Fundsupermart.com v13, Merry X'mas and Happy 牛(bull!) Year

SUSyklooi
post Feb 3 2016, 04:19 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(lukenn @ Feb 3 2016, 03:56 PM)
Seems a little odd. How long have you been tracking your IRR ?  The longer the period, the more stable the result.
hmm.gif
doubling of his portfolio size in the last 6 months as per post# 2356 "may" make the IRR calculation haywire....?
nexona88
post Feb 3 2016, 04:27 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,506 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Feb 3 2016, 08:11 AM)
hmm.gif I think
those had bought recently are waiting for the storm to be over
those that have not bought recently are still waiting for the storm to be more severe
those that are thinking to start are saying ...."THKS goodness...I luckily did not start"
those that just started are saying...."OMGss what just happened."
those that are solely into FD maybe are saying..."i told you so"

I think it will be active once the China retail investors are back from their CNY holidays, and the colour of the indexes are not RED for about a week.

spot on icon_rolleyes.gif

I'm waiting & monitoring for now blush.gif
kkk8787
post Feb 3 2016, 07:13 PM

Julyd8th
2,526 posts

I have Ambond and Amdynamic Bond. Is it wise to sell off now and try to buy equities with it
T231H
post Feb 3 2016, 07:27 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Feb 3 2016, 07:13 PM)
I have Ambond and Amdynamic Bond. Is it wise to sell off now and try to buy equities with it
yes.... rclxms.gif
just remember to shift back to your intended asset allocation % after you managed to make some $$ out of this current sell off.

This post has been edited by T231H: Feb 3 2016, 07:32 PM
brotan
post Feb 3 2016, 10:20 PM

2,392 posts

just invested into rhb asian total return fund (it is a new fund for me)

supposedly bond fund but kinda volatile

anyone bought it?
cappuccino vs latte
post Feb 3 2016, 11:00 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Feb 3 2016, 10:20 PM)

anyone bought it?
I'm also bought this fund as a new investor for a small amount only. Hope it is a stable fund.
pisces88
post Feb 4 2016, 01:13 AM

3,969 posts

kesian.. my reits fund dropped 8% in 1 month :S
SUSyklooi
post Feb 4 2016, 02:33 AM

8,188 posts

anyone bought it?
QUOTE(cappuccino vs latte @ Feb 3 2016, 11:00 PM)
I'm also bought this fund as a new investor for a small amount only. Hope it is a stable fund.
hmm.gif wasssssh,....pouring COLD water........
you guys forgotten about this post by lukenn ?
page# 68, post# 1358

anyway just hope that he is wrong this time......for I got that too in my portfolio. biggrin.gif
TC-Titan
post Feb 4 2016, 10:28 AM

My Life for Aiur~!
820 posts

Overall, this thread seems quite nice and active. A lot of good sharing. Keep up the good work guys. rclxms.gif nod.gif

Ini UT, totally different animal from stocks eh. But concepts & most fundamentals should be the same. Just need to consider more factors - UT manager, charges and more global & regional matters.

There was an old couple that told me in during last Christmas about how well their investments in KGF and KAPF were doing. Reached 40 to 50+% return in 2 to 3 years. They have recommended to all their friends, colleagues, family to buy those funds. Now, that got me really curious to check out how well most of the funds are doing here. smile.gif
T231H
post Feb 4 2016, 10:33 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(TC-Titan @ Feb 4 2016, 10:28 AM)
Ini UT, totally different animal from stocks eh. But concepts & most fundamentals should be the same. Just need to consider more factors - UT manager, charges and more global & regional matters.
hmm.gif isn't it stock got more to learn and to consider....in which many had been looked after by the fund manager of UT.
TC-Titan
post Feb 4 2016, 10:54 AM

My Life for Aiur~!
820 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Feb 4 2016, 10:33 AM)
hmm.gif isn't it stock got more to learn and to consider....in which many had been looked after by the fund manager of UT.
Let's say we do a simple comparison... on a 1 to 1 basis:
1. Stock A - has a simple business model and operates and transacts only in MY.
2. Fund B - The UT mgr chooses to invest in the equity market (various blue chip or mid cap counters) and in FD.

I see myself doing lesser homework for point 1 then point 2. Little factors to trouble myself with.

For Point 2, u need to know how the UT mgr works and how the regional and global markets are performing that will have an impact on your fund. The strategies taken by the UT mgr plays a big role on how well the fund does.

Yes, the UT mgr does the strategic investing for you, but as an investor, impossible u're not bothered whether the prospects are in tact for your investment right? So must do more homework lo.

The above is inverse when u're investing and monitoring say about 20 to 100 stocks with various biz models of various industries.

For UT, I think once you read one report on the regional & global factors, should be almost similar news to all other funds, unless the detailed coverage material is different.

Just my opinion.
dasecret
post Feb 4 2016, 10:58 AM

1,498 posts

anyone bought it?
I have it since Oct 2014. It's more volatile than my Asia Pac balanced fund.... so it really should not be the only bond fund in your portfolio or the main bond fund in your portfolio
T231H
post Feb 4 2016, 08:58 PM

5,143 posts

have faith in Ponzi 2.0

FSM Fund Choice: CIMB-Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund [February 2016]
Why CIMB-Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund?
http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...uary-2016--6775
wongmunkeong
post Feb 4 2016, 09:17 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

Just something i think worth reading, especially with most of us AND specifically "newbies" (those that were not "bent over" in 1997-1999 + 2008),
even with PERFECT FORESIGHT & long+short perfect hedging:

http://blog.alphaarchitect.com/2016/02/02/...ctive-investor/

snippets:
"Yet check out the worst drawdown on the PERFECT hedge fund — 70%+. Incredible. And it gets better…"

"Let those numbers soak in a bit.

What the chart highlights is that even GOD HIMSELF would get fired multiple times over. The performance on the perfect hedge fund would get crushed many times over by the passive index.

These results highlight the fickle nature of assessing relative performance over short horizons. We’ve shown this quantitatively, but Ben Carlson talks about the challenge of short horizon thinking here, and Meb Faber recently highlighted that investors are terrible at timing active investments.

Takeaways:

Keynes was right: Markets can remain irrational longer than you can remain solvent
Active investors MUST have a long-horizon…and few investors actually have horizon."

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Feb 4 2016, 09:18 PM
kkk8787
post Feb 4 2016, 09:36 PM

Julyd8th
2,526 posts

A friend recently asked me is there a Bahasa version? he cant really read english
ohcipala
post Feb 4 2016, 10:39 PM

1,338 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Feb 4 2016, 09:36 PM)
A friend recently asked me is there a Bahasa version? he cant really read english
You mean bahasa version of FSM's website?
nexona88
post Feb 4 2016, 10:42 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,506 posts

got BM version meh? hmm.gif hmm.gif
kkk8787
post Feb 4 2016, 10:47 PM

Julyd8th
2,526 posts

QUOTE(ohcipala @ Feb 4 2016, 10:39 PM)
You mean bahasa version of FSM's website?
ya
ohcipala
post Feb 4 2016, 10:54 PM

1,338 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Feb 4 2016, 10:47 PM)
ya
I don't think there is. Maybe you can suggest to FSM to create a BM version. But still, it will be difficult for your friend to do DIY investment coz most of the articles are in English. Even fund fact sheet and annual report also in English
adamdacutie
post Feb 4 2016, 11:16 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(ohcipala @ Feb 4 2016, 09:24 PM)
I don't think there is. Maybe you can suggest to FSM to create a BM version. But still, it will be difficult for your friend to do DIY investment coz most of the articles are in English. Even fund fact sheet and annual report also in English
Time to learn english .. tell him that

144 Pages « < 117 118 119 120 121 > » Top

0.0255sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 10:39 PM