246 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Bottom

LG OLED TV Discussion Thread, OLED TV

tishaban
post Dec 21 2018, 07:28 AM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(Superodua @ Dec 21 2018, 07:18 AM)
Waa, this is good price, which shop is this ? rclxms.gif
Desa Home. The cash voucher is a gimmick though, it's RM50 off for each RM500 purchase so only 10% off for large purchases, not free money.

Best Denki KLCC can beat Desa Home's price for the 65" C8, currently RM10,999 until sometime in January 2019.

Scissorshand
post Dec 22 2018, 09:51 AM

1,690 posts

Looks real good
ziniowong
post Dec 24 2018, 11:18 AM

471 posts

just got my LG C8....anyone interested in taking the soundbar off me? i think it's sk8
wikzs
post Dec 24 2018, 11:28 AM

36 posts

Senheng is selling the 65" C8 quite cheap if you consider the 10% rebate given ~ RM10,350
tishaban
post Dec 24 2018, 12:49 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(wikzs @ Dec 24 2018, 11:28 AM)
Senheng is selling the 65" C8 quite cheap if you consider the 10% rebate given ~ RM10,350
To be clear, EZ Credit can only be used to buy more stuff from Senheng, and max RM500 per transaction.
So if you have plans to buy RM1,150+ worth of stuff from Senheng over the next 12 months this is a good deal.

Otherwise the likes of Desa Home and Best Denki KLCC are selling outright for RM10,999

Also don't forget that CES 2019 is on Jan 9th 2019, all the major vendors will announce new TVs then although I don't expect that there'll be a huge change from the 2018 LG OLEDs.

SSJBen
post Dec 24 2018, 03:54 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Implementation of several HDMI 2.1 features (not fully) like VRR is IMO a HUGE change for any gamer though if you ask me.
Convael
post Dec 24 2018, 08:46 PM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Dec 24 2018, 12:49 PM)
To be clear, EZ Credit can only be used to buy more stuff from Senheng, and max RM500 per transaction.
So if you have plans to buy RM1,150+ worth of stuff from Senheng over the next 12 months this is a good deal.

Otherwise the likes of Desa Home and Best Denki KLCC are selling outright for RM10,999

Also don't forget that CES 2019 is on Jan 9th 2019, all the major vendors will announce new TVs then although I don't expect that there'll be a huge change from the 2018 LG OLEDs.
Announcement only , they don't usually release the TV until around middle of next year .

LG has already started teasing the 2nd generation of Alpha 9 processor , we will be seeing a 4 steps noise reduction with a separate gradient smoothing setting .

It is hard to say if there will be any big changes because the top emission OLEDS mass production has not yet been officially confirmed .
Previously DSCC was expecting LGD to move on to top emission OLEDs in 2019 but we haven't heard anything since then.

2019 will be the year of 8K TV , where TV brands will start to unveil their flagship 8k . Right now they are focused on increasing the current mass production numbers , from 8.5g to 10g line . If anything there should be a more dramatic price reduction for OLED based TVs and smaller size variance.

If by any chance , they have moved on to the top omission OLEDS , the next year OLEDs should see a pretty dramatic increase in terms of brightness due to improvement to the aperture ratio , expect to see an OLED TV with over 1000 ( or 1500 ) nits brightness . The better electro-optical efficiency should also allow more headroom for burn ins , not just increased brightness .

Not to mention , Samsung is planning a come back in the premium OLED market with their Quantum Dot BLUE OLEDs , which is said to be more efficient , even wider color gamut without the compromise of color saturation at high brightness , more resistant to burn - ins vs the typical WRGB OLEDs developed by LGD .

This was disclosed earlier in 2018 and kept in NDA until now.

This post has been edited by Convael: Dec 24 2018, 10:48 PM
tishaban
post Dec 25 2018, 08:01 AM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Dec 24 2018, 08:46 PM)
If by any chance , they have moved on to the top omission OLEDS , the next year OLEDs should see a pretty dramatic increase in terms of brightness due to improvement to the aperture ratio , expect to see an OLED TV with over 1000 ( or 1500 ) nits brightness . The better electro-optical efficiency should also allow more headroom for burn ins , not just increased brightness .

Not to mention , Samsung is planning a come back in the premium OLED market with their Quantum Dot BLUE OLEDs , which is said to be more efficient  , even wider color gamut without the compromise of color saturation at high brightness , more resistant to burn - ins vs the typical WRGB OLEDs developed by LGD .
Thanks for the info, if LG does release brighter OLED TVs I'm expecting it to appear on their Signature and E lines first, not really applicable to cheap buyers like me biggrin.gif but progress is definitely good.

The Samsung OLED tech looks interesting! We're finally getting choices and good competition, I for one am looking forward to cheaper OLEDs.

farsight
post Dec 25 2018, 01:21 PM

31 posts

Hi folks, please help urgently. At HN now and bought the 65 C8. Is it worth to pay another RM1K to extend the warranty from 2 to 5 years? It's a Xmas day offer apparently and the usual price to extend is RM2K.TQ!
Convael
post Dec 25 2018, 09:35 PM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(farsight @ Dec 25 2018, 01:21 PM)
Hi folks, please help urgently. At HN now and bought the 65 C8. Is it worth to pay another RM1K to extend the warranty from 2 to 5 years? It's a Xmas day offer apparently and the usual price to extend is RM2K.TQ!
Up to you , do you see yourself getting a new TV within the 5period of 5 years ?

If the shop warranty also cover for burn-in occurrence , I would extend it .

This post has been edited by Convael: Dec 25 2018, 09:37 PM
enkil
post Dec 25 2018, 09:40 PM

1,752 posts

QUOTE(farsight @ Dec 25 2018, 01:21 PM)
TV price?
farsight
post Dec 28 2018, 03:46 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Dec 25 2018, 09:35 PM)
Up to you , do you see yourself getting a new TV within the 5period of 5 years ?
If the shop warranty also cover for burn-in occurrence , I would extend it .
Ended up not taking it as I read that if the shop hard sell the extended warranty it probably means the equipment is quite tahan lasak, touch wood.
SSJBen
post Jan 3 2019, 03:11 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

LG unveils 2019 4K OLED TVs with HDMI 2.1 - C9, E9 & W9

LG has announced that its OLED TV line-up for 2019 will comprise the C9, E9, and W9 ranges with 4K resolution as well as B9 that will come a little later in the year. The company also confirmed that its first 8K OLED model will be the Z9.

HDMI 2.1 is the headlining feature. Increased bandwidth now allows for up to 4K at 120 frames per second – also referred to as High Frame Rate (HFR) – inputs via HDMI. Last year’s models also supported HFR but only via streaming input.

- "And through the inclusion of HDMI 2.1 ports, all 2019 OLED TVs and selected NanoCell TVs with ThinQ AI will support high frame rate (HFR). The result is smoother and clearer motion at 120 frames per second for better rendering of fast-action content such as sports and action movies," the company said.

In addition, HDMI 2.1 brings a number of other useful features to LG’s 2019 OLED TVs, including HDMI eARC that will enable lossless audio output (and pass-through) via the TV’s HDMI eARC port.

LG B9 will be equipped with a second-generation Alpha 7 processor while the other modes will sport a second-generation Alpha 9 processor. The TVs largely mimic last year’s designs but with some tweaks, the most prominent seen on C9 that has a more minimalistic – but still front-firing – speaker stand.

LG C9, E9, and W9 have 4K resolution and support for four HDR formats (HDR10, HLG, Dolby Vision and Advanced HDR). The Korean company has so far chosen to ignore arch-rival Samsung’s HDR10+ format, arguing that it can achieve the same effect on the TV via dynamic tone-mapping processing.

There are no major changes to the actual OLED panel, produced by LG Display, but LG explains that will introduce an improved anti-reflective filter this year.

---

HDMI VRR, lower input lag & improved motion
LG explains that the upgraded ”second-generation Alpha 9” video processor has improved algorithms for color and motion.

This includes an upgraded black frame insertion system called ’OLED Motion Pro’ that now operates at 100/120Hz (compared to 50/60Hz last year) and with shorter black frame cycle (25% vs. 50% last year). LG says the system eliminates flicker and maintains brightness, which were FlatpanelsHD’s two main concerns with the BFI system in the 2018 LG OLED models. Other improvements include a separate ”smooth gradation” picture setting that no longer reduces resolution.

Speaking of motion, LG confirms that the 2019 OLED models will support HDMI VRR (Variable Refresh Rate), which was first implemented in Samsung TVs and Xbox One S / X last year. It is an adaptive frame rate system that matches frame rate between console and TV in real-time for smoother gaming performance with lower lag. The TVs also support HDMI ALLM (Automatic Low Latency Mode) that automatically switches to the TV’s game mode whenever you load up a game on your Xbox One console. PlayStation 4 does not support VRR and ALLM at this time.

Outside of VRR, the TVs will deliver 13 ms input lag (in 1080p and 4K HDR), LG tells FlatpanelsHD. This is probably the lowest input lag on a TV today, depending on what competitors have achieved this year. Lastly, LG said that all calibration settings are now available in the Game picture mode and that a new Game setting can be engaged for all picture modes in the TVs.

https://www.flatpanelshd.com/news.php?subac...l&id=1546474656
---

Now, I'm damn glad I waited. This is pretty much everything I wanted in an OLED. VRR? Check. Sub 16ms input lag? CHECK! Being able to FULLY calibrate the display in Game mode?! SUPER CHECKED!!! rclxm9.gif

That said, I'm still skeptical that this is the FULL HDMI 2.1 silicon in play here. VRR, eARC and ALLM all fits into HDMI 2.0's 18gbps bandwidth. It remains to be seen if the TVs can actually play 4k120 content at 4:4:4 (or Full RGB) with 10-bit HDR content or not. Theoretically, 4k120 8-bit SDR 4:2:0 fits in JUST under 18gbps (17.9gbps to be specific) so LG could be doing some marketing bullshit here.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Jan 3 2019, 07:59 PM
Convael
post Jan 5 2019, 02:16 AM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jan 3 2019, 03:11 PM)
LG unveils 2019 4K OLED TVs with HDMI 2.1 - C9, E9 & W9

LG has announced that its OLED TV line-up for 2019 will comprise the C9, E9, and W9 ranges with 4K resolution as well as B9 that will come a little later in the year. The company also confirmed that its first 8K OLED model will be the Z9.

HDMI 2.1 is the headlining feature. Increased bandwidth now allows for up to 4K at 120 frames per second – also referred to as High Frame Rate (HFR) – inputs via HDMI. Last year’s models also supported HFR but only via streaming input.

- "And through the inclusion of HDMI 2.1 ports, all 2019 OLED TVs and selected NanoCell TVs with ThinQ AI will support high frame rate (HFR). The result is smoother and clearer motion at 120 frames per second for better rendering of fast-action content such as sports and action movies," the company said.

In addition, HDMI 2.1 brings a number of other useful features to LG’s 2019 OLED TVs, including HDMI eARC that will enable lossless audio output (and pass-through) via the TV’s HDMI eARC port.

LG B9 will be equipped with a second-generation Alpha 7 processor while the other modes will sport a second-generation Alpha 9 processor. The TVs largely mimic last year’s designs but with some tweaks, the most prominent seen on C9 that has a more minimalistic – but still front-firing – speaker stand.

LG C9, E9, and W9 have 4K resolution and support for four HDR formats (HDR10, HLG, Dolby Vision and Advanced HDR). The Korean company has so far chosen to ignore arch-rival Samsung’s HDR10+ format, arguing that it can achieve the same effect on the TV via dynamic tone-mapping processing.

There are no major changes to the actual OLED panel, produced by LG Display, but LG explains that will introduce an improved anti-reflective filter this year.

---

HDMI VRR, lower input lag & improved motion
LG explains that the upgraded ”second-generation Alpha 9” video processor has improved algorithms for color and motion.

This includes an upgraded black frame insertion system called ’OLED Motion Pro’ that now operates at 100/120Hz (compared to 50/60Hz last year) and with shorter black frame cycle (25% vs. 50% last year). LG says the system eliminates flicker and maintains brightness, which were FlatpanelsHD’s two main concerns with the BFI system in the 2018 LG OLED models. Other improvements include a separate ”smooth gradation” picture setting that no longer reduces resolution.

Speaking of motion, LG confirms that the 2019 OLED models will support HDMI VRR (Variable Refresh Rate), which was first implemented in Samsung TVs and Xbox One S / X last year. It is an adaptive frame rate system that matches frame rate between console and TV in real-time for smoother gaming performance with lower lag. The TVs also support HDMI ALLM (Automatic Low Latency Mode) that automatically switches to the TV’s game mode whenever you load up a game on your Xbox One console. PlayStation 4 does not support VRR and ALLM at this time.

Outside of VRR, the TVs will deliver 13 ms input lag (in 1080p and 4K HDR), LG tells FlatpanelsHD. This is probably the lowest input lag on a TV today, depending on what competitors have achieved this year. Lastly, LG said that all calibration settings are now available in the Game picture mode and that a new Game setting can be engaged for all picture modes in the TVs.
https://www.flatpanelshd.com/news.php?subac...l&id=1546474656
---
Now, I'm damn glad I waited. This is pretty much everything I wanted in an OLED. VRR? Check. Sub 16ms input lag? CHECK! Being able to FULLY calibrate the display in Game mode?! SUPER CHECKED!!!  rclxm9.gif

That said, I'm still skeptical that this is the FULL HDMI 2.1 silicon in play here. VRR, eARC and ALLM all fits into HDMI 2.0's 18gbps bandwidth. It remains to be seen if the TVs can actually play 4k120 content at 4:4:4 (or Full RGB) with 10-bit HDR content or not. Theoretically, 4k120 8-bit SDR 4:2:0 fits in JUST under 18gbps (17.9gbps to be specific) so LG could be doing some marketing bullshit here.
HDMI 2.1 is indeed great news for people who use their OLED panels with HTPC / PC and for gamers .
I still have doubts they will actually include full 2.1 - 48gbps in the chipset , guess we will know the answer on Tuesday from the CES showfloor . They are scheduled for a conference on the upcoming Monday.

It is a little disappointing as they mention nothing on the top emission OLEDs or they are planning to save it for their 8K OLED by the end of the year , which means there won't be any major improvement in terms of HDR picture quality for C9 , E9 and W9.

I am also curious to see what's Samsung progression with their Quantum Dots Blue-OLEDs and how LG is planning to catch up with color volume on wRGB OLED , apparently the AF9 ( pixel contrast booster ) has really good color volume.

late update : LG has confirmed all 2019 OLED TVs will feature full bandwidth 2.1 HDMI chipset.

This post has been edited by Convael: Mar 7 2019, 09:30 AM
SSJBen
post Jan 5 2019, 08:26 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

In reality though, we are no where near in PC hardware for games to be running at 4k120. There aren't alot of non-interactive content that is filmed at 120hz either. So as far as "future proving" goes, it really isn't a huge deal. - eventhough it's a nice novelty to have.
enkil
post Jan 9 2019, 06:27 PM

1,752 posts

Haha... so canggih and yet i just played PS classic recently smile.gif
SSJBen
post Jan 15 2019, 03:45 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

So glad they finally split Smooth Gradation and Noise Reduction out of MPEG Noise Reduction.

Also, fairly impressed at the internal pattern generator the 9 series offers. It won't kill the professional manual calibrator's business, but the cost of entry for home calibrators is now lower than ever. Love that LG is really pushing this spectrum to more users.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Jan 15 2019, 03:45 PM
kkthen
post Jan 15 2019, 07:15 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jan 15 2019, 03:45 PM)
So glad they finally split Smooth Gradation and Noise Reduction out of MPEG Noise Reduction.

Also, fairly impressed at the internal pattern generator the 9 series offers. It won't kill the professional manual calibrator's business, but the cost of entry for home calibrators is now lower than ever. Love that LG is really pushing this spectrum to more users.
That is good news, many video enthusiast got calman software & Colorimeter , But don't have most expensive pattern generator.
ebayer
post Mar 6 2019, 09:06 AM

72 posts

Seems like everyone is only talking about C8. My budget isn't so high so anyone knows where I can get a good deal on a B8? Thanks in advance
Convael
post Mar 7 2019, 08:00 AM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(ebayer @ Mar 6 2019, 09:06 AM)
Seems like everyone is only talking about C8. My budget isn't so high so anyone knows where I can get a good deal on a B8? Thanks in advance
There is no reason for you to get a B8 in Malaysia because of how hard the local retailers are driving the bargains on C8 .
55' C8s were sold in several shops for under 7k which is a fantastic deal . I really doubt you can find a B8 for much less .

While the improvement over B8 isn't dramatic , why would you pay more for less ?

On a side note , the LG C9 is already shipping out in South Korea & USA starting this week . So if you are looking for the support of HDMI 2.1 features , you may want to wait just a little longer .
Though the price will likely remain on the high side till Q3-Q4.

This post has been edited by Convael: Mar 7 2019, 09:42 AM

246 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0175sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:44 PM