170 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V18, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

SUShuaweie5830
post Dec 15 2015, 01:57 PM

967 posts

QUOTE(the99percent1 @ Dec 15 2015, 01:33 PM)
Sg economy is not as rosy as you think.. sure, the exchange rate is good. But you are coming in under some really difficult circumstances.

For one, youll need a work permit, which costs a bomb and your job can be easily filled by a local.

Those of us here are probably cheap labour. And since you are competing with the Indians and Filipinos expect to work doubly hard.

Now combine this with miserable pay and living conditions, it's a guess why anyone wants to come here to slog it out. Haha

I've been searching for jobs back in kl. If one can offer my asking rate, I'll jump. Sg is not fun. No joke.
Got so bad meh

How much ur salary ? Working field ? And where you stay

I so far so good , leas stress oso , except i vomit blood everytime see the prop price doh.gif cant afford it
titarium
post Dec 15 2015, 02:18 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 15 2015, 11:55 AM)
I wanted to but nobody wants to hire me. cry.gif
I tried submitting my profile via LinkedIn but no favorable replies. Well, to be fair I only chose those international companies. blush.gif
Applying job to SG really have to depend on luck , I have friends submitted hundreds of application , only a few calls came back , if you are dead serious just keep trying.

The easier route is to get referral , to be refer to a certain company or position , that would be easier especially the company had went through some candidates and didn't find a suitable one.

SUSthe99percent1
post Dec 15 2015, 02:24 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Dec 15 2015, 01:57 PM)
Got so bad meh

How much ur salary ? Working field ? And where you stay

I so far so good , leas stress oso , except i vomit blood everytime see the prop priceĀ  doh.gif cant afford it
High salary also got eaten by rent. Unless you go rent a small room with two random..

I'm on epass, so not affected by the levy. However, Spass levy is now up to 500 per month.. if you are on spass, the maximum salary you can ever get is 2800 sgd/month. Else, the company better off applying epass as minimum for that is salaried worker of 3300sgd/month with no levy.

Unfortunately for me, I have Indian colleagues on spass. So my boss being the typical stingy businessman decides to assign more work to us. The Indians will never push back.. they are obedient, listen to whatever you say types. So even if you reject the extra workload, you are forced to take on in other ways such as managing the Indians who now are overloaded and can't complete the tasks you assign them to do.. it's a lose lose game as everyone races to the bottom.

MoM rules are not rewarding for workers.. if you run a business, sg is good. But for salaried employees, life is difficult and hard.
Now, businesses are deciding to cut profit margins to kill their competitors or business in general is heading into that direction. Like I say, it is a race to the bottom.

Don't be fooled by the claims you can make 10k sgd a month. For every 1 person earning that much, there are 1000s on cheap, foreign labour..especially Malaysians.

Singaporeans have it the worst as no-one is protecting them from the invasion of cheap, foreign labour. Irony.. as msia gov is too hard in protecting the majority Malays, but sg gov is too soft in protecting the majority Chinese. There need to be a middle ground

This post has been edited by the99percent1: Dec 15 2015, 02:35 PM
fruitie
post Dec 15 2015, 02:35 PM

Rise and Shine
72,771 posts

QUOTE(the99percent1 @ Dec 15 2015, 01:33 PM)
Sg economy is not as rosy as you think.. sure, the exchange rate is good. But you are coming in under some really difficult circumstances.

For one, youll need a work permit, which costs a bomb and your job can be easily filled by a local.

Those of us here are probably cheap labour. And since you are competing with the Indians and Filipinos expect to work doubly hard.

Now combine this with miserable pay and living conditions, it's a guess why anyone wants to come here to slog it out. Haha

I've been searching for jobs back in kl. If one can offer my asking rate, I'll jump. Sg is not fun. No joke.
Understood but I just want to have a try only. laugh.gif
Maybe I will go back to Beijing, I was there for a few months for assignment. I have internal positions that I can apply there. tongue.gif

QUOTE(titarium @ Dec 15 2015, 02:18 PM)
Applying job to SG really have to depend on luck , I have friends submitted hundreds of application , only a few calls came back , if you are dead serious just keep trying.

The easier route is to get referral , to be refer to a certain company or position , that would be easier especially the company had went through some candidates and didn't find a suitable one.
I am actually looking for my own company's internal position in SG. laugh.gif
I will try. biggrin.gif
Current salary in KL is kinda not bad, more than enough for a single like me but I want more. laugh.gif
SUShuaweie5830
post Dec 15 2015, 02:43 PM

967 posts

QUOTE(the99percent1 @ Dec 15 2015, 02:24 PM)
High salary also got eaten by rent. Unless you go rent a small room with two random..

I'm on epass, so not affected by the levy. However, Spass levy is now up to 500 per month.. if you are on spass, the maximum salary you can ever get is 2800 sgd/month. Else, the company better off applying epass as minimum for that is salaried worker of 3300sgd/month with no levy.

Unfortunately for me, I have Indian colleagues on spass. So my boss being the typical stingy businessman decides to assign more work to us. The Indians will never push back.. they are obedient, listen to whatever you say types. So even if you reject the extra workload, you are forced to take on in other ways such as managing the Indians who now are overloaded and can't complete the tasks you assign them to do.. it's a lose lose game as everyone races to the bottom.

MoM rules are not rewarding for workers.. if you run a business, sg is good. But for salaried employees, life is difficult and hard.
Now, businesses are deciding to cut profit margins to kill their competitors or business in general is heading into that direction. Like I say, it is a race to the bottom.

Don't be fooled by the claims you can make 10k sgd a month. For every 1 person earning that much, there are 1000s on cheap, foreign labour..especially Malaysians.

Singaporeans have it the worst as no-one is protecting them from the invasion of cheap, foreign labour. Irony.. as msia gov is too hard in protecting the majority Malays, but sg gov is too soft in protecting the majority Chinese. There need to be a middle ground
maybe is the company culture , try changing company, it might help u
titarium
post Dec 15 2015, 03:19 PM

683 posts

Well please define high salary .

your claim is abit exaggerated , here in SG I have met 2 FT turn into Business owners , 1 from Myammar and another from India, they have started as labours as well , real kuli level work them self up and prove to strive. One in Automation another in Electrical Field.

There's a limitation on so call foreign cheap labor , as MOM limits and control the WP count also have set a minimum salary bench mark , which also explans why there's older generation working in fast food chains, limited Man power and tight in making ends meet for retirement ( but probably half work just to spend their time , don't be amazed a McD worker is able to travel overseas on a yearly basis and easily meeting daily usage) .

My opinion is the other way round , run a business MY (especially foreign business) is a better place forever blue / white collar SG is a better place. Kuli ?! of course SG better , any foreigner after 3 months pay easily afford a smart phone !

Those who made an effort to come to SG typically their pay will be 2 - 5 k range , above 5k is consider mid high income (which is also a borderline for HDB purchase ) , reaching 8k above basically financially quite well off (car is not an issue) .

Labour Work from Malaysia generally are working in food courts , counters , low-mid manufacturing factories, electrician , plumber , C&S works
High-end Labor : Machinist , Welder , Crane Operator

A factory worker in and out of SG , typical they compare : working in Senai : 1,1 MYR and while SG - 1k SGD , both are similar factory working condition. In your case which will you choose ?

For professionals they have more things to take into consideration , a change to SG may be a change of life style , anyone started to work in Penang or KL with a decent salary may suffer for the first few months , as savings are shrunk , no car , small room (on rent) , life style cut down / change .

So my advice Malaysian to SG start young, things will get very sticky if you are older especially with family or even starting fam planning or with kids.

Best is come to SG with Expat package ! usually 8k above pay , lodging allowance , and some transport allowance or even a car !
titarium
post Dec 15 2015, 03:48 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(alvincks @ Dec 14 2015, 12:09 AM)

For your transfer pay should be sufficient to bring family over , 70 - 80 % of your MY pay are the common package, better still if your wife is working ,

kids education should take about : 1-2k ( depend on age) .
Daily meals ( Not too fancy) : 1.5 k
Rental ( a HDB ) : 2-3k (depending on location)
Moving your family : Dependent pass
Tax : Only income Tax ( next is GST which paid whenever you pay)
PR : after receiving pay for 6 month ( but alot recommend that to do it after paying your first income tax )

May be abit tight but is better if your wife is able to work as well , else wife full time housewife cut off day care and mostly home cook easily can save 1k + -

Since you have a family it is a better choice to stay in SG, to me is not worth the travelling time especially if you can have middle income above range in SG ,
4 hours daily commuting * 5 day = 20 hours a week on the road (in my opinion isn't worth it )
Spend your time for yourself and with family = something you can't exchange with money.
Staying in Johor makes it difficult to OT
*unless work place around Tuas or Woodlands may have a chance to cut down to 2-3 hours border crossing time

Just be mentally prepare = a smaller place for your family , in exchange for a safer environment and a better education system (never mind the Kiasu scoring comparison that's constantly going on )

deodorant
post Dec 15 2015, 04:04 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

fruitie It would have been easier 4 years ago when you had 2 years exp smile.gif Anyway without a cable of some sort it's not that easy nowadays unless you've got very specialized skills. Since your company has an SG office I think your best bet will be to try get an internal move of some sort.

the99percent1 are you high or something? Off hand I can name a half dozen ppl in this thread who are 200++++k per annum: the mac kid, the 1987 guy, Fiona, seantang, Viking, jitshiong.

And then a few others who are high 1xx k: kykhor, reign, chanti sama.

All big bucks got SG condo/HDB SG car SG bike, waifu got LV shake legs be tai tai raise the kids

This post has been edited by deodorant: Dec 15 2015, 04:06 PM
SUShuaweie5830
post Dec 15 2015, 04:05 PM

967 posts

i think really no point argue about the power of sgd vs myr power

both got pros and cons , like high prop price in sg

but i truthfully feel that working in sg not as stress as everyone said

at least 80 to 90% of the time i can lepas kerja on time

lol

fruitie
post Dec 15 2015, 04:09 PM

Rise and Shine
72,771 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 15 2015, 04:04 PM)
fruitie It would have been easier 4 years ago when you had 2 years exp smile.gif Anyway without a cable of some sort it's not that easy nowadays unless you've got very specialized skills. Since your company has an SG office I think your best bet will be to try get an internal move of some sort.
I know right. sad.gif
Yes, we are a global company so it has presence in almost all countries around the world, I really want to move out from this country and earn more. biggrin.gif
I guess I will just glue my eyes to the internal positions while praying hard for my SG counterpart to have a better offer elsewhere, so that I replace her. laugh.gif
madmoz
post Dec 15 2015, 04:52 PM

4,250 posts

What would be a good place to stay if I were to commute to somewhere around Anson road?
Would 2k SGD be enough to cover rental for one, preferably either a studio or single bedroom furnished apartment?
TQ in advance.
incx
post Dec 15 2015, 04:57 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Dec 15 2015, 04:52 PM)
What would be a good place to stay if I were to commute to somewhere around Anson road?
Would 2k SGD be enough to cover rental for one, preferably either a studio or single bedroom furnished apartment?
TQ in advance.
SGD2K rental for a single person is definitely more than enough. Unless you have exquisite taste.
SUSthe99percent1
post Dec 15 2015, 05:10 PM

381 posts

All I can say is you are lucky the bangla hasn't replaced you yet. No offense to them.. they are just making an honest living.

But if they were capable enough to do your job, for a quarter of your salary.. well, capitalism and free market economy takes over.
vikingw2k
post Dec 15 2015, 05:41 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(the99percent1 @ Dec 15 2015, 05:10 PM)
All I can say is you are lucky the bangla hasn't replaced you yet. No offense to them.. they are just making an honest living.

But if they were capable enough to do your job, for a quarter of your salary.. well, capitalism and free market economy takes over.
Then you gotta upgrade yourself and equip with extra skills where not any bangla can do. That's the rule of survival.
Fiona Chin
post Dec 15 2015, 05:59 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(the99percent1 @ Dec 15 2015, 05:10 PM)

We also making honest living leh. Just small people living humble day to day life. Don't mock me leh.

If others progress more, should be happy for them, not jealous. Hidup Banglasia, thanks MY gahmen for giving them a chance for living like what they did for our ancestors escaping from Cina last time.
bristlebb
post Dec 15 2015, 06:00 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Dec 15 2015, 04:05 PM)
i think really no point argue about the power of sgd vs myr power

both got pros and cons , like high prop price in sg

but i truthfully feel that working in sg not as stress as everyone said

at least 80 to 90% of the time i can lepas kerja on time

lol
mind to know what is your kerja? biggrin.gif
madmoz
post Dec 15 2015, 06:01 PM

4,250 posts

QUOTE(incx @ Dec 15 2015, 04:57 PM)
SGD2K rental for a single person is definitely more than enough. Unless you have exquisite taste.
Which areas should I be looking at? TQ.
alhelmy
post Dec 15 2015, 06:03 PM

5,620 posts

Singapore govt is not soft in protecting the majority Chinese, it is just that they have low birth rates and they need to import foreign workers to keep the economy going. Malaysians should see this as a somewhat advantage because they can get a job in Singapore.

"Somewhat" because the golden years of the past is gone, Malaysians now have to compete with Indians, Filipinos, Sri Lankans, and a whole of foreign labour for jobs, both professional and blue collar work.

SUShuaweie5830
post Dec 15 2015, 06:08 PM

967 posts

QUOTE(bristlebb @ Dec 15 2015, 06:00 PM)
mind to know what is your kerja? biggrin.gif
normal office
KilJim
post Dec 15 2015, 06:15 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

Think I recall a post from you a couple months back that you're doing pretty well for your age
What happened since then?

170 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0333sec    0.87    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:29 AM