Travel Travel to Japan V7, Discovery Japan Start Here

Duckies
post Aug 17 2015, 01:22 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,796 posts

Wa....RM1 -> 30.48 yen only =( should have exchange when it was 33. Thought early November only go so dont want change so early...T_T
Duckies
post Sep 27 2015, 01:05 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,796 posts

Guys I'll be going to Japan early November. Is it very cold? Do I need winter jackets or normal jackets will do?
Duckies
post Sep 27 2015, 02:12 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,796 posts

QUOTE(chris_chiewhj @ Sep 27 2015, 02:11 PM)
A light jacket will suffice. Which part of Japan you will be visiting?
Osaka, Kyoto and Tokyo. Not sure how cold it'll be hmm.gif
Duckies
post Sep 27 2015, 05:58 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,796 posts

QUOTE(Samurai @ Sep 27 2015, 02:38 PM)
Temperature will going around 14 - 20 Celsius..during that period. Tokyo little bit cold compare Osaka and Kyoto...highly recommended to buy light jacket at Uniqlo ..range budget around ¥4000 or  ¥ 5000

http://www.uniqlo.com/jp/
Oh...light jacket will do? I plan to get some winter jacket cause I scare too cold...hmm hmm.gif
Duckies
post Sep 27 2015, 06:24 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,796 posts

QUOTE(Samurai @ Sep 27 2015, 06:17 PM)
Winter Jacket also available at Uniqlo...during winter ,i prefer light jacket ..much more easy to use..If you take public transport like bus or trains..also have central heating..little bit warm..

This good news for those planning to travel Japan for Free Wifi..this service available at Tokyo , Osaka ,Kyoto and Sapporo .

http://wi2.co.jp/tjw/english.html
I also do not prefer heavy winter clothing but I'll going to sight see few places like temple and etc...just afraid cannot stand the cold wind haha. Maybe I'll just get some jacket with long jeans laugh.gif
Duckies
post Sep 29 2015, 10:15 AM

Rubber Ducky
9,796 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 27 2015, 09:39 PM)
i am still fine with a jacket and layering, end of november  smile.gif
Oh...then it wasn't as cold as I imagined. I thought it would be damn cold and need thick jacket tongue.gif

Btw, when you said layering, how many layers is that?

This post has been edited by Duckies: Sep 29 2015, 10:16 AM
Duckies
post Sep 29 2015, 10:25 AM

Rubber Ducky
9,796 posts

QUOTE(michlove @ Sep 29 2015, 10:24 AM)
most important you wear a longjohn..
LongJohn = Long jeans?
Duckies
post Sep 29 2015, 10:33 AM

Rubber Ducky
9,796 posts

QUOTE(michlove @ Sep 29 2015, 10:28 AM)
no no...it is inner clothings...pants and top. it will keep you warm. The way to layering is longjohn + sweater + windbreaker jacket.

Uniqlo got sell too..
Ohhh...need to google that. Haha sorry I am bad at fashion stuff tongue.gif

EDIT: Errr...longjohn looks ugly tongue.gif What do you think if I wear t-shirt + long jeans + winter wear like this (Winter clothing)

This post has been edited by Duckies: Sep 29 2015, 10:40 AM
Duckies
post Sep 29 2015, 11:14 AM

Rubber Ducky
9,796 posts

QUOTE(michlove @ Sep 29 2015, 11:11 AM)
It's up to you. there's a reason why there is longjohn. besides, it's worn inside and not outside. if ugly, who can see? If you want to wear heavy winter jackets and walk around also can.....
I know but it feels tight tight sweat.gif
Duckies
post Sep 29 2015, 11:16 AM

Rubber Ducky
9,796 posts

QUOTE(JooSeng @ Sep 29 2015, 11:14 AM)
should be ok la bro
bck in dec , around 10 - 15c i wore just like how u describe
if u cant tahan still can buy there
no worries la smile.gif
Haha I went to Taiwan during autumm before but it wasn't cold at all. Not sure how cold is Japan during autumm hmm.gif That is why a bit worried and want to do a bit of preparation tongue.gif

Duckies
post Sep 30 2015, 10:26 AM

Rubber Ducky
9,796 posts

QUOTE(tbcheese @ Sep 30 2015, 09:31 AM)
If you do get long johns, go for cotton type and avoid wool. Cos when you go indoors, it'll get warm and wool will cause itchiness.

When it gets cold, a warm hat, scarf and gloves works wonders. There are also one time use heat packs which generate heat when unsealed and exposed to air which you can get at Daiso here.
Cause I am a big sized so usually I avoid wearing tight clothes cause I sweat and it will be uncomfortable sweat.gif That is why I try to avoid long johns. My idea now would be T shirt, jacket, long jeans and scarf cause it will be easy to move around...but not sure can tahan the cold or not cause I'll be outdoor a lot - visiting temples, streets and others hmm.gif
Duckies
post Sep 30 2015, 10:58 AM

Rubber Ducky
9,796 posts

QUOTE(michlove @ Sep 30 2015, 10:56 AM)
If the wind doesn't blow, can tahan one....but when the wind blows......brrrrrrrrr. Don't forget, the wind is blowing from Siberia  brows.gif
GG, then need at least 1 winter jacket hmm.gif
Duckies
post Sep 30 2015, 11:13 AM

Rubber Ducky
9,796 posts

QUOTE(tbcheese @ Sep 30 2015, 11:11 AM)
I normally get by with layering t-shirt, sweater, winter jacket and wear a scarf, ski cap and gloves. Did this in UK, Russia and US. If really really cannot tahan then I add on a light jacket between the winter jacket and sweater.

What kind of temperatures and wind are you expecting?

The winter jacket right, go for those can tahan wind type. Some bergaya tak berguna. When wind blow straight shivering.
Temperature I expect about 12-20 celcius...wind I am not sure. Haha yea need to get a good winter jacket that can fit my big body tongue.gif
Duckies
post Sep 30 2015, 11:42 AM

Rubber Ducky
9,796 posts

QUOTE(tbcheese @ Sep 30 2015, 11:33 AM)
Ahh not too bad then. Personally I would use something similar to http://www.uniqlo.com/us/product/men-down-.../down/jackets/~. T-shirt and sweater underneath. Only once in a while I need to add a light jacket to the mix since I have low tolerance to cold.

My colleague survived Geneva in Dec wearing the ultra light down though he said it was a bit cold at times.
How about this 1?

http://www.11street.my/productdetail/mens-...lightwe-3366763

Can tahan wind?
Duckies
post Sep 30 2015, 01:28 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,796 posts

QUOTE(tbcheese @ Sep 30 2015, 12:05 PM)
Macam boleh but not sure. I always test it on first before I decide. Also you might want to get something slightly longer if you can since you're not wearing long johns. Keep in mind you will be layering so don't get too fitting size.
QUOTE(Neo|ofGeo @ Sep 30 2015, 12:22 PM)
Here's one of the tips i can give you,

get a rubber type fleece and a good outer winter jacket, big size people body tends to be warmer so what you need is to make sure the heat stay inside not circulating to outside.

12c-20c nothing la hahaha, just like staying in full blown 16c aircond with occasional hyper wind  icon_idea.gif
Haha Uniqlo sure don't have my size. I saw some jacket at H&M..maybe can try there tongue.gif
Duckies
post Oct 1 2015, 09:33 AM

Rubber Ducky
9,796 posts

Aih I still haven't change my money to Yen...and now seems like RM 1 - > 27 yen only =( Should I change it at bank? Do they follow the exchange rate closely as what's stated in Google?
Duckies
post Oct 8 2015, 10:46 AM

Rubber Ducky
9,796 posts

Got November tips ma. Going early November biggrin.gif

0.0567sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:34 PM