QUOTE(tattat @ Nov 12 2015, 03:23 PM)
But right now, most of the tickets are sold out. Any other bus provider that I can book online? Or I just have to go to Golden Mile Complex to book one?
easybook.comWorking in Singapore V18, All About Living in The Little Red Dot
Nov 12 2015, 11:48 PM
381 posts Joined: Aug 2014 |
Nov 13 2015, 09:39 PM
QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Nov 13 2015, 06:09 PM) funny coz I feel pretty ok all the years. nothing much to suffer, work is work. Singaporeans or Malaysians all the same to me. probably I'm in a small Co. , that's why. Depends.. my boss have told me that I'm outright competing with the Indians...Ft do get treated differently than local Sg.. rightly so, you are here because of your talents and it is competitive. At the end of the day, the cream always rises. |
Dec 6 2015, 12:36 AM
QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Dec 4 2015, 06:09 PM) i think uber for emergency standby is not acceptable , however still a good idea If your only purpose to buy a car is to drive back to kl, forget it.. better take bus or flight. Save u thousands every month.my oni purpose is to drive back to kl hometown driving in sg is too expensive to me, ERP + petrol price + parking damn |
Dec 15 2015, 01:33 PM
Sg economy is not as rosy as you think.. sure, the exchange rate is good. But you are coming in under some really difficult circumstances.
For one, youll need a work permit, which costs a bomb and your job can be easily filled by a local. Those of us here are probably cheap labour. And since you are competing with the Indians and Filipinos expect to work doubly hard. Now combine this with miserable pay and living conditions, it's a guess why anyone wants to come here to slog it out. Haha I've been searching for jobs back in kl. If one can offer my asking rate, I'll jump. Sg is not fun. No joke. This post has been edited by the99percent1: Dec 15 2015, 01:35 PM |
Dec 15 2015, 02:24 PM
QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Dec 15 2015, 01:57 PM) Got so bad meh High salary also got eaten by rent. Unless you go rent a small room with two random..How much ur salary ? Working field ? And where you stay I so far so good , leas stress oso , except i vomit blood everytime see the prop priceĀ I'm on epass, so not affected by the levy. However, Spass levy is now up to 500 per month.. if you are on spass, the maximum salary you can ever get is 2800 sgd/month. Else, the company better off applying epass as minimum for that is salaried worker of 3300sgd/month with no levy. Unfortunately for me, I have Indian colleagues on spass. So my boss being the typical stingy businessman decides to assign more work to us. The Indians will never push back.. they are obedient, listen to whatever you say types. So even if you reject the extra workload, you are forced to take on in other ways such as managing the Indians who now are overloaded and can't complete the tasks you assign them to do.. it's a lose lose game as everyone races to the bottom. MoM rules are not rewarding for workers.. if you run a business, sg is good. But for salaried employees, life is difficult and hard. Now, businesses are deciding to cut profit margins to kill their competitors or business in general is heading into that direction. Like I say, it is a race to the bottom. Don't be fooled by the claims you can make 10k sgd a month. For every 1 person earning that much, there are 1000s on cheap, foreign labour..especially Malaysians. Singaporeans have it the worst as no-one is protecting them from the invasion of cheap, foreign labour. Irony.. as msia gov is too hard in protecting the majority Malays, but sg gov is too soft in protecting the majority Chinese. There need to be a middle ground This post has been edited by the99percent1: Dec 15 2015, 02:35 PM |
Dec 15 2015, 05:10 PM
All I can say is you are lucky the bangla hasn't replaced you yet. No offense to them.. they are just making an honest living.
But if they were capable enough to do your job, for a quarter of your salary.. well, capitalism and free market economy takes over. |
Dec 15 2015, 06:53 PM
QUOTE(KilJim @ Dec 15 2015, 06:15 PM) Think I recall a post from you a couple months back that you're doing pretty well for your age U sure me? Mhaha.. well, I think for msian, yes, doing decent and stable. Now need to think where I'm heading and next year I definitely should increase my salary. But I'm handicapped because there are FT above and below me on spass. Ie earning less than 2.8k/month. And this is industry wide.. So me, on epass am stuck in no mans land. Can't ask for more from current company due to easily replace me with cheap FT and I can't jump because other companies won't willing to pay my salary.. What happened since then? And this is the fact for a lot of pass holders starting out or have 3-5 years working experience.. we are trapped. I've been trying to convert to pr, but to no avail thus far. I think once you become pr, you are no longer tied to the merciless permit system and free to move around. Until then, salary is significantly surpressed and is frustrating. This post has been edited by the99percent1: Dec 15 2015, 07:03 PM |
Dec 16 2015, 09:15 AM
Dec 16 2015, 10:30 AM
QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Dec 16 2015, 10:05 AM) Not like I wanted to come here also.. company seconded me back to sg. Kicking and screaming. But since I was here, thought why not make it. Situation in msia is getting worst and worst everyday. And having sg experience also looks good on resume. End up now become kuli. This post has been edited by the99percent1: Dec 16 2015, 10:31 AM |
Dec 16 2015, 07:25 PM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 16 2015, 01:30 PM) So if I interpret it correctly, you were high flyer six figure per annum salary in Malaysia with Rolex & luxury car, then came over to SG against your will and now can't compete with the s$40-s$50k pa S Pass FTs? Ya, haha. I was lucky that salary in kl was also sg rate. After conversion, I was out earning even managerial level in kl.. No debts or commitment and lots of disposal income for 2 years, it wasn't hard for me to save up to buy the car and watches. Can compete, but spass holder isn't making more than me, whilst doing the same kuli job. Hence, I'm stuck. Lol. Until I convert to pr, then may ask for more. With the minimum salary of epass so close to spass, sg companies are just abusing it only.. sad but true. Imo, they should abolish the minimum salary on epass as too controlling and counter productive. Award epass based on recognized degree, position in company and experience whilst make Spass strictly for blue collar or diploma holder. That way, there is no abuse of it. No one above supervisor level should be on spass. This post has been edited by the99percent1: Dec 16 2015, 07:38 PM |
Dec 17 2015, 09:23 AM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 17 2015, 07:23 AM) To be blunt, your blame on the work pass system as the cause of your woes smells like an attempt to shirk personal responsibility. If you don't have the necessary skillset (education, experience, charisma, etc etc) to grow your career on EP now, it won't be any different if you are a PR or even SC in the future. Wow.. just wow.Where's that flame shield of mine. You sound like a typical yes man. I made a reasonable suggestion on how they can improve the permit system. If you had an ounce of critical thinking, you'd see it as a fair assessment of the system in it's current form. But no, only a yes man would close his eyes, put his fingers in his ears and scream "I don't wanna hear about this suggestion; it challenges my beliefs." So act ignorant or indifferent to the woes of people who actually have to live through the system and make a living from it for all I care. It makes zero difference to my life. Next time you go off on that angle, do a proper analysis of where the Fuck that person is coming from before attacking the persons. That was seriously uncalled for. Anyways, continue living in your tin foiled wrapped mansion of yours. God knows how hard you've work to earn it. Slow clap for the keyboard warrior, you sir, win the internet today. This post has been edited by the99percent1: Dec 17 2015, 09:31 AM |
Dec 17 2015, 10:26 AM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 17 2015, 09:37 AM) Don't be such a baby. Already work the better part of a decade still can't take criticism? I'm not commenting on your "suggestions to improve the permit system." I'm merely disputing your assertion that the permit system is the barrier to your growth. what do you know of my accomplishments, experience, qualifications and skill to make such a judgement call? Your posts imply that "If only you were a PR, then your growth wouldn't be held back by all the kuli FT S-Pass holders doing your job for less pay," to which I say bullshit. It's exactly as you claimed in an earlier post - "The cream always rises." The question you need to figure out the answer to is, are you the cream, or are you the milk? And if you're the milk, what aspect of your profile is stopping you from becoming cream? Identify it and then fix it. And no, the "lack of a PR" is not one of those aspects. Has it ever occurred to you that out of 20 people in kl operations, why was I the only one to not be let go and furthermore, brought into sg under all costs? You know nothing about me to make a suggestion.. Heck, what do you know of my field or industry to be able to even suggest anything? For someone who supposedly is earning a lot of money, haven't youve learnt to keep your opinions to yourself? I know what is best for myself. If I say pr is the next route for me if I want to progress here in sg, then that is what I will do.. |
Jan 4 2016, 09:51 PM
QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jan 2 2016, 02:46 PM) [attachmentid=5679054] Damn.. looks like fun. Enjoiii.There will be a up-coming BBQ session for all Malaysian's kulis currently working in Sg. It will be held on 16th Jan 2016 Saturday evening at Pasir Ris. Those who are interested, kindy PM Lester1987 or deodorant. Non-refundable s$25/pax will be collected upfront, on first-cum-first-serve basis, we can only accommodate another 5 ppl max as we already have 20+ confirmed regulars. |
Mar 7 2016, 06:28 PM
Mar 10 2016, 12:01 PM
Mar 14 2016, 10:49 AM
Mar 20 2016, 03:18 PM
QUOTE(WallChecker @ Mar 20 2016, 02:30 AM) Thanks to everyone keeping this thread useful and informative You pay a 15% flat rate if work less than 183 days in sg.I wanted to check on tax resident and non-resident, I used the calculator and roughly understand how it works. In Malaysia, MTD/PCB is done by Employer on monthly basis in which we receive nett salary in our bank account. So same goes to Expat where they are taxed as Non-resident monthly for first 6 months and receive refund when they perform tax filling. Is it the same in Singapore? I am asking to ensure that I have sufficient income to cover for the first 6 months. However, can request a refund if you stay longer ie long term resident. |
Mar 28 2016, 06:46 PM
QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Mar 28 2016, 06:16 PM) wao, to be station back in malaysia is the best choice ever I took that package.. was fun for a year bur later will regret to the max when company move u back to sg on low package..i hope some company will offer me tat package, sgd salary while malaysia lifestyle |
Mar 29 2016, 10:25 AM
QUOTE(ahcab @ Mar 29 2016, 10:10 AM) yup, need to move back SG after 6+ months I say take the package, but later, discuss about accommodation and other allowances.. ur salary sure rugi one if they dont cover your singapore expenses.. quite worry about this, they say maybe need to take care the China site after this. its a trick to get good msian workers into singapore at a cheap rate. |
Apr 18 2016, 08:46 AM
QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Apr 16 2016, 09:34 AM) That was what my mum asked me to do a year back before the sudden drop in MYR. Don't transfer savings... if you want, can play with some money you are prepared to lose. best to leave in fd collect interest.Then after the drop I told her... See... Luckily I never transfer. Else even the interest give 10% also not enough cover. |
| Change to: | 0.0235sec
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 09:38 PM |