7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.9, Please Read Post#1 and #3

BoomChaCha
post Jun 9 2015, 10:10 AM

2,490 posts

Bank Rakyat introduces Xclusive membership card - New added by okuribito on 20 November

Banks that pay interest for non-working days - Last update by ??!! on 22 January 2015
OCBC
Bank Rakyat
UOB
May Bank (Need to remind May bank staff to add interest)
Affin Bank - updated by cybpscyh on 12 Dec 2014
Alliance Bank - updated by ??!! on 22 January 2015
Kuwait Finance House - updated by ??!! on 22 January 2015

Banks that do not pay interest for non-working days
Am Bank
RHB
Standard & Chartered Bank

Bank that non-voluntary credit interest unless appeal
Public Bank (Need to complain to BNM then only pay interest)

New IBG Transfer Timing - Updated by gchowyh on 16 December 2014

Old IBG Transfer Timing

List Of Banks With Survivorship Clause - Updated by magika on 16 November 2014
1. OCBC
2. RHB
3. Alliance
4. Ambank
5. Cimb
6. Hlb
7. Affin
8. MBB

A simple FD calculator to help you - by Human Nature on 13 January 2015
http://www.miniwebtool.com/fixed-deposit-calculator/

Thanks so much to below Contributors: notworthy.gif
cherroy
Gen-X
munkeyflo
McFD2R - 4 contributions (Last update: 20 January 2015)
pinpinmiao - 2 contributions
gsc - 11 contributions (Last update: 5 June 2015)
cybpscyh - 31 contributions (Last update: 4 June 2015)
kingofong
FDInvestor - 2 contributions
michaelho - 5 contributions (Last update: 21 April 2015)
wil-i-am - 3 contributions (Last update: 25 May 2015)
X_hunter
HJebat
guy3288 - 2 contributions (Last update: 13 February 2015)
bbgoat - 23 contributions (Last update: 3 June 2015)
giko - 4 contributions
nsx88
raptar_eric - 2 contributions
sylille
harmonics3 - 3 contributions (Last update: 20 January 2015)
xcxa23
RO Player - 3 contributions
Styrroyds
yklooi - 2 contributions
haur
netbuzzchin
nomen
Human Nature
MGM
kinabalu
kwokwah
bearbear
gchowyh - 2 contributions
AVFAN
wr6969
kimmo88
cklimm - 11 contributions (Last update: 3 June 2015)
Lineage
dEviLs - 8 contributions (Last update: 18 March 2015)
Mansamune - 4 contributions
robert82
dagdag1 - 2 contributions (Last update:11 May 2015)
Ramjade - 2 contributions (Last update:26 May 2015)
leo_kiatez
okuribito - 3 contributions
magika - 2 contributions
byshierly
BartS
hcolin
almeizer
munnie
kyenli
Bonescythe - 3 contributions (Last update: 29 May 2015)
??!! (Last Update: 22 January 2015)
muncee (Last Update: 22 January 2015)
adele123 - 3 contributions (Last Update: 11 June 2015)
cj7lee (Last Update: 14 February 2015)
pisces88 (Last Update: 17 February 2015)
eddie2020 (Last Update: 3 March 2015)
zenquix (Last Update: 12 March 2015)
ftan (Last Update: 15 March 2015)
kykit (Last Update: 17 April 2015)
Bonescythe (Last Update: 17 April 2015)
iamkid (Last Update: 17 April 2015)
Dkck (Last Update: 21 April 2015)
familyfirst (Last Update: 21 April 2015)
smas (Last update: 8 May 2015)
Kelv (Last update: 27 May 2015)

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Oct 2 2015, 09:20 PM
BoomChaCha
post Jun 9 2015, 02:59 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 9 2015, 01:31 PM)
In RHB this morning. Met the branch manager. He said OPR likely going down next qtr. That view echoed by more and more people nowadays.  sad.gif

Need to go for longer term FD.  hmm.gif
Just called BR branch to follow-up my lowered FD interest rate issue:

Me: Boleh saya cakap dengan xxx?
BR: xxx sekarang rehat..

Rehat...? doh.gif BR provides recess for their employees..?

QUOTE(Y.J.S @ Jun 9 2015, 02:44 PM)
Will manually close down the accounts like what you advised after 3 months  flex.gif

Then turn to Affin Bank 15 months 4.33% FD thumbup.gif
I did the same.. cheers.gif
BoomChaCha
post Jun 9 2015, 03:09 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(culain99 @ Jun 9 2015, 03:04 PM)
Affin Bank 15 months 4.33% FD - dont need to open any other savings account right?
going to move fd from hsbc with bad rates elsewhere
You need to open an Affin saving account to let the FD principal + FD interest to be
deposited to your saving account upon FD maturity.
BoomChaCha
post Jun 9 2015, 03:12 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 9 2015, 03:09 PM)
It looks like opr will drop. Affin t&c said that their rates will drop according to opr
Where is the T&C stated this..? hmm.gif
BoomChaCha
post Jun 9 2015, 03:38 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 9 2015, 03:18 PM)

See the last sentence
The last sentence is quite misleading... hmm.gif

I will go to Affin Bank to get confirm about it when I have time..
BoomChaCha
post Jun 9 2015, 04:14 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 9 2015, 03:53 PM)
Good. Hope to hear from you. But based from forum members opinion, they said the promo rates is based on opr interest. So if opr decrease, promo rates will either remain the same or decrease.
I do not think so.

In version 8, a forum member mentioned that because this Promo duration is very long (valid until end of the year),
so this 4.33% will change based on OPR; but for those who already placed the FD, the original FD rate will not change
regardless of the OPR change. I more agree to what he said about this.

In fact, I already called 2 Affin branches sweat.gif about this issue, they all said that FD rate would not be changed
after we placed the FD.

Anyway, I will grab this flyer to ask Affin Bank face to face about this issue, then I will get back to you..

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Jun 9 2015, 04:16 PM
BoomChaCha
post Jun 9 2015, 04:35 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 9 2015, 04:27 PM)
That's what I meant.
That is just my opinion. I could be wrong

All of you have to honor the FD rate printed on the FD cert,
otherwise I will suspend your bank license..

BoomChaCha
post Jun 9 2015, 04:43 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 9 2015, 04:27 PM)
That's what I meant.
That is just my opinion. I could be wrong
Yes, this is what I mean, but I will go to double confirm with Affin..

BoomChaCha
post Jun 9 2015, 04:51 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jun 9 2015, 04:49 PM)
provided the bank revise the rate. if they still honor existing promo rate regardless of OPR change, then no difference.

if bank suddenly itchy/kancheong due to OPR change, they could revise the promo rate overnight, hence the clause is to protect them, and as a little disclaimer for customers to be aware of (their intention to revise without prior notice).
Yes, 100% agree.. thumbup.gif
BoomChaCha
post Jun 11 2015, 12:48 AM

2,490 posts

A Message from Top Cat RO Player:

- Placed 1 year FD at 4.25% in BR with existing fund and also received the followings:
(1) Monthly interest
(2) Parker Pen (pen now no more BR logo embossed but plastic sticker doh.gif )

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Jun 11 2015, 03:51 AM
BoomChaCha
post Jun 11 2015, 12:53 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(sandkoh @ Jun 11 2015, 08:40 AM)
he no scxxx meh? laugh.gif
Ha ha biggrin.gif
In this case, I will have 2 more years to scare .. sweat.gif

QUOTE(adele123 @ Jun 11 2015, 09:44 AM)
BoomChaCha

the OCBC tnc link you attached is broken with regards to the tnc for their fresh deals. https://www.ocbc.com.my/assets/pdf/Accounts...5Q2_general.pdf
Oh... doh.gif
OK... I have updated this OCBC link on Post #3..

Thank you so much.... notworthy.gif
BoomChaCha
post Jun 11 2015, 02:24 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 11 2015, 01:39 PM)
Those of us with BR will be scaxxd ??  tongue.gif

High Magician TM phrase: "U no scaxx meh" ......hehehe  tongue.gif
Ya loh... sweat.gif

Not to say that not scare at all, scare a bit lah..

QUOTE(onetimeuser @ Jun 11 2015, 01:44 PM)
why i cant find this ?
Hot FD Promo Rates
(1) HSBC 5% for 3 Months, valid until 30 June 2015

Please be aware that if FD deposit is less than RM 30K, a management fee
RM 10.00 will charge each month.

A minimum RM 5.00 is required to open an Advance current account, it is refundable
when you close the current account.

The FD can only be effective after your banker's check is cleared.
You can only withdraw this HSBC FD on the next working day of FD maturity day.
So, we will lose at least 3 days interest, unless if we bring cash then will only lose one day interest.

Maybe a free umbrella is still available, just ask for it..if umbrella is no more available, then ask for other gifts
that HSBC has..

You can use this method if you want to place more than RM 30K since the maximum limit is RM 30K per name.
Let's say if you want to place RM 90K:
(1) A for RM 30K for first RM 30K
(2) B for 30K for 2nd RM 30K
(3) A + B (Joint account) for third RM 30K
Total RM 90K + RM 5 x open 3 Advance current accounts = RM 90015.00

And you will get 2 free umbrella..

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Jun 11 2015, 02:31 PM
BoomChaCha
post Jun 11 2015, 02:39 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 11 2015, 02:30 PM)
Have reduced my eggs there already and keeping portions for monthly makan makan.  biggrin.gif

2 days ago, the BR officer said in order to solve my lowered interest rate by 0.10% issue, the BR officer
suggested me to withdraw my 5 years FD (2 more years to go), then use the money to place another
new FD for 1 year at 4.25%....!!!
I cannot imagine how stupid is this BR staff... mad.gif

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 11 2015, 02:30 PM)
I tot u have brought in aunties & gf to put in even more FD in HSBC ?  hmm.gif  tongue.gif
Why must be aunties & gf leh..??
Uncle & bf cannot meh..? brows.gif
BoomChaCha
post Jun 11 2015, 09:01 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Jun 11 2015, 08:53 PM)
1mdb will burst faster with tat rate
Everything will burst lah especially property market.... except FD depositors like us... Yeah.. icon_rolleyes.gif
BoomChaCha
post Jun 12 2015, 08:21 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 11 2015, 02:44 PM)
Oh, I am sorry, must have mis-read you ..............  hmm.gif  brows.gif
It is Okay..no need to say sorry lah, Ah Sir.... brows.gif

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Jun 11 2015, 10:28 PM)
Ur bank acc will burst fast also ?
burst with a lot of 000000
Minister: Malaysian ringgit could plunge to 1998 levels if 1MDB debt unpaid - See more at:

http://www.themalaymailonline.com/malaysia...h.3j6Uyl8A.dpuf
BoomChaCha
post Jun 12 2015, 11:58 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 12 2015, 09:10 AM)
Happy if interest rate goes up ! rclxm9.gif

Sad if currency goes D O W N esp to USD !!  cry.gif
When Ringgit value depreciate.. then we just need to control spending wisely loh.. sad.gif
No more night club and no more foot massage loh...

Or just like what our Big Magician said, keep our monies in another country like Singapore.. hmm.gif

QUOTE(Castor Troy @ Jun 12 2015, 10:21 AM)
I am also planning to open this FD promo with HSBC. Thanks for the clear advice. However, I understand that some banks impose a penalty fee for closing account before a certain timeframe. The Advance current account does not have this penalty fee? I presume that we are not obliged to take their cheque book as well?
As long as to place minimum and maintain RM 30K FD in one account for 3 months, there is no
penalty fee for Advance current account.

I did not pay for any penalty fee to close my 3 Advance current accounts upon my 3 FDs maturity,
because I put enough RM 30K for each FD account.

No, no obligation to take the check book. For me, I did not take the check book.

My net profit for RM 90K (3 FD accounts) was RM 1135.00, before to deduct a HSBC's banker check fee for RM 5.83 (6% GST applied sweat.gif ).

Don't forget to ask for a free HSBC umbrella, one free umbrella per customer... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Jun 12 2015, 12:05 PM
BoomChaCha
post Jun 12 2015, 12:13 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 12 2015, 12:04 PM)
If interest goes up, can play more CD ?  brows.gif

But currency drop, making me  cry.gif

Oh, Big Magician started to move eggs already ?  laugh.gif  tongue.gif
CD will become less and less lah since our currency drop.., this is for sure lah..
If not making money, who wants to come here..?

Same thing to foreign workers, Bangladesh will become less and less...

Our Big Magician has this idea, last time he said he wanted to move his money to oversea,
looking at the situation now.. cry.gif what he said was right lah...
BoomChaCha
post Jun 15 2015, 01:07 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(kyenli @ Jun 15 2015, 12:05 AM)
I'm going to go for RHB step-up promo.
Was wondering, if the OPR does go down, will the rate for subsequent month be revised since it is a step up FD where they have different interest rate for different months.
Or would it be safer to just go for those non-step up, one rate kind of FD?
I placed this RHB FD in less than 3 months ago.
According to RHB, those interest rates will not be changed even if the OPR goes up or down.

RHB gave me a thin FD cert and printed the first 3 month's profit (3.30%) on it.

I can go back to RHB branch to renew the next interest rate on a new FD cert when each step-up tenure
becomes mature; but if I don't go back to renew my FD cert, that is fine also, because the next FD interest
rates will auto renew to my FD account in RHB system.

This FD can only withdraw upon maturity, it means 1 year later... smile.gif

You can try to ask for gift.. RHB gave me 2 plastic mugs only.... cry.gif
BoomChaCha
post Jun 15 2015, 07:44 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(mamamia @ Jun 15 2015, 06:07 PM)
Today went to HSBC to enquire on the HSBC 5% promo. Was told that I must maintain RM10 in their "saving" account n if I close the account, I need to request banker cheque to get back the RM10 as they won't refund through cash. N I will charged for the banker cheque RM5 + GST. So, means no matter how I will need to pay them the "admin fee" (my balance in the Acc) to close the account.
When the FD matures, you can request to put the FD's money (withdraw FD), and saving account's money (close
saving account) on a banker's check.

Actually it is a current account, not saving account. The minimum balance in current account is RM 5.00.

If your FD deposit is less than RM 30K, a monthly charge RM 10 will apply.

Hope this helps..
BoomChaCha
post Jun 15 2015, 08:59 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Jun 15 2015, 07:46 PM)
Actually HSBC Advance quite nice, free coffee every visit, why close it?
I visit HSBS only when they have an attractive FD promo...

I was not aware that I could use FD to pledge for HSBC credit card.... sad.gif

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0435sec    1.06    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 06:41 AM