132 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.9, Please Read Post#1 and #3

Castor Troy
post Jun 12 2015, 10:21 AM

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 11 2015, 02:24 PM)
Ya loh...  sweat.gif

Not to say that not scare at all, scare a bit lah..
[attachmentid=4482107]
[attachmentid=4482110]

Please be aware that if FD deposit is less than RM 30K, a management fee
RM 10.00 will charge each month.

A minimum RM 5.00 is required to open an Advance current account, it is refundable
when you close the current account.

The FD can only be effective after your banker's check is cleared.
You can only withdraw this HSBC FD on the next working day of FD maturity day.
So, we will lose at least 3 days interest, unless if we bring cash then will only lose one day interest.

Maybe a free umbrella is still available, just ask for it..if umbrella is no more available, then ask for other gifts
that HSBC has..

You can use this method if you want to place more than RM 30K since the maximum limit is RM 30K per name.
Let's say if you want to place RM 90K:
(1) A for RM 30K for first RM 30K
(2) B for 30K for 2nd RM 30K
(3) A + B (Joint account) for third RM 30K
Total RM 90K + RM 5 x open 3 Advance current accounts = RM 90015.00

And you will get 2 free umbrella..
I am also planning to open this FD promo with HSBC. Thanks for the clear advice. However, I understand that some banks impose a penalty fee for closing account before a certain timeframe. The Advance current account does not have this penalty fee? I presume that we are not obliged to take their cheque book as well?
wil-i-am
post Jun 12 2015, 11:03 AM

10,001 posts

At Maybank tis morning
There have 2 promotions:-
1. 1 mth @ 3.50% with min RM25k fresh funds
2. 1st 5 mths @ 4.00% n 2nd 5 mths @ 4.08%, effective 4.04% with min RM25k
BoomChaCha
post Jun 12 2015, 11:58 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 12 2015, 09:10 AM)
Happy if interest rate goes up ! rclxm9.gif

Sad if currency goes D O W N esp to USD !!  cry.gif
When Ringgit value depreciate.. then we just need to control spending wisely loh.. sad.gif
No more night club and no more foot massage loh...

Or just like what our Big Magician said, keep our monies in another country like Singapore.. hmm.gif

QUOTE(Castor Troy @ Jun 12 2015, 10:21 AM)
I am also planning to open this FD promo with HSBC. Thanks for the clear advice. However, I understand that some banks impose a penalty fee for closing account before a certain timeframe. The Advance current account does not have this penalty fee? I presume that we are not obliged to take their cheque book as well?
As long as to place minimum and maintain RM 30K FD in one account for 3 months, there is no
penalty fee for Advance current account.

I did not pay for any penalty fee to close my 3 Advance current accounts upon my 3 FDs maturity,
because I put enough RM 30K for each FD account.

No, no obligation to take the check book. For me, I did not take the check book.

My net profit for RM 90K (3 FD accounts) was RM 1135.00, before to deduct a HSBC's banker check fee for RM 5.83 (6% GST applied sweat.gif ).

Don't forget to ask for a free HSBC umbrella, one free umbrella per customer... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Jun 12 2015, 12:05 PM
bbgoat
post Jun 12 2015, 12:04 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 12 2015, 11:58 AM)
When Ringgit value depreciate.. then we just need to control spending wisely loh.. sad.gif
No more night club and no more foot massage loh...

Or just like what our Big Magician said, keep our monies in another country like Singapore..  hmm.gif

If interest goes up, can play more CD ? brows.gif

But currency drop, making me cry.gif

Oh, Big Magician started to move eggs already ? laugh.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jun 12 2015, 12:05 PM
BoomChaCha
post Jun 12 2015, 12:13 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 12 2015, 12:04 PM)
If interest goes up, can play more CD ?  brows.gif

But currency drop, making me  cry.gif

Oh, Big Magician started to move eggs already ?  laugh.gif  tongue.gif
CD will become less and less lah since our currency drop.., this is for sure lah..
If not making money, who wants to come here..?

Same thing to foreign workers, Bangladesh will become less and less...

Our Big Magician has this idea, last time he said he wanted to move his money to oversea,
looking at the situation now.. cry.gif what he said was right lah...
nexona88
post Jun 12 2015, 12:21 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,421 posts

but keep $$ in Singapore bank, the rate is kinda low..

unless u invest like Reits.. the divvy is TE unlike here have 10% tax mad.gif
Ramjade
post Jun 12 2015, 01:01 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 12 2015, 12:21 PM)

unless u invest like Reits.. the divvy is TE unlike here have 10% tax  mad.gif
Returns from sg reits is tax free?
nexona88
post Jun 12 2015, 01:04 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,421 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 12 2015, 01:01 PM)
the dividend is TE unlike here have 10% withholding tax sweat.gif
low yat 82
post Jun 12 2015, 04:07 PM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

jus went to public bank open PB TD-i... d interest will b paid to savings acc every 4months.

d rates all alrady stated in d cert as well. jus dat in multiply of 4 months.

wat else special on july a, got 1 FD gonna mature next month...hmm...

edited: typo

This post has been edited by low yat 82: Jun 12 2015, 04:08 PM
ccschua
post Jun 12 2015, 08:52 PM

1,630 posts

ambank and RHb offering FD + trust upto 6 to 7 % return.

CIMB just text that FD + trust 3 months get 8%. any catch ?
harmonics3
post Jun 12 2015, 08:59 PM

636 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 12 2015, 01:01 PM)
Yes, and most of the company dividends are tax exempted as well if i am not wrong... this is to attract people to their equity market.
aeiou228
post Jun 12 2015, 09:06 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Jun 12 2015, 08:52 PM)

I thought you already mentioned it in your post? The catch is the unit trust.
cklimm
post Jun 12 2015, 09:36 PM

2,337 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Jun 12 2015, 08:52 PM)

most unit trust charge you sales charge between 3-5%, means that you "loss" 3-5% the moment you bought it, and it may go worse considering how good our economy is, you sure your 8% FD can cover all these?
bearbear
post Jun 13 2015, 12:34 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 12 2015, 12:21 PM)

unless u invest like Reits.. the divvy is TE unlike here have 10% tax  mad.gif
Depends le, I was thinking of moving some SGD back for FD but now calculate back. When I came here less than a year ago it was 2.55 now 2.75 and rising. Already 8% gain on RM by not doing anything.
wil-i-am
post Jun 13 2015, 06:46 AM

10,001 posts

At Ambank ytday noon
Apparently they pay interest monthly to Depositors above 50 yo for 9 mths FD @ 4.15%
ccschua
post Jun 13 2015, 07:21 AM

1,630 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jun 12 2015, 09:06 PM)
I thought you already mentioned it in your post? The catch is the unit trust.
assuming unit trust under perform, will it drag the net FD to below 4% ?
bbgoat
post Jun 13 2015, 07:44 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Jun 13 2015, 07:21 AM)
You cannot lump the 2 together to calculate the "yield". They are diff vehicles with diff risks. biggrin.gif
aeiou228
post Jun 13 2015, 10:38 AM

5,867 posts

Not sure about the UT performance, but the catch is very obvious, you don't buy UT, you ain't getting 7% to 8% for the FD.
bbgoat
post Jun 13 2015, 11:03 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 13 2015, 07:44 AM)
You cannot lump the 2 together to calculate the "yield". They are diff vehicles with diff risks.  biggrin.gif
To add: You should take up the offer only if you already have intention to buy the UT. Not because of the FD offer then take up the bundle with UT. biggrin.gif
mamamia
post Jun 13 2015, 01:18 PM

6,420 posts

Great work to boomchacha!!

132 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0301sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:07 PM