Loyalty Cards Frequent Flyer and Traveler Loyalty Card, Air Miles and Hotel Discussion

TSJC_jun
post Dec 22 2015, 12:40 PM, updated 10y ago

705 posts

This is a new thread for us to discuss loyalty programs from Airlines and Hotel Groups.

Frequent Flyer Programme, eg.: MH Enrich, SQ KrisFlyer, CX MPC/AsiaMiles, BA Avios, AA AAdvantage, etc.
Hotel Loyalty Card, eg.: Le Club Accor Hotels, IHG, Hilton HHonor, SPG, etc.

Abbreviations and acronyms

Airlines:
MH = Malaysia Airlines
CX = Cathay Pacific
AA = American Airlines
BA = British Airways
SQ = Singapore Airlines
AK = AirAsia

Airlines Loyalty Programs:
EM = Enrich Miles
KF = KrisFlyer
AM = Asia Miles

Ticket and Fare Related Short Code:
Y = Economy Class
Y+ = Premium Economy Class
J = Business Class
F = First Class
YQ = Fuel Surcharge

Air Craft Type ICAO short code example:
A330 = Airbus A330
A333 = Airbus A330-300
B772 = Boeing 777-200
B773 = Boeing 777-300
B77W = Boeing 777-300ER

Lounge:
PPL = Plaza Premium Lounge

Useful Link:

1) To search Airline and Airport Code:
http://www.iata.org/publications/Pages/code-search.aspx

2) To check what is the flying distance between airports
http://www.gcmap.com/

3) A master list of Airlines Award Chart:
http://thepointsguy.com/travel-resources/

Hotel Loyalty Programs:
LCAH = Le Club AccorHotels
SPG = Starwood Preferred Guest
IHG = InterContinental Hotel Group
Hilton HHonor = Hilton HHonor

I will update with more information.

Maybe we can start by stating the loyalty programs & status we have, eg.:
MH Enrich *Blue, Le Club Accor Hotels *Silver, Hilton HHonor *Gold.

This post has been edited by JC_jun: Dec 22 2015, 06:55 PM
TSJC_jun
post Dec 22 2015, 12:54 PM

705 posts

QUOTE(anwa @ Dec 22 2015, 12:48 PM)
Checking in...

I have SPG Gold from the World Mastercard promo and Hilton Gold from Visa Infinite. Both are going to expire soon. Does anybody know, once downgraded to silver, can we get gold again using the World Mastercard promo and Visa Infinite promo? Or is this upgrade only allowed once per account?
i also just got my hilton upgraded to gold.

i know we can register several different member accounts with accor hotels. If hilton can do the same, then you might have chance to get another upgrade via visa infinite.
TSJC_jun
post Dec 22 2015, 01:39 PM

705 posts

QUOTE(Yippie123 @ Dec 22 2015, 01:36 PM)
Checking in.

Anyone with question for CX MPO, Turkish, Etihad, Accor and Accor plus program are welcome to pm. Not an agent but willing to share information.
what is the current rate for accor plus program in malaysia?
TSJC_jun
post Dec 22 2015, 03:50 PM

705 posts

I will be accor gold by may next year,, can i choose to sign up Accor plus near the end date of my gold? will it extend the gold status? (I foresee 2017 won't travel much)
TSJC_jun
post Dec 22 2015, 05:51 PM

705 posts

QUOTE(Yippie123 @ Dec 22 2015, 04:06 PM)
Yes you can, join Accor plus will renew your gold for another year.
haha, that's a really good program to help us maintain status..
TSJC_jun
post Dec 22 2015, 06:41 PM

705 posts

QUOTE(dctravels @ Dec 22 2015, 06:34 PM)
Hi all. I'm not a frequent flyer, so I have no elite status with any airlines. I have however travelled on a fair share of airlines in Y, PE, J and F class. Both my wife and I work full time so we treasure whatever time we can get for our vacation (away from the kids). J and F class flights are nearly always redeemed with miles.

My 2015 travel year in review:

New Cities/Towns: Helsinki, Ivalo, Saariselkä village - Finland; Berlin, Prague, Kraków, Budapest, Vienna - Eastern Europe; Madrid, Toledo, Barcelona, Granada, Ronda, Andalucian white villages, Seville - Spain

New Countries: Finland, Czech Republic, Poland, Hungary, Austria, Spain

New Airports: HEL, IVL, TXL, VIE, MAD, BCN, SVQ

New Airlines: Iberia, Vueling

New flight experience: BA's backward facing Club World seats - never again

Best flight experience: LHR-KUL MH A380 Business class (excellent service from the crew)

Shortest Flight: AK6461 SBW-KCH - 0h 40m

Longest Flight: BA034 KUL-LHR - 13h 40m

Similarly, I have no elite status as far as hotel chains go (just HHonors Gold from the MBB card).  I like to try different types of hotels depending on the destination. Some memorable stays in 2015 include Kakslauttanen glass igloo, Saariselkä, Waldorf Astoria Berlin, Sofitel Vienna and Alfonso XIII, Seville.

Would love to discuss miles accumulation strategies and tactics with everyone, the nature of some may necessitate private messages. Hope to learn and share with everyone here!
you redeemed flights in J and F, purely from the miles you earned by CC?
roughly how much miles you earned per year.

i earned about 140k miles this year, via flight and CC spending (including the bonus miles from enrich promo), but still not enough to redeem 2 seat in J for anyplace above Zone 3.
TSJC_jun
post Dec 22 2015, 08:02 PM

705 posts

QUOTE(minthiam @ Dec 22 2015, 07:35 PM)
Any good benefits with this Accor Plus? I tried to search through their website but everything seems very vague? Is it something similar to Hilton Premium Club?
Signing up will give you
# 1 night free stay at any Accor hotels in asia (i read online some other countries get more nights, but their member fee is higher)
# up your status to silver member
# discount for dining
TSJC_jun
post Dec 22 2015, 10:40 PM

705 posts

Glad that we have so many sifu here to share all the tips and hacks.
TSJC_jun
post Dec 23 2015, 12:45 AM

705 posts

QUOTE(dctravels @ Dec 22 2015, 10:42 PM)
Key thoughts for now: Pledge children's education/emergency migration funds for Diamanté. Hope Sarawak doesn't go to the dogs like in Semenanjung (sorry guys, but you all are really losing the plot. Migrate to Sarawak!!) so I can enjoy using a 5XTP local spend Visa for at least a few years. Most of my local business transactions are on the Visa because Amex is just not as widely accepted (higher fees).
this only offer to sarawak people?
TSJC_jun
post Dec 23 2015, 01:08 PM

705 posts

how this MH multi carrier award works? The zone mileage is the total of multiple trips?

this required much lesser miles than redeem MH own F class..
TSJC_jun
post Dec 23 2015, 03:35 PM

705 posts

QUOTE(minthiam @ Dec 23 2015, 03:18 PM)
This is the thing that I hate about MH, anything on OW flight redemption need to call in and ask. Few months ago, I tried to call in and ask about trip to North America for few times, always telling me that all OW flight not open for redemption yet. How to redeem?
Did you checked the award availability via other website first?

TSJC_jun
post Dec 23 2015, 03:36 PM

705 posts

QUOTE(Yippie123 @ Dec 23 2015, 03:10 PM)
I just couldnt justify to pledge 1M for the card...
From where you got to know it required to pledge 1m?
TSJC_jun
post Dec 23 2015, 04:30 PM

705 posts

ic, then i better save my mbb point for AM.

how this multi carrier works?

if i want to book a 13k miles route, "KUL-LHR (MH), LHR-KUL (BA)", so in AM consider as zone-08 10k-14k miles?
TSJC_jun
post Dec 23 2015, 04:54 PM

705 posts

QUOTE(dctravels @ Dec 23 2015, 04:38 PM)
Yes, for 115k AM. Compare that to your standard 127,500 Enrich Miles redemption. Now just top up a bit to 155k you get to fly in F.
ok, then i will save my points for 2 years and redeem 2x F seats.
TSJC_jun
post Dec 23 2015, 08:08 PM

705 posts

QUOTE(strayato.hirzaki @ Dec 23 2015, 07:51 PM)
guys, question. is there a method for me to convert my existing credit card points to air miles of an alternative frequent flyer program (e.g. Delta Skymiles, American Airlines AAdvantage)?

by that, i'm referring to non Citibank PremierMiles Card‎ and all American Express cards (without Maybank logo)

kindly advice?
You are holding credit card from which bank?
TSJC_jun
post Dec 24 2015, 10:11 PM

705 posts

QUOTE(strayato.hirzaki @ Dec 24 2015, 06:11 PM)
that would be maybank 2 cards and a standalone non-travel citibank card
thanks for the explanation, i guess if that's the case, the only way to go to acrue miles for the mentioned is to apply for either Citibank's Premier Miles or the standalone AMEX card
But AMEX and Citibank conversation rate very low, why not maximize your miles earning with other program?
TSJC_jun
post Dec 25 2015, 11:01 AM

705 posts

Anyone can share about award ticket with SQ krisflyer? Like availability, worth or not.
TSJC_jun
post Dec 25 2015, 07:02 PM

705 posts

QUOTE(Brandon323 @ Dec 25 2015, 06:55 PM)
What is AMOMC ? So far, I have only tried Enrich Miles. The redemption online is straight forward. For AM, have to call up like you say but are seats readily available? If the call is so long and cumbersome, I may just stick back to Enrich and redeem business class only as Enrich business class miles required is just slightly more than AM. hmm.gif
Asia Miles (AM) oneworld (O) multi carrier (MC)
TSJC_jun
post Dec 26 2015, 12:38 PM

705 posts

QUOTE(dctravels @ Dec 26 2015, 06:51 AM)
A Chinese billionaire will never have to pay for a plane ticket again, after he accrued a staggering number of air miles using his American Express card to buy a $170m painting.

http://www.theguardian.com/world/2015/nov/...ni-nude-on-amex

rclxms.gif
now i just realised amex MR will never expire.. so good
TSJC_jun
post Dec 26 2015, 03:52 PM

705 posts

I have a AMS-KUL ticket, and MH cancelled this route,
so they booked me AMS-LHR with BA, then LHR-KUL with MH

i am now holding the itinerary issued by MH, which only has MH book ref.

how am i going to do web check-in with BA?

0.0986sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:13 PM