Where is the recommended place to buy folding bike in KL area?
Reasonable price of course
Folding Bicycles v5 - Not only Folding Bikes, Folding bicycle discussion
Dec 29 2015, 08:37 PM
13 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
Where is the recommended place to buy folding bike in KL area?
Reasonable price of course |
Dec 29 2015, 11:30 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
295 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
QUOTE(chongkiat @ Dec 29 2015, 08:37 PM) The top 3 are USJ Cycles, then My Bike Shop in Bandar Utama 4 and 3rd, Kimbell Jaya in Cheras Perdana. My suggestion, first go USJ Cycles and check out the prices, then check out My Bike Shop but don't commit first. Then finally visit Kimbell Jaya and then ask for the best price and freebies and then Voila! Make your choice from the 3 shops. |
Dec 30 2015, 10:31 AM
208 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(desastar @ Dec 29 2015, 06:31 PM) Ok, I don't know how you guys do it. I hired a bike to cycle around in Georgetown this morning at 10am and it soooo hot. I was completely drenched in just an hour, and the traffic was so bad. Wanted to cycle by the ocean but ran out of time. I think I'll bring my own bike next time. I don't know bout Penang but these 3 days in KL were hotter than usual during the day, like hot hot heaty. Dropped by Chin Aik. Nice shop but no parts for upgrades? QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Dec 29 2015, 06:34 PM) u had bag around ur bike?if u got try to find t3 light usb that use a powerbank for its power.price around rm45-55 (without powerbank of coz) if im not mistaken and its really bright.. Azam, I don't have bag around my bike, very minimal, do we have to store the powerbank on the bike while using? seems a bit mafan. or is it rechargeable via powerbank? I'll google and see, thanks ya. im using that one for now and really bang for money.just my 2 cents generally, how many lumen is recommended for a bike light to cycle at night? oh and anybody have experience buy from http://bikelah.com/ ? review please This post has been edited by o.d: Dec 30 2015, 10:34 AM |
Dec 30 2015, 02:29 PM
974 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
Dec 31 2015, 06:08 AM
42 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
QUOTE(o.d @ Dec 30 2015, 10:31 AM) I don't know bout Penang but these 3 days in KL were hotter than usual during the day, like hot hot heaty. Cycling on a busy road is stressful esp when you are fighting for space with buses, cars and motorcycles. Georgetown is an old place and there will never be enough room for a bike lane. Some streets have so many tourists walking around that they should really close them off to traffic. Dangerous mix. |
Dec 31 2015, 09:42 AM
208 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(desastar @ Dec 31 2015, 06:08 AM) Cycling on a busy road is stressful esp when you are fighting for space with buses, cars and motorcycles. Georgetown is an old place and there will never be enough room for a bike lane. Some streets have so many tourists walking around that they should really close them off to traffic. Dangerous mix. yeah couldn't agree more with you. Unfortunately Malaysia still have a very long way to go to adopt cycling as a lifestyle to make it worth it for the country to change the infrastructure for cyclist. There's community though in KL that work on mapping bicycle routes so you can choose the best route. Like when I first tried cycling to komuter to office, I use the car road as I don't know any other way, and like you said, very stressful and tiring because cars and even motorcycle unwilling to share the road. I did couple of times and just dread it, so no motivation to continue. Then I share this reason why I didn't do it to the community and one of the guys who happen to be know the area where I need to cycle to get to office send me alternative route google map going through jalan dalam kampung, housing areas etc. I tried that and enjoy it, so much less stress and relax2 cycle to office, no sweat. now I try to cycle once a week but will try to do more, perhaps everyday since the lrt & komuter fares are now also quite expensive.Here is the FB page for the mapping community in KL, not sure if somebody has start for Penang. https://www.facebook.com/groups/CyclingKualaLumpur/?fref=ts This post has been edited by o.d: Dec 31 2015, 09:56 AM |
Dec 31 2015, 11:27 AM
QUOTE(desastar @ Dec 31 2015, 06:08 AM) Cycling on a busy road is stressful esp when you are fighting for space with buses, cars and motorcycles. Georgetown is an old place and there will never be enough room for a bike lane. Some streets have so many tourists walking around that they should really close them off to traffic. Dangerous mix. Sadly that's true. The local government can't even provide proper FIVE FOOT WAYS, let alone cycling lanes. When I took up mountain biking again, many folding bikers were telling me that's dangerous and extreme. In actual, there are many branches in mountain biking as well. I took the least extreme ones and that's cross country which usually try as much to ride on laterites, sandy trails or fire trails or even within plantation trails and off and on on tarmacs. This is actually much much safer than riding on our roads. In mountain biking if you fall, off course you will be hurt but usually not fatal, maybe bruises, that is off course you don't go try 4 or 5 foot jumps. In my case , it is just riding under more shady trees rather than hot tarmacs. Also no lorries or vehicles to look out for. I will be moving to Taiping in the next few months and maybe in Taiping I will get another folding bike and will ride around the villages around there and also join the Penang cycling community for their outskirts ride. Imagine, my place is just 10 kilometers from Kuala Sepetang on the desolate road. I can have my breakfast in Sepetang daily, hahahaa. |
Dec 31 2015, 11:40 AM
5,907 posts Joined: Dec 2012 From: Taiping,Perak |
QUOTE(etigge @ Dec 31 2015, 11:27 AM) Sadly that's true. They shud learn frm Sabah btw. Kota Kinabalu mostly have dedicated lanes for bicycle along the busy road,they even build lanes along the coastline at kk town.The local government can't even provide proper FIVE FOOT WAYS, let alone cycling lanes. When I took up mountain biking again, many folding bikers were telling me that's dangerous and extreme. In actual, there are many branches in mountain biking as well. I took the least extreme ones and that's cross country which usually try as much to ride on laterites, sandy trails or fire trails or even within plantation trails and off and on on tarmacs. This is actually much much safer than riding on our roads. In mountain biking if you fall, off course you will be hurt but usually not fatal, maybe bruises, that is off course you don't go try 4 or 5 foot jumps. In my case , it is just riding under more shady trees rather than hot tarmacs. Also no lorries or vehicles to look out for. I will be moving to Taiping in the next few months and maybe in Taiping I will get another folding bike and will ride around the villages around there and also join the Penang cycling community for their outskirts ride. Imagine, my place is just 10 kilometers from Kuala Sepetang on the desolate road. I can have my breakfast in Sepetang daily, hahahaa. Taiping where ? |
Dec 31 2015, 11:45 AM
QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Dec 31 2015, 11:40 AM) They shud learn frm Sabah btw. Kota Kinabalu mostly have dedicated lanes for bicycle along the busy road,they even build lanes along the coastline at kk town. Not advisible to ride at night lorrr. Taiping where ? |
Dec 31 2015, 01:47 PM
Hey I bought a pair of Schwalbe Marathon Supreme from Rodalink. RM50 each, good price I thought?
Dec 31 2015, 08:40 PM
Dec 31 2015, 09:30 PM
Jan 1 2016, 01:45 AM
15 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
![]() |
Jan 2 2016, 06:19 PM
9 posts Joined: Dec 2015 |
QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Dec 27 2015, 11:36 AM) I'm noob in bike and I got a second hand P20. It is my second bike after a short while with the Link D8. With the tyre and more gears, it ride much more lighter (to pedal) and climb easier than the D8. Not that much faster tho. Mmm.... one of the seller intro me to the new Link D16 (2015 version) which claims to be "The King of Hills" ...lol.... pricing wise almost half of Verge P20 price. I'm thinking back, maybe true to get this D16 then only if needed then upgrade the components slowly. |
Jan 2 2016, 09:19 PM
1,198 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
QUOTE(sang siput @ Jan 2 2016, 06:19 PM) Mmm.... one of the seller intro me to the new Link D16 (2015 version) which claims to be "The King of Hills" ...lol.... pricing wise almost half of Verge P20 price. I'm thinking back, maybe true to get this D16 then only if needed then upgrade the components slowly. Ride wise, I can't really tell the difference between the Link and Verge body. Component wise, the P20 definitely has better shifter, derailleur, crankset, spoke, break system... which I don't think I will upgrade them until they break. I am thinking of changing the wheelset to something like rkhairulrijal is having. |
Jan 3 2016, 10:16 PM
9 posts Joined: Dec 2015 |
Finally bought Link D16. Test ride at Taman Botanic Shah Alam.... quite smooth and fast. Less suffering when climb hill. Between, saw from Tern website, is it true that Tern extending to 10 years warranty for the bicycles?
Jan 4 2016, 02:58 AM
15 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
Jan 4 2016, 09:24 AM
648 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: Bukit Mertajam Penang |
Jan 4 2016, 09:44 AM
QUOTE(266K @ Jan 4 2016, 09:24 AM) Very nice Durability wise, the regular spoked wheels would be better. If you want lightest and "fastest" then these ones lor.I prefer regular well maintained wheelset but good bearings are the most important to me. |
Jan 4 2016, 11:51 AM
QUOTE(266K @ Jan 4 2016, 09:24 AM) Very nice If you like the design, there's one set for sale for RM700 in BBS. Taken out from the Dahon MU SLX. He didn't mention it but I can recognise the white rims. It's cheap if you ask me as the Kinetic Pro is about 2K now and the Litepro similar version slightly above 1K. There's also a set of Machete wheelset in BBS which is quite popular in Singapore.The rims are made stronger for the lesser spokes but the lesser spokes makes it very hard to true back again if it is knocked hard! |
| Change to: | 0.0273sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:16 AM |