125 Pages « < 67 68 69 70 71 > » Bottom

Travel Travel to Japan V7, Discovery Japan Start Here

mt24
post Sep 30 2015, 08:42 PM

499 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 30 2015, 07:14 PM)
JR rail pass are biggest of all JR pass. It cover whole Japan.
JR west pass are useless if you no planning go Himeji , Okayama  , Hiroshima.

Kansai I already mention , it was JR kill zone. JR train are very limited used. Why still waste money on JR passes?

Kansai area are fully cover by  Subway , Nankai , Hankyu , Kintetsu. JR just a small actor.
Entire Kansai area only Universal Studio Japan are ezclusive JR line.  So you buy that stupid JR pass to ride to USJ only?
Thanks. Now i got it. I tot it is JR west and JR is totally different system.
treblecase
post Oct 1 2015, 12:46 AM

IHI
779 posts

QUOTE(futobuta @ Sep 30 2015, 07:04 PM)
Hey guys, I got a question to ask. I've never used the AirAsia flight
to Haneda before. It's supposed to reach at 10.30pm.
How often does this get delayed? I need to plan my way out of
there before the last train/bus for the day. Thanks.
Your problems are the disembarkation process in the plane & immigration process. Usually 4-5 counters are open & make sure you've completed the entry cards to avoid further delays. D7 flight usually parked quite a distance away & expect walking about 5 minutes using the travelator. Baggage claim usually quite efficient (it's Japan after all). Last buses at 12:15am. Depending on where you're going, trains are out coz if you catch the last train, chances are you may not be able to catch the connecting train to your destination. For buses, the ticket counter is just in front of the baggage claim exit or if you know which platform your bus is, there's ticket machine there.
deodorant
post Oct 1 2015, 08:01 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(kyxxx @ Sep 30 2015, 06:44 PM)
wow, you're going the same time as i do haha.

Except my plan is as below:

31-Mar --> Arrive Tokyo 7am (discover around Asakusa, since we're staying there)
1-Apr --> Tokyo (Tsukuji, Tsukushima, Odaiba, Shibuya, Harajuku, Shinjuku, Ikebukuro)
2-Apr --> Tokyo (Akihabara entire day)
Go during Sakura season but not visiting any of the Sakura sites?
kyxxx
post Oct 1 2015, 09:16 AM

284 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Oct 1 2015, 08:01 AM)
Go during Sakura season but not visiting any of the Sakura sites?
Ah well, Hakone and Kamakura has great Sakura sites though. -> sufficient for us guys lol

As for Tokyo, the plans are not fixed yet, those places are approximate locations to go =D.

Though so, the few Sakura sites i know would be Ueno Park and Yoyogi Park?
Any other recommendations?
Duckies
post Oct 1 2015, 09:33 AM

Rubber Ducky
9,796 posts

Aih I still haven't change my money to Yen...and now seems like RM 1 - > 27 yen only =( Should I change it at bank? Do they follow the exchange rate closely as what's stated in Google?
tbcheese
post Oct 1 2015, 09:45 AM

313 posts

31-Mar --> Arrive Tokyo 7am (discover around Asakusa, since we're staying there)
1-Apr --> Tokyo (Tsukuji, Tsukushima, Odaiba, Shibuya, Harajuku, Shinjuku, Ikebukuro)
3-Apr --> Hakone
4-Apr --> Hakone + Kamakura
5-Apr --> Kamakura
6-Apr --> Back to Tokyo (still deciding where to go)
7-Apr --> Depart to Airport (unsure plans)
Looks like you planned your 1 Apr in a big loop. If you're taking the metro, I suggest checking the travel times as it seems a bit packed for a day. If you've been there before and know what you want to look at then it should be alright.
TSRegentCid
post Oct 1 2015, 09:51 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Oct 1 2015, 08:33 AM)
Aih I still haven't change my money to Yen...and now seems like RM 1 - > 27 yen only =( Should I change it at bank? Do they follow the exchange rate closely as what's stated in Google?
No, even Bank also need profit. Bank are also buiness.
Around Rm1 to 25yen
deodorant
post Oct 1 2015, 12:24 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(kyxxx @ Oct 1 2015, 09:16 AM)
Though so, the few Sakura sites i know would be Ueno Park and Yoyogi Park?
Any other recommendations?

I like shinjuku gyoen cos gotch a lot of place to lie around and relax. And it's an actual garden so there's other stuff to see than cherry trees.

kyxxx
post Oct 1 2015, 02:09 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(tbcheese @ Oct 1 2015, 09:45 AM)
Looks like you planned your 1 Apr in a big loop. If you're taking the metro, I suggest checking the travel times as it seems a bit packed for a day. If you've been there before and know what you want to look at then it should be alright.
Thanks for telling, i also kinda understand that day will be very packed.
Well, it is still under planning seeing that i have 6 months haha.

May i know that your meaning of checking the travel time is for train? Bus? or something else?
If it is related to public transportation, where can i check the time?
deodorant
post Oct 1 2015, 02:35 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(kyxxx @ Oct 1 2015, 02:09 PM)

Hyperdia. http://www.hyperdia.com/en/ Or just use google maps, both give a somewhat decent estimate of travel times.
tbcheese
post Oct 1 2015, 02:40 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(kyxxx @ Oct 1 2015, 02:09 PM)
Thanks for telling, i also kinda understand that day will be very packed.
Well, it is still under planning seeing that i have 6 months haha.

May i know that your meaning of checking the travel time is for train? Bus? or something else?
I use google maps. Also quite important to check which exit you want at a specific metro station. I spent so much time figuring out which one gets me nearest to where I want to go cos I skimped on preparation and just planned out a general route.
kerelbort
post Oct 1 2015, 04:50 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(tbcheese @ Oct 1 2015, 02:40 PM)
I use google maps. Also quite important to check which exit you want at a specific metro station. I spent so much time figuring out which one gets me nearest to where I want to go cos I skimped on preparation and just planned out a general route.
i got so much trouble with train gates... since not much preparation.. (my own mistake) .. fortunately, the japanese is really kind and assist me all the way to the train gate.. although he might be going to the other side.. make me feel embarrass and thankful at the same time... a few of them claim they work in Malaysia before.. kind of cool
jefferenelee
post Oct 1 2015, 09:19 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(kerelbort @ Oct 1 2015, 04:50 PM)
i got so much trouble with train gates... since not much preparation.. (my own mistake) .. fortunately, the japanese is really kind and assist me all the way to the train gate.. although he might be going to the other side.. make me feel embarrass and thankful at the same time... a few of them claim they work in Malaysia before.. kind of cool
What kind of trouble you have experience? Aren't they have proper signage?

Kampung2005
post Oct 1 2015, 10:58 PM

Proudly Kampungite, will always be one.
3,028 posts

My upcoming trip (October, 2nd trip to Nippon)

Day 1 night = Arrive at Haneda
Day 2 = Tokyo (Odaiba Gundam, Toyota)
Day 3 = Tokyo (Tokyo Motor Show)
Day 4 = Tokyo (at late night, take overnight bus to Toyama)
Day 5 = Toyama (city area)
Day 6 = Toyama / Kurobe / Kurobe Gorge
Day 7 = Kanazawa
Day 8 = Tsuruga ---> Kyoto ---> Osaka
Day 9 = Kansai area (Kobe)
Day 10 = Kansai area (Osaka)
Day 11 = Hiroshima (Mazda plant tour)
Day 12 = Kansai area (Wakayama area), later at night board flight from KIX to KUL
Eujing
post Oct 2 2015, 01:54 AM

20 posts

3-Apr --> Hakone
4-Apr --> Hakone + Kamakura
5-Apr --> Kamakura
6-Apr --> Back to Tokyo (still deciding where to go)
7-Apr --> Depart to Airport (unsure plans)
Me too....
Start from 31st March till 10th April
Any more adjustment for ur trip?
Samurai
post Oct 2 2015, 05:02 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(tbcheese @ Oct 1 2015, 02:40 PM)
Highly recommended to use Tokyo Rail Map Lite ..

https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/tokyo-rail-...d503098185?mt=8

tbcheese
post Oct 2 2015, 07:02 AM

313 posts

QUOTE(Samurai @ Oct 2 2015, 05:02 AM)
Highly recommended to use Tokyo Rail Map Lite ..

https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/tokyo-rail-...d503098185?mt=8
Cool. Tells you which exit to take. Does it need data?

I'm not an iOS user though.
limchee
post Oct 2 2015, 09:19 AM

Sien
1,745 posts

Recommend this app if you wanna check for rail route and time. A great alternative to Hyperdia. But it's in Japanese only.

乗換案内

iOS: http://www.jorudan.co.jp/iphone/norikae/
Android: http://www.jorudan.co.jp/android/norikae/
Windows8: http://www.jorudancloud.jp/win8/

This post has been edited by limchee: Oct 2 2015, 09:20 AM
kerelbort
post Oct 2 2015, 10:21 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(jefferenelee @ Oct 1 2015, 09:19 PM)
What kind of trouble you have experience? Aren't they have proper signage?
some have proper signage.. while some might be a confusing coz I cannot read kanji that much..

if you come out from a wrong exit ... it cost you time walking..
Samurai
post Oct 2 2015, 07:15 PM

70 posts

You also can try Tokyo Subway...also available

125 Pages « < 67 68 69 70 71 > » Top

0.0286sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:18 PM