The official WoW connection rant thread, 2k pings? Insane lag? Come in here!
ionStorm
Apr 27 2005, 05:09 PM
*nyan*
Mine's usually about 800-900ms. Quite playable.
I'm thinking of lowering the MTU on my side, in hopes of smaller packets, hence faster transactions...humm...just crossing fingers. 25 mins before I get home...arghh...
da3shou3
Apr 27 2005, 05:12 PM
QUOTE(ionStorm @ Apr 27 2005, 05:09 PM) Mine's usually about 800-900ms. Quite playable. I'm thinking of lowering the MTU on my side, in hopes of smaller packets, hence faster transactions...humm...just crossing fingers. 25 mins before I get home...arghh... Let us know the result of the smaller MTU setting.
mambo
Apr 28 2005, 08:29 AM
last night can get 4-500 stable.. for 218.111 with minimum packet loss... from 10 to 12am, after that i sleep... before at 5pm the latency for 219.95 giv me 1 to 2k with tons of packet loss.... cant get that 218.111/208 ... i agree what tarpau and one other forumer said this earlier said it's caused by congestion.... dont streamnut do anything to make the line less congested due to alot of people now shifting to bb. But last night rock hope the same thing happen this weekend....
wildside
Apr 28 2005, 10:25 AM
Yesterday evening was as good as Monday evening, not as good as it was on Tuesday evening, but hopefully they are just doing some tweaking here and there and it'll settle down before the weekend comes.
Hope springs eternal, I suppose...
plaz
Apr 28 2005, 11:43 AM
everything seems to be back to normal now
218.111 218.208
tarpaucase
Apr 28 2005, 04:00 PM
Congestion issue is very hard to solve. They can't just say.. oh look at this graph, it looks congested, we have to get a new line...! first you gotta write a report, convince management of the benefits and the relevant costs and all that, test multiple upstreams and tier-1 isp, see which is best, take which submarine cable to go, how much is the contract, review the contract, sign contract or not, then configure router, then see whether can work or not.... a lot of work involved
mambo
Apr 28 2005, 04:23 PM
ayai... it's sound like we not going to get any better soon... but we will getting even worse...
i know it may take more work to do to put in new line to make less congested traffic.. but when think about the business, when there are less complain there will be increase in subscription due to good service and useability of the product. Last time i do promote my fren and relative to change to streamyx but back then it really good with less problem now i dont even dare to tell people about it..
what can we do if this problem drag for too long? we cant just brag here, even some of us put an endless effort to make complain still none come with result. should we go to media? will they give a damm about it??? but to think about it streamyx really cheat us now by saying they give us 1mb subscription but connection is less than that... im no expert in this so waht u guys think???
we atleast come up with someting that might take attention of those big fakka that sit on cosy sofa eating our money by givving us shet. complain to their costumar sarvis will not get us anywhere....
ionStorm
Apr 28 2005, 04:49 PM
*nyan*
Mambo...watch your language.
Anyway...i'll go try getting the 218.* IP's...I get that occasionally.
tarpaucase
Apr 28 2005, 06:04 PM
It's pretty much a foregone conclusion that you can't do jack... except fork out money to get a server in myloca and proxy your connection through their leet connection there
wildside
Apr 29 2005, 08:45 AM
Actually, I had a comparitively good session last night. 900-1100 pings with a couple of short spikes.
Not completely back to normal yet, but certainly better than it has been for a long time.
da3shou3
Apr 29 2005, 09:15 AM
Well I've tried the 218.111.x.x Seems ok already. This post has been edited by da3shou3: Apr 29 2005, 09:16 AM
bryan
Apr 29 2005, 09:34 AM
Well TMnut managed to totally sever my connection; modem can't find an ADSL signal.
GG TMNUT!
mambo
Apr 29 2005, 09:36 AM
218.111 is the one that i always use and get 500-1k at evening and will go down to and stable after midnight.. other than that i try all giving me hell a lot of spike and dc.... it's not ok yet at the moment.. but some how the line seem to ok for awhile but back to the same thing soon after that...
fly
Apr 29 2005, 10:09 AM
¯\(°_o)/¯
219.95.* (which I am perpetually stuck on) also seems to have been fixed over the past few nights. 1k in Lagrimmar but 700-900 in instances.
eikan
Apr 29 2005, 11:29 AM
Last nite 60.48 <- lousy 218.111 <- lousy 21x.208 <-- great 600~700 till i got sleep in instant again ><
da3shou3
Apr 29 2005, 11:56 AM
QUOTE(bryan @ Apr 29 2005, 09:34 AM) Well TMnut managed to totally sever my connection; modem can't find an ADSL signal. GG TMNUT! Using DSL3100R? Most prolly firmware corrupted. >.< Coz mine kena edi. I'm using my backup router now.
arrow
Apr 29 2005, 01:43 PM

219.95.XX.XX seem ok this 2 night 600-1k , minimal packet loss , playable.
Owen
Apr 29 2005, 03:59 PM

At about 3pm, 218.208 can't get packets thru to AT&T/WoW.
Other IPs can but, as per usual, has serious packet loss. Pings remain the same with 219 being the lamest of the bunch.
EDIT:
Nevermind, can get into WoW. Just that Streamyx blocked tracert packets for 218.208.
This post has been edited by Owen: Apr 29 2005, 04:30 PM
bryan
Apr 29 2005, 04:21 PM
Fantastic! And it seems that certain sites are offline too. I can't sign onto MSN or check my gmail.
WHOOP! GG TMNUT!
Hunter_Mx
Apr 29 2005, 04:34 PM

hmmm somehow TMnet reminds me of Eyonix...