18 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Travel Cameron Highland, Recommended things to see and do?

stimix
post Mar 18 2007, 11:07 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(Cassie @ Mar 18 2007, 10:19 PM)
i hope the rate is not pricey becuase i've really got to control the purse string. rates under RM80 would be just perfectly fine.
Villa dahlia is a 2 or 3 rooms apt -leh..The price will not fall<RM140!....The best I can get on non school holiday period but weekend is RM140 for a 2 rooms apt....but consider OK-liow bcos this translated to RM70/room....Infact what they mean by 2 rooms is they go & locked another room!

This post has been edited by stimix: Mar 18 2007, 11:08 PM
stimix
post Mar 19 2007, 11:02 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Mar 19 2007, 10:10 AM)
same for me
i normally go there for 3D/2N
1/2 for relaxing, 1/2 for activities
Yes agreed....I go there to hibernate too...dun really like going to the markets & etc....just eat & sleep at the cool resort....& it has been one of my favourite hibernating place....

For food try not to eat at Brinchang..all the restaurant there really like a slaughtering hse..prices of food worst than KL or even JB! The best alternative are those eateries at Tanah Rata....more cosy & reasoble pricing..The best tom yum steamboat there is Mayflower....
stimix
post Mar 19 2007, 04:26 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(Grengo01 @ Mar 19 2007, 03:08 PM)
hehehe driftmeister and stimix... same hibernating kakis eh? smile.gif. Food at CH is forgettable.. but I think next time I am going to try some of the food at Tringkap and Kuala Terla.... dunno if its cheaper than Tanah Rata. Anyone care to share info?
Not really. I hv tried another "famous" charcoal steamboat in between Kea farm & Tringkap ..I think "WaterCrest" The pricing is toatlly diff from others..i.e they dun go by per head but instead by pot (I think ~RM15) & then by no of dishes which range from RM5-RM10 per dish! If big family I think should be reasonable but for a family of 2+1, u might end up paying>RM40 for the steamboat...steamboat so-so only although using ancient charcoal cooker

stimix
post Mar 20 2007, 12:09 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Talking about food in CH, way back in late 90 or early 2000, I alway hv my lunch at a stall opposite Tanah Rata Post Office, that was when they tear down the stalls & build thw white elephent taxi/bus terminal.

There is one particular stall operated by Chinese handicapped (deaf) couple....and really luv the pancakes & the chinese fried noodle/beehoon..reasonable too)...But right now, since they built the new taxi terminal, dunno where is this handicapped couple is...any idea where they are?
stimix
post Mar 21 2007, 05:34 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(Grengo01 @ Mar 21 2007, 03:34 PM)
I am not sure but Cool Point is pretty cold.. simple rooms... never stayed there but my frenz have they say its decent...
I stayed there b4 they expanding the new wing, B4 expansion their rate is <RM150 now min >RM200...Nice room but a little noisy due to the nearby Tanah Rata mosque & also the stream nearby... doh.gif ehhh no hard feeling to our muslim fren..... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
stimix
post May 10 2007, 02:33 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ May 10 2007, 12:59 PM)
I'm planning to go there this June together with my wifey
Now are deciding where to stay, thinking of either Strawberry Park or Equatorial
Anyone stayed there before please give some comment a bit, in terms of the rooms/facilities, cleanliness and their service quality.  Btw we prefer somewhere which is quite and peaceful.
Both resorts are equally good. And are the only resorts having heated swimming pools in CH.

Equatorial is a bit noisy as more Tourist & Singaporean like this Hotel very much. Strawberry is a littlebit old but still keeps its charm and very quiet. Room size...I will prefer Strawbery as it single suite having huge bathroom wth 2 doors somemore...U can even study inside the batroom as what my daughter did! Equatorial room is basic as what u seen on a 3-4 stars hotel ie. open the door, u see bathroom after batroom normal room-lah unless u take their suite/apt rooms.

Outside Equatorial, there are row of purposely built stalls/shops & also an entertainment centre However the stall/shops expecially the entertainment centre are falling apart..No one maintaining the place and even the Toilets are not for Human!

Straberry park located at the summit of a mountain in Tanah Rata..Very nice scenery up there.. And Hotel Equatorial situated also on the summit of the highest habitated hotels in whole CH in Kea farm.

My conclusion go for Strawberry if u like really quiet & clean environment

stimix
post May 12 2007, 09:19 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ May 11 2007, 10:54 PM)
is the old road(tapah) still as worst as before?
i'm considering going there by mid June
No matter how worst it is....it's still the nearest road to goto CH from KL. I hv numerous time compare the traveling time using Spg Pulai & Tapah & it end up almost similar time to reach Tanah Rata...reason? Ppl start timing the time from Spg Pulai but they forgotten u need to travel another ~70KM from Tapah to Spg Pulai which will take another 1/2hr and another 1hr to CH from Spg Pulai whereas, Tapah to CH also 1.5hr.... hmm.gif furthermore u save on toll & can stop at numerous orang asli huts for durian/ wild orchid, wild ginger flower & etc....
stimix
post May 13 2007, 11:11 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ May 12 2007, 09:53 PM)
thanks for the info
but what i care is the passenger in the car
i scare they cannot stand the condition of the road
Drive slow-lah then the bck ppl will not really feel it. biggrin.gif ...Another factor u need to consider whether to use Spg Pulai or Tapah is the location of ur hotel..If ur hotel is Equatorial..it is advisaeable to use Spg Pulai as this Hotel is closest to the Spg Pulai route. But if hotel located at Tanah rata, use Tapah bcos if u use spg Pulai, u might caught in 2 major jam i.e one at Kea farm market & Another at Brinchang town b4 reaching Tanah Rata
stimix
post May 19 2007, 07:28 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(feeling @ May 19 2007, 03:36 PM)

Added on May 19, 2007, 3:56 pm
Genting highland is more relax gua....cool enuf
Genting Highland is too noisy to call it a hibernating resort-lah...I feel so stressfull wth all the scream & hectic up there & it is too cold too until cannot sleep!..CH is cosy & relaxing...biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by stimix: May 19 2007, 07:29 PM
stimix
post May 19 2007, 11:07 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(bengang13 @ May 19 2007, 10:57 PM)
i don't think there are any resort that is of walking distance to the tea plantation...
Actually Equatorial to Sg Palas Boh Tea Plantation is not far u can actually walk about 2KM b4 reaching the plantation area and probably another 2-3km to reach the Tea house....But by the time reach, I think oledi 2hrs hard tracking! biggrin.gif
stimix
post Jun 18 2007, 08:04 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(yourgadget @ Jun 17 2007, 08:33 PM)
how about RESORT? any idea??? budget no more than RM 100 each person.
hmm.gif
Where got resort in CH? biggrin.gif But if u mean higher end Hotels, U can try Heritage or Century Pine at Tanah Rata but the best is Strawberry ..for sure u need to up ur budget as the rate start from RM200/nite! (But if u get from agent/internet probably cheaper at RM150/nite)

I personally feel that Tanah Rata is much a better place to stay as it is more like olden day CH, less crowded, food is much more cheaper than Brinchang & relaxing...Brinchnag is too cormercialised and those restaurants there are lousy and CUT-THROAT!
stimix
post Jun 18 2007, 05:00 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(mifard @ Jun 18 2007, 04:31 PM)
I'm planning to honeymoon (3D2N, superior room) during school holiday in this upcoming August. So here the list of hotel that I've called:

Heritage: RM368
Equatorial: RM480
Strawberry: fully booked
Rainbow: almost RM300

The cost is not a problem for me whereas my budget is around RM500. Just want a help from u guys to recommend the best hotel for me. thanx  biggrin.gif
For honeymoon avoid Ranbow..u would not want to be wake up by the traffics below....It is located on the main street of Brinchang town..& amagine traffics going in & out ..smoke sumore...

I will recomend Strawberry but too bad it is fully booked.. U can try Heritage.not bad wth Tmnet wifi. Equatorial is the highest located hotel in CH also not bad but the facilities esp the entertainment centre beside the main road is totally rundown & not maintained at all! yukkk!!...
stimix
post Jun 19 2007, 08:07 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Duplicate thread... biggrin.gif Moderator....
stimix
post Jun 19 2007, 08:10 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Try the pinned hotel search on top of the forum and look for Villa Dahlia. they have 2 & 3 bedrooms units..price ranges from RM140 to RM210....During School Holiday & Public Holiday normal surcharge appliy....
stimix
post Jun 19 2007, 01:58 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(mifard @ Jun 19 2007, 11:35 AM)
thanks stimix  rclxms.gif
will consider ur suggestion..
maybe go for heritage...
the price quite ok...
have u experienced there? mind share with us...
Yes I stayed there last year...I managed to get 3D2N stays via lelong.com....one of Heritage time sharing member sold his entitlement to me at RM75/nite (Dun think u can get this rate unless from their time sharing members). One thing good about this hotel is the availabilty of tmnet hotspot at the restaurant & lobby...Room is clean & reasonable size as those 3 star hotel....Lotsa japanese styayed here ..If u stay at Equatorial lotsa Singaporean.
stimix
post Jun 19 2007, 11:30 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(areankim @ Jun 19 2007, 11:07 PM)
guys anyone know how far strawberry park resort is from brinchang pasar malam?

please have a look

http://www.strawberryparkresorts.com/html/locationmap.html
Interm of distance might not be far ~5km but if u dun have a transport u sure be cursing because it is located on the summit of one of the smaller mountain in CH!..so expect winding road from the main road..
stimix
post Jun 27 2007, 10:27 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(SpectacularButter @ Jun 27 2007, 12:33 AM)
Just went there last week.

U guys should go up gunung brinchang at night...the road is quite narrow and lots of potholes towards the top, really adventurous and scary at night...Up the mountain there is a watchtower that u can climb up and can see the hills and the clouds...it's very very cold at night but great feeling up there.
How deep & big is the potholes and do u think normal sedan car can go thru those potholes?

I hv been to Gng Brinchang 3 times but the last 1 was 2 yrs ago....Last year tried going up again but decided to turn bck bcos the condition of the road at the junction between Boh Palas & Gn Brinchang road damn teruk!! Hopefully they will tarred the road soon thinking of going there again in Aug sad.gif
stimix
post Jul 2 2007, 12:57 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Double thread, there is another extensive discussion on this earlier...Mod... biggrin.gif

BTW, Stayed at Heritage...abit old but very clean. lotsa Japanese. The plus thing that I like is u can stay connected as the lobby & restaurant having Tmnet hotspot. rclxms.gif Dun think any other hotels in CH having this...

CH is cooling, sceneries & relaxing while Penang is more on food, culture & hot

This post has been edited by stimix: Jul 2 2007, 12:59 PM
stimix
post Jul 3 2007, 01:47 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(binary @ Jul 3 2007, 01:20 PM)
I'm going to CH next week. Will stay at Casa De La Rosa. Quite a nice place to stay. About RM170++ per night inclusive breakfast.
haven't stay there but for sure very nice..,,,always envy those staying there... rclxms.gif BTW so cheap ah for this almost boutique stye hotel... rclxms.gif
stimix
post Jul 9 2007, 11:31 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Yes I do have the extensive maps of CH including jungle tracks & waterfalls ...but in digital format biggrin.gif

U can get the same free map as a member of malsingmaps.com

But in order to view the map without any GPS receiver, u need to insatll certain program such as mapedit & etc.Installation guide is inside their Help/FAQ/Wiki

18 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0522sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:36 AM