Peugeot 408 Owners/ Fans Thread [V4], Motion & Emotion

marquis
post Apr 2 2019, 10:42 AM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

Hello there!

My head is swimming with info about tires at the moment. Could someone help a brother out?

Currently using the MC5 on the 1.6 Turbo. Looking to change them.

Reading reviews, there's a whole plethora of good reviews for this or that...Doesn't help in the decision making. It's like a bloody rabbit hole sweat.gif

Anyways, I've narrowed it down to:

1) Conti MC6
2) Hankook S1 Noble 2

However, these following tires have come up in the discussion as well:

1) Hankook V12 evo2 (this one comes up a lot, but wear and tear seems to be an issue?)
2) Goodyear Excellence (Came up once or twice in this thread)
3) Advan Fleva (Scattered across the forum. Usually comes up when MC 5/6 is mentioned)
4) Dayton DT 30 (this was recommended by someone in one of the 408's thread. Might be this one)

PS3/4 - This seems to be highly praised. Alas, the price is out of my budget. Sooo yeah. That's a no.

Would really appreciate some input guys. Or at the very least, point me in the right direction...what should I be looking out for? icon_question.gif
marquis
post Apr 2 2019, 03:38 PM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(savvy_savvy @ Apr 2 2019, 02:17 PM)
What do you want to look out for? Budget? Comfort? Performance? Cheapest available?

As for me, I go for low budget with good review, and as well s comfort.

Just changed from MC5 225/45R17 to GY Excellence 215/50R17 today. Since the tyre still new, cannot put up review yet. But for 1st 20km, performed as expected. Since me more towards leisure drive. Not yet test on highway.
The MC5 I'm currently using is actually not too bad. I'm looking for something that retains its handling but with a little bit more comfort. The only time when I need exceptional handling is when I go through Karak/genting. Only happens once or twice a year though.

I think I too am a more laid back driver. Unless I hit the highway...then it becomes a bit more of a spirited drive.

How is it changing from a 225/45 to 215/50? I'd imagine better comfort and FC. Or is it negligible? 215/50 is much cheaper as opposed to 225/45 right?
marquis
post Apr 3 2019, 07:33 AM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(savvy_savvy @ Apr 2 2019, 05:59 PM)
Driving experience too early to tell. But, yeah.. Its cheaper than the original size.
Thanks for the feedback bro!

QUOTE(jiunkei_46 @ Apr 2 2019, 08:22 PM)
Bro, try Falken FK510, made in Japan, similarly priced with MC6
BTW, I'm using MC6, I noticed MC6 balancing will go around 5k km...
Huargh! More options! Hahahahaha.

Thanks bro. I’ll look it up and see what the reviews say. Any local reviews for this tyre? Haven’t actually checked yet tongue.gif

When you say the balancing will go around 5k...you mean it’ll be off, or will only settle after 5k km?
marquis
post Apr 3 2019, 09:01 AM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Apr 3 2019, 08:41 AM)
I think GY Exel will suit your driving. Its much more comfortable than MC and slightly cheaper. I'm on GY Exl for last 20k.
Yes,215/50 is cheaper. A little compormise on handling. As we are not F1 drivers,hardly notice the difference.  FC imo will be negiable. Anyway give us your feedback!
Thanks for the input! Mere y ou on the MC5/6 prior to this?

You're comparing to the MC5 or MC6 yeah? Does anyone know how much comfort/handling would be affected if I were to change to 215/50? Or would it only matter if I push the car beyond a certain speed. I generally average 140 when I hit the highway. Admittedly, this doesn't happen very often.

However, I'm thinking I should get a tyre for the "worst case" scenario. The engineer in me laugh.gif

Another thing that I've been thinking about is the marriage between the suspension and tyre...Since the 408T is tuned for performance (hence the tires and suspension), what would be affected if I change the tires but keep the suspension. Would it be a minimal change in comfort?
marquis
post Apr 4 2019, 09:17 AM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(jiunkei_46 @ Apr 3 2019, 02:50 PM)
the balancing will be off around 5k usage...
i dont have that issue on the Hankook S1 Noble 2 previously.
Heard from the tyre shop, quite common for made in msia conti's
imagine u will feel the vibration around 120km/h...
Hmmm. That doesn't sound good. Thanks for the info. Will feedback to le wife. Since it's her car and I'm merely her driver. I do the homework, she gets to sit in the passenger's seat. Lol.

QUOTE(therain01 @ Apr 4 2019, 12:46 AM)
Correct me if I'm wrong.

408 1.6T and 2.0 share the same front absorber but with different coil spring set up. 2.0 coil spring is bigger in diameter. Another different part is 1.6T has bigger disk and bigger caliper compared to 2.0. Other than that, in terms of suspension the 1.6T and 2.0 are sharing the same parts.
Well as you said, there is already a difference in the diameter of the spring. What other parts are you talking about? Both the NA and THP are essentially the same car; it'd make sense for them to share virtually everything?

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Apr 4 2019, 08:45 AM)
Yes i am compairing between MC5,originals the car came with, and my present GY Exl.

For worst case scenario, your best choice is Michelin. But you pay a price!

I am also a 130 -140kmh driver. For these speeds GY Exl performe very well. The big difference is comfort levels are higher than MC5. Now the pot holes around my housing estate dont seem that harsh.

As you observed, 408thp ride is a little harsh due to its sports tuned suspension. It is possible to alter the feel either way,ie more sporty or comfort. Being an engineer i'm sure you understand, which ever is your choice will be at the cost of the other.

I am an engineer too,after a lot of research, i decided i wanted better comfort with minimal cost to handling. As i'm not a F1 type of driver and since THP handling is at such a high level,i dont mind a little compromise here. Decided changing to softer tyres will achive my goal. Didnt want to change anything on suspension. Glad to say my target is acomplished.

IMO your targets will make an appreciable improvement on comfort with minimal cost on handling. Just my 2cents worth!
Discussed with the wife and she seems inclined towards the Conti MC6 (Mostly due to the stock being an MC5 and her brother trusting the brand). Says she's ok with the current comfort level. Hmmm.

Out of curiosity, how fast have you pushed the car ever since changing tyres? I'm leaning more towards the FK510 and the GY Excellence myself. The Falken gets rave reviews but the GY seems to be a mixed bag. I'm more inclined to trust a fellow engineer though biggrin.gif

PS: I did consider the PS3/4 but it's definitely out of the budget. More so considering I'm not a speed demon sweat.gif
marquis
post Apr 5 2019, 11:24 AM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Apr 5 2019, 09:19 AM)
If you are fine with present comfort level,then perhaps MC6 is a better choice for you.

As GY Exl are softer compound tyres,comfort level is improved, but the trade off is high speed stability. This sounds drastic,but its only marginal, you got to pay intense attention to catch this. I did take the car up to 180kmh. Beyond 150kmh there is slight instability. Not much,but nevertheless,its there. But as i said ,its marginal,most ppl may not even notice it.
Well, can't have your cake and eat it. Gotta trade one for the other eh? You're right though. Might just go with the MC6 since there's no critically bad review on it. Don't wanna get something else and have the wife bising later...especially since she's leaning towards the MC6.

Seems like the Excellence isn't too bad a choice, especially given it's price and actual usage. Thank you for the feedback. Appreciate it.

QUOTE(wjchay @ Apr 5 2019, 10:22 AM)
Good feedback sky. Are you using the same specs, e.g. 225/45 GY ex? How much is it? I might give it a try.

I am using PS4, seems to last for years if I only do city driving. I paid 500++, maybe 550 each, can't remember now. I guess cost wise might be negligible if use for years?
I think he's using the 215/50. Trying to emulate the NA's ride characteristic bar a suspension change.
marquis
post Apr 6 2019, 04:08 PM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Apr 6 2019, 07:12 AM)
PS4 is a class above,hence the price. IMO for just city drives & ocassional outstation runs GY Exl is good enough. They are easy on the pocket too. I paid $320 a piece. Done 30k km already, 50% thread left. Yes,i'm on 225x45x17.
Thanks for the feedback mate! Seems like my wife did a 180 and wants to go with the PS4 instead. Heh.

Thank you everyone for the valuable information! My wife and I now both do tyre spotting on other cars to see what tyres they use laugh.gif
marquis
post Apr 7 2019, 11:11 PM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Apr 7 2019, 07:25 AM)
Hahaha......oh you lucky man! Good she likes 180kmh. Everytime i get above 140ish my wife starts wayang kuilt.
Eh. Slight misunderstanding. She did a 180 degree change of heart. Hahaha. I can't imagine her pushing the car that fast. As long as I'm on the highway she doesn't get too kancheong. Going fast within the city highways...yeah. Hahaha.

Good thing she finally bought her own car. Learning how to care for it etc. Albeit I'm the one doing most of the caring for her sweat.gif

On an unrelated note, anyone managed to swap the driver's side wiper to the passenger's side? Someone did a tutorial on V1 but I think that's for the old model of the wiper blade. I can't seem to do it on the new one.
marquis
post Oct 3 2019, 04:15 PM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

Hello!

Does anyone know how much the service will cost after the 100k interval? The front page only has till 100k.

Also, I read in the extended warranty booklet that the battery is covered under the warranty? I thought batteries generally aren't covered, or am I understanding this wrong?
marquis
post Nov 5 2019, 05:47 PM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

Hello again!

Apparently the battery on the wife's Pug is lower than 50% and would require battery replacement at some point. I did some research around, and these two brands always pop up:

Varta
Amaron

So what's good for a DIN 66 for the 408 Turbo? Anyone care to chime in?
marquis
post Nov 6 2019, 09:16 AM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(savvy_savvy @ Nov 5 2019, 07:41 PM)
I replaced my original battery (when bought the car 2016) with Amaron in 9 May 2018. Still standing strong to date. But, I only drive during weekend / long distance travel since I used kapchai/smaller car to go to work. Plus, I switch off all the auto thing (auto lamp, auto aircond, etc)
If you don't mind my asking, which Amaron is that? I see quite a few when searching. Is it the long life one?

----

Another question regarding Varta...I see people commenting about GERMAN varta. However, I see lotsa KOREAN one being sold. Is this a myth or does it actually not matter where they manufacture the battery?
marquis
post Nov 7 2019, 10:30 AM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Nov 7 2019, 09:54 AM)
I recommend this Battery. Varta,Din 75,Korean made. I managed to get 3yerars. Price $420

I already tried 3 batteries from SC , cost $500 Din55. All last only 20 months!
Whoah. Isn't DIN 75 a bit much though? Don't wanna give the SC reason to reject future warranty claims (on the extended 2 years warranty now). So seems like Korean made Varta is good as well eh? Any experience on this Amaron? I see some going with 18months of warranty.

QUOTE(djboycalvin @ Nov 7 2019, 10:20 AM)
can try century marathoner DIN66 .. last me 24 month .. rm300++
Not to knock on you man...but I read a lot of mixed reviews about the marathoner. Some say its superb (like yourself), some complain of it dying right after the warranty ends. So I'm of two minds about it.

-----

Also, to the both of you, what's your driving pattern like? Any dashcam/car charger plugged in?

Thank youuuu!
marquis
post Nov 11 2019, 09:16 AM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(djboycalvin @ Nov 7 2019, 03:06 PM)
ya .. i agree with you. that why last time i give it a try ..
Before my last Century is hankook DIN75 Silver Calcium .. it only last time about 14 months ..

my car is with dashcam plug in .. activated only when car is started ..
my daily is morning go to work (no turn on car light) .. and home at night (with head light on) ..

long journey night driving very month once to back home town ..

sometime local trip travel too ..

btw if budget is allow .. go for varta .. so far is good review just abit pricy ..
Thanks for the feedback!

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Nov 8 2019, 03:42 PM)
Warranty will not be affected as its not a mod. I have successful warranty claims when using Din 66. Original is Din55.

Use to drive 60%city, 40% urban. Last 2 years has been 100%city but with 10 - 14 day rest every 3months, as I have another car for urban runs.

No after market equipment, even ice is stock. No charger,have been running till car refuses to start.
Ah...Alright. Thanks for that. So no biggie if I were to use a Din 75 yeah. I remember reading somewhere that the capacitor might be affected due to the bigger capacity. Or did I remember it incorrectly sweat.gif
marquis
post Nov 14 2019, 09:11 AM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Nov 14 2019, 08:36 AM)
Both battery & capacitor are energy storage device. They performed different functions due to their character & cost.

Battery is cost effective,high energy storage,but low energy release. So these are not suitable if there are energy hungry devices like high power sub woofer. This where a capacitor is needed. Capacitors are high energy release device. Superb for energy hungry equipment,but there are not cost effective!

Both these devices are in modern automobile. Battery is larger & cheaper. Capacitor is smaller cos its expensive.

Fitting a Din75 battery has no effect on capacitor. If you are running power hungry devices,then you need to change to higher Amps Alternator! Higher amperage will ensure the power hungry devices are feed & both battery & capacitor are charged.
Eh. Brain fart. Thanks for the lengthy explanation...but I actually meant alternator sweat.gif Sorry for that.

But good job on the explanation. Almost ELI5 thumbup.gif

Didn't know they got higher amp alternator. Did you retrofit one to your car since you're running a DIN 75? Or is the stock just fine since it's only about a 14% increase in capacity?
marquis
post Nov 15 2019, 09:30 AM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Nov 14 2019, 06:33 PM)
Hahaha......yeah  a bit boring if you're not an electrical geek!

Stock alternator is 120amps, there's 150amps & 200amps. I'm still on stock alternator,every things in the car is stock. 8 months now since the change to Din 75 battery, seems to be fine,all OK!
Nice. Thanks for all the feedback. Would be able to make more informed decision for the wife's ride biggrin.gif

PS: Not an electrical geek. Just happen to know basic electrical stuff is all. Far too much to learn still.
marquis
post Nov 18 2019, 02:35 PM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

A bit of a long shot, did anyone here change their head unit to something that has Apple CarPlay?

Anywhere I can go to that has more info regarding this? Seems to be a very niche interest and resources are hard to find
marquis
post Nov 19 2019, 08:56 AM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(Pugbunny @ Nov 18 2019, 05:55 PM)
So far only seen owners installed android player bought from Aliexpress.

That's the same unit that I saw on Aliexpress. Considering that now since the current HU unit sot sot dy laugh.gif

Mind to share where that picture was from? I see a something plugged in, could possibly be the adaptor that allows for carplay. Wanna ask actual owners that installed that.

Looked up videos on installation of the HU for the 308...Since it's essentially the same car. Doesn't look too hard to be honest. I think most people could pull it off!

Thanks!

----------------

Speaking of ECU remaps, what other mods can the 408T do?

Also, curious question. Vaguely remember this from college. If the exhaust/downpipe is modded to be without the catalytic converter...doesn't it effect the emissions of the car? Or is it only minor...or is it combined with something else. Also...would you need to apply for such a mod from JPJ?

Finally...I remember discussing this ages ago: Doesn't the cat converter provide some sort of back-pressure? Or is that why the ECU needs to be remapped to account for that. I'm guessing this mod only works for cars with ECUs that can be flashed.

Discussion for the sake of technical knowledge since I don't think I'd bother with doing any of those things laugh.gif
marquis
post Nov 19 2019, 09:33 AM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(djboycalvin @ Nov 19 2019, 09:28 AM)
the HU is easy to remove if u have the tools ..
it is something look like "U" one .. (i believe u saw some youtube tutorial too) .. easily get from lazada / shopee / online store ..
without the tool .. u can cucuk skrew driver at the 4 hole and pull .. still work ..

for the adaptor allow car play .. first you HU must "carplay-able" ..
it is not something that u plug in and  "walla" have the car play function ..

hope this may helps ..  thumbup.gif
Yup. Saw some youtube videos...the U-shaped hook. Honestly, it looks quite doable! Gonna experiment with a normal screw driver to see if it'll budge. Not too sure it will though since it has a sort of hook that needs to be pulled out internally. See lah first can or not.

The adaptor only works on android system above a certain update...at least that's what I read. I don't have the highest amount of fate in android car systems (after reading some horror stories online) so wanna check with actual users to see if it's stable enough laugh.gif
marquis
post Nov 19 2019, 12:50 PM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(joeaggas @ Nov 19 2019, 12:45 PM)
Let me try to answer you from my experience.
Yes it will affect the emission, the exhaust smell is rather unpleasant. JPJ,
I dont' think so because it is still a 1.6 cc engine.

Back-pressure - YES it happens, the ECU remap is to increase the tolerance.

Maybe other Pug sifu here can validate my statement above.
Haaa. Finally something I learned in uni is useful laugh.gif

Regarding the emission, is there a significant amount of smoke? Or just the smell? JPJ isn't for any upgrading...it's for the emissions change. But if not visible, I don't think anyone would be the wiser, especially if the car looks stock.

How responsive does the car feel now? Vroom vroommmmm? laugh.gif
marquis
post Nov 19 2019, 12:51 PM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(Pugbunny @ Nov 19 2019, 12:47 PM)
Nice. Thanks!

EDIT: Pugbunny Link seems to be dead? Opened from my phone and it's still the same thing sweat.gif

Is it in the "Peugeot 408 Owner Club Malaysia"?

EDIT 2: Nvm, I think I found the post. Did some looking around. Thanks again!

This post has been edited by marquis: Nov 19 2019, 01:50 PM

0.1187sec    1.00    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:35 PM