 first and add the sub later. As kevinlim001 said, a good sub starts at >3k, so if RM6.5k is all you can spend now, can leave the sub for later. But if you go used, probably can get an AVR, front speakers and a sub within RM6.5k.
Yea... I tried some soundbars at multiple electrical stores, they all dun sound good, even the RM7.5k Sonos + Sonos sub do not sound as good as my Proton car speaker, that's really weird.. Now I'm willing to go 2.0 or 2.1 haha..

Yesterday I found this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F4rSdFeAQwc (sorry chinese speaking only, haven't found any english speaking reviewer going as technical as this guy)
He seems to know a lot about audio and he also sells them in package here (maybe Taiwan only) https://shop.ningselect.com/cat/n/ningstereo/

For newbies, he suggested LA Audio https://shopee.com.my/LA-Audio-M2-Hybrid-in...9332.7905674132 + Castle Knight 1 speakers https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r....bucket=5#detail, total around RM4k, have anyone heard good things about these 2 brands? Or do u have any other recommendation?

I think I won't go used since I'm unable to judge whether the set is in good condition or not, safer to go new with warranty..

QUOTE(SSJBen @ May 5 2021, 07:49 PM)
Here is my honest, no bullshit advice that no seller will dare to tell you; don't buy Atmos if you cannot do Atmos right.

What do I mean by that? Your room. Yes, your room is almost as important as the speakers (in fact, your room is ACTUALLY part of the system) and even more so for Atmos/DTSX/Auro3D.

If you do not have the means to place the height speakers in the correct locations, you're actually wasting money. If you do not want to use height speakers (in ceiling or high wall mounted), then you can use those trash Atmos modules to reflect the height effects. But in order for that to work, your ceiling has to be FLAT and it must also be quite low (no more than 10ft).

Auto EQ (calibration) helps, but they are very limited at the end of the day. It can NEVER fix your room if your room is not ideal to begin with.

So before you put all that money into Atmos, take a long hard look at your room first and see if you can actually do Atmos properly or not. If you cannot, there is nothing wrong with good ol' 5.1. If you ask me, I'd rather put money into a higher quality set for the front LCR speakers than stretch the budget thin just to have 5.1.2.
My hse ceiling will be flat and 10 ft after plastering, I'm also willing to do ceiling speakers, but too bad their suggestion sounded quite bad to me, even my gf who isn't particular on audio things doesn't like it, so we were quite disappointed at what they sound like for a RM7k product... For now, i think i'll just go with 2.0 or 2.1 if needed, but wishes to get some recommendation...

Because audio is almost like rocket science to me... You can't choose the amp/speakers based on spec or price..
Amp with low spec can sounds good too (the LA Audio amp above only puts out 18w), speaker with higher price does not always mean it'll sound good, there's also amp like NAD 3020i which is legendary (i think, have dug deep into it yet), selling at only around RM700... Plus there are TONNES of brands, whether you ever heard of it or not, they all have products that sound good... Rocket science cry.gif cry.gif

This post has been edited by ironcrowz: May 6 2021, 11:11 AM
ktek
post May 6 2021, 12:53 PM

小喇叭
13,189 posts

QUOTE(ironcrowz @ May 6 2021, 11:07 AM)
Wow thank u all for ur kind advice~ Very appreciate it~  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
The set will be in my living room, left side is curtain, right side is dining area, so i think reflection is not an issue
I see, maybe Jamo sound are usually like this then. But according to the shop, the guy told me it's due to Denon amp, if use Marantz amp will sound better  doh.gif
Yea... I tried some soundbars at multiple electrical stores, they all dun sound good, even the RM7.5k Sonos + Sonos sub do not sound as good as my Proton car speaker, that's really weird.. Now I'm willing to go 2.0 or 2.1 haha..

Yesterday I found this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F4rSdFeAQwc (sorry chinese speaking only, haven't found any english speaking reviewer going as technical as this guy)
He seems to know a lot about audio and he also sells them in package here (maybe Taiwan only) https://shop.ningselect.com/cat/n/ningstereo/

For newbies, he suggested LA Audio https://shopee.com.my/LA-Audio-M2-Hybrid-in...9332.7905674132 + Castle Knight 1 speakers https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r....bucket=5#detail, total around RM4k, have anyone heard good things about these 2 brands? Or do u have any other recommendation?

I think I won't go used since I'm unable to judge whether the set is in good condition or not, safer to go new with warranty..
My hse ceiling will be flat and 10 ft after plastering, I'm also willing to do ceiling speakers, but too bad their suggestion sounded quite bad to me, even my gf who isn't particular on audio things doesn't like it, so we were quite disappointed at what they sound like for a RM7k product... For now, i think i'll just go with 2.0 or 2.1 if needed, but wishes to get some recommendation...

Because audio is almost like rocket science to me... You can't choose the amp/speakers based on spec or price..
Amp with low spec can sounds good too (the LA Audio amp above only puts out 18w), speaker with higher price does not always mean it'll sound good, there's also amp like NAD 3020i which is legendary (i think, have dug deep into it yet), selling at only around RM700... Plus there are TONNES of brands, whether you ever heard of it or not, they all have products that sound good... Rocket science  cry.gif  cry.gif
jamo >>>> never demo before. guess is normal kind
denon-marantz abang adik. no big diff honestly.

Ning select is good channel. tapi his set can use hdmi port? hdmi quite crucial nowadays
speaker vs amp. priority is always speaker.

may i know u from selangor which taman?
ktek
post May 6 2021, 12:57 PM

小喇叭
13,189 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ May 5 2021, 06:13 PM)
should pakai pure direct mode
ktek
post May 6 2021, 12:59 PM

小喇叭
13,189 posts

before suggesting, do u got how many equipment to connect.
include disc player, tv box, tv, radio, etc etc everythings
ktek
post May 6 2021, 01:01 PM

小喇叭
13,189 posts

another query is existing what audio set do you have ?
takkan just proton speaker haha
voscar
post May 6 2021, 01:11 PM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ May 6 2021, 12:57 PM)
should pakai pure direct mode
Yes it's Onkyo Direct mode

119 Pages « < 97 98 99 100 101 > » Top

0.0380sec    0.80    6 queries    GZIP Disabled