Aircon Discussion V3, Home Appliance
cuttlefish
Aug 15 2017, 03:29 PM
QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Aug 15 2017, 12:37 PM) Thks for the insight. Actually the pipe run length will be the same. What you actually refer to is the diameter. The larger gas return pipe will have a larger diameter hence there's more volume to fill up. Thus more gas is required to make it up to equivalent pressure. Normally the outdoor unit is already precharged. The manual will state the maximum pipe length allowable without topping up refrigerant (eg 7.5m). But due to the reason you mentioned, the system may need to top up even before reaching the stated length. This is what I mean about longer pipe length, probably short piping 3-4m would still be within the tolerance. This can be theoretically calculated based on the volume you mentioned.
Louischanmax
Aug 16 2017, 10:44 PM
QUOTE(blackwhitebear @ Aug 2 2017, 11:33 PM) hi all , need your opinion/thoughts on the following air conditioners, and which brand is better/recommend to buy??? single wall split Daikin - Qseries (R410A refrigerant) 1.0hp - Daikin FTK15QV1L 1.5hp - Daikin FTK10QV1L 2.0hp - Daikin FTK20QV1L Panasonic - Premium Inverter (R410A refrigerant) 1.0hp - CS-S10SKH-1 1.5hp - CS-S13SKH-1 2.0hp - CS-S18SKH-1  Of course Daikin better than pana, faster cooling and reliable.
Louischanmax
Aug 16 2017, 10:49 PM
QUOTE(blackkeng @ Jul 26 2017, 12:21 AM) China? I thought it's Malaysia product They are OEM from china so better consider the spare parts issue, as my fren experience that wait few months to get the spare parts. Can you imagine few months no air cond? So far I know only Daikin, pana and acson are manufacturing in Malaysia so less worry on the spare parts.
echoesian
Aug 17 2017, 10:56 AM
QUOTE(Louischanmax @ Aug 16 2017, 10:44 PM) Of course Daikin better than pana, faster cooling and reliable. Not sure why Panasonic 2HP tends to be cheaper than Daikin
wcheong
Aug 19 2017, 07:07 PM

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Aug 12 2017, 08:04 AM) Any comment of GREE 1.0 HP non-inverter? 3 star power consumption making me hesitate. for 1hp non-inverter type, price wise almost on par with others. but now they got 6 years warranty on compressor. anyone has any experience with the gree aircon?
bob
Aug 21 2017, 10:32 AM
QUOTE(longterm @ Aug 6 2017, 09:18 PM) Hi all... Need to know any review about Midea aircond. Planning to buy 2 units (1hp for 2 rooms) and 1 unit 2.5hp for living room. for 2.5hp .. better get hisense , cooler than others
iXora.ix
Aug 23 2017, 10:29 PM
Hi guys. Last saturday I appointed a contractor to relocate my aircon within same room. The 1st the air was cold until yesterday the aircon didn't blow cold air anymore. Also there is no water coming from drainage. Just now I check, there was a ice on the fin inside aircon.
I already contact the installer. Just wondering, what cause of this?
dinkydong
Aug 24 2017, 10:58 AM

Not true for my experience. I have both System 2s of equivalent cooling specs, Daikin and Panasonic. The Panasonic cools way quicker than the Daikin, not to mention the Pana's indoor unit has a stronger blower as well. The Daikin on the other hand is quieter. QUOTE(Louischanmax @ Aug 16 2017, 10:44 PM) Of course Daikin better than pana, faster cooling and reliable.
cuttlefish
Aug 24 2017, 06:51 PM
QUOTE(iXora.ix @ Aug 23 2017, 10:29 PM) Hi guys. Last saturday I appointed a contractor to relocate my aircon within same room. The 1st the air was cold until yesterday the aircon didn't blow cold air anymore. Also there is no water coming from drainage. Just now I check, there was a ice on the fin inside aircon.
I already contact the installer. Just wondering, what cause of this?  freezing of coil normally suggests low refrigerant pressure that may be caused by 1. dented piping 2. low gas Based on your description, it seems to be low gas. It is possible that there may be refrigerant leakage from the system.
iXora.ix
Aug 24 2017, 08:30 PM
QUOTE(cuttlefish @ Aug 24 2017, 06:51 PM) freezing of coil normally suggests low refrigerant pressure that may be caused by 1. dented piping 2. low gas Based on your description, it seems to be low gas. It is possible that there may be refrigerant leakage from the system. Thank you. If the gas leak, does it take time to repair? The installer that I appointed didnt come pulak today. So frustated.
cuttlefish
Aug 26 2017, 10:41 PM
QUOTE(iXora.ix @ Aug 24 2017, 08:30 PM) Thank you. If the gas leak, does it take time to repair? The installer that I appointed didnt come pulak today. So frustated. depends where leak and how they plan to rectify any update on your situation?
iXora.ix
Aug 27 2017, 09:16 PM
QUOTE(cuttlefish @ Aug 26 2017, 10:41 PM) depends where leak and how they plan to rectify any update on your situation? Yes. the installer came in. It was loose connection on the copressor. they tight it and refill the gas. working fine now
sienAa
Aug 29 2017, 03:53 PM

Any comments on Sharp Plasmacluster Inverter aircond?
bobby85
Aug 29 2017, 06:31 PM

guys...need some help i've got an aircond - 2.0hp which is already very old (heard of the 'i' brand) and it's having some issue now. The said unit must have been around for more than 10 years liao.
So to get to the point, the pipe is concealed inside the wall. If i were to change a new aircond (2.0hp)...is there any way that they don't need to hack the wall to replace the piping? (as nowadays the refrigerant used is different edi, so surely need to replace the piping)
ozak
Aug 30 2017, 10:38 AM
QUOTE(bobby85 @ Aug 29 2017, 06:31 PM) guys...need some help i've got an aircond - 2.0hp which is already very old (heard of the 'i' brand) and it's having some issue now. The said unit must have been around for more than 10 years liao. So to get to the point, the pipe is concealed inside the wall. If i were to change a new aircond (2.0hp)...is there any way that they don't need to hack the wall to replace the piping? (as nowadays the refrigerant used is different edi, so surely need to replace the piping) For save, you can get back the non inverter type. Gas is no different. Or want to confirm, get a aircon service to help you check the aircon. Than ask him what is that pipe size and what he recommend. But you need to pay the service.
halcyon27
Aug 30 2017, 12:20 PM
QUOTE(bobby85 @ Aug 29 2017, 06:31 PM) guys...need some help i've got an aircond - 2.0hp which is already very old (heard of the 'i' brand) and it's having some issue now. The said unit must have been around for more than 10 years liao. So to get to the point, the pipe is concealed inside the wall. If i were to change a new aircond (2.0hp)...is there any way that they don't need to hack the wall to replace the piping? (as nowadays the refrigerant used is different edi, so surely need to replace the piping) AC installer can advice. Might as well do for all AC you own when it's due for maintenance, ask him to check the pipe diameter for all. Just ensure you record it down so that when you shop, the replacement is suitable. Piping can be used for smaller HP even if their pipe specification is smaller but never the other way round viz AC with larger pipe specification to fit on smaller pipes.
bobby85
Aug 31 2017, 01:57 AM

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Aug 30 2017, 12:20 PM) AC installer can advice. Might as well do for all AC you own when it's due for maintenance, ask him to check the pipe diameter for all. Just ensure you record it down so that when you shop, the replacement is suitable. Piping can be used for smaller HP even if their pipe specification is smaller but never the other way round viz AC with larger pipe specification to fit on smaller pipes. I've checked with one installer, he say that they don't need to hack the wall...just yank the old piping out and replace it with new one... It sounds a bit ridiculous for me..seriously, will that work??
halcyon27
Aug 31 2017, 08:16 AM
QUOTE(bobby85 @ Aug 31 2017, 01:57 AM) I've checked with one installer, he say that they don't need to hack the wall...just yank the old piping out and replace it with new one... It sounds a bit ridiculous for me..seriously, will that work?? That means it's just installed outside like bedroom window?
bobby85
Sep 1 2017, 06:31 PM

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Aug 31 2017, 08:16 AM) That means it's just installed outside like bedroom window? nope...my piping is concealed....he mentioned can pull out the concealed piping without hacking the wall...does that make sense??
halcyon27
Sep 1 2017, 09:49 PM
QUOTE(bobby85 @ Sep 1 2017, 06:31 PM) nope...my piping is concealed....he mentioned can pull out the concealed piping without hacking the wall...does that make sense?? Unless he's done it before possible...but I never heard that before. Possible but still skeptical.