Aircon Discussion V3, Home Appliance

bobby85
post Sep 1 2017, 10:31 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Sep 1 2017, 09:49 PM)
Unless he's done it before possible...but I never heard that before. Possible but still skeptical.
right?
Am sceptical on this too...lolz...that's y looking for 2nd opinions... hmm.gif
paskal
post Sep 2 2017, 10:58 AM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

any HVAC engineer here?
does the gas line must be vacuumed before being charged?

because i've never (ever) seen an AC tech carrying one of these vacuum pumps in my life.

none of the local AC installers that i've ever paid have ever vacuumed the lines before charging.
issit the cause that some of the units doesn't cool as fast (i.e working at lower capacity) like the panasonic ACs (thus making it slow to cool)?
cuttlefish
post Sep 2 2017, 08:37 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Sep 2 2017, 10:58 AM)
any HVAC engineer here?

because i've never (ever) seen an AC tech carrying one of these vacuum pumps in my life.

none of the local AC installers that i've ever paid have ever vacuumed the lines before charging.
issit the cause that some of the units doesn't cool as fast (i.e working at lower capacity) like the panasonic ACs (thus making it slow to cool)?
Air conditioning system should be vacuumed prior to opening the valve at the outdoor side.
Vacuuming will remove air and moisture from the piping and the indoor unit.
Unfortunately, very few installers (not to say none) will perform this proper procedure here in Malaysia (unless installed in projects such as new properties which come with air conditioners).
What they normally do is to use the refrigerant from the outdoor unit to "flush" (force) out the air from the piping and indoor unit.
This may cause:
1. Premature failure of the compressor (not immediate though)
2. Insufficient refrigerant to the system, which will cause a drop in cooling capacity
3. From no. 2, drop in energy efficiency ratio (EER) - paying more for electricity compared to the cooling you get
4. Abnormal noise
paskal
post Sep 2 2017, 08:50 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(cuttlefish @ Sep 2 2017, 08:37 PM)
Air conditioning system should be vacuumed prior to opening the valve at the outdoor side.
Vacuuming will remove air and moisture from the piping and the indoor unit.
Unfortunately, very few installers (not to say none) will perform this proper procedure here in Malaysia (unless installed in projects such as new properties which come with air conditioners).
What they normally do is to use the refrigerant from the outdoor unit to "flush" (force) out the air from the piping and indoor unit.
This may cause:
1. Premature failure of the compressor (not immediate though)
2. Insufficient refrigerant to the system, which will cause a drop in cooling capacity
3. From no. 2, drop in energy efficiency ratio (EER) - paying more for electricity compared to the cooling you get
4. Abnormal noise
Yes I've read that forced purging using the charged gas is not recommended and even illegal in developed countries.

Forced purging doesn't necessarily remove all the air, moisture and contaminants from the gas lines causing the system to fail over time. Usually after a few years.
And installers keep doing it because of the repeat business from all the failures because it'll happen after warranty expires.

The vacuum pump itself isn't expensive and the procedure when properly done only takes 15 minutes max and guarantees system longevity.
cuttlefish
post Sep 2 2017, 09:15 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Sep 2 2017, 08:50 PM)
Yes I've read that forced purging using the charged gas is not recommended and even illegal in developed countries.

Forced purging doesn't necessarily remove all the air, moisture and contaminants from the gas lines causing the system to fail over time. Usually after a few years.
And installers keep doing it because of the repeat business from all the failures because it'll happen after warranty expires.

The vacuum pump itself isn't expensive and the procedure when properly done only takes 15 minutes max and guarantees system longevity.
did you just answered your own question? laugh.gif

i don't think it is due to the potential repeat business
this is what we get when we do not have proper bodies to control the industry
anybody can become an installer
mostly do not have any professional training, what they know is just what they learn from the people they are working with, doing only what is normal to them
can't exactly blame them as they are also paid lower if compared to Thailand or Singapore
as cheap as a vacuum pump can be, it is still a cost, and the vacuuming time = extra time spent per installation = loss of revenue

things will not change overnight
only with government initiatives to control and certify, and the willingness of us as consumers to pay a fair price for quality installation then only the situation can improve
the_coxz
post Sep 2 2017, 09:56 PM

52 posts

Hi sifus,
May i know if im using inverter aircond, should i use it constantly to gain the benefit of the inverter to save money?
Thanks in advance 😊
paskal
post Sep 3 2017, 06:11 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(cuttlefish @ Sep 2 2017, 09:15 PM)
did you just answered your own question?  laugh.gif

i don't think it is due to the potential repeat business
this is what we get when we do not have proper bodies to control the industry
anybody can become an installer
mostly do not have any professional training, what they know is just what they learn from the people they are working with, doing only what is normal to them
can't exactly blame them as they are also paid lower if compared to Thailand or Singapore
as cheap as a vacuum pump can be, it is still a cost, and the vacuuming time = extra time spent per installation = loss of revenue

things will not change overnight
only with government initiatives to control and certify, and the willingness of us as consumers to pay a fair price for quality installation then only the situation can improve
Wanna know from an hvac engineer.
Because what we simply read from the internet doesn't necessarily mean the truth.

If vacuum evacuation is a must then it's weird that i've never seen its done before.
iamsobloodysick
post Sep 3 2017, 09:49 AM

2,006 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Sep 3 2017, 06:11 AM)
Wanna know from an hvac engineer.
Because what we simply read from the internet doesn't necessarily mean the truth.

If vacuum evacuation is a must then it's weird that i've never seen its done before.
Most customer not willing to pay more for extra procedures.

Common reply for 1hp as below:

RM200 - "can cheaper a bit or not, I buy 2 units leh"

RM250 - "your installation price is expensive than the other shop"

Rm280 - "1hp or 1.5hp charge?"

It is not common to see customer willing to pay higher for extra jobs.
paskal
post Sep 4 2017, 11:03 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Sep 3 2017, 09:49 AM)
Most customer not willing to pay more for extra procedures.

Common reply for 1hp as below:

RM200 - "can cheaper a bit or not, I buy 2 units leh"

RM250 - "your installation price is expensive than the other shop"

Rm280 - "1hp or 1.5hp charge?"

It is not common to see customer willing to pay higher for extra jobs.
I'd pay extra for proper installation with vacuum evacuation, verification with micron meter and stuffs.
But too bad nobody here does it.
lowyatguy
post Sep 6 2017, 12:32 AM

=Certified Counter-Striker=
3,144 posts

Hi Guys, any comment for LG Inverter aircond with below specific model?
1.0HP = BS-Q096WEA4
2.0HP = BS-Q186K3A0
2.5HP = BS-Q246K3A0

csy1979
post Sep 10 2017, 11:02 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(spreeeee @ Aug 3 2017, 09:27 AM)
both brand is good.. no worry
I am also considering both brands.

By the way, is it ok to buy from Ladaza (without installation) ? I noted the discount is more than the official store, but without installation.

Would it be troubling to get good installation done?
spreeeee
post Sep 11 2017, 08:38 AM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

QUOTE(csy1979 @ Sep 10 2017, 11:02 PM)
I am also considering both brands.

By the way, is it ok to buy from Ladaza (without installation) ? I noted the discount is more than the official store, but without installation.

Would it be troubling to get good installation done?
Most important is to check who fulfil the deal, no worry to get your known source of installer..
8sg9ft
post Sep 11 2017, 10:18 AM

blablabla
1,765 posts

Anyone here that's using Panasonic's sky or aero series air conditioners? Any reviews about it? Like the idea of air being directed upwards instead of directly towards me in the room but haven't read reviews about these models (locally especially) or haven't searched too in-depth about it anyway.
sairay
post Sep 11 2017, 10:31 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Sep 2 2017, 10:58 AM)
any HVAC engineer here?

Just thought I clarify your question. Usually if new aircon, installer don't vacuum cause new unit have extra bit gas inside to purge out when piping are connected. This extra gas are put in by the manufacturer straight out of factory.

You only do vaccuming when you moved the aircon to another location, reconnecting piping etc.
paskal
post Sep 11 2017, 11:34 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(sairay @ Sep 11 2017, 10:31 AM)
Just thought I clarify your question. Usually if new aircon, installer don't vacuum cause new unit have extra bit gas inside to purge out when piping are connected. This extra gas are put in by the manufacturer straight out of factory.

You only do vaccuming when you moved the aircon to another location, reconnecting piping etc.
this kind of forced purging doesn't guarantee the gas line is gonna be free from air and moisture.
that's why some AC compressor have a habit of getting damaged after a few years.

proper installation requires the use of vacuum pump.
that's how it is taught in learning institutions. not to mention this kind of procedure is illegal in some countries.
electrostacko
post Sep 11 2017, 05:54 PM

23 posts

hi all, i just bought a Sharp aircond(inverter).

However, I found out that the timer function really sucks... it cannot set the timer according to the clock (turn on at certain time, and off at another time). It can only set how many hours before it turn on/off. I thought that the timer function (with clock) is a basic function for all aircond.

Is there any other way to control this? Smart tool or whatever...

I bought this aircond for my cats. need to turn it on daily in the afternoon since my house is quite hot.

Any input is highly appreciated.

the manual is just the same like this:

https://www.manualslib.com/manual/739738/Sh...mv.html?page=11

Thank you

This post has been edited by electrostacko: Sep 11 2017, 06:07 PM
^Ware^wolf
post Sep 14 2017, 09:54 PM

906 posts

just bought this from taobao for Rm30 to clean the blower

luvox
post Sep 14 2017, 10:56 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(^Ware^wolf @ Sep 14 2017, 09:54 PM)
i washed it myselft without this cover tongue.gif

u should remove the aircon cover & get a pump sprayer to wash the coil & blower

keep the water away from the electrical board

U can refer to youtube videa, can DIY clean aircon

make sure the water dont over flow & ur drain pipe got water coming out

This post has been edited by luvox: Sep 14 2017, 10:58 PM
VeeJay
post Sep 14 2017, 11:03 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(^Ware^wolf @ Sep 14 2017, 09:54 PM)
I think its cheap...saw some local dealer selling it for 80 bucks or so, including sprayer and 2 or 3 bottles or biodegradable degreaser
^Ware^wolf
post Sep 15 2017, 08:41 AM

906 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Sep 14 2017, 11:03 PM)
I think its cheap...saw some local dealer selling it for 80 bucks or so, including sprayer and 2 or 3 bottles or biodegradable degreaser
cover RM30
sprayer RM10+ from ace hardware
Coil cleaner Rm16 (500ml) from lazada.

RM60 altogether ....

QUOTE(luvox @ Sep 14 2017, 10:56 PM)
i washed it myselft without this cover  tongue.gif

u should remove the aircon cover & get a pump sprayer to wash the coil & blower

keep the water away from the electrical board

U can refer to youtube videa, can DIY clean aircon

make sure the water dont over flow & ur drain pipe got water coming out
didnt remove the cover ....bought a pump sprayer to wash the blower....as for coil , i did wash every 3-6months ....

This post has been edited by ^Ware^wolf: Sep 15 2017, 08:43 AM

669 Pages « < 259 260 261 262 263 > » Top

0.0271sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:50 PM