Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.9, Please Read Post#1 and #3
Ramjade
Aug 11 2015, 08:56 PM
QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Aug 11 2015, 08:49 PM) During the late nineties currency crisis, the KLSE CI nose dived to 262points from the high of 1300, stocks were at rock bottom prices, DSL house at Bandar Utama was as low as RM300k down from Rm400k+. Stocks and property are not the only opportunity during crisis, things like businesses, fine jewelry, collected item Swiss made watches etc etc will be at bargain price too. Therefore crisis = opportunity to those who have FD. I'm not sure if we are going to have the crisis or not but there are already indications pointing to that direction. So my personal strategy is to be as liquid as possible from now on. As liquid as possible means, start adjusting my FD placement term ratio in favor of short term FD. Grab every opportunity that comes along if my gut feel tells me so. Hopefully it's true. If yes, I can go on shopping spree. Hopefully a single story house can drop to say rm100k. By the way, what are the signs you are talking about? This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 11 2015, 08:57 PM
wil-i-am
Aug 11 2015, 08:57 PM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Aug 11 2015, 08:42 PM) SCB best offer among all banks is 15 mth 4.5%  Perhaps time to consider MBSB for 18 mths @ 4.50%
cklimm
Aug 11 2015, 08:57 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 11 2015, 08:56 PM) Hopefully it's true. If yes, I can go on shopping spree. Hopefully a single story house can drop to say rm100k. 200k is already a bargain
Ramjade
Aug 11 2015, 08:58 PM
QUOTE(cklimm @ Aug 11 2015, 08:57 PM) 200k is already a bargain No cash for Rm200k. Still student.
bbgoat
Aug 11 2015, 09:01 PM
QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Aug 11 2015, 08:57 PM) Perhaps time to consider MBSB for 18 mths @ 4.50% Ya the best rate now for 4.5% at 18 mth. But some concern there.
wil-i-am
Aug 11 2015, 09:13 PM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Aug 11 2015, 09:01 PM) Ya the best rate now for 4.5% at 18 mth. But some concern there.  Need to embrace risk if want High returns
bbgoat
Aug 11 2015, 09:16 PM
QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Aug 11 2015, 09:13 PM) Need to embrace risk if want High returns Haha, actually I was kind of attracted by the rate. May still plunge in next 2 weeks or so.
aeiou228
Aug 11 2015, 09:50 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 11 2015, 08:56 PM) Hopefully it's true. If yes, I can go on shopping spree. Hopefully a single story house can drop to say rm100k. By the way, what are the signs you are talking about? Hopefully there will be no crisis. A lot of people will be suffering including people around you, businesses will be suffering too. Only cash rich people who grab the opportunity during the crisis will be benefited. Just my personal view on how I manage my FD when I see a cloudy day right in front of me.
bbgoat
Aug 11 2015, 10:35 PM
Wow, today RM go beyond RM4 to USD !! Luckily I bought it yesterday but long term still will be big issue.
nitehawk
Aug 11 2015, 10:51 PM
QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 7 2015, 02:03 PM) Magic, I just placed FD with UOB 2 days ago, but UOB did not ask me to open CASA wor... By the way.. US$ was 3.93 at 11.50am, now 3.908..very volatile..oh now 3.914.. They will insist that you open a CASA when you uplift.
Ramjade
Aug 11 2015, 10:57 PM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Aug 11 2015, 10:35 PM) Wow, today RM go beyond RM4 to USD !! Luckily I bought it yesterday but long term still will be big issue.  Don't worry. What goes up will come down.  But only don't know when the time it will come back to 3.3%. I also sad cause I will need USD4000 next year. Just hope "miracle" happen by next year.
aeiou228
Aug 11 2015, 11:24 PM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Aug 11 2015, 10:35 PM) Wow, today RM go beyond RM4 to USD !! Luckily I bought it yesterday but long term still will be big issue.  You can seriously consider dual currency account already. You can enjoy higher interest in ringgit until you strike USD, and when you strike, you strike at spot rate, which is cheaper than tt/od rate.
yygo
Aug 12 2015, 08:12 AM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 11 2015, 10:57 PM) Don't worry. What goes up will come down.  But only don't know when the time it will come back to 3.3%. I also sad cause I will need USD4000 next year. Just hope "miracle" happen by next year.  come back to 3.3%?  maybe 5 years back to rm3.3. usd4000 for us education? pray for miracle This post has been edited by yygo: Aug 12 2015, 08:16 AM
cklimm
Aug 12 2015, 08:17 AM
QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Aug 11 2015, 11:24 PM) You can seriously consider dual currency account already. You can enjoy higher interest in ringgit until you strike USD, and when you strike, you strike at spot rate, which is cheaper than tt/od rate. HSBC requires 300k aum to take it, any other banks offering this?
Ramjade
Aug 12 2015, 08:23 AM
QUOTE(yygo @ Aug 12 2015, 08:12 AM) come back to 3.3%?  maybe 5 years back to rm3.3. usd4000 for us education? pray for miracle  My fees.
yygo
Aug 12 2015, 08:27 AM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 12 2015, 08:23 AM) oic, education fee paid in m'sia? not study in us?  amount'll be much higher usd4000 if study in us. lucky u
sevendogz
Aug 12 2015, 09:00 AM
looking at the market for 500k FD now, so many options, hard to choose.. any advice guys
kyenli
Aug 12 2015, 09:15 AM

My SCB 15 months 4.5 interest is not credited to my account after 6 months. How do you all get it? I do not have any RM
aeiou228
Aug 12 2015, 09:25 AM
QUOTE(cklimm @ Aug 12 2015, 08:17 AM) HSBC requires 300k aum to take it, any other banks offering this? Citibank, OCBC. I'm not too sure about HSBC and the minimum trading amount now. Few years ago, I was able to trade with lower amount of Rm100k with Citibank. Perhaps the 300k AUM requirement is for the HSBC PB status before you can open DCA.
wil-i-am
Aug 12 2015, 09:50 AM
QUOTE(sevendogz @ Aug 12 2015, 09:00 AM) looking at the market for 500k FD now, so many options, hard to choose.. any advice guys Read page 1