Battle of the +/- rm7k TVs, + Discussion on Sharp UE630X

SUSjdgobio
post Feb 11 2016, 05:49 PM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Feb 11 2016, 04:12 PM)
A TV with built-in basic features of an AVR? Perhaps.. Maybe the guys @ Xiaomi can make this a reality.. The Samsung One Connect Evolution Kit is kinda similar to being a "project ARA" for TVs. Well, the closest at least for now. Profits-wise, I doubt any all-in-one package will be introduced. It's like today's smartphones, manufacturers simply won't make that one phone to rule them all for a couple of years (minimum), why? Cuz they want us to replace it, there'll always be something missing..  biggrin.gif

Sure, those in the know who care about audio passthrough, formats, high res audio, etc won't mind paying even an extra $25 per TV to get codecs supported etc. But from the manufacturer's point of view, $25 x say 200 million units is a lot of lost profit, especially when the people who care about such issues are definitely "negligible" in the grand scheme of things. When a new UHD/SUHD is launched, people go gaga over color reproduction, clarity, motion, processing speed, upscaling engines, etc.. Very rarely do they bother about sound since TV speakers don't cut it anyway. I think the only way they'll all budge, is if it's made an international standard/requirement that all TVs (@ least Mid-range & above) be able to play and passthrough (HDMI) the latest codecs onto a supporting AVR/HT. That just might do it...  smile.gif
Good points there. I think we will never see this come to fruition. The other way is a tv to be just a dumb display like a pc monitor. Everything else is supported through a one conect type of box with non-proprietary connectors. All manufacturers can choose the hardware they want to include and the avr, tuner, apps can be integrated inside.

Unfortunately, we represent a niche market and the manufacturers can't be bothered about us. Only Dolby and DTS can do do something about this.
AVFAN
post Feb 11 2016, 06:58 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Feb 11 2016, 04:12 PM)
Very rarely do they bother about sound since TV speakers don't cut it anyway. I think the only way they'll all budge, is if it's made an international standard/requirement that all TVs (@ least Mid-range & above) be able to play and passthrough (HDMI) the latest codecs onto a supporting AVR/HT. That just might do it...  smile.gif
right... from a tv mfg biz perspective, there is little incentive to incorporate more peripherals as it will cost more, customers may not like it.

sharp once had a model that incl a bluray disc player. it died very quickly. biggrin.gif

androids already in, better audio maybe possible. the android i have on my sharp 4k tv is quite good. in fact, it is better than my android box in some ways, e.g. that it is certified by neflix, can get uhd videos.

that tells me if the big corps have it their way, they will do it if the demand is such - say, if no more DVD's just BDs with hd audio and IPTVs provide mostly HD audio... TV makers will have HD audio codecs, ready to go into AVRs, expanded UI to cater to other apps. they will surely do that if they can sell the TV at a higher price/margin.

a matter of $ and cents...

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Feb 11 2016, 07:01 PM
SUSjdgobio
post Feb 11 2016, 07:13 PM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 11 2016, 06:58 PM)
right... from a tv mfg biz perspective, there is little incentive to incorporate more peripherals as it will cost more, customers may not like it.

sharp once had a model that incl a bluray disc player. it died very quickly. biggrin.gif

androids already in, better audio maybe possible. the android i have on my sharp 4k tv is quite good. in fact, it is better than my android box in some ways, e.g. that it is certified by neflix, can get uhd videos.

that tells me if the big corps have it their way, they will do it if the demand is such - say, if no more DVD's just BDs with hd audio and IPTVs provide mostly HD audio... TV makers will have HD audio codecs, ready to go into AVRs, expanded UI to cater to other apps. they will surely do that if they can sell the TV at a higher price/margin.

I doubt that hd audio will become mainstream enough anytime soon. The audio stream size is too big for sattelite, iptv and cable. If it can get through this hurdle then we have a chance.

But maybe by that time we will have UHD audio with smaller size streams.
voncrane
post Feb 12 2016, 01:33 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 11 2016, 06:58 PM)

Exactly.. nod.gif I'm hoping in the next 3 - 5 years, significant & CHEAPER improvements would have been made in the TV industry.

QUOTE(jdgobio @ Feb 11 2016, 07:13 PM)
I doubt that hd audio will become mainstream enough anytime soon. The audio stream size is too big for sattelite, iptv and cable. If it can get through this hurdle then we have a chance.

But maybe by that time we will have UHD audio with smaller size streams.
True... Thing is, the tech to accomplish this has been available.. Take the new video compression standard, H.265, capable of significantly better compression performance and lower bandwidth utilization. Now, coupled with Gigabit Ethernet, adapters & Internet speed... Way more than enough to power 4K IPTV... Provided those in charge make the proper switches... About 80 years ago, roughly when commercial television broadcasts started in the US, talks about 1080p or 4K streaming would have been considered works of science fiction. But here we are today... Speaking of gigabit Internet speeds.. Malaysia boleh? tongue.gif
SUSjdgobio
post Feb 19 2016, 03:25 PM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Feb 12 2016, 01:33 AM)
Exactly..  nod.gif I'm hoping in the next 3 - 5 years, significant & CHEAPER improvements would have been made in the TV industry.
True... Thing is, the tech to accomplish this has been available.. Take the new video compression standard, H.265, capable of significantly  better compression performance and lower bandwidth utilization. Now, coupled with Gigabit Ethernet, adapters & Internet speed... Way more than enough to power 4K IPTV... Provided those in charge make the proper switches... About 80 years ago, roughly when commercial television broadcasts started in the US, talks about 1080p or 4K streaming would have been considered works of science fiction. But here we are today... Speaking of gigabit Internet speeds.. Malaysia boleh?  tongue.gif
The obstacle will be more on the side of broadcasters. Currently most can't even do 1080p, let alone 4K with HD audio. As for internet speeds, gigabit speeds for home users will eventually arrive in Malaysia in a couple of years but even developed countries are still struggling with VDSL speeds (AU, US). So most probably will only be available in major cities.
voncrane
post Feb 19 2016, 03:57 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(jdgobio @ Feb 19 2016, 03:25 PM)
The obstacle will be more on the side of broadcasters. Currently most can't even do 1080p, let alone 4K with HD audio. As for internet speeds, gigabit speeds for home users will eventually arrive in Malaysia in a couple of years but even developed countries are still struggling with VDSL speeds (AU, US). So most probably will only be available in major cities.
I agree and I'm fine with it taking a few years to achieve, cuz major technological changes do take awhile to be implemented & become mainstream. Take IPv6 adoption rate, since 2009 till date & it's still hovering around a 10% worldwide adoption rate.. Question is.. Are the necessary infrastructure being planned now?
SUSjdgobio
post Feb 19 2016, 04:15 PM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Feb 19 2016, 03:57 PM)
I agree and I'm fine with it taking a few years to achieve, cuz major technological changes do take awhile to be implemented & become mainstream. Take IPv6 adoption rate, since 2009 till date & it's still hovering around a 10% worldwide adoption rate.. Question is.. Are the necessary infrastructure being planned now?
Yup, everything is so fragmented due to rapid technological advancement. It will take decades for everyone to catch up completely even if there are no further improvements / new technology.
AVFAN
post Feb 21 2016, 04:12 PM

24,453 posts

after 8 weeks using this sharp lc50ue630x uhd 4k tv, let me summarize my experience with it:

.. good video quality; 1080p, bdmv, bluray, 4k videos - excellent.
.. good upscaling for 720p, 1080i videos
.. vibrant colors.
.. the android within is good - capable of doing any 2/16gb lollipop 5.1 can do.
.. the android within can take a good no. of apps, performance is no lower than any android box.
.. works very well with netflix hd/uhd4k even on wifi.
.. works well with iflix (iflix is all sd but when upscaled, very acceptable).
.. hypptv 1080i channels like bbc earth, travel & living, natgeopeople come out sharp and bright.
.. usb playback can handle all common formats incl mkv, m2ts.
.. toslink digital output is dts/dd capable.
.. a surprisingly cool tv, does not even get warm.

not so good:

.. somehow, i find the dark scenes a little too dark, the bright scenes a bit too bright. don't know if this is a characteristic of all 4k tv's..?
.. all hmdi's video setting is restricted to a choice of std, movie, pc, dynamic or dynamic fixed. u can change the variables in each set but that will apply to all hdmi's. this is not as good as previous models where u can change the variables in each setting for every hdmi input and save as user1, user2, etc.
.. all inputs and outputs incl hdmi, usb, optical, lan are at the back of tv, not side - access difficult for wall mounted cases.

overall, i am very happy with the tv. wink.gif
TSDannyOP
post Feb 22 2016, 12:34 AM

5,220 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 21 2016, 04:12 PM)

after 8 weeks using this sharp lc50ue630x uhd 4k tv, let me summarize my experience with it:

.. good video quality; 1080p, bdmv, bluray, 4k videos - excellent.
.. good upscaling for 720p, 1080i videos
.. vibrant colors.
.. the android within is good - capable of doing any 2/16gb lollipop 5.1 can do.
.. the android within can take a good no. of apps, performance is no lower than any android box.
.. works very well with netflix hd/uhd4k even on wifi.
.. works well with iflix (iflix is all sd but when upscaled, very acceptable).
.. hypptv 1080i channels like bbc earth, travel & living, natgeopeople come out sharp and bright.
.. usb playback can handle all common formats incl mkv, m2ts.
.. toslink digital output is dts/dd capable.
.. a surprisingly cool tv, does not even get warm.
not so good:

.. somehow, i find the dark scenes a little too dark, the bright scenes a bit too bright. don't know if this is a characteristic of all 4k tv's..?
.. all hmdi's video setting is restricted to a choice of std, movie, pc, dynamic or dynamic fixed. u can change the variables in each set but that will apply to all hdmi's. this is not as good as previous models where u can change the variables in each setting for every hdmi input and save as user1, user2, etc.
.. all inputs and outputs incl hdmi, usb, optical, lan are at the back of tv, not side - access difficult for wall mounted cases.
overall, i am very happy with the tv. wink.gif
Overall I'm happy with the picture quality of the 630x too, I feel the only weakness is in bright areas, because the brightness level seems too low or it maybe the panel can't produce high brightness. This seems to be the characteristic of 4k panels. However the black levels are good and if the room is not too glaring, the picture quality is excellent.

This post has been edited by DannyOP: Feb 22 2016, 12:45 AM
AVFAN
post Feb 22 2016, 01:14 AM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ Feb 22 2016, 12:34 AM)
I feel the only weakness is in bright areas, because the brightness level seems too low or it maybe the panel can't produce high brightness.
this is interesting.

i find the brightness (preset settings) at times too bright that my eyes sometimes feel uncomfortable.

then again, it could be due last years of a much less bright tv or my eyes have gotten sensitive, i.e. aged! laugh.gif
TSDannyOP
post Feb 22 2016, 08:07 AM

5,220 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 22 2016, 01:14 AM)
this is interesting.

i find the brightness (preset settings) at times too bright that my eyes sometimes feel uncomfortable.

then again, it could be due last years of a much less bright tv or my eyes have gotten sensitive, i.e. aged! laugh.gif
I'm using movie mode though, if I use Dynamic my eyes will hurt.
AVFAN
post Feb 22 2016, 10:26 AM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ Feb 22 2016, 08:07 AM)
I'm using movie mode though, if I use Dynamic my eyes will hurt.
movie is probably the best for the eyes, but comes with a reddish tone. i use movie default mostly.

for some videos in hypptv, android apps, netflix, i use STD with brightness reduced. a bluish tone.

if you want more birghtness, tried full brightness setting under control (not eco1 or eco2)?

i'm on eco1. full will be too bright for me. eco2 is good some some videos, but too dull for others.

susu_capbadak
post Feb 25 2016, 12:14 PM

69 posts

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3877181
Sharp being bought over
lol i just got the Sharp 58 inch...
voncrane
post Feb 25 2016, 01:49 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(susu_capbadak @ Feb 25 2016, 12:14 PM)
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3877181
Sharp being bought over
lol i just got the Sharp 58 inch...
No worries, Apple trusts Foxconn.. smile.gif
qkumba
post Feb 25 2016, 08:00 PM

133 posts

Wrong thread but does any sifu here know how to fix this toshiba 40pb200em with black lines all over?

sonerin
post Feb 25 2016, 08:11 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(qkumba @ Feb 25 2016, 08:00 PM)
Wrong thread but does any sifu here know how to fix this toshiba 40pb200em with black lines all over?

Time to buy new TV
qkumba
post Feb 25 2016, 08:16 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Feb 25 2016, 08:11 PM)
Time to buy new TV
It cant be repaired? What are those lines?
voncrane
post Feb 25 2016, 08:50 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(qkumba @ Feb 25 2016, 08:16 PM)
Done the usual troubleshooting like picture reset, HDMI & Power cable swap, Source checks, etc? Can be repaired if you get the right repairer & replacement parts.. Lines are called.. "Defects".
sonerin
post Feb 25 2016, 08:53 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(qkumba @ Feb 25 2016, 08:16 PM)
The panel is faulty
zlaugh
post Feb 28 2016, 03:18 AM

QUOTE(Longshot @ Jan 17 2016, 12:24 PM)
Yup, I bought from that shop for rm5.3k for 58".
The addition 3 years warranty makes it more worth then the other shop selling at Rm5k.
Another guy was there and was also looking at the same deal.
In the end both of us grab this as we feel paying rm300 plus for additional 3 years of warranty is worth it. So got a 2 + 3 years warranty. Total 5 years warranty.
Somemore the warranty is direct from the Manufacture.

Also bought a gas stove to replace a faulty one at home. So got maximum discount on that. smile.gif

Will share later the week once I get it on Monday.

Rgds
can share the shop name?
surveying for tv now too, considering 58'' ue630x, sharp lc60le90x and philips 65'' 6909. Any recommendation? I just checked on Aeon big mid valley yesterday, 58'' ue630x is selling at whopping RM7099. Such a huge difference compare to your price.

85 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0159sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:52 PM