Peugeot 408 Owners/ Fans Thread [V4], Motion & Emotion

djboycalvin
post Mar 18 2016, 10:55 AM

282 posts

QUOTE(sycluap @ Mar 18 2016, 10:50 AM)
Dear all Sifus,

I sent 408T for first inspection today. The Service Advisor shared a few tips with me, claiming it will prolong the durability of the car, I not sure if it's true. Opinion and advices welcomed.

1. Pump only RON97 - claiming if use only RON95, after 3 years the engine sure got problem.
2. Never use the fuel down to "E" only pump. Pump at least 1 quarter before empty - claiming this will prevent HPFP to last
3. Bring the car for service 1000-1500km before due and follow the service schedule religiously - claiming will prevent any breakdown.

How true are the claims?
1. RON95 shouldn't is a problem as some of our member use RON95 and so far so good.
2. not sure, normally i pump full when half tank (1 week once)
3. not necessary, as long not over 500km from your expected service mileage then is good. (to protect your warranty)

my 2 cents nod.gif
SKYjack
post Mar 18 2016, 03:56 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(sycluap @ Mar 18 2016, 10:50 AM)
Dear all Sifus,

I sent 408T for first inspection today. The Service Advisor shared a few tips with me, claiming it will prolong the durability of the car, I not sure if it's true. Opinion and advices welcomed.

1. Pump only RON97 - claiming if use only RON95, after 3 years the engine sure got problem.
2. Never use the fuel down to "E" only pump. Pump at least 1 quarter before empty - claiming this will prevent HPFP to last
3. Bring the car for service 1000-1500km before due and follow the service schedule religiously - claiming will prevent any breakdown.

How true are the claims?
I am one of the very early owners of 408t. My car is coming to the end of the 4th year. Here's my take on the above advice.

1. Is probably true for older series of Prince engine. Our version,EP6CDTM, has no problem with RON95.i've been on ron95 since day 1.
2. Good advice, top up at least when the fuel low light appears. Not a good idea to wait till empty.
3. Not true, but no harm. Preventive maintenance is always a good practice! Certainly follow service schedule religiously.
joonming
post Mar 19 2016, 10:41 PM

JM
540 posts

I just owned 408t car ..hehe. This is my first turbo car.
I wanna check with any Peugeot 408t owner here, is the engine sound very loud when still running?
I suspect especially when I on air-cond, the sound get louder.

Not sure is this normal.

This post has been edited by joonming: Mar 19 2016, 10:46 PM
wjchay
post Mar 20 2016, 08:36 PM

645 posts

QUOTE(joonming @ Mar 19 2016, 11:41 PM)

I wanna check with any Peugeot 408t owner here, is the engine sound very loud when still running?

Not sure is this normal.
Normal

ATEC
post Mar 21 2016, 05:13 PM

19 posts

13 Mac (Sunday), my air cond blower spoil, totally no air but lucky already at night.
Symtom, the aircond with "bird" sound.
14 Mac, send to Glenmarie SC and get the blower replaced the next day.
Claim under extended warranty and not sure what is the cost

Kanasai79
post Mar 22 2016, 05:10 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(ATEC @ Mar 21 2016, 05:13 PM)
13 Mac (Sunday), my air cond blower spoil, totally no air but lucky already at night.
Symtom, the aircond with "bird" sound.
14 Mac, send to Glenmarie SC and get the blower replaced the next day.
Claim under extended warranty and not sure what is the cost
That was fast thumbup.gif . I had to wait 2-3 weeks to get approval for compressor replacement under extended warranty and took another 1 week to get it replace by their outsourced center for air-con at PJ.

vmad.gif bangwall.gif
EP6CDTM
post Mar 22 2016, 10:47 PM

14 posts

it looks like almost all cars had their compressors replaced to date?
wjchay
post Mar 23 2016, 08:45 AM

645 posts

Mine no compressor replacement, clic sent me these:
1. Timing
2. Breather hose – Labour
3. Oil Pump Solenoid
4. Water Pump
5. Turbo Electric Coolant Pump

So my compressor is good as it is? My car is 2.5 years.

I checked with sc and they said they hv to check the car first, and not necessarily replace all these items recommended by clic. Normal?

SUSskyblu3
post Mar 23 2016, 10:01 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(Kanasai79 @ Mar 22 2016, 05:10 PM)
That was fast  thumbup.gif  . I had to wait 2-3 weeks to get approval for compressor replacement under extended warranty and took another 1 week to get it replace by their outsourced center for air-con at PJ.

vmad.gif  bangwall.gif
You send your car to which SC? Geotauto PJ?
sherz88
post Mar 23 2016, 01:18 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(joonming @ Mar 19 2016, 10:41 PM)

Not sure is this normal.
Normal. I had the same question before.
Kanasai79
post Mar 23 2016, 02:05 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Mar 23 2016, 10:01 AM)
You send your car to which SC?  Geotauto PJ?
Puchong SC for compressor - extended warranty but for enhancement pack at Balakong SC
speed.demon
post Mar 23 2016, 05:02 PM

My car lost power in the middle of the highway 3 times and then again on a normal road. This was at about 60kmh and with about a quarter tank of fuel on all occasions. I'm sure this is related to my HPFP but has anyone experienced this? Have yet to get this checked by SC.

*Lost power means the engine is running but the accelerator pedal does nothing for about 3 seconds.

For recall, SC says my car has needs replacement of the following:
1. Timing chain
2. Timing chain 'seal 1' and 'seal 2' - can someone tell me what this is?
3. Oil pump solenoid
4. Water pump (the whole unit and I'm assuming all hoses)
5. Temperature sensor

Will take one week to do, sending in this weekend.
ATEC
post Mar 24 2016, 05:09 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(Kanasai79 @ Mar 22 2016, 06:10 PM)
That was fast  thumbup.gif  . I had to wait 2-3 weeks to get approval for compressor replacement under extended warranty and took another 1 week to get it replace by their outsourced center for air-con at PJ.

vmad.gif  bangwall.gif
mine is air-cond blower fan, not compressor.
totally no air blow out.
anyhow still feel so lucky can settle within 2 days at Gleanmarie
ATEC
post Mar 24 2016, 05:13 PM

19 posts

any recommendation on battery?
i changed DIN60L on 19/7/2014,cost RM560 for Delkor Brand.
have a feeling its almost time to change again.

What is the actual battey model for 408(2.0), some say Din66, Din55, Din65.

Century proposed Din 66 at RM360
SC Kajand said Din65 at RM540
djboycalvin
post Mar 24 2016, 05:30 PM

282 posts

size is doesnt matter as long can fit..
mine is DIN75 (Silver calcium battery) .. damage RM583 (incld 6% gst)
ATEC
post Mar 24 2016, 10:53 PM

19 posts

Battery really kong sad.gif
anyone got any experince using Century Battery?
Which Din to use?
Do we need to send back to SC for reprogram anything?
djboycalvin
post Mar 24 2016, 11:30 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(ATEC @ Mar 24 2016, 10:53 PM)
Which Din to use?
no need to send SC for reprogram.. ori is DIN60 / 66 (if not mistaken)

This post has been edited by djboycalvin: Mar 24 2016, 11:30 PM
SKYjack
post Mar 25 2016, 09:08 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(ATEC @ Mar 24 2016, 10:53 PM)
Which Din to use?
QUOTE(ATEC @ Mar 24 2016, 05:13 PM)
any recommendation on battery?
i changed DIN60L on 19/7/2014,cost RM560 for Delkor Brand.
have a feeling its almost time to change again.

What is the actual battey model for 408(2.0), some say Din66, Din55, Din65.

Century proposed Din 66 at RM360
SC Kajand said Din65 at RM540
Original for 408NA is DIN55

Century, Delkor or Yokohama are ok for our Pug. DIN 55,66,75 are ok, depends on size to fit into battery box. Higher the DIN higher the capacity. Battery price varies according to capacity, $300 - $500+ non SC price.

Delkor last me 2years. Unknown local brand DIN 66, last only 9months!

Keep the engine running while battery change, retains all original settings. No need to go to SC!

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Mar 25 2016, 09:29 AM
ATEC
post Mar 25 2016, 10:41 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Mar 25 2016, 10:08 AM)
Original for 408NA is DIN55

Century, Delkor or Yokohama are ok for our Pug. DIN 55,66,75 are ok, depends on size to fit into battery box. Higher the DIN higher the capacity. Battery price varies according to capacity, $300 - $500+ non SC price.

Delkor last me 2years. Unknown local brand DIN 66, last only 9months!

Keep the engine running while battery change, retains all original settings. No need to go to SC!
Thanks Sky
Just got battery change by Century Battery Assist, they replace for me Din55L at RM300-RM15(trade in old bat)
He siad Din 66 or 75 cannot not fit into my battery compartment (too long), not sure how true...
Mine earlier Delkor Din55 (56077) replaced at SC Kota Damansara on 19/7/2014 (RM560).

Bro, how to change battery with engine running? my car cannot start already.
If i change with engine off, after change do i need to go SC for setting?
SKYjack
post Mar 25 2016, 11:06 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(djboycalvin @ Mar 24 2016, 05:30 PM)

size is doesnt matter as long can fit..
mine is DIN75 (Silver calcium battery) .. damage RM583 (incld 6% gst)
What brand is this battery?

QUOTE(ATEC @ Mar 25 2016, 10:41 AM)
Thanks Sky
Just got battery change by Century Battery Assist, they replace for me Din55L at RM300-RM15(trade in old bat)
He siad Din 66 or 75 cannot not fit into my battery compartment (too long), not sure how true...
Mine earlier Delkor Din55 (56077) replaced at SC Kota Damansara on 19/7/2014 (RM560).

Bro, how to change battery with engine running? my car cannot start already.
If i change with engine off, after change do i need to go SC for setting?
That's good price for DIN 55. I think higher DIN battery by Century are larger in size, cannot fit into our battery box. There are other brands that will fit into our battery box, but do not go for unknown brands. For sure they will not last, even though higher DIN.

If battery dead, one way is to jump start engine before battery change. As far as I know, you need to go to SC for reset, unless the Century Battery Assist have the equipment to reset and have done it for you. Just check with them.

231 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Top

0.0447sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:56 AM