153 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Bottom

Loyalty Cards Frequent Flyer and Traveler Loyalty Card, Air Miles and Hotel Discussion

Yippie123
post Oct 12 2016, 08:57 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(Loongy22 @ Oct 12 2016, 06:45 PM)
I have American Airlines Executive Platinum Status / OW Emerald status but noone to travel with me to the USA. I'm thinking of going sometime Oct 25 - Nov 2 in case anyone wants to ride with me for the elite benefits. I believe I can guest 1 into the CX HKG First Class Lounge and SFO BA F lounge. I think the other person also gets free Main Cabin Extra seating too..?

Anyone know where to find people to share benefits with? tongue.gif

Looking at
KUL - HKG for around RM 800 /
HKG -SFO  for around RM 2200
Is this for real ??? I will offer this service FOC with multiple alliances elite status. Pls refer to lounge meet up thread in flyertalks.

psiloveu
post Oct 13 2016, 10:35 AM

795 posts

QUOTE(Yippie123 @ Oct 12 2016, 08:57 PM)
Is this for real ??? I will offer this service FOC with multiple alliances elite status. Pls refer to lounge meet up thread in flyertalks.
Can you give me the flyertalks link? I am departure from Tokyo Haneda next year February, I redeem F class ticket and I know that CX allows customers to bring one guest go into the lounge, and I willing to share. smile.gif

This post has been edited by psiloveu: Oct 13 2016, 10:38 AM
Yippie123
post Oct 13 2016, 04:32 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(psiloveu @ Oct 13 2016, 10:35 AM)
Can you give me the flyertalks link?  I am departure from Tokyo Haneda next year February, I redeem F class ticket and I know that CX allows customers to bring one guest go into the lounge, and I willing to share. smile.gif
Google lounge meet up thread in flyertalk.
talfred
post Oct 14 2016, 11:48 AM

81 posts

Hey guys
Came across this thread.

I have some excess BA FFP points and can sell/redeem some flights that are less than 4 hours. Best value uses on CX or some other OW carriers

PM me if interested
TSJC_jun
post Oct 14 2016, 05:39 PM

705 posts

QUOTE(talfred @ Oct 14 2016, 11:48 AM)
Hey guys
Came across this thread.

I have some excess BA FFP points and can sell/redeem some flights that are less than 4 hours. Best value uses on CX or some other OW carriers

PM me if interested
arr... you should have post earlier.. i bought some BA flight within europe during midnight just now
raist86
post Oct 24 2016, 04:37 PM

1,577 posts

anyone with experience redeeming *A flights using Krisflyer miles? possible to do like multiple carrier redemption in one ticket or separate booking?
Jack128
post Nov 2 2016, 12:12 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Nov 2 2016, 11:54 AM)
MACH Visa Signature 1 mile for RM3 spending

If you are talking about high amount of transaction I would say Kriflyer is still worth it. afterall adding a KL-SIN / SIN-KL flight will not affect the miles required to redeem. only that you need to transit but doesnt matter much if you are on business class.
Oh no additional miles needed for KL-SIN and back? OK now that is worth a second thought.
But I am scared off by others who experienced much difficulty in redeeming award seats on business class.
bearbear
post Nov 2 2016, 12:44 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

I briefly went through the t&c of MACH Visa Signature and there is no mentioned of exclusion on reward pts for petrol / gov transactions. Maybe will be worthwhile to call for clarification if you are interested.

QUOTE(Jack128 @ Nov 2 2016, 12:12 PM)
Oh no additional miles needed for KL-SIN and back? OK now that is worth a second thought.
But I am scared off by others who experienced much difficulty in redeeming award seats on business class.
it is difficult for hot long haul route, like US, London and etc.

I am looking at redeeming Hkg-Sin and on most of the weekdays I can secure 4 business class seats immediately.

I use HK as an example, the miles is the same for Hkg-sin or Hkg-sin-kul. difference is the tax required but trust me it is cheap to pay for a business class seat.

This post has been edited by bearbear: Nov 2 2016, 12:48 PM
limeuu
post Nov 2 2016, 12:47 PM

12,290 posts

Sq to Australia is also problematic...
Jack128
post Nov 2 2016, 12:52 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Nov 2 2016, 12:44 PM)
I briefly went through the t&c of MACH Visa Signature and there is no mentioned of exclusion on reward pts for petrol / gov transactions. Maybe will be worthwhile to call for clarification if you are interested.
it is difficult for hot long haul route, like US, London and etc.

I am looking at redeeming Hkg-Sin and on most of the weekdays I can secure 4 business class seats immediately.

I use HK as an example, the miles is the same for Hkg-sin or Hkg-sin-kul. difference is the tax required but trust me it is cheap to pay for a business class seat.
Thanks for your input. IMHO not much point in flying business for short haul trips. I am interested in those to European/ Australia destinations.
I understand that Krisflyer gives more value to their miles than Enrich? But do they do promotion like Enrich (50% off etc )
bearbear
post Nov 2 2016, 01:15 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

then it will be difficult.

put it this way, SQ redemption is so popular thanks to foreign site thus you are not only fighting among Asian but Western as well for redemption thus you might need to be creative to redeem. I think a few hours is not so bad just that you don't sleep on it. Plus the miles are so much more reasonable compared to MH (Hkg for example on SQ business class is only 23,375 miles one way after 15% discount)

I have not seen miles promotion from SQ, maybe some of the guys here can share as I only start paying attention to SQ over the last one year. Good thing SQ still offer 15% discount if you redeem online.

This post has been edited by bearbear: Nov 2 2016, 01:19 PM
limeuu
post Nov 2 2016, 03:00 PM

12,290 posts

i agree with jack that actually miles redemption is a relevant topic for this thread....specific to the fact that the premier cards is for points conversion, and we do have 3 choices of ffp to convert to...choosing which to redeem is important...

i hesitate to convert my points into kf because of the difficulty in getting seats for redemption into australia....
Jack128
post Nov 2 2016, 03:05 PM

257 posts

Limeuu, do you have previous experience in getting seats with kf?
limeuu
post Nov 2 2016, 04:15 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Nov 2 2016, 03:08 PM)
discussion of converting to miles are relevant in this thread..
However, what to redeem with miles(e.g. flight route, flight class) and how to get best of the miles should be in frequent flyer thread..

agree?
well....like i said, the problems associated with redemption of miles into flights is relevant, as that will have a big influence in deciding which ffp you convert your points into...and i have almost a million points waiting to be converted, as i cannot decide which ffp to use....

jack, i have never redeem full with kf, only part redemption as i don't have that many miles in kf....i have trial check kf for mel and bne about 4-5 months ahead, but can never find a confirmed seat...always waitlist....i don't want to commit my points into kf and be stuck...on the other hand, enrich is pretty crappy at the moment...
raist86
post Nov 2 2016, 04:34 PM

1,577 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Nov 2 2016, 04:15 PM)
well....like i said, the problems associated with redemption of miles into flights is relevant, as that will have a big influence in deciding which ffp you convert your points into...and i have almost a million points waiting to be converted, as i cannot decide which ffp to use....

jack, i have never redeem full with kf, only part redemption as i don't have that many miles in kf....i have trial check kf for mel and bne about 4-5 months ahead, but can never find a confirmed seat...always waitlist....i don't want to commit my points into kf and be stuck...on the other hand, enrich is pretty crappy at the moment...
Limeuu, IIRC, to get confirmed seats on popular routes, you need to book like between 355 days to 320 days ahead when they release the award. afterwards, they'll keep the seats as revenue ticket until maybe 2-3 weeks before flight. What to do, ppl want to maximize revenue.

Perhaps you can try this method which my uncle does for KF (he's a Solitaire), call KF center once you have available dates, put a hold / reservation on the ticket then only do the TP transfer from MBB to KF. I was surprised at the duration he was able to hold the ticket. For eg, flight depart in 2nd May 2017, the agent put a hold on the ticket for him till end Mar 2017. By then, he needs to have the points and payment to confirm the ticket.

This way, you keep your TP in MBB acc and only transfer when required.
Jack128
post Nov 2 2016, 04:52 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(raist86 @ Nov 2 2016, 04:34 PM)
Limeuu, IIRC, to get confirmed seats on popular routes, you need to book like between 355 days to 320 days ahead when they release the award. afterwards, they'll keep the seats as revenue ticket until maybe 2-3 weeks before flight. What to do, ppl want to maximize revenue.

Perhaps you can try this method which my uncle does for KF (he's a Solitaire), call KF center once you have available dates, put a hold / reservation on the ticket then only do the TP transfer from MBB to KF. I was surprised at the duration he was able to hold the ticket. For eg, flight depart in 2nd May 2017, the agent put a hold on the ticket for him till end Mar 2017. By then, he needs to have the points and payment to confirm the ticket. 

I gather that if you call the CS, you will not be eligible for the 15% discount? In any case, 1 year booking in advance is crazy! ohmy.gif
raist86
post Nov 2 2016, 04:53 PM

1,577 posts

QUOTE(Jack128 @ Nov 2 2016, 04:52 PM)
I gather that if you call the CS, you will not be eligible for the 15% discount? In any case, 1 year booking in advance is crazy!  ohmy.gif
If booking is under SQ airline, you'll get 15% discount. they'll add in automatically for you.

What to do, everyone also want to sit good airline... law of supply and demand. Since points and miles are added benefits and not cash out of your pocket, just think of it as a treat lo, rather than a purchase.

If dun wan fight with anyone and high availability, can stick with Enrich...

by the way, did i mentioned that you can do date change for award redemption? it's an awesome feature. There's a small fee, but this flexibility gives more peace of mind for bookings so far in advance. This applicable for F and J class. For economy, you may be required to top up the miles (if redeemed using the lowest class ticket).

This post has been edited by raist86: Nov 2 2016, 05:02 PM
Jack128
post Nov 2 2016, 05:10 PM

257 posts

[/quote]

it seems that enrich still gives the easiest redemptions albeit at a heavy price hmm.gif
I don't mind sticking with enrich but need to optimize the TP collection since the banks have started curbing TP for utilities, insurance etc
do you have experience with CIMB Enrich Platinum?
limeuu
post Nov 2 2016, 05:38 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(raist86 @ Nov 2 2016, 04:34 PM)

I didn't know they can "hold" a booking...but i presume calling the call centre will mean no 15% discount?...

QUOTE(raist86 @ Nov 2 2016, 04:53 PM)
by the way, did i mentioned that you can do date change for award redemption? it's an awesome feature. There's a small fee, but this flexibility gives more peace of mind for bookings so far in advance. This applicable for F and J class. For economy, you may be required to top up the miles (if redeemed using the lowest class ticket).
That would also be dependent on whether seats are available on the flights you want to change to...ie easily available....if the dates you want are already wait listed, then booking on any available date and changing will not help...

QUOTE(Jack128 @ Nov 2 2016, 05:10 PM)
do you have experience with CIMB Enrich Platinum?
not a cimb customer...and 1 mil for af waiver is crazy...
limeuu
post Nov 2 2016, 05:44 PM

12,290 posts

just received an email...kf is having a promo 30% discount on flight redemption till 16/11, for flights from 6 feb till 31 may 17...unfortunately for economy and premium economy only...

This post has been edited by limeuu: Nov 2 2016, 05:47 PM

153 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0196sec    0.96    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:17 AM