I wanna ask, if classic bike like this, usually only single gear. is it possible to make it to have gears? for climbing general housing area hilly places:
I always like the classic look but usually they only have single speed.
Folding Bicycles v5 - Not only Folding Bikes, Folding bicycle discussion
Dec 9 2015, 02:30 PM
208 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Dec 15 2015, 11:22 AM
QUOTE(desastar @ Dec 9 2015, 07:51 PM) If the bike is only single speed, then you are unlikely to have a rear derailleur mount. Easiest would be to get a hub gear, maybe a three speed and they will give you a wider range. I have a modern single speed and I can get to most places, so you'll need to know where you ride and accept its limitations. thanks for answering |
Dec 29 2015, 04:58 PM
Hello and Happy Holiday friends,
WTA, anybody have experience buying from http://bikelah.com/ ? ok or not? looking to buy head light. Can recommend me decent headlight under rm100? is cateye volt 100 enough? I just sometimes cycle into dusk/night time when coming back from office. Thanks. |
Dec 30 2015, 10:31 AM
QUOTE(desastar @ Dec 29 2015, 06:31 PM) Ok, I don't know how you guys do it. I hired a bike to cycle around in Georgetown this morning at 10am and it soooo hot. I was completely drenched in just an hour, and the traffic was so bad. Wanted to cycle by the ocean but ran out of time. I think I'll bring my own bike next time. I don't know bout Penang but these 3 days in KL were hotter than usual during the day, like hot hot heaty. Dropped by Chin Aik. Nice shop but no parts for upgrades? QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Dec 29 2015, 06:34 PM) u had bag around ur bike?if u got try to find t3 light usb that use a powerbank for its power.price around rm45-55 (without powerbank of coz) if im not mistaken and its really bright.. Azam, I don't have bag around my bike, very minimal, do we have to store the powerbank on the bike while using? seems a bit mafan. or is it rechargeable via powerbank? I'll google and see, thanks ya. im using that one for now and really bang for money.just my 2 cents generally, how many lumen is recommended for a bike light to cycle at night? oh and anybody have experience buy from http://bikelah.com/ ? review please This post has been edited by o.d: Dec 30 2015, 10:34 AM |
Dec 31 2015, 09:42 AM
QUOTE(desastar @ Dec 31 2015, 06:08 AM) Cycling on a busy road is stressful esp when you are fighting for space with buses, cars and motorcycles. Georgetown is an old place and there will never be enough room for a bike lane. Some streets have so many tourists walking around that they should really close them off to traffic. Dangerous mix. yeah couldn't agree more with you. Unfortunately Malaysia still have a very long way to go to adopt cycling as a lifestyle to make it worth it for the country to change the infrastructure for cyclist. There's community though in KL that work on mapping bicycle routes so you can choose the best route. Like when I first tried cycling to komuter to office, I use the car road as I don't know any other way, and like you said, very stressful and tiring because cars and even motorcycle unwilling to share the road. I did couple of times and just dread it, so no motivation to continue. Then I share this reason why I didn't do it to the community and one of the guys who happen to be know the area where I need to cycle to get to office send me alternative route google map going through jalan dalam kampung, housing areas etc. I tried that and enjoy it, so much less stress and relax2 cycle to office, no sweat. now I try to cycle once a week but will try to do more, perhaps everyday since the lrt & komuter fares are now also quite expensive.Here is the FB page for the mapping community in KL, not sure if somebody has start for Penang. https://www.facebook.com/groups/CyclingKualaLumpur/?fref=ts This post has been edited by o.d: Dec 31 2015, 09:56 AM |
| Change to: | 0.1021sec
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:25 PM |