hihi.. wanna check with sifu here ..
do 408t share the same part with 308t for front and rear absorber ?
anyone have the part number ?
Peugeot 408 Owners/ Fans Thread [V4], Motion & Emotion
Mar 2 2020, 03:55 PM
282 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
hihi.. wanna check with sifu here ..
do 408t share the same part with 308t for front and rear absorber ? anyone have the part number ? |
Mar 18 2020, 01:26 PM
0 posts Joined: Dec 2014 |
Hi sifus. has anyone here ever claim for front windscreen under Etiqa? My coverage is 2k. Is it sufficient enough to cover the glass and tint?
My car is 6 years already. I don’t think I need the original replacement. It’s far more pricey. Anyways, the non original one cost how much ya? Appreciate with the feedbacks Tq |
Mar 18 2020, 03:22 PM
645 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
QUOTE(rf_fnd @ Mar 18 2020, 02:26 PM) Hi sifus. has anyone here ever claim for front windscreen under Etiqa? My coverage is 2k. Is it sufficient enough to cover the glass and tint? Windscreen costs about RM3k (can't recall the exact figure), depending on your tint as well. One important thing i learnt is that if you claim x amount this year for the first time for your car, you have set the benchmark for future, meaning you can't claim more even if you pay more premium or go with another insurance company. My car is 6 years already. I don’t think I need the original replacement. It’s far more pricey. Anyways, the non original one cost how much ya? Appreciate with the feedbacks Tq |
Mar 18 2020, 10:22 PM
1,972 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
QUOTE(rf_fnd @ Mar 18 2020, 01:26 PM) Hi sifus. has anyone here ever claim for front windscreen under Etiqa? My coverage is 2k. Is it sufficient enough to cover the glass and tint? I claimed b4 few years back. My car is 6 years already. I don’t think I need the original replacement. It’s far more pricey. Anyways, the non original one cost how much ya? Appreciate with the feedbacks Tq I always insure 3.5k to cover both the windscreen n tint as the amount recommended by the workshop. |
Mar 20 2020, 09:39 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
14 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
QUOTE(rf_fnd @ Mar 18 2020, 01:26 PM) Hi sifus. has anyone here ever claim for front windscreen under Etiqa? My coverage is 2k. Is it sufficient enough to cover the glass and tint? I claimed mine two years ago with Sum Insured of RM2,000 under Takaful Malaysia. It was sufficient (exclude tint) for my 408T windscreen.My car is 6 years already. I don’t think I need the original replacement. It’s far more pricey. Anyways, the non original one cost how much ya? Appreciate with the feedbacks Tq |
Mar 20 2020, 08:37 PM
2,479 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
Guys, I've got a question regarding the engine oil.
Read around (and confirmed with previous service) that the Mobil 1 5w30 is the recommended oil (which is what the car is using right now). However, checking online, there's a few versions of this engine oil. Which one should I be using, or does it not make a difference since it's just different additives? I've been getting the engine oil error whenever I make sharp-is turns these past few days...and today even when I'm on straights. Checked the dip stick and level is low. Didn't expect it to drop drastically since my next service is still another two months away. There isn't any leak that I could see so I'm chalking it down to an aged engine? Edit: Found this whilst googling for anyone curious: https://www.mobil.com/en/lubricants/for-per...gesearchfacets=[5W-30]&f:@marketcvlcontenttype=[Mobil%201™] Can't put it in the url tag so apologies for the messy url This post has been edited by marquis: Mar 20 2020, 08:59 PM |
Mar 20 2020, 10:30 PM
QUOTE(marquis @ Mar 20 2020, 08:37 PM) Guys, I've got a question regarding the engine oil. I encountered the same issue like you facing, then I top up the engine oil to suitable level. Read around (and confirmed with previous service) that the Mobil 1 5w30 is the recommended oil (which is what the car is using right now). However, checking online, there's a few versions of this engine oil. Which one should I be using, or does it not make a difference since it's just different additives? I've been getting the engine oil error whenever I make sharp-is turns these past few days...and today even when I'm on straights. Checked the dip stick and level is low. Didn't expect it to drop drastically since my next service is still another two months away. There isn't any leak that I could see so I'm chalking it down to an aged engine? Edit: Found this whilst googling for anyone curious: https://www.mobil.com/en/lubricants/for-per...gesearchfacets=[5W-30]&f:@marketcvlcontenttype=[Mobil%201™] Can't put it in the url tag so apologies for the messy url Last cycle, 10k km, I topped up around 2L. Now using 5w-40, monitoring if the situation improves This post has been edited by jiunkei_46: Mar 20 2020, 10:33 PM |
Mar 20 2020, 10:36 PM
QUOTE(jiunkei_46 @ Mar 20 2020, 10:30 PM) I encountered the same issue like you facing, then I top up the engine oil to suitable level. After topping up no more issues I hope?Last cycle, 10k km, I topped up around 2L. Now using 5w-40, monitoring if the situation improves What’s your total mileage if you don’t mind my asking. Maybe the higher viscosity would help for engines with more wear? |
Mar 20 2020, 10:56 PM
QUOTE(marquis @ Mar 20 2020, 10:36 PM) After topping up no more issues I hope? Yes, after top up no more engine alert. What’s your total mileage if you don’t mind my asking. Maybe the higher viscosity would help for engines with more wear? But you need to monitor once a month. How much the engine oil being consumed also subject to your traveling pattern, if long journey will be more severe. Current mileage 135k. |
Mar 20 2020, 11:24 PM
QUOTE(jiunkei_46 @ Mar 20 2020, 10:56 PM) Yes, after top up no more engine alert. Thanks for the help!But you need to monitor once a month. How much the engine oil being consumed also subject to your traveling pattern, if long journey will be more severe. Current mileage 135k. Will continue to monitor. Might consider switching to a higher viscosity too. Gonna talk to the SC and see what they say. Thanks again! |
Mar 21 2020, 03:03 PM
71 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
QUOTE(marquis @ Mar 20 2020, 11:24 PM) Thanks for the help! The same thing happened to my 408t. It was due to piston and internal burning. Engine needs to be overhauled. Mycar was under warranty then, sent in for diagnosis and found 2 piston were not good as informed by SC. Filed claim for engine replacement and waited for 8 months. Finally replaced engine imported from France all under extended warrant for free. Total amount was rm38k.Will continue to monitor. Might consider switching to a higher viscosity too. Gonna talk to the SC and see what they say. Thanks again! |
Mar 21 2020, 05:30 PM
QUOTE(Termibait @ Mar 21 2020, 03:03 PM) The same thing happened to my 408t. It was due to piston and internal burning. Engine needs to be overhauled. Mycar was under warranty then, sent in for diagnosis and found 2 piston were not good as informed by SC. Filed claim for engine replacement and waited for 8 months. Finally replaced engine imported from France all under extended warrant for free. Total amount was rm38k. Good for you... Yes, SC straight replace whole engine rather than overhaul |
Mar 21 2020, 10:33 PM
QUOTE(Termibait @ Mar 21 2020, 03:03 PM) The same thing happened to my 408t. It was due to piston and internal burning. Engine needs to be overhauled. Mycar was under warranty then, sent in for diagnosis and found 2 piston were not good as informed by SC. Filed claim for engine replacement and waited for 8 months. Finally replaced engine imported from France all under extended warrant for free. Total amount was rm38k. Ugh. That's not good. Gonna have to wait for the MCO to be over before I can head to the SC. Under extended warranty now myself.Thanks for the heads up! Although hopefully that's not the case. Sigh. |
Mar 22 2020, 01:06 PM
19 posts Joined: Oct 2012 |
Mar 22 2020, 01:10 PM
19 posts Joined: Oct 2012 |
QUOTE(therain01 @ Feb 20 2020, 10:05 PM) Mine at around 50k km. Oil consumption slightly better than yours, about 0.5l per 5k km. mine 408 (2.0) Year 2012, millage slightly above 100,000km, petrol consumption always between 12 to 14L per 100km (KL/PJ). Will only get below 10L if drive from KL to PenangYour fc is superb. My urbun is around 7.5, city drive more than 10, sometimes goes up to 12.5. Recently the ABS fault appear. Waiting for the abs sensor and pp2000 to arrive then I will have the fault code read and sensor replaced. |
Mar 22 2020, 03:54 PM
257 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
Mar 23 2020, 08:15 AM
282 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
Apr 11 2020, 10:40 AM
367 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
Here's another confirmation on SCs poor quality of work and maybe more!
6 months ago I went in for timming chain recall. It was the 7th year of ownership & ther was nothing wrong with my car. The old timming was working fine apart from the cold start clatter for a few seconds. However, as timming chain is a critical equipment, if it snaps serious and expensive damage is likely and a recall is a rengineered component, I decided to get it changed! Damn, 6 months later, cold start clatter is more serious! Apart form the clatter for a few seconds,there is additional sound of chain hitting its guides! Its a loud wierd sound for 1 second or more! Although it only happens on cold starts and dissapears, nevertheless, it is classice example of poor quality of work! Maybe the old tensioner was put back as it probably was in resonable shape then! Of course receipt indicates change! I have no way of confirming, just dont trust SC!!! This post has been edited by SKYjack: Apr 11 2020, 10:50 AM |
Apr 12 2020, 04:02 PM
4,061 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(SKYjack @ Apr 11 2020, 10:40 AM) Here's another confirmation on SCs poor quality of work and maybe more! Sometime it is not sure whether it is the sc workmanship issues, design errors or quality itself6 months ago I went in for timming chain recall. It was the 7th year of ownership & ther was nothing wrong with my car. The old timming was working fine apart from the cold start clatter for a few seconds. However, as timming chain is a critical equipment, if it snaps serious and expensive damage is likely and a recall is a rengineered component, I decided to get it changed! Damn, 6 months later, cold start clatter is more serious! Apart form the clatter for a few seconds,there is additional sound of chain hitting its guides! Its a loud wierd sound for 1 second or more! Although it only happens on cold starts and dissapears, nevertheless, it is classice example of poor quality of work! Maybe the old tensioner was put back as it probably was in resonable shape then! Of course receipt indicates change! I have no way of confirming, just dont trust SC!!! |
Apr 15 2020, 11:56 AM
367 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
| Change to: | 0.0385sec
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:40 PM |