170 Pages « < 163 164 165 166 167 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V18, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

nothingz
post Jun 4 2016, 09:49 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Jun 4 2016, 09:46 PM)
Remittance can be waived if above certain amount and the rate is much better than dbs
as i know is 20k sgd. recently the cash and tt rate are quite a lot better than DBS
SUShuaweie5830
post Jun 4 2016, 09:53 PM

967 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ Jun 4 2016, 09:49 PM)
as i know is 20k sgd. recently the cash and tt rate are quite a lot better than DBS
No need 20k lah

I thought tt and remittance refer to same things ? laugh.gif laugh.gif my bad
nothingz
post Jun 4 2016, 09:57 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Jun 4 2016, 09:53 PM)
No need 20k lah

I thought tt and remittance refer to same things ? laugh.gif  laugh.gif my bad
the last time my colleague asked, Arcade Plaza Trader requires sgd 20k to waive the $10 service charge. Not sure bout Crown.

Yes, tt and remittance are the same at least for me. DBS Malaysia Remit did not give good rates recently
knwong
post Jun 5 2016, 01:16 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ Jun 4 2016, 09:49 PM)
I just remit. Above 10k no need service charge
LeslieKenny
post Jun 6 2016, 12:30 AM

68 posts

Looking for 1 male roommate:
- within walking distance of Boon Lay MRT
- $ 375 per month including utilities
- air cond room (1 room 2 person)

Pls pm me for more details. Thx
ndragon
post Jun 6 2016, 10:55 AM

noob~
2,000 posts

hi guys..
anyone of you bring a desktop over plane before? will have any security issue? just the desktop without monitor..
TechieGuy93
post Jun 6 2016, 05:09 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(ndragon @ Jun 6 2016, 10:55 AM)
hi guys..
anyone of you bring a desktop over plane before? will have any security issue? just the desktop without monitor..
As checked baggage no problem at all...

As carry on, well if it meets the allowed size then you can but you will prob have a lot of ppl looking weirdly at you and maybe you will make a couple of security agents giggle but you can do it smile.gif

I suggest detaching the hdd if mechanic so it doesnt take any "dry" hit, it might break..

This post has been edited by TechieGuy93: Jun 6 2016, 05:10 PM
The Net Surfer
post Jun 6 2016, 05:10 PM

332 posts

QUOTE(ndragon @ Jun 6 2016, 10:55 AM)
hi guys..
I guess it's not allowed to bring large piece of metal kind of stuffs go on board. It's due to security concern I presumed.
LeslieKenny
post Jun 6 2016, 11:50 PM

68 posts

Hey, sifus. May I know what is the significance of reporting residential address to MOM ? Let say, my landlord tell me that he will put my name under another address since his house tenant number exceed the specified no. Can I accept it ? Thanks.

funkyme
post Jun 6 2016, 11:59 PM

109 posts

eh guys. normally DBS remit exchange rate cut off time is what time a?
i heard ppl say if remit the next working day. the rate won't be as per shown
IwanAGP
post Jun 7 2016, 12:52 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(funkyme @ Jun 6 2016, 11:59 PM)
eh guys. normally DBS remit exchange rate cut off time is what time a?
i heard ppl say if remit the next working day. the rate won't be as per shown
5 or 5.30 can't remember either one.

Yes if you remit after the cut off time the rate will be a lot lower. Tried it once. Ain't going to do that again.

Just remit in the middle of the day then you're safe.
xyrotix
post Jun 7 2016, 04:36 AM

252 posts

job offer Rm3500 in malaysia and $2500 in sg .
Which one should i pick ?
TechieGuy93
post Jun 7 2016, 06:11 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(xyrotix @ Jun 7 2016, 04:36 AM)
If you ask me it's pretty obvious I would take the 2500 sgd just for the experience. But it doesnt go a long way.... pretty basic living smile.gif

This post has been edited by TechieGuy93: Jun 7 2016, 06:19 AM
knwong
post Jun 7 2016, 07:25 AM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(xyrotix @ Jun 7 2016, 04:36 AM)
Freshie? Don't look at money for now.

Aim long term, which one gives you CAREER GROWTH
IwanAGP
post Jun 7 2016, 08:08 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jun 7 2016, 07:25 AM)
Freshie? Don't look at money for now.

Aim long term, which one gives you CAREER GROWTH
Sometimes can't don't look at money now. Especially in Malaysia. 3.5k ain't a lot now haha... If a car is a must and has to pay rental then 3.5k probably just right without much savings doh.gif That can't be said for 2.5k in SG. Still can live a moderate life without starving or going extreme to save on food. Can still make quite a big sum of savings.
LeslieKenny
post Jun 7 2016, 08:54 AM

68 posts

Hey, sifus. May I know what is the significance of reporting residential address to MOM ? Let say, my landlord tell me that he will put my name under another address since his house tenant number exceed the specified no. Can I accept it ? Thanks.
deadravel
post Jun 7 2016, 10:27 AM

free RAM =wasted RAM
2,763 posts

QUOTE(LeslieKenny @ Jun 6 2016, 11:50 PM)
if nth happens. then nth will happens.
if something happens that involved u or the address u registered to. then u may be in trouble. touch wood sweat.gif
just imho, try avoid this complication if can.
madmoz
post Jun 7 2016, 11:05 AM

4,250 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Jun 7 2016, 08:08 AM)
Sometimes can't don't look at money now. Especially in Malaysia. 3.5k ain't a lot now haha... If a car is a must and has to pay rental then 3.5k probably just right without much savings doh.gif That can't be said for 2.5k in SG. Still can live a moderate life without starving or going extreme to save on food. Can still make quite a big sum of savings.
I'll attest to that. I basically supercharged my KL lifestyle, keep half my pay for the missus back home and still have a fair bit left of luxuries. In all I'd probably say 1/4 goes for living expenses, 1/2 for the missus/savings and the rest just sits there waiting for me to find something stupid and unnecessary to spend it on. Caveat though - I'm no spring chicken like most of you guys and the clubbing life's probably about 5 years or so behind me. Heard that that can be expensive.

edit: I also don't drive in SG, unlike in Malaysia. Don't miss driving, and enjoy not having to pay for petrol lol.

QUOTE(deadravel @ Jun 7 2016, 10:27 AM)
if nth happens. then nth will happens.
if something happens that involved u or the address u registered to. then u may be in trouble.  touch wood sweat.gif
just imho, try avoid this complication if can.
I'd err on the side of caution and find another place to stay really. It is a fine city after all lol.

This post has been edited by madmoz: Jun 7 2016, 11:11 AM
Freedom15
post Jun 7 2016, 11:33 AM

171 posts

Wan some feedback from sifus here...
If I am to bring protein supplement from Malaysia to Singapore, will I encounter any problem?
I am planning to go by bus...
I think it will be easier to just throw into check in luggage in flight, but I wanna explore the possibilities here...
Thanks in advance!
Frank3
post Jun 7 2016, 11:41 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(Freedom15 @ Jun 7 2016, 11:33 AM)
Wan some feedback from sifus here...
If I am to bring protein supplement from Malaysia to Singapore, will I encounter any problem?
I am planning to go by bus...
I think it will be easier to just throw into check in luggage in flight, but I wanna explore the possibilities here...
Thanks in advance!
It wont be problem, i always carry protein from Msia to SG, just remember to unseal it just in case the officer asking you.
I kena ask one time and i said the protein is for my own use and it open already, then they let me pass.

BTW i travel by bus.

This post has been edited by Frank3: Jun 7 2016, 11:41 AM

170 Pages « < 163 164 165 166 167 > » Top

0.0329sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:01 PM