Peugeot 408 Owners/ Fans Thread [V4], Motion & Emotion

Termibait
post Dec 11 2015, 07:53 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Dec 10 2015, 02:18 PM)
I rmb some fellow gone above 215kmh with his stock before.
Which mean that 215kmh indicated on brochure may not accurate
Yup.
Mine went up to 225km before in Elite highway from seremban to subang.

Cheers...
Termibait
post Dec 12 2015, 12:01 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Dec 11 2015, 10:24 PM)
With you guys, it sounds like ECU also kena jail break......hehehe biggrin.gif !
smile.gif that was the only one time my meter shot up to 225km. on average, 160km is easily achieved. powerful when overtaking. its already 3.5 years owning this car. i am still very much enjoy driving in it except the look is a bit old now. hehe.

cheers
Termibait
post Dec 14 2015, 03:51 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(vknight @ Dec 12 2015, 05:33 PM)
Do a good car detailing and maybe a glass coat and it will look very new smile.gif
actually i did coating after 1st year ownership. The coating last about 8 months and almost gone which i went back for a recoating under warranty. The 2nd coating was not done as thorough as the first coating but still it last for about 1 year. The reason for the longer lasting as compared to 1st coating was because i also bought a bottle of mixture coating from the shop. it is meant to keep the coating lasting.

My personal experience with coating. It is troublesome. you will keep on worrying about the coating not lasting, birdshit that is eroding the coating and paint, tiny scratches which you can't wax or polish it off due to warranty issue. The need to wash your car very frequently due to dust gets into coating and stick to it making it hard to wash off(the only way is to wax of polish, but it will void your warranty.)

As a result, i did not go back to the shop as the shop owner was telling me politely that i am already claiming 2 times warranty and i should not be doing that anymore. I was quite unhappy but i guess that is life. you learn from mistakes. smile.gif

what did i do after that? i just send my car for polish, i wax the car every now and then when i feel like to, scratches are gone, car is superb white after wash and wax. i dont have to worry what i used to worry when the car was coated.

conclusion, save that money for wax, polish and saves your time, saves your energy and brain cells for worrying the coating that will be like this like that.......

what i meant looks old is the design . smile.gif

Why we love this car? i believe its the power of the engine and the acceleration! cornering, going up hill, overtaking...wow! i can't really complaint more about this car.

heheh

Termibait
post Dec 16 2015, 12:30 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(mtbk3 @ Dec 15 2015, 11:23 AM)
Ermmmmm....I did my coating and it is coming close to 2yrs already. And my coat is still good. Of course scratches is inevitable and coating is not scratch proof. Coating is just meant to make the car look cleaner for a longer period. Example, i wash my car every week and everytime after wash, it really looks like it just got polish and waxed. Also, water doesnt stick to your car that easily hence reducing the watermarks. Also, stains and dirt all comes off easily.

But then again, you still need to take care of it after coating la. With coating, it doesnt mean you no need clean your car and take care of it. And every now and then, must go for treatment to sort of like replenish the coat.

But again, each to their own la......
True also. Back to the lasting effect. It is varied due to few other factors such as car is parked at covered carpark mostly, how frequent the car is used(some people just drive to office,park under covered carpark and drive home when sun is set.) My car is almost 85000km now with 3.5years ownership. Car is not parked under covered carpark mostly due to nature of work. Cant afford to wash car on weekly basis. More over car paint is in white. sad.gif

Once u missed out that weekly wash, dust started to penetrate the coat which makes it hard to wash off. Thay is why i find it troublesome. To keep the coating, i cant wash off the black color on the coating. The water beading effect is there but it looks okd and dirty. To wash it off, i have to press harder when washing which will make the coat gone due to minor scratches when pressure is applied.

Conclusion is troublesone to maintain than before coating.

Termibait
post Dec 17 2015, 04:36 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Dec 16 2015, 11:05 PM)
Bro termibiat, appreciate you let us have Otomobile contact.
R u paging me? What otomobile contact?
Termibait
post Dec 20 2015, 11:19 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Dec 17 2015, 10:34 PM)
The service center that fixed your car. In you post you said you took your car to MN Otomobile in Kajang. If it is the same one lucifal has said, then ok, he has given contact number.

Confusion was that lucifal did not mention MN Otomobile, so I thought you went to another SC.
Not me. I did not bring my car to kajang before. smile.gif

Termibait
post Apr 9 2016, 09:28 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Sep 29 2015, 10:16 AM)
Since you will making a warranty claim, can you find out the cost at the SC. I'll be sending mine outside. Let's check out the price difference.
Yes, will do bro. I'll probably visit them tomorrow. Last year itself I started sourcing around for Peugeot workshops. That's when I came across these guys,made a note of their address.  Will post a complete breakdown on cost and quality of work.

Any one who experienced a non SC, Peugeot competent workshop, appreciate your post.Tq.
My 408t's abs and esp light also on immitently lately. Sent to sc for checking and have scheduled for replacement at sc under warranty. Car is 3.5years old. Bro, do send in to sc for checking and claim warranty
Termibait
post Aug 5 2016, 04:08 PM

71 posts

Bad news. Both rear left and right bearing are broken. Got wonk wonk soudnwhen deiving at high speed (above 60km/hour).

Went to glenmarie sevice center just now. I was told that this is not covered under warranty due my car is 4 years old now. Quoted me rm1418 for both excluding workmanship.

Anyone have any idea whether i can make warranty claim on this? Is it considered as wear and tear parts?

Frown frown
Termibait
post Aug 5 2016, 06:27 PM

71 posts

lucifal if quote also will be same price because he is from Peugeot service center too.

i found one SKF at RM180 per bearing. wonder i need a full set or just bearing only.

Termibait
post Aug 6 2016, 11:47 PM

71 posts

Thank you all. I might buy from sparepart shop. Now wonder those tyre shop know how to change or not.

Termibait
post Aug 18 2016, 09:37 PM

71 posts

Gonna send in my xar for the enhancemenr program on 19.9.2016 at geut auto pj. Sc told me to leave my car there for a week....
Termibait
post Aug 27 2016, 07:23 PM

71 posts

I hate how dealers salesman and xarmaker mislead public with their 5 years warranty which in fact is 3years manufacturer warranty plus 2 years limited warranty that covers only engine and gearbox.

Termibait
post Sep 3 2016, 03:08 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(Zephyr_Mage @ Sep 3 2016, 09:08 AM)
Brought my 1.6t into geutauto today for low engine oil level and was told there is a leakage. To repair it would cost me over 2k. sweat.gif

Where can I bring my lion for cheaper repair?

Susah... first coolant leakage now engine oil leakage....
Ur cat no more warranty?
Termibait
post Sep 3 2016, 03:09 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Sep 3 2016, 08:47 AM)
This car being discounted to less than RM100K is due to political connections with franchise holder. Going by Malaysian car price,it is certainly worth more for what it offers.

Ppl often make this mistake and buy a car for it's 'low' price,but get caught with it's high maintenance tag! I'd say this is driving above affordably!  Btw the $3300 is not for regular service but major service. You are right, comparatively priced Jap/Korean model might cost less in maintenance.

IMO a 2014 (comparing with the car in discussion)  Mercedes major service would certainly cost much more. These 3 items itself will be at least 3 times or more.
Timing Belt RM442.98 + 216 (labour)
Water Pump RM579.24 + 252 (labout)
Timing TEnsioner roller RM281.07

Regular service of Mercedes is almost 2K, for just oil & filter change!!! My regular service cost less than $300/-
1.6T regular service is between rm400-500

Termibait
post Oct 6 2016, 07:46 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(SpaceX @ Oct 6 2016, 06:23 PM)
Hello,

Have anyone been asked to change the oil pump (inside the engine, not the fuel pump)?  I sent my car for inspection at Glenmarie because the low oil pressure warning message keep popping up.  On top of that, the engine vibrates at low RPM  and loses power.  Sent to Glenmarie and they said need to change the pump but it was not covered under the Extended warranty (EW).  However, they said the Oil Pump Solenoid Valve is covered under the EW.  Have also changed the air con condenser (the 3rd time) and it's covered under EW.

Price quoted for the pump was RM 1,300++ plus need to change the intake dispenser as well (which I guess is the hose connecting the engine oil tank to the engine).  THe dispenser cost another RM200+ which is also not covered by EW.  Headache now whether to change it at Glenmarie or go for external workshop.

IF any sifu here got experience on this, please share yeah. icon_question.gif
Its very disturbing reading engine fault such as oil pump inside engine but it is not covered under EW. What exactly is covered then. Since it is inside engine. I suggest you ask for a formal quotation from glenmarie and file a complaint at consumer tribunal at a cost of rm5. I have a gut feeling that you will win the case.

Termibait
post Oct 12 2016, 11:20 AM

71 posts

I am very pissed off now. Few months back my wheel bearing was broken. Sent my car to Glenmarie for warranty claim but i was told that it is wear item. Not claimable.
Guess what i see at geo auto service center?
Claimable within 100km mileage. Mine was 90k mileage.

I am considering few options now.

Termibait
post Oct 27 2016, 10:38 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(giatgiat @ Oct 27 2016, 09:22 PM)
Hi, anyone facing aircond compressor with loudly sound and hot air once on? I had sent my car nearest sc and they request to left for 3 days. Than they topup gas with charges  rm120++, and asked return if same problem happened. Wonder why they can't check it during topup gas like exrlternal aircond shop with expert knowledge within an hour. So just left my car for 3 days for topup gas? What a huge job they did to my car?
So decided to send my car for checking after few days, they BELIEVED shld caused by faulty  compressor. Sc said need to left for 14 days waiting for insurance adjuster come checking and approved for claim under ew. But the condenser need to change together with compressor, and condenser will be charged for rm1500++, it was not covered by ew.
Just saw someone said condensor was under ew, and my car had left at sc for 8 days. Now try to give cilc call on tomorrow to clarify it, hope recommend  from all peug lover here.
Tqvm and happy deepavali to  all, drive safely to celebrate this big day.
Which SC?

Termibait
post Nov 1 2016, 03:43 PM

71 posts

Dear Skyjack,

there are more factors to be considered other than the Engine. The reliability of other parts as well as the response from the SC. I guess most of us are once bitten twice shy by the latter instead of the engine.

No doubt, the acceleration and kicks this car produce is overwhelming. Sad to say, coming to 5th year, i have changed turbo 2 times, Aircon compressor 1 time( Now waiting for 2nd claim under EWP), Rear Wheel Bearing( I saw from Geoauto SC guidelines pasted on the Cashier wall, it is supposed to be 100k warranty but mine was rejected at 82kkm ). Faulty Sensor 2 times. Frankly speaking, the aircon and Wheel Bearing are parts i can't tolerate as it is supposed to be long lasting with at least 5 years and above or 100kkm above.

Nevertheless, the speed of claim, the long waiting period while servicing our car, the difficulty of getting appointment which usually requires 1.5months, etc. All these are making us nuts. Imagine you made an appointment 1 month ago and was given a 8am slot. What would be the acceptable time waiting to get your car serviced? I was made to wait until 6pm!!! It is not a matter of given courtesy car, long queue bcos of too many cars, we could go to other places or to workplace and collect in the evening. But more towards the poor planning, short of manpower, and tidak apa attitude from the SC.

Kia on the other hand wins Peugeot in all aspects, 2 days needed to make appointments only, 2hours - 3 hours waiting period only. Parts reliability? already 5 years and nothing happened except the Front suspension requires replacement.

Just voice out my grouses through my experience with Peugeot SC.

regards

Termibait
post Nov 14 2016, 10:52 PM

71 posts

@roxx

You should change both wheel bearing. No?

Also what brand you bought?
My rear bearing broke at 95k km. Both sides.

Sigh....
Termibait
post Nov 15 2016, 03:57 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(roxx @ Nov 15 2016, 03:21 PM)
Pomen told me right side still in good condition thus no need to change. Doubt on that I asked Mr. G and most of the forum informed that if 1 side faulty then only change 1 side.. If the mechanics said to change both sides then consumer need to find another workshop..

Shaitttee.. Didn't ask the brand.. Aiyohhh
I have been using Malaysian car (Wira/Waja) for 22 years never encountered wheel bearing issue. Pakai ini after 100k kms first time kena..  doh.gif
ya, i owned a waja with 200k km clocked in. no issue also. i guess it's luck la. Air con also good. 7 years of ownership.

This 408? tomorrow will be my 2nd time sending in for air con compresor replacement. RM4.6k. luckily under EWP.

I changed mine to SKF brand. so far so good. all in under RM500. tongue.gif

regards

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1334sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:39 PM