316 Pages « < 126 127 128 129 130 > » Bottom

[Home Appliances] Water Filter/Purifier Thread V2, Drinking Water Treatment System

WhitE LighteR
post Jun 21 2018, 04:31 AM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(hestati @ Jun 21 2018, 04:09 AM)
We do offer such a system, basically it is 5 micron sediment pleated in one housing and 10 micron carbon block in the other, inline. It is very useful for restaurants for instance, where you need water for ice machine, coffee machine, boiler etc etc. It can also be installed as PoE for whole house or condo, however, there is a trick... It removes 99% of chlorine, so if you have a water tank, it is no longer "protected" by chlorinated water, but is rather filled with fresh water... So bacteria grow much faster there. I would say it is perfect for tankless setup (condo or landed prop. converted to direct flow)
Oh ya. True also. So this is definitely less suited for landed with tank setup.
hestati
post Jun 21 2018, 04:46 AM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Jun 21 2018, 04:31 AM)
Oh ya. True also. So this is definitely less suited for landed with tank setup.
I'd say if your tank is in good condition and you start using this setup, then no issue. But if your tank is 10 years old, you never had PoE before, and you just install carbon block, then you may have some issues. Carbon blocks as PoE are quite popular in USA and they have no issues with or without the tank if proper maintenance is done.

To be honest, unless you have way too much chlorine (where I live we actually do get too much) or unless you know that your water is very bad quality, carbon at PoE is an overkill and waste of money.

This post has been edited by hestati: Jun 21 2018, 04:47 AM
Subber
post Jun 21 2018, 09:03 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(hestati @ Jun 20 2018, 11:30 PM)
Condo or landed? Your choice is either cartridge system, which filters down to 5 micron or media system, which filters down to 40 micron and requires backwash. PoE can pretty much only remove sediment effectively, unless you want to install 2 stage to remove chlorine (taste and odor) too. Do you already have PoU? This may help determine what kind of PoE you need.
POU means those internal filters installed near the sink? Yeah I have those but they get dirty very quickly. Hence the need for a POE filter. And mine is a landed property. Thanks.
hestati
post Jun 21 2018, 05:11 PM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(Subber @ Jun 21 2018, 09:03 AM)
POU means those internal filters installed near the sink? Yeah I have those but they get dirty very quickly. Hence the need for a POE filter. And mine is a landed property. Thanks.
They can "get dirty" quickly not because of the dirt, but because of the poor design (for example if ceramic filter is first in line, it will get blocked within 1-2 month just from slug growing inside). A pre-filter can work, or PoE can work too. You can post here or PM me the details of the system you have now.

Is your only goal to protect your PoU or to have filtered water to showers, washing machines etc?
Subber
post Jun 22 2018, 09:56 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(hestati @ Jun 21 2018, 05:11 PM)
They can "get dirty" quickly not because of the dirt, but because of the poor design (for example if ceramic filter is first in line, it will get blocked within 1-2 month just from slug growing inside). A pre-filter can work, or PoE can work too. You can post here or PM me the details of the system you have now.

Is your only goal to protect your PoU or to have filtered water to showers, washing machines etc?
Thanks. I'll take photo of the filter i have now and send to you later.

As of now maybe just to have cleaner water for consumption. Is there a big difference in terms of set up and cost if i decide to have filtered water to showers and washing machines?

Thanks again for you help.
hestati
post Jun 22 2018, 03:24 PM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(Subber @ Jun 22 2018, 09:56 AM)
Thanks. I'll take photo of the filter i have now and send to you later.

As of now maybe just to have cleaner water for consumption. Is there a big difference in terms of set up and cost if i decide to have filtered water to showers and washing machines?

Thanks again for you help.
Yes, quite a big difference, PoE is roughly 1000RM with installation. If you do not absolutely need it, then there is no point to waste money on PoE (given you have good PoU). You can post photos here or Whatsapp to me. We will try to use your case as guide for everyone who is looking or thinking about PoE.
jianming80
post Jun 23 2018, 12:06 PM

18 posts

I already have outdoor water filter.
For indoor with dispenser, which brand is good? pasasonic, 3M or espring?
hestati
post Jun 23 2018, 01:59 PM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(jianming80 @ Jun 23 2018, 12:06 PM)
I already have outdoor water filter.
For indoor with dispenser, which brand is good? pasasonic, 3M or espring?
A bit confusing... Espring has no dispenser, neither does Panasonic. 3M has one dispenser but it costs like it is made of gold. Are you looking for hot/cold water dispenser or just for a separate faucet with drinking water? Are you planning to still boil your water or prefer to drink directly from the filter?
Farishaanuar59
post Jun 23 2018, 06:37 PM

Hey, does anyone know when should I clean the water purifier? i been using water purifier for a month and i been using it a lot during raya time , i afraid my water purifier spoil . Please give some advice
SUSslimey
post Jun 23 2018, 06:39 PM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(Farishaanuar59 @ Jun 23 2018, 06:37 PM)
Hey, does anyone know when should I clean the water purifier? i been using water purifier for a month and i been using it a lot during raya time , i afraid my water purifier spoil . Please give some advice
What type of filter?
Find out.

Then google for answer.
Farishaanuar59
post Jun 23 2018, 06:42 PM

As i heard, people say we can't take alkaline much it will make our body neutral and might cause low blood pressure and not enough sugar in our body . Any expertise alkaline here ?
SUSslimey
post Jun 23 2018, 06:50 PM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(Farishaanuar59 @ Jun 23 2018, 06:42 PM)
As i heard, people say we can't take alkaline much it will make our body neutral and might cause low blood pressure and not enough sugar in our body . Any expertise alkaline here ?
It’s all rubbish about alkaline and acid.

That being said, as long as you are not trying to kill yourself with bleach or strong chemical acids, you will be fine.

hestati
post Jun 24 2018, 07:03 AM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(Farishaanuar59 @ Jun 23 2018, 06:42 PM)
Like mentioned above by slimey, all this "alkaline" bs is just that, bs. It has no effect on our body whatsoever, no positive effect and no negative either.

"Alkaline water" was invented by filter companies to make consumers pay 3x the price for the same old purifier and in order to be different on paper. They tried to do the same trick with "positively charged", "structured", "live" water and more snake oils.

The only 2 classifications of water are safe and not safe to drink. Someone can also argue that there is "mineral vs RO" water debate, but even this debate is a simple battleground between bottle water companies and filter companies. It's trillion dollar industry, and when there are big money involved, there are many various false statements and information on every possible level.

This post has been edited by hestati: Jun 24 2018, 07:05 AM
mentalmuz
post Jun 24 2018, 11:11 AM

78 posts

Finally finished reading the last 30 pages or so. From the discussion of PoE, seems i can go to ace hardware and buy two the blue casing and make a 2 stage filtration? What about the filter? Where can I buy the filter? Any specific brand/model recommended? @hestati I saw a few pages back you have a complete system of PoE including the pressure gauge. Is it readily available? My house is landed so I’m interested in the 20” version.
hestati
post Jun 24 2018, 03:50 PM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(mentalmuz @ Jun 24 2018, 11:11 AM)
Finally finished reading the last 30 pages or so. From the discussion of PoE, seems i can go to ace hardware and buy two the blue casing and make a 2 stage filtration? What about the filter? Where can I buy the filter? Any specific brand/model recommended? @hestati I saw a few pages back you have a complete system of PoE including the pressure gauge. Is it readily available? My house is landed so I’m interested in the 20” version.
Yes, it is available. The reason why I am not wildly advertising it is because I want to find reasonable price contractor for complicated installation. I will PM you a bit later with all the information.

Ace hardware, as far as I know, only sells 10 by 2.5 housings, these are too small as PoE, they are ok as a pre filter though, except maybe for very small condo. I have a customer in Bangsar with PoE like that, and he changes the filter once per month or so, but he has lots of iron in water... We installed him 4.5 by 10 with pleated, 2 months so far so so good
viruz
post Jun 24 2018, 06:24 PM

820 posts

Hi all sifu, need recommendation here.

My house renovation is completing soon, now it is time to choose my water filter.

1. Last time I use the big sediment filter (those like a gas tank, some ppl called it rocket) which is cheap and available in most local hardware shop. It is good or should I change to a better one? How about 3M outdoor filter mentioned in this thread?

2. Indoor water filter + dispenser, last time uses RO, then switch to non-RO, all assembled by local technician using don't know what cartridges. Now in this thread I read about Aquaphor system, is it good? How about those famous Korean brand like Cuckoo, Coway, which are much much expensive but besides nice looking design on dispenser, the filtration technology basically same with cheaper brand?

3. On the dispenser, I saw a Korean brand called Filken with their tankless dispenser system where it is able to make water cold or hot while the water passing through their internal system, but it come with 3 stages filters and cost more than RM5k.

Please help me to choose which filters should I use.
hestati
post Jun 24 2018, 09:00 PM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(viruz @ Jun 24 2018, 06:24 PM)
Hi all sifu, need recommendation here.

My house renovation is completing soon, now it is time to choose my water filter.

1. Last time I use the big sediment filter (those like a gas tank, some ppl called it rocket) which is cheap and available in most local hardware shop. It is good or should I change to a better one? How about 3M outdoor filter mentioned in this thread?

2. Indoor water filter + dispenser, last time uses RO, then switch to non-RO, all assembled by local technician using don't know what cartridges. Now in this thread I read about Aquaphor system, is it good? How about those famous Korean brand like Cuckoo, Coway, which are much much expensive but besides nice looking design on dispenser, the filtration technology basically same with cheaper brand?

3. On the dispenser, I saw a Korean brand  called Filken with their tankless dispenser system where it is able to make water cold or hot while the water passing through their internal system, but it come with 3 stages filters and cost more than RM5k.

Please help me to choose which filters should I use.
1. "Rocket" or media or sand sediment filter can filter to 40 micron. Cartridge (3M or what we offer) can filter to 5 micron. Cartridge does not require backwash and has minimum pressure drop (1-2 psi). Cartridge can last 2-3 years and some can be washed (not 3M though), media also required to be changed every 3 years or so. Call me biased, but I would take cartridge any day over media, except when water quality is very bad or when free standing "rocket" is the only system that can be installed, because it is free standing. Cartridge housing needs to be attached to the wall.

2. Filtration in dispenser with built in filter type (Coway Cuckoo) will always be inferior to proper filter + dispenser. These systems make sense when you do not care much about money, you pay per month, someone comes, cleans it for you, replaces cartridges etc. It will cost you about 1200RM per year or so, minimum I think is 2 years. Aquaphor, Fresca, 3M would cost you from 1000 to 2000 up front (depends on the brand and seller) plus roughly 350RM for cartridges per year (more in case of 3M). Advantage is that you own the system, not just renting it. You can connect coffee machine, ice machine, dispenser, can wash fruits and vegetables and so on. Dispenser with filter is just that, dispenser.

3. Real Korean dispenser system, made by Hyundai with NSF filters can be easily bought for roughly 2500RM. 5K is... well 2x the price. I admit that tankless is good, since almost no , but over 5K is probably too much for it. If you virtually have unlimited budget, then can get this and just replace internal system with external one (again similar to Aquaphor) and get the best combo.

As for which system, if you want to drink directly from the filter, then you better get one that removes bacteria. You had RO before, so you're probably used to highest quality drinking water. Nowadays can get tankless RO for reasonable price too, let me know if you're interested.

hestati
post Jun 25 2018, 12:56 PM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(cikpotmepot @ Jun 25 2018, 12:37 PM)
ohhh waaaa never know the function of alkaline water to our body because i tot alkaline water is for those who are sick hahahahahaha
Please show at least 1 medical study that suggests that alkaline water has at least some benefit. You will not find one.
hestati
post Jun 25 2018, 01:26 PM

1,256 posts

Are we under attack of Coway reps again? Lol, used to be Amway, now Coway. But at least Amway were knowledgable about their product... Coway people seem to just say "many people recommend, so buy Coway".
Ch33r
post Jun 25 2018, 01:32 PM

347 posts

There is no problem for people to share any brand of water filter just like there are also have people share Aquaphor, Fresca, 3M and so on, nothing wrong just share and based on consumers needed....smile.gif

316 Pages « < 126 127 128 129 130 > » Top

0.0317sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:16 PM