Hi all,
Is Blondal’s M2 poe filter good?
How abt the company reputation? Is it really
Swedish as claimed?
[Home Appliances] Water Filter/Purifier Thread V2, Drinking Water Treatment System
Jun 8 2018, 09:49 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
50 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
Hi all,
Is Blondal’s M2 poe filter good? How abt the company reputation? Is it really Swedish as claimed? |
Jun 12 2018, 02:47 AM
1,256 posts Joined: Dec 2016 |
QUOTE(Angelongsiewlai @ Jun 11 2018, 11:24 PM) nevermind... price is 800rm in Korea, too expensive...QUOTE(mabelbaby @ Jun 11 2018, 11:40 PM) I guess you might try Coway la , this brand is quite famous with their water purifier and also the air one . Most of my colleagues using this brand Coway is basically 1000RM product (with healthy profit) sold for 4000RM. The only advantage is that they offer payment terms. Otherwise it is a generic item made in Shandong, China... And the "alkaline water" scam that was popular 5 years ago and they still don't give it up. |
Jun 12 2018, 06:32 PM
347 posts Joined: Dec 2016 |
QUOTE(cikpotmepot @ Jun 12 2018, 05:39 PM) what is the different between indoor and outdoor water filter? if outdoor, can just take a drink through a pipe or need to boil it? Outdoor water filter is use to filter those bigger contaminants and to prevent indoor water filter get clog easily so that your indoor water filter can last longer. Indoor water filter mostly can direct drink it. But still need to see what kind of brand.This post has been edited by Ch33r: Jun 12 2018, 06:32 PM |
Jun 12 2018, 10:40 PM
QUOTE(cikpotmepot @ Jun 12 2018, 05:39 PM) what is the different between indoor and outdoor water filter? if outdoor, can just take a drink through a pipe or need to boil it? Outdoor/indoor is not the right way of saying it. In fact, most outdoor filters are only outdoor in Malaysia because it is warm here.It is Point of Entry, PoE (i.e. whole house), vs Point of Use, PoU (i.e. just a separate faucet for drinking water only). PoE is usually only sediment filter, meaning it removes sand, clay, rust etc, down to few microns in case of cartridge and down to roughly 40 microns in case of sand filter. So all water that comes to your house is filtered, but not to drinking level. PoU is at least sediment+carbon (though some do not come with sediment and let carbon do sediment work, which blocks filter prematurely). This is to remove suspended particles + awful taste/smell of carbon and various VOCs. Some filters are able to remove pharmaceuticals, PBA and bacteria, some also able to remove viruses. Next level is RO, in which case pretty much everything is removed, except diffused gases nitrates (in theory it removes up to 80% of nitrates, but in reality, because of other contaminants present, the number is significantly lower) and some other minor things. You can refer to the link below for complete (and hopefully unbiased) PoU guide. PoE guide is still not available https://frescatec.com/pou-how-to/ @Violet1212 Not saying Coway is necessarily good or bad, to be honest, I never fully tested it and I haven't seen serious tests by anyone. I tasted water from the one big Coway at local restaurant, and while cold water had quite good taste, hot water tasted really bad, maybe lack of maintenance of the tank or something else, but there was clearly something wrong with hot water. All I'm saying is that, in my opinion, Coway, Cuckoo and other Korean brands are significantly overpriced for inline filter system, even with dispenser. I was trying to get a dispenser from one of the Korean brands (not available in Malaysia), and it was actually made in Korea. Price is 800RM and it is not significantly more for system with filtration. This is for real made in Korea product with NSF cartridges and the seller is still making good profit on it. Coway is what, roughly 6K on the plan and 3800-ish if bought right away, and it is not Korean made... Coway and Cuckoo have great payment terms for those who cannot accumulate enough money, it is true. But 100RM (for Neo) x 60 months (plan) is still 6K. At 6K can buy quality filter + cartridges for 6 years + dispenser and have excellent water quality, separate clean water tap (to wash fruits and vegetables for example) with better flow, and still have money left for vacation. Filter+dispenser will always outperform dispenser with built in inline filters. But my bad, I think "ALKALINE WATER IS MIRACLE" is mostly Cuckoo, Coway seems to get away from it more and more, good for them! This post has been edited by hestati: Jun 12 2018, 10:54 PM |
Jun 13 2018, 08:24 PM
11,308 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
sifus, where to buy the 1/4in blue color tubing? Can find at Ace Hardware or AEON?
Jun 14 2018, 01:03 AM
5,867 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
Jun 14 2018, 05:30 AM
Jun 14 2018, 10:21 AM
Jun 14 2018, 10:23 AM
Jun 14 2018, 11:54 AM
6,354 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
hestati
https://www.shopnsave.com.my/collections/ou...ter-sand-filter Thoughts on something like this as a PoE? Pentek 1044 vessel. Straightforward media (no rocket science). And the 5 layers of media doesn't remove chlorine, so no funky stuff growing in the water tank. |
Jun 14 2018, 07:38 PM
QUOTE(janesaw @ Jun 14 2018, 05:07 PM) Keen to buy a cheaper dispenser at first but when come to the warranty problem and after sales service ended up I choose Coway. As I know Coway really did their job very well on servicing customers. It quite cosy to buy a good dispenser in Malaysia but healthy is mostly important to our life. I hear you, but what I mean is that Coway and Cuckoo is 1000RM, ok 1500RM maximum product. Other 5000 is payment for "service" which is basically changing cheap inline cartridges and "sterilizing" the tanks. Quality water filter is serviced 1-2 times per year, it only takes 10-15 minutes. In case of Aquaphor it takes 2 minutes, once a year. And it's 1/4 the cost.Coway and Cuckoo adopted this model from Korea and are trying to expand it. I remember they tried in USA, but it failed, many of their products ended up in liquidation centers, so they switched to other markets. Their reviews are available here: https://www.facebook.com/COWAY-166921826808784/ |
Jun 15 2018, 02:23 PM
18,398 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
Suddenly so many agents appearing and flooding the thread.
Jun 15 2018, 06:34 PM
QUOTE(hestati @ Jun 14 2018, 07:38 PM) I hear you, but what I mean is that Coway and Cuckoo is 1000RM, ok 1500RM maximum product. Other 5000 is payment for "service" which is basically changing cheap inline cartridges and "sterilizing" the tanks. Quality water filter is serviced 1-2 times per year, it only takes 10-15 minutes. In case of Aquaphor it takes 2 minutes, once a year. And it's 1/4 the cost. Wow, Coway customer service so bad. Must accommodate to the convenience of their serviceman timing instead of customer's schedule.Coway and Cuckoo adopted this model from Korea and are trying to expand it. I remember they tried in USA, but it failed, many of their products ended up in liquidation centers, so they switched to other markets. Their reviews are available here: https://www.facebook.com/COWAY-166921826808784/ |
Jun 15 2018, 09:29 PM
QUOTE(Wenwen16 @ Jun 15 2018, 09:05 PM) Do u mind share me more details?How their service is bad?Coz I am going to sign contract with the Conway agent. So want to more. Please click the link and read the rating review. A lot of 1 star reviews.https://www.facebook.com/COWAY-166921826808784/ This post has been edited by aeiou228: Jun 15 2018, 09:34 PM |
Jun 16 2018, 10:54 AM
1,802 posts Joined: Oct 2015 |
Hey guys, anyone using Panasonic water filter TK-AS45?
I just bought it and installed in my condo. I just found out that the guide says to use on tap water that is safe for consumption only. As I only use this water filter to drink, is it safe without boiling it?? |
Jun 16 2018, 12:26 PM
QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Jun 16 2018, 10:54 AM) Hey guys, anyone using Panasonic water filter TK-AS45? Think about your filter as you would think about insurance.I just bought it and installed in my condo. I just found out that the guide says to use on tap water that is safe for consumption only. As I only use this water filter to drink, is it safe without boiling it?? I posted a link to the guide above, there you can see that your filter can probably "cover" most of critical contaminants except viruses and some bacteria (0.1 micron will cover most, but not all bacteria). Why do I say "think about it as insurance"? Do you always have bacteria in water? Yes, but most of them are not harmful. Viruses is quite rare, but could happen. So overall, you are not 100% covered, but chances are you will be ok for bacteria. Now, about heavy metals, arsenic, lead, chromium etc, I don't know. They say that in their system, lead is removed by ion exchange in ceramic filter... What??? Ion exchange in ceramic, how is this possible? Unless they don't say something about it. On a side note, I really do not get the obsession of Japanese/Korean companies with ceramic filters. These filters do a lot more harm than good. Just recently there was a case of water contamination in Oregon by bacteria. The bacteria itself was not harmful, but it was producing a gas (forgot the name) that was like a poison. Assuming bacteria cannot get through ceramic filter (which is questionable, but ok), it becomes an excellent home for them, where they can multiply inside and produce gases, These gases for sure pass through any sediment type filters and may be only stopped by activated carbon of high quality with low micron rating... And yet still ceramic filter... |
Jun 16 2018, 12:31 PM
1,802 posts Joined: Oct 2015 |
QUOTE(hestati @ Jun 16 2018, 12:26 PM) Think about your filter as you would think about insurance. Hi there, thank you very much for your comments on the water filter. I posted a link to the guide above, there you can see that your filter can probably "cover" most of critical contaminants except viruses and some bacteria (0.1 micron will cover most, but not all bacteria). Why do I say "think about it as insurance"? Do you always have bacteria in water? Yes, but most of them are not harmful. Viruses is quite rare, but could happen. So overall, you are not 100% covered, but chances are you will be ok for bacteria. Now, about heavy metals, arsenic, lead, chromium etc, I don't know. They say that in their system, lead is removed by ion exchange in ceramic filter... What??? Ion exchange in ceramic, how is this possible? Unless they don't say something about it. On a side note, I really do not get the obsession of Japanese/Korean companies with ceramic filters. These filters do a lot more harm than good. Just recently there was a case of water contamination in Oregon by bacteria. The bacteria itself was not harmful, but it was producing a gas (forgot the name) that was like a poison. Assuming bacteria cannot get through ceramic filter (which is questionable, but ok), it becomes an excellent home for them, where they can multiply inside and produce gases, These gases for sure pass through any sediment type filters and may be only stopped by activated carbon of high quality with low micron rating... And yet still ceramic filter... But the statement in the manual that states to use it on tap water that is safe for consumption makes me wonder if it is safe to consume it directly from the filtered tap. The sales agent didn’t not mention anything about this to me prior to purchasing it. I do wonder if it suits those landed houses more as they would have a large filter tank outside the house and another one in the kitchen which also means that the tap water from outside already filtered and safe to consume |
Jun 16 2018, 01:49 PM
QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Jun 16 2018, 12:31 PM) Hi there, thank you very much for your comments on the water filter. No, outside filter only removes sediment and most of the time, sand outside filter removes only large particles.But the statement in the manual that states to use it on tap water that is safe for consumption makes me wonder if it is safe to consume it directly from the filtered tap. The sales agent didn’t not mention anything about this to me prior to purchasing it. I do wonder if it suits those landed houses more as they would have a large filter tank outside the house and another one in the kitchen which also means that the tap water from outside already filtered and safe to consume The statement you are referring to is standard statement. Any tap water in municipality is considered "safe to drink", until something happens, like what happened in Oregon recently. Then, the issue a statement that "water not safe to drink". Basically why this statement? Say you live in kampung and decide to make a well and drink from it. Who knows what's there? Radiation, mercury, maybe even waste water from drain contaminating it. So this is why this statement, so that you do not simply put this filter in use with well water and think that no matter what is there, your filter will handle. So do not worry about it. Mind to share how much it costs this Panasonic? |
Jun 16 2018, 08:15 PM
Suddenly we got flooded with Coway reps?
Jun 16 2018, 08:48 PM
QUOTE(hestati @ Jun 16 2018, 08:15 PM) If you switch the forum view to desktop version, you can see 2 newbies joined at the same time yesterday and 1 newbie just joined this morning. Their first post was about coway. If the posting tone is in favour of coway, then it's obvious that they are coway's ppl. |
| Change to: | 0.0184sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:42 AM |