316 Pages « < 124 125 126 127 128 > » Bottom

[Home Appliances] Water Filter/Purifier Thread V2, Drinking Water Treatment System

ubeyou
post Jun 3 2018, 01:55 PM

DreamX
697 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ Jun 3 2018, 01:25 PM)
Lead?
Heavy metal?

What proof do you have?

All sediment filters are about the same
Brown/Yellowish water inside the tank, those places with water leak has yellowish sign
SUSslimey
post Jun 3 2018, 01:55 PM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(ubeyou @ Jun 3 2018, 01:55 PM)
Brown/Yellowish water inside the tank, those places with water leak has yellowish sign
That doesn’t prove lead or heavy metal
hestati
post Jun 3 2018, 02:09 PM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(ubeyou @ Jun 3 2018, 01:55 PM)
Probably iron, I doubt you are exposed to lead 24/7. To have PoE to filter lead... Can, but it will be expensive, you will need a quality, modified carbon block and a sediment filter. Media filter will not be able to do it.

I posted a photo on previous page, this is what iron does to filter in about 3-4 days.
ubeyou
post Jun 3 2018, 04:09 PM

DreamX
697 posts

QUOTE(hestati @ Jun 3 2018, 02:09 PM)
Probably iron, I doubt you are exposed to lead 24/7. To have PoE to filter lead... Can, but it will be expensive, you will need a quality, modified carbon block and a sediment filter. Media filter will not be able to do it.

I posted a photo on previous page, this is what iron does to filter in about 3-4 days.
Sorry my mistake. I think it's Iron. sweat.gif

As I'm not always around, I was planning to buy
AMGO Korea UF1500L Ultra Filtration UF Membrane Filter Water Purifier Outdoor Water Filter 0.01 Micron
AMGO UF Stainless Steel Outdoor Water Filter Auto Timer,Auto Backwash(Best Quality)

Outdoor water filter + auto backwash.

Will they be good enough for basic iron filtration?
SUSslimey
post Jun 3 2018, 04:41 PM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(ubeyou @ Jun 3 2018, 04:09 PM)
Sorry my mistake. I think it's Iron.  sweat.gif

As I'm not always around, I was planning to buy
AMGO Korea UF1500L Ultra Filtration UF Membrane Filter Water Purifier Outdoor Water Filter 0.01 Micron
AMGO UF Stainless Steel Outdoor Water Filter Auto Timer,Auto Backwash(Best Quality)

Outdoor water filter + auto backwash.

Will they be good enough for basic iron filtration?
Sediment filter will do.

ubeyou
post Jun 3 2018, 05:53 PM

DreamX
697 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ Jun 3 2018, 04:41 PM)
Sediment filter will do.
Thanks for your suggestion.

I will go for Outdoor Sediment filter + auto backwash.

AMGO seems like a biggest seller in lazada.
hestati
post Jun 3 2018, 08:00 PM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(ubeyou @ Jun 3 2018, 05:53 PM)
Thanks for your suggestion.

I will go for Outdoor Sediment filter + auto backwash.

AMGO seems like a biggest seller in lazada.
If too much iron, then any filter will get blocked fast. Except maybe media sediment filter, but that's because it will not filter iron well and it will all go to your PoU or kettle.

In that case, maybe can do 20 micron followed by 5 micron sediment filter.
hestati
post Jun 5 2018, 08:01 PM

1,256 posts

Seems like I finally found a dispenser, made in Korea, ordering a sample now
-oc-gassa
post Jun 6 2018, 08:55 AM

967 posts

QUOTE(hestati @ Jun 5 2018, 08:01 PM)
Seems like I finally found a dispenser, made in Korea, ordering a sample now
nice.. will be more cheaper? compare to those two u bring in?
hestati
post Jun 6 2018, 10:52 AM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(-oc-gassa @ Jun 6 2018, 08:55 AM)
nice.. will be more cheaper? compare to those two u bring in?
I was referring to dispenser, not filter. Dispenser does not have integrated filter, it is used as an additional unit to serve hot/cold water
stevie_G
post Jun 8 2018, 09:49 PM

50 posts

Hi all,

Is Blondal’s M2 poe filter good?
How abt the company reputation? Is it really
Swedish as claimed?

hestati
post Jun 12 2018, 02:47 AM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(Angelongsiewlai @ Jun 11 2018, 11:24 PM)
What brand is it ? mind to share ?
nevermind... price is 800rm in Korea, too expensive...

QUOTE(mabelbaby @ Jun 11 2018, 11:40 PM)
I guess you might try Coway la , this brand is quite famous with their water purifier and also the air one . Most of my colleagues using this brand
Coway is basically 1000RM product (with healthy profit) sold for 4000RM. The only advantage is that they offer payment terms. Otherwise it is a generic item made in Shandong, China... And the "alkaline water" scam that was popular 5 years ago and they still don't give it up.
Ch33r
post Jun 12 2018, 06:32 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(cikpotmepot @ Jun 12 2018, 05:39 PM)
what is the different between indoor and outdoor water filter? if outdoor, can just take a drink through a pipe or need to boil it?
Outdoor water filter is use to filter those bigger contaminants and to prevent indoor water filter get clog easily so that your indoor water filter can last longer. Indoor water filter mostly can direct drink it. But still need to see what kind of brand.

This post has been edited by Ch33r: Jun 12 2018, 06:32 PM
hestati
post Jun 12 2018, 10:40 PM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(cikpotmepot @ Jun 12 2018, 05:39 PM)
what is the different between indoor and outdoor water filter? if outdoor, can just take a drink through a pipe or need to boil it?
Outdoor/indoor is not the right way of saying it. In fact, most outdoor filters are only outdoor in Malaysia because it is warm here.

It is Point of Entry, PoE (i.e. whole house), vs Point of Use, PoU (i.e. just a separate faucet for drinking water only).

PoE is usually only sediment filter, meaning it removes sand, clay, rust etc, down to few microns in case of cartridge and down to roughly 40 microns in case of sand filter. So all water that comes to your house is filtered, but not to drinking level.

PoU is at least sediment+carbon (though some do not come with sediment and let carbon do sediment work, which blocks filter prematurely). This is to remove suspended particles + awful taste/smell of carbon and various VOCs. Some filters are able to remove pharmaceuticals, PBA and bacteria, some also able to remove viruses. Next level is RO, in which case pretty much everything is removed, except diffused gases nitrates (in theory it removes up to 80% of nitrates, but in reality, because of other contaminants present, the number is significantly lower) and some other minor things.

You can refer to the link below for complete (and hopefully unbiased) PoU guide. PoE guide is still not available sad.gif

https://frescatec.com/pou-how-to/

@Violet1212

Not saying Coway is necessarily good or bad, to be honest, I never fully tested it and I haven't seen serious tests by anyone. I tasted water from the one big Coway at local restaurant, and while cold water had quite good taste, hot water tasted really bad, maybe lack of maintenance of the tank or something else, but there was clearly something wrong with hot water. All I'm saying is that, in my opinion, Coway, Cuckoo and other Korean brands are significantly overpriced for inline filter system, even with dispenser.

I was trying to get a dispenser from one of the Korean brands (not available in Malaysia), and it was actually made in Korea. Price is 800RM and it is not significantly more for system with filtration. This is for real made in Korea product with NSF cartridges and the seller is still making good profit on it. Coway is what, roughly 6K on the plan and 3800-ish if bought right away, and it is not Korean made...

Coway and Cuckoo have great payment terms for those who cannot accumulate enough money, it is true. But 100RM (for Neo) x 60 months (plan) is still 6K. At 6K can buy quality filter + cartridges for 6 years + dispenser and have excellent water quality, separate clean water tap (to wash fruits and vegetables for example) with better flow, and still have money left for vacation. Filter+dispenser will always outperform dispenser with built in inline filters.

But my bad, I think "ALKALINE WATER IS MIRACLE" is mostly Cuckoo, Coway seems to get away from it more and more, good for them!

This post has been edited by hestati: Jun 12 2018, 10:54 PM
idoblu
post Jun 13 2018, 08:24 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

sifus, where to buy the 1/4in blue color tubing? Can find at Ace Hardware or AEON?
aeiou228
post Jun 14 2018, 01:03 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jun 13 2018, 08:24 PM)
sifus, where to buy the 1/4in blue color tubing? Can find at Ace Hardware or AEON?
Shopee ada
idoblu
post Jun 14 2018, 05:30 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jun 14 2018, 01:03 AM)
Shopee ada
I was looking to buy one fast. Now Raya, all packages sangkut. Thanks anyway
hestati
post Jun 14 2018, 10:21 AM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jun 14 2018, 05:30 AM)
I was looking to buy one fast. Now Raya, all packages sangkut. Thanks anyway
I don't have blue, but if you want white, original by John Guest UK, I have in Cyberjaya smile.gif
idoblu
post Jun 14 2018, 10:23 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(hestati @ Jun 14 2018, 10:21 AM)
I don't have blue, but if you want white, original by John Guest UK, I have in Cyberjaya smile.gif
ok noted. let me see how....thank you sir
Jason
post Jun 14 2018, 11:54 AM

6,354 posts

hestati

https://www.shopnsave.com.my/collections/ou...ter-sand-filter

Thoughts on something like this as a PoE?

Pentek 1044 vessel. Straightforward media (no rocket science). And the 5 layers of media doesn't remove chlorine, so no funky stuff growing in the water tank.

316 Pages « < 124 125 126 127 128 > » Top

0.0244sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 09:28 AM