130 Pages « < 117 118 119 120 121 > » Bottom

Travel Cameron Highland, Recommended things to see and do?

goliath
post Sep 1 2012, 02:36 PM

5,532 posts

Normally, I would detour to Ipoh for breakfast before heading up to Cameron Highland. Hence, I'd use Simpang Pulai route.
getitdoone
post Sep 6 2012, 10:37 AM

107 posts

Hi , me and my friends will be going to Cameron Highlands next weekend for 3D/2N's there . Can people advice what to do there ? Eat , See ... etc .

Thanks .

ubsacc2004
post Sep 6 2012, 10:39 AM

No life without MUsic
1,860 posts

night market , strawberry farm, butterfly farm.
bearer of truth
post Sep 6 2012, 02:55 PM

biggrin.gif im going to cameron too next weekend 3d2n

ive been to cameron before 2d1n in jan

here's a link for you
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/363578
codenamew
post Sep 12 2012, 10:35 AM

601 posts

wan to ask for advice, is father's guest house good? saw the website and the pictures looks attractive,and more like country side type
stimix
post Sep 12 2012, 02:23 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(codenamew @ Sep 12 2012, 10:35 AM)
wan to ask for advice, is father's guest house good? saw the website and the pictures looks attractive,and more like country side type
I heard somewhere, they do not entertain local tourists. hmm.gif Mostly for bakpackers
jaylim94
post Sep 12 2012, 09:44 PM

522 posts

Seriously? I don't heard any of my friends plan to go there. anything new at there?
zeese
post Sep 12 2012, 10:14 PM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

QUOTE(jaylim94 @ Sep 12 2012, 09:44 PM)
Seriously? I don't heard any of my friends plan to go there. anything new at there?
Probably because they have been there before.
onlychong
post Sep 12 2012, 10:40 PM

Weather there is no longer make me felt comfortable, abit hot there!
codenamew
post Sep 13 2012, 09:21 AM

601 posts

is public transport like buses and taxis are easily available at cameron highland? i do now have my own transport and im staying at tanah rata. plan to go for the night market at brinchang but afraid there will be no transport back to KRS. pls advise.tq
ukiya
post Sep 17 2012, 04:26 AM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

QUOTE(codenamew @ Sep 12 2012, 10:35 AM)
is good... but u have to try ya luck, call n book...
me n my fren(from oversea) did stay it once n stay comfy under their Nissen hut. Not bad...

QUOTE(stimix @ Sep 12 2012, 02:23 PM)
I heard somewhere, they do not entertain local tourists.  hmm.gif Mostly for bakpackers
I m guess there are many locals facing the same issue, one of the source i found:
http://www.lonelyplanet.com/thorntree/thre...hreadID=1485704

jaylim94
post Sep 17 2012, 11:43 PM

522 posts

i went there two day ago, get terrible jam at Brinchang there. Not a relax spot anymore. Sad sad.gif
KohSin
post Sep 18 2012, 03:26 PM

721 posts

i been there twice this year, 1 with my husband for my birthday celebration another for family trip. and i would swear that i wont go there in the near future....maybe 10 years later?

stuck in horrible jam during the pasar malam.......jam for an hour or two i cant remember d.........n nothing else to do there, n weather is terrible....not cozy anymore....so might as well go genting, nearer, more things to do....
stimix
post Sep 18 2012, 03:41 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(jaylim94 @ Sep 17 2012, 11:43 PM)
i went there two day ago, get terrible jam at Brinchang there. Not a relax spot anymore. Sad sad.gif
Brinchang is not for relaxing liao.. Food also cut throat pricing & lousy. Those really jam area inc Brinchang, Kea Farm & the junction of Sg Palas- Tringkap.

That is why I alway advise ppl not to use Spg Pulai>Brinchang way esp those going to Tanah Rata only. Using Tapah way athough winding but you for sure wil not stuck in traffic jam esp Brinchang & further away. brows.gif
kaiwoon
post Sep 19 2012, 05:54 AM

92 posts

is normal to have jam traffic when you r traveling on weekends..

been travelling to cameron quite often after i move to Utar @perak which is located1 hr from cameron..

stay at brinchang if you do not have transport... tanah rata is a bit quite and u'll take the risk when going back after pasar malam@ brinchang..

I will prefer hotel/motel in tanah rata because is quite and cooler..
stay few times in brinchang and is damn noisy even 3-4 am..

phenally
post Sep 19 2012, 12:59 PM

116 posts

hi all, would like to ask, which is a better route to take , simpang pulai or tapah if want to go cameron at night... start journey from KL at 10 pm something ?
Important is safety .
Staying at tanah rata , though i know tapah is nearer, but since driving like around midnight at that area.... wondering take which route better.
will the tapah route full of fogs?

First time driving there.

chin_kh
post Sep 24 2012, 02:20 AM

126 posts

QUOTE(KohSin @ Sep 18 2012, 03:26 PM)
i been there twice this year, 1 with my husband for my birthday celebration another for family trip. and i would swear that i wont go there in the near future....maybe 10 years later?

stuck in horrible jam during the pasar malam.......jam for an hour or two i cant remember d.........n nothing else to do there, n weather is terrible....not cozy anymore....so might as well go genting, nearer, more things to do....
In Cameron, the peak timing is weeknd & public holiday. So, if you can avoid this timing, should be a wonderful holidays. Otherwise ..hee .. hee...!

Added on September 24, 2012, 2:39 am
QUOTE(phenally @ Sep 19 2012, 12:59 PM)
hi all, would like to ask, which is a better route to take , simpang pulai or tapah if want to go cameron at night... start  journey from KL at 10 pm something  ?
Important is safety .
Staying at tanah rata , though i know tapah is nearer, but since driving like around midnight at that area....  wondering take which route better.
will the tapah route full of fogs?

First time driving there.
If your 1st choice is safety, I would not recommended you to drive up at night. You may miss-out some junctions & ended at other places. Besides, I believe it will be hard for you to check-in a hotel after you arrived.
My recommendation is depart from KL early in the morning, let say 5.00am or 5.30am. Then, it is safer to drive up-hill after that.

This post has been edited by chin_kh: Sep 24 2012, 02:39 AM
KohSin
post Sep 24 2012, 11:15 AM

721 posts

[quote=chin_kh,Sep 24 2012, 02:20 AM]
In Cameron, the peak timing is weeknd & public holiday. So, if you can avoid this timing, should be a wonderful holidays. Otherwise ..hee .. hee...!

go with my husband on weekday, so traffic still ok.........but family trip boh choice ler........cuz got my relatives oso.....so v chose weekend on a school holiday, god damn it.......... mad.gif mad.gif i still remember i was very very angry cuz one of my relative got lost on the way,den me n my husband n my mum drive to lead them to our hotel...stuck at the jam to the pasar malam area cuz they waited at kfc there (v dare not to ask them to find the way, cuz they really suck on this), on the jam keep hv to answer his calls, questioning us y so late, y never show up, they r hungry, etc......a real horrible experience.......
phenally
post Sep 24 2012, 11:41 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(chin_kh @ Sep 24 2012, 02:20 AM)

If your 1st choice is safety, I would not recommended you to drive up at night. You may miss-out some junctions & ended at other places. Besides, I believe it will be hard for you to check-in a hotel after you arrived.
My recommendation is depart from KL early in the morning, let say 5.00am or 5.30am. Then, it is safer to drive up-hill after that.
cant change date and timing... booked hotel strawberry park from those groupon voucher thingy.. and then later received close friend wedding dinner invitation.
So no choice to go after wedding dinner

Will bring along gps with me so should be ok?

cute_boboi
post Sep 24 2012, 12:38 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(phenally @ Sep 24 2012, 11:41 AM)
cant change date and timing... booked hotel strawberry park from those groupon voucher thingy.. and then later received close friend wedding dinner invitation.
So no choice to go after wedding dinner

Will bring along gps with me so should be ok?
It's not really the direction/GPS matter, but the experience of driving single lane uphill in dark condition without streetlights. The small trunk roads, without proper lines at certain area (wear out).
Also the twist and turns.
Maybe some season lorry/bus/4WD follow behind and give pressure.
Also, wild animals running across the road (less possibility).
Or some rocks, earth, landslide, tree trunks across the road, happens very frequent, especially during rainy season, which 99% not publish in newspaper, due to afraid affect the tourism.
Trust me, my relatives work and stay uphill and comes downhill every week for >30 years. Even he himself don't recommend driving at night.

If driver has the skills & experience before, then it is alright to TRY at night. Otherwise, not really recommend, it's higher risk.

Not trying to scare you, it can be easier/less risky than what I've stated. But just to set some expectation to be careful.

130 Pages « < 117 118 119 120 121 > » Top

0.0288sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:35 PM